The Quartier Latin (Latin Quarter) in Paris is commonly thought to be synonymous with the fifth arrondissement, but it actually stretches to the sixth as well. It's also known as the epicenter of Parisian academic life, as it is home to no less than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 521 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the perfect way to get an authentic feel and flavor for both the Latin Quarter and everyday Paris life. Our guide was a real foodie who brought her extensive knowledge and love of all things epicurean to the morning. Each stop on the tour (cheese shop, bakery, open market, etc.) was a delight and after 2+ hours of walking with some modest snacking, we settled in for a feast of fresh foie gras, pork pate, cheeses, apples and wine. It was a great way to start and complement a day filled with the typical, traditional sightseeing stops. For those who are curious about how much walking it is, it is very manageable. I was wearing my FitBit and the step count was a little over 5,000 (~ 1 1/2 miles). Another plus, if you do this at the beginning of your trip, is all the great hints and restaurant suggestions you can glean and then use to guide your food choices for the rest of your Paris stay.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Carol was a terrific guide! She is extremely knowledgeable about food, food quality, food production, and Paris history. We visited a number of food stalls near the Latin Quarter during the Saturday market and also visited amazing cheese and pastry stores. The tour ended with a visit to another store where we were able to sample the products that Carol had purchased that day and learn even more about the food we were tasting. I would highly recommend this tour to the food amateur as well as the food aficionado! Thanks for a wonderful morning.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was cancelled and we were put on a tour of the Latin Quarter instead. Arthur was our guide and he was wonderful. There were only 3 of us on the walking tour and he personalized it to what we wanted including a special dish with our wine tasting. Great experience...would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Incredible experience! This is more than a gourmet food tour. The guide shared a variety of anecdotes and historical information that made the tour topnotch. Our guide, Cedric, is the best tour guide I've ever met (in all my years of booking with Viator). He is extremely knowledgeable, intelligent, witty, funny, engaging, and overall wonderful. I highly recommend this tour. If there's a chance, ask for Cedric!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was highly knowledgeable about the area. His ability to speak and understand English impressed us! He was open to us asking to see certain places and made sure we had a good time. Very friendly and easy to be with! We would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Arthur, our guide, was punctual, knowledgable and informative. Our needs were catered for extremely well.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Stephanie Paul our guide was excellent. We are so glad we booked the small group tour and paid the extra as the place was like a zoo for those who came through the gates. The crowds and the pushing and shoving were all avoided by taking the small group tour. I think Versailles needs to think about how it manages people. Having the toilets on the other side of a crowded cafe was just stupid. People had to push through to get to the toilet. Apart from this the place was amazing and the small group tour got us into places that others did not go - the chapel and the opera theatre for example. We also some private quarters that others did not see. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Richard provided a great deal of helpful information on lighting and composition, all the while commenting on Paris history and places. We didn't know to bring information on our cameras, but understand that will be added to the info sent out prior to the event.

Doing what: Photographer's Walking Tour of Paris - The Latin Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

DebS
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a great walking tour this was! Our guide Arthur was fabulous and gave us a real insight into this beautiful area of Paris. Finishing off with a drink, something to eat and the game of petanque was just great fun - absolutely loved it!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Caroline was an excellent guide. She was on time and made sure we had our needs met before walking to cheese shops, open market and bakeries. Each step of the way, she gave the history of the foods and the importance each food item played within the French culture and daily living. I gained a better knowledge of how the French eat and why they do so. I ate plenty of samples and we had time to sit with wine, pate, bread and cheese. A perfect way to spend 3 hours on my first full day in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent. So knowledgeable and very engaging. We had a blast walking around the markets and various specialty stores. Then a delicious end with tastes of the favorites. I would recommend this to anyone with a passion for food.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Carole Fouque, our guide, was terrific. She is a print food writer with a natural passion for cooking and food. She is a fashionably dressed French women wearing a beret to complete her image. The tour started at the local outdoor farmers' market. Carole explained the importance of choosing produce, fish and meat in their growing seasons when the local produce is at its peak, fish are in optimal water temperatures and animals are eating healthy natural grasses. As we walked, Carole explained the history of the area and how it related to the architecture. We stopped at a boulangerie for unbelievable croissants and brioche, toured an amazing fromagerie and butcher shop ,and then stolled up and down Rue Mouffetard to a final stop at a foie gras shop. Chilled white wine was waiting for our tasting of the bread, cheeses, fruit and foie grass that Carole gathered for us on our walking tour. All was delicious and informative. We highly recommend the Paris Walking Tour of the Latin Quarter.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting. The guide Arthur was very knowledgeable a showed us hidden gems in Paris. Playing boules was great fun

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Extremely interesting and nice tour. I recommend this for all that are interested in food culture and history of Paris. Our guide was wery good and we liked the walk. Best regards. From Iceland.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message