Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

St Germain des Prés

As is common in Europe, the St Germain des Prés neighborhood is named after its church, in this case the sixth-century Benedictine Église de St-Germain-des-Prés, named after St Germain, in honor of the Bishop of Paris. We have this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An unexpexed change of plan anniversary of Charlie Hebdo resulted in a change of route to the south of the city. Change was handled efficiently by Viator staff and we were happy with the new route. Excellent tour, friendly and informed briefing by guide. Very happy with event.

Doing what: Heart of Paris Bike Tour

ross s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

knowledgable, helpful, good start to the Paris visit

Doing what: Conversational French Language Class in Paris

Carolee M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Missed opportunity for an uplifting walk through Paris as it should be viewed - bathed in golden light! Granted it was pouring, but guide just wasn't into it, or didn't have the background/enthusiasm to connect buildings passed and referenced to their import or significance. Value was in taking a walk to get a geographic grounding for further exploration!

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

tsparklin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The first portion of the tour was good as we saw some major sites and got some explanation on them. The second half wasn't as interesting, we ended up just walking around the streets of the neighborhood, the guide pointed out a few things, the main one I remember were two restaurants that he said were famous, but were expensive and not that great. I guess I expected more things to be pointed out to us in the neighborhood, like actually good restaurants, cafes, or other places we could get a snack or a treat. In the end I felt like we just followed some guy around a neighborhood. He did give a good dinner recommendation at the end when we asked for one.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Gary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best guide

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Janine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Alix was charming and delightful. She was able to put everything we were seeing around us into the context of the history of Paris, so that we felt we were gaining a much greater understanding of the city. More fun though was the charcuterie tasting with wine! and the extremely competitive petanque. If only the federation rep had been on our team! A very enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Janine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Alix was charming and delightful. She was able to put everything we were seeing around us into the context of the history of Paris, so that we felt we were gaining a much greater understanding of the city. More fun though was the charcuterie tasting with wine! and the extremely competitive petanque. If only the federation rep had been on our team! A very enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Heidi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

One of our favorite tours we have ever done!!! Loved it and will plan on doing it again next summer. Guide was delightful!! We are 55 and in good shape but feet hurt after 2 hours on cobblestones! Well worth it!!!!

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Nick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved it. A great way to see Paris like a Parisian. Beautiful. The back streets, the history. The guide, Arthur, was very knowledgeable and nice. Answered all questions and didn't worry about the time as much. Really made us enjoy our tour.
Pétanque was really fun and the 'charcuterie' was really delicious. Arthur took pictures of us playing Pétanque. A must do tour. To go behind the scenes of Paris.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My friend and I ended up the only group members that night, so we got a personal tour. Thomas wad a great guide and gave us a lot of history, as well as some excellent tips on places to go and eat. We would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

yap

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

So much fun and a great way to meet another local. Elisabeth was wonderful.

Doing what: Conversational French Language Class in Paris

abbottmandy7

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Great tour, our guide Timothee was very informative. The group was 6 people and that was really good. We met some lovely people and got to see some areas of Paris that we wouldn't have with this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

STEPHANIE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

WONDERFUL! I had such an amazing time with Julie! She was very knowledgeable, friendly, and proud to show off her hometown of Paris.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really interesting and informative!

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

cnp.drp

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We really wanted to get to know the Left Bank a little. This two hour tour gave us what we needed to come back and explore the St-Germain area.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous - our guide Arthur was fantastic. Took us to parts of Paris I had not seen on previous visits. Don't go to Paris without booking this tour! Thanks Arthur - his knowledge was endless.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a must see tour, our lovely guide Arthur, he was so good, knew his stuff, we thoroughly enjoyed his knowledge and I do not hesitate to recommend anyone to do this especially lucky if you get Arthur. He goes over time....

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Ali S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour Guide Elliot was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.
Highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to learn more about Paris

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Jamie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So glad I did this tour. Was great to meander through the backstreets and small lanes of Paris and discover things which I would never have found by myself. Our guide Alix was delightful. Despite there only being two of us in the group, she was still able make it interesting, informative and fun. Thoroughly enjoyed our charcuterie and wine tasting and our exciting game of petanque, which we played in a fantastic location! Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Meredith Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Alix led an informative and enjoyable walk around the Latin quarter and then after our refreshments taught our little group to paly petanque. The girls were victorious! We had a great afternoon.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

robert f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great experience strolling through the streets of this historical district with our tour guide Alix, who was fun, engaging, informative and patient with our many questions. Got to see the Sorbonne, a beautiful city garden built by the Marie deMedici, Notre Dame, the old streets where leaders of the revolution lived, the hotel where Jim Morrison died, and sampled good French food and wine. An overall excellent tour experience with a well-trained guide.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Ocean Edge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was excellent, we definitely got an insiders view of his city. He gave us lots of great information and the walk was a nice pace. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was fantastic! Very engaging and more than willing to show us some extras such as the ancient city walls in a car park and with a great command of English. He was very knowledgeable and easy to understand and converse with. The charcuterie we experienced was amazing! With just 6 people our game of boules was so much fun. I would highly recommend this tour with this guide from Urban Adventures.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Yvonne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great local tour of St. Germain and the Louvre. Well done!

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Bill USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Delightful, interesting, fun and helpful. This was a wonderful way to start our stay in Paris. Our host teacher, Elisabeth, was excellent.

Doing what: Conversational French Language Class in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message