Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 427 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very moving history of the area and Cathedral. Again the skip the line to climb the steps of the bell tower is so worth it. Incredible views from up there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing tour. Our guide, Avi, was so knowledgeable - we were riveted the entire time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Avi, provided an excellent tour of Notre Dame Cathedral and the walking tour of the area was informative and entertaining. He really knew his information and answered all our questions. It was a pleasure going on a tour with him.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide was just the BEST... He really knew his History and events and added humor and joked with everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Adam was fantastic! He made the tour enjoyable with his knowledge of notre dame and great sense of humor. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome tour, up, up 400 steps to the bell tour. Great views of Paris from up there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

excellent and the tour guide AVI who was so thorough and wonderful lead us to understand the history and background of Paris and how the city was influenced by events and historical accounts....he was enthusiastic about taking us to Notre Dame and guided our every steps.....wonderful....VIATOR is always coming through.....


e moy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was brilliant, but be aware that the stairs get quite narrow towards the top and it's a bit of a climb but the views are wonderful, even on a cloudy day. This doesn't include access to the actual catheters but we just popped in there afterwards, we thought it would be closed but it wasn't and there was no colossal queue like there is in the day time, we just walked right in. But the towers are deff worth a look, highly recommended

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, Felix was charming company and knowledgeable. It was interesting learning more about the area surrounding Notre Dame and the access to the towers was fast tracked.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a good experience. I thought we would have time to explore the Louvre on our own after 1 hr guided tour bt this did not happen. Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Lunch cruise on Seine was good. and service friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Shannon from City Wonders Ltd gave us a great tour around the Old City of Paris island. Entrance to the church is free and you cannot skip the line there. You can skip the line to go to the top of the tower, which is always a long line. You are paying for getting historical knowledge from your guide and skipping the tower line. If you are in a tight schedule, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide was amazing and the tour was very well done, I would recommend this tour to anyone

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Jenna S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour was fabulous, as was our tour guide, Randa. She helped bring the history of this stunning place to life while engaging with us rather than taking at us, and we didn't miss a word thanks to the headsets that were provided. The tour took was taken at a steady pace with time taken for questions and photographs. The bell towers gave a fantastic view of the city whilst the inside of Notre Dame was out of this world. This is a tour not to be missed by any tourist in Paris!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. The guide was very knowledgable and made the tour very fun and enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was good, very informative and willing to answer my questions. In fact, we saw him again the following day when we were with another tour group and he came over to us and said hello, which was very nice of him, so thanks Jean. Being the only couple on the tour we were really happy and had a wonderful experience. The tour through the Louvre was good, being able to see the museum minus the people first thing in the morning was a plus.
The river cruise was incredible, very tasty food, which, being a vegetarian, has been a bit of a challenge in Paris. The only down side to the river cruise was the waitress. She didnt listen very well and when I said I was a vegetarian took that to mean my partner was as well, which was not correct, and also came at the end of the meal with two espresso, when we clearly said only one was needed. But, that was not really that big a deal.
Seeing the Basilica De Sacre Coeur, including the drive up to this and the surrounding township was lovely, and well worth it. We had been into Notre Dame the day before ourselves, but Jean was able to stop around the back of the building to allow me to take some more pictures.
The tour is well worth it and a good way to see a lot of Paris without having the worry of getting there yourself. It also helps you identify what parts you are keen to see again, and for me, I would be going back to the Louvre for a whole day, if only I had the time.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lindsey was great! She was extremely knowledgeable. This was an amazing tour. Beautiful architecture, wonderful history, interesting city facts, and lots of history in and around the cathedral. Loved this tour!! Sorry, Lindsey, we didn't tip you. I felt so bad about it. We didn't realize it until we were in the bell tower, but by then you were gone. So sorry...you were wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was really good - very informative! We really got the most out of viewing Notre Dame whilst on this tour as we got to hear all about the history behind the church which influenced it's different sections of building. The Bell Tower is well worth doing - has a fantastic view!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message