Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 521 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

super tour guide and very educational--would do it all over again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bell tower tour was so unique. Felix, our tour guide was courteous and well informed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Nickolas picked us up at our rental apartment promptly and took us on a fantastic grand tour.it was every thing advertised.we were very pleased aand would use viator services again.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WOW. What a great experience. Tour guide was excellent. She knew every single aspect of the Notre Dame Cathedral. The Cathedral is impressive and we had a great time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved learning more about Notre Dame as well as Ile de la Cite from the guide and it was great to be able to skip the line to the top since I had several other things I wanted to do that day. I loved the gargoyles and the view was gorgeous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of benefit from this tour! Our guide, Felix, was well informed, easy to hear and understand, and pleasant...even charming. From this tour we learned many interesting facts about the monarchy and gained a very useful tip on how to skip the long line outside St Chapelle which is gorgeous. Being shown and taught facts about Notre Dame increased our enjoyment of the catherdral and being able to skip the line to the tower was sublime. Great tour. I'd recommend it to my family and friends.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of my Paris trip. When will you ever get to climb up 400 steps, after hours at Notre Dame, climb into the bell tower and then all the way to the top? Our guide was knowledgable and genuinely interested in giving us as much information as possible. I will never forget this experience.

Note: be prepared to climb up and them down these steps, a narrow circular staircase with no resting points. If you think you can do it but tire easily, stay at the back of the line. If you can do this tour, you will not regret it. Also, this tour does not go inside the Cathedral itself, so be sure to go in before your tour starts.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour ! Our guide was well-informed, funny and on time.
The fact we had the skip-the-line tickets to climb the 400 steps up the Notre Dame tower was a huge relief, especially after seeing the line up !
You must get this tour .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A great tour with the highlight being the climb to the top of the Notre Dame tower with wonderful views of the gargoyles silhouetted against the Paris skyline. This is our third visit to Paris and we are glad we finally pre-booked this skip the line tour so we could do this climb without hours of standing in a queue. Our guide Violet was a delight and a fountain of information. We tried her recommended lunch stop and the food and atmosphere were wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour was absolutely fabulous, mostly due to the knowledge and guidance of your tour guide, Avi. The sole reason for giving it a 4 star rating had to do with Viator, and their poor directions. The directions as to how to find the beginning of the tour were very unclear. We showed them to the cab driver who didn't understand them but got us in the general area. Then 2 separate police officers couldn't help us find it. Finally a person who lived in the area was able to direct us to the right location. Luckily we had allowed an extra 40 minutes , and even more importantly, Avi was willing to stay in the area of the Metro station and wait for us to find the group, even though we arrived a few minutes after the designated time. The small group size and the wealth of knowledge we gained were terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and our female guide was excellent. Although there was no skip the line at the Cathedral as it is not allowed here. Although the line was long, it moved very quick. Have used this company before and would use again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The walked tour was great, we walked around when he was telling us about the history about the cathedral. If you can and have enough time go to the top of the cathedral, we didn't but people said that was amazing!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Even though our tour was disrupted with an early evening thunderstorm our guide managed us through Notre Dame during a vespers ceremony...she knew what she was doing! After the sun came out we took advantage of the opportunity to climb the Bell Tower and enjoyed the magnificent 360 degree photo opportunities.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful catherdral, a must see whilst in Paris. Very handy to have the skip the line pass. Lovely tour guide although difficult to hear at times. Recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour except there was some advertising confusion and we did not get to skip the line and climb to the top. We were given an unsolicited rebate, for not having the opportunity to climb the towers , which was nice and allowed me to enjoy my trip without any hassles.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Notre Dame no matter what is amazing and why I gave it a three star. The tour was not so good, not because of the tour guide, they scheduled our tour during a mass for a national christian holiday. Packed beyond belief and unable to see most of the inside of the main church. Very poor planning on the part of Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

My husband and 12 and 14 year old sons went on this tour at 2pm. This tour was not what we expected. I didn't realize that it excluded the bell tower, nor did it skip the line... How can you advertise a tour as 'SKIP THE LINE and then say in the small print that a tour at 2pm doesn't include this option. I feel that this is false advertising, and as our time was limited in Paris we then didn't have time to go up the tower and were very disappointed. A total waste of an afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The lines are still long even though you purchase tickets ahead of time. I did not have to pay any extra for the entrance fee. I thought that I would go right in with the prepaid tickets, but we still stood in line like everyone else

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Didn't get to do this due to a booking error.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We missed our tour because meeting directions were not clear. We ended up on another tour since the guide was nice and let us join.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Not able to find the tour guide in the specified place and there was no line to enter into the cathedral. If you go around 10 AM in the morning, you can easily get into the cathedral and nothing much to get from the tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This tour or lack thereof was disappointing. Our guide did not arrive. When we tried to contact the tour company, we couldn't get through to anyone on the telephone. In addition to this, when we went to Notre Dame to see if we could get upstairs to see the tower as the tour costs were inclusive of this amount, we were told we had to buy separate tickets. The tower ticket counters told us that this had happened on a number of occassions with this tour company and we also met other people from our tour who had also been waiting for a guide who did not arrive. I suggest that Viator has a close review of this tour company and removes it from its preferred guide list.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We arrived to meet our tour guide only to learn that the tour would be only in French! There was nothing on the confirmation indicating this. We met other English speakers on the tour who showed me their confirmation and it clearly stated that this tour would be in French. They chose to go on it knowing ahead of time that it was in French. We would not have done this. We had our 15-year-old grandson with us and he was completely bored by the long French narrative. I have gone back to review all e-mail correspondence with Viator and nowhere were we notified of the tour being in French. I went to the Web site and put in future date for a tour and nothing was mentioned that the tour could be in French. I signed up for this tour in the US on an English language site and made the assumption the tour would be in English. We also booked a Catacombs tour for the next day and it was in English. So, what is the deal? Nowhere in the Terms and Conditions could I find info that the tour could be in French.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message