Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 636 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jonathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and spoke fantastic English. Wear comfortable shoes :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Lanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Charlie was an outstanding tour guide. His great sense of humor and knowledge of the history of Paris was amazing. Our tour of the Notre Dame included the climb to the top of the bell tower which I highly recommend. The 420 steps up a tight spiral staircase are well worth the view from the top. You can see the Eiffel tower 3 miles away! Keep up the great work Charlie!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Terry J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Terrific tour! The guide was great and we zipped past the long line easily. Totally worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide. Very informative and nice

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Don't waste your time standing in line, book this instead. Not only do you not have to wait in line, not only do you not have to elbow yourself some room in the crowds, but you get a great background on the Cathedral. Well worth it.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

simonespurling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour. Our guide Shannon was most informative. As the voucher says you do not meet at Notre Dame, you meet at the Cité metro stop, which is beside the flower market at Ile de la Cité. A few tour groups meet here so it is just a matter of finding the right one. You are given a headset, so you can hear everything. You are then given a tour of the area. It is then on to Notre Dame, where you have to queue for the security check point. This queue is unavoidable and took around 10minutes.Entry to the Cathedral is free so if you have no interest in the towers, I wouldn't book a tour of the Cathedral, but that is my preference. You then leave the Cathedral and go to the side entrance for the towers. You can queue for hours to gain entry but the tour just skips the queue. The guide leaves you at the gift shop in the towers and you make the assent on your own. There are a lot of steps. I wouldn't be the fittest and I made it, but I did feel it the next day. The steps are in two sections. The first set aren't too bad and it leads to a bell tower and walkway with fantastic views of Paris. You then have the option to leave or go to the top. If you want to exit, go to the ropes and let the staff know, otherwise you have to queue for the top. We queued for around 10minutes. The steps to the top are quite steep but the view is fabulous. Don't forget that you have to travel back down. I wouldn't recommend the towers for anyone with mobility issues or fear of heights. Overall I thought the tour was excellent and was worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Tamara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our first tour we booked after arriving in Paris the night before. Avi was our guide, and he was exceptional. He came to Paris more than a decade ago to study at the Sorbonne, and never left. He obviously loves his history, and was really well informed about the history of the Ile de la Cite, which is the history of Paris itself, so this was a great tour to take first. After meeting at the Cite Metro Stop, we strolled around the island, while he explained the beginnings of Paris and the colorful history of the important government buildings there. Then we waited briefly in the security line for Notre Dame and viewed the cathedral, while he pointed out fascinating details. When you are with a guide who loves to tell other people about things that fascinate them, it is so much better than someone who just read Wikipedia and spouts out some facts. Avi had the in-depth answers for all of our questions. After touring the downstairs of the cathedral, we were able to skip-the-line for the towers. And this was a really long line that has to keep waiting for tour groups to go ahead of them. I am sure that the regular line was at least an hour or more of a wait for the towers. They only let a certain number of people up the stairs at a time, and then let a group come down the stairs before letting another group of people up. It's a long spiral stone staircase, and a good workout. The view from the top is fantastic. You can see all of Paris as you walk 360 degrees around the top. You can see some of the heavy bells inside the tower. We happened to be up there exactly at noon, while the bells were chiming. It was amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth not waiting to climb the steps and the small group and history tour of Paris and the facade of the cathedral made it all more interesting. A

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I originally booked this tour only for the chance to go up the Notre Dame Tower but it was more than that. I learned so much more than I was expecting in the lle de la Cite tour. It was a good way to start off our Paris visit, learning of the history of the city and the many kings. Everything was much more meaningful when you learned the background. Our guide was very nice and personable and actually from the US so there was not a problem understanding her. The view from the towers cannot be beat. For those who can do the steps the reward is great! I did wish that our guide had accompanied us up the tower to tell us more about Notre Dame and what we could see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Rocky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fabulous tour guide Charlie. His knowledge was remarkable. He should be narrating documentaries. His passion and enthusiasm for French history was contagious. Our family thoroughly enjoyed it - a highlight of our trip. Worth every cent - the views from the bell tower are pretty amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Angie W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

John was our tour guide and he was fantastic. He has such a passion for history, and it shows! Don't mistake his love of history for boredom though - John was anything but boring! The tour was insightful, humorous and extremely informative. Our views from the towers in Notre Dame were breathtaking, and to be up close and personal with centuries-old gargoyles is a life-time memory to treasure. Do this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A cool way to get to a difficult to access place. Couldn't really hear the guide very well, but that wasn't very important to me. Otherwise excellent.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

picktonhoney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was very informative. Amazing place. Started with a walking tour, then the cathedral and finally the tower. Soooo many steps but the views were great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

wondernattie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Highly recommended for the history of the island and even better was not having to queue to climb tower.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was awesome! This is a must see! You will figure out why this is the Jewelry Box cathedral!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Rick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Manda, the guide, was amazing. Loved the tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Steven L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Pamela was amazing. Very knowledgable and obliging. Lunch on the river was magnificent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

Haupia United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very informative. Our guide, John, was knowledgeable, patient and funny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Aaron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Short and enjoyable tour with a guide Fabrizia who was enthusiastic and always smiling. Skip the line access to the bell tower certainly adds something to the tour as you enjoy the views across Paris and get up close to the famous gargoyles.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Lynda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am not sure if you are allowed to climb up to the top without a tour guide. Because this tour was after-hours, it was delightful to see this magnificent monument without the crowed. I was able to take ton of great pictures from the top of the tower. Highly recommended

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Lola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this after hours tour! Not only was it less crowded than the day tour but we could spend as much time as we wanted on top and in the bell tower. Awesome tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Erik C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent, get there early to see inside as we got there for the tour just in time but too late for the inside view.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

rdmlam3

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message