• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

St Germain des Prés

As is common in Europe, the St Germain des Prés neighborhood is named after its church, in this case the sixth-century Benedictine Église de St-Germain-des-Prés, named after St Germain, in honor of the Bishop of Paris. We have this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was such a fun tour. Not only was the tour guide (Arthur) very informative, but there was such a variety of environments covered. Small lanes loaded with history as well as large monuments too. The petanque game was also a lot of fun. (even if one of my throws ended up in the street). Definitely would recommend it.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An absolute must! If you want to immerse yourself and really experience delicious food and Parisian culture, let yourself be guided through this amazing experience.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Small-Group Gourmet Experience with Charcuterie, Pastries, Lunch and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice walking tour. Very knowleageble guide. I would suggest to add food tastings to make it more exciting because we see many things but we dont get to try them and sometimes time is very limited to go back and try those things,

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everyone should take this tour and learn to play petanque!!! Seriously this was a wonderful way to explore this part of Paris and it was a very fun afternoon! One of my favorite Paris experiences!!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The tour guide was great, but we had expected to see the major Paris monuments on this tour and saw none, except the Louvre, where the tour started. The group I brought had not been to Paris before and I was very disappointed that they were not shown the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe and Notre Dame at night. If you have been to Paris and want something different, this tour takes us to the Latin Quarter, Saint Germain and left bank.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Bart, was so friendly, considerate and knowledgeable. Awesome tour. It started at the Place de la Concorde and ended in the Marais at the Pompidou. Along the way, we stopped at a shop and enjoyed picking out a delicious macaroon Later on in the walk we enjoyed sampling various cheeses with that wonderful French bread. Both are included in the price of the tour. The walk was well paced so older travelers can manage this three hour tour easily. We saw so many famous sights and many hidden gems we may have missed on our own. Do this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing views of Louvre by night,
The artist St Germain De pres with its posh cafes.
Very pleasant tour guide,
Visited pont des arts and placed a wedlock there.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved the tour because it was a small group and our tour guide, Arthur, tailored the tour to what the group wanted. Overall it was a great walk through the Latin Quarter and St. Germain.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Arthur was our guide for this walking tour - he was very passionate about the places and very knowledgeable. We walked to several locations : Sorbonne , Jardin de Luxembourg , Odeon , Église de Saint-Germain-des-Prés , Pont des Arts , etc... to reach Notre Dame as the ending point.

The Pétanque was nice with a glass of Pastis.

The only thing we didn't like was the Charcuterie tasting - we had 2 plates for 10 people and there wasn't enough for each one to taste and the service was bad - the waiter offered to provide as much bread as we wanted but sat down to eat (a larger plate of charcuterie and cheeses with more choices).

Overall : very nice tour if it wasn't for the disappointing tasting.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Kevin B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We did this tour on a hot Saturday afternoon with Bart as our guide. We spent three and a half hours walking the streets and learning about the students, the scholars and history of the Latin Quarter and about the St. Germain area. Bart led us down side streets, through the Luxembourg gardens, and onto the Seine. We discovered a little hidden area of Paris on the Ile de la Cite where we had a charcuterie tasting and a cold drink, then we played a game of pétanque. Our tour finished shortly after at Notre Dame Cathedral. Bart was a lovely, informative and easy going fellow, whose company we enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A great tour! Alex was very knowledgable. It was great to see some of Paris by foot and stop in at places, rather than just whizing by on a bus. The game of pétanque was a great wait to spend an hour during the tour in a lovely spot you would miss if you didn't know of it.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Kevin B
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We did his tour on our first night in Paris. Flore was our guide and she was lovely and charming and informative. But this tour was not what we thought it would be -we were under the misapprehension that this would be about the lights of Paris, instead it was about the enlightenment period of Paris. We were shown through the Louvre courtyard and the St Germain area walking past many of the art galleries (which were shut) and shops (which were shut), but also down some lovely little alleys and side streets. So don't be misled by the description and picture showing Paris lights - this is not what the tour is about.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Arthur was our guide, and what a great guy he is! It was pouring with rain when we all met up, but this did not stop us enjoying it despite the rain, and it did get better later on. Arthur told us all about the various landmarks in the city and the history of Paris. It was really interesting. The charcuterie stop in the pub was lovely, and we finished with the boules, which was very entertaining too. All in all a very enjoyable trip and a great start to our few days in Paris as it gave us such a good grounding about the city. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Wendy M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour. The guide was exceptionally good and gave information not just on what we were seeing but the culture of contemporary France. Food was good, pace was good.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message