Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

St Germain des Prés

As is common in Europe, the St Germain des Prés neighborhood is named after its church, in this case the sixth-century Benedictine Église de St-Germain-des-Prés, named after St Germain, in honor of the Bishop of Paris. We have this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent 3-4 h wandering the local streets beyond the more famous squares and places in the Latin Quarter. Arthur was an engaging and interesting host, and the pitstops in a bakery and a small Spanish restaurant were excellent and delicious. Good value and not too tiring because we walked at a good pace and paused for short periods. One of the more memorable and ancient spots was deep in a Parisian carpark! Now that is off the beaten track...

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Mrs Angela J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed this tour so much, and we learnt a lot during the tour. Luke, our guide, was excellent and so knowledgeable. We were lucky as there were only 4 of us on the tour. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

phecht1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide could not have been better. She was terrific. Very knowledgable and understandable

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

JOSEPHINE M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was Great! Tim was a great guide and very knowledgable. It was unfotunately bad weather but we still managed to see everything we had planned and enjoyed eating at various stops during our tour. I would highly recommend this especially on a first trip to Paris.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Janet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour and guide were both very informative - it was nice to see sights and learn of things that the average tourist wouldn't. I really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Wendy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very enjoyable 4 hours spent with Tim. Learnt a lot about the area and the game of Pétanque was fun. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Kathy K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

enjoyed the Tour - Our guide, Luke, did a great job and was very helpful at the end directing us how to get back to our accommodations after the Tour.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

John K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nothing

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Timothe was an amazing and fun tour guide. We were a group of 3. I had fun learning about the area and got to know the couple I was touring with. The charcuterie tasting was amazing and we had fun learning to play Pantique. The girls beat the guys! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Jolyn J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour was changed the day before to a different walking tour, so I was a little concerned. However, the tour was fabulous! Our guide, Alex, was very knowledgeable and lots of fun. I could not imagine a tour being any better in any way. I have already recommended it to anyone who is ever in Paris. Also, the tour staff was very good about contacting me and following up. We were extremely happy with the whole experience. Thanks Alex for a wonderful tour! It was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Fernando

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Guide showed us some spots with plenty of activity at night. Had seen sone of them before.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

mZbreeZe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

i've been living in paris for a few months now, but never really had the chance to discover and understand the city from the perspective of a real parisian. it was indeed a lovely afternoon exploring the left bank of paris with our guide, alix, who's very knowledgeable about the french history which helps to put her explanations into a more meaningful context about the architecture, culture, etc. during the relaxing tour. definitely a worthwhile short excursion!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An unexpexed change of plan anniversary of Charlie Hebdo resulted in a change of route to the south of the city. Change was handled efficiently by Viator staff and we were happy with the new route. Excellent tour, friendly and informed briefing by guide. Very happy with event.

Doing what: Heart of Paris Bike Tour

ross s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

knowledgable, helpful, good start to the Paris visit

Doing what: Conversational French Language Class in Paris

Carolee M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Missed opportunity for an uplifting walk through Paris as it should be viewed - bathed in golden light! Granted it was pouring, but guide just wasn't into it, or didn't have the background/enthusiasm to connect buildings passed and referenced to their import or significance. Value was in taking a walk to get a geographic grounding for further exploration!

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

tsparklin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The first portion of the tour was good as we saw some major sites and got some explanation on them. The second half wasn't as interesting, we ended up just walking around the streets of the neighborhood, the guide pointed out a few things, the main one I remember were two restaurants that he said were famous, but were expensive and not that great. I guess I expected more things to be pointed out to us in the neighborhood, like actually good restaurants, cafes, or other places we could get a snack or a treat. In the end I felt like we just followed some guy around a neighborhood. He did give a good dinner recommendation at the end when we asked for one.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Gary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best guide

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Janine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Alix was charming and delightful. She was able to put everything we were seeing around us into the context of the history of Paris, so that we felt we were gaining a much greater understanding of the city. More fun though was the charcuterie tasting with wine! and the extremely competitive petanque. If only the federation rep had been on our team! A very enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Heidi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

One of our favorite tours we have ever done!!! Loved it and will plan on doing it again next summer. Guide was delightful!! We are 55 and in good shape but feet hurt after 2 hours on cobblestones! Well worth it!!!!

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Nick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved it. A great way to see Paris like a Parisian. Beautiful. The back streets, the history. The guide, Arthur, was very knowledgeable and nice. Answered all questions and didn't worry about the time as much. Really made us enjoy our tour.
Pétanque was really fun and the 'charcuterie' was really delicious. Arthur took pictures of us playing Pétanque. A must do tour. To go behind the scenes of Paris.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My friend and I ended up the only group members that night, so we got a personal tour. Thomas wad a great guide and gave us a lot of history, as well as some excellent tips on places to go and eat. We would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

yap

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

So much fun and a great way to meet another local. Elisabeth was wonderful.

Doing what: Conversational French Language Class in Paris

abbottmandy7

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Great tour, our guide Timothee was very informative. The group was 6 people and that was really good. We met some lovely people and got to see some areas of Paris that we wouldn't have with this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

STEPHANIE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

WONDERFUL! I had such an amazing time with Julie! She was very knowledgeable, friendly, and proud to show off her hometown of Paris.

Doing what: Paris by Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message