Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 605 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jess T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Tour Guide was supper funny and extremely informative so glad we booked this, there are so many things we would have missed if we didnt go with a guide! watch out for the pick pockets

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Machel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, John, was very knowledgeable and informative . . . we had a better feel for Paris and her history. There was unparalleled access at the Cathedral for the price which included the tower. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The venue of course was magnificent. Our tour guide John was well informed and communicated well throughout the tour. My wife and I thought he did a great job. We learned quite a bit from him. Overall the tour was excellent and we learned much more than if we had gone alone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour and our guide, Adam, was excellent. If you don't want to climb to the top of the tower, just book a no wait tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Sasha Heseltine United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really interesting and informative tour with amazing guide Avi!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

LaLa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour and climbing up to the bell tour was the best part of this tour. I highly recommend this tour. Our guide was was so awesome!! The Cathedral is free to tour around on your own but the line is so long that it is worth paying the extra money to skip the line. We went to Sunday mass and it was absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Sanach

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was great. Guide raced us up the first 226 approx steps and lost a number on the way up. But waited for them and then pointed out some interesting highlights on that level. Then continued to the top another 150 approx steps where the views are amazing.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Vered S C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour went very well. The tour guide gave great insight. She was friendly, knowledgeable and answered our questions well. The only problem was that the microphone she was using. It was a windy day, and whenever she turned away from the group, we couldn't hear what she was saying.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Steven P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

was not as advertised and didn't take the tower completly unhappy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Susan B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We were unable to find the guide! So didn't make the tour. Could you please make it easier to find the guides?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Marian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Shannon was an excellent guide and the skip the line to the top of the bell tower was invaluable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Geraldine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide was very good, very informative, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great! John was knowledgeable and witty and gave us plenty of background information we definitely would have missed otherwise. The ability to walk right up to the tower and go right in past the long line Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Marian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Shannon was funny and informative. Skip the line was well worth it. As a warning, while there are places you can let people pass, the stairwell is very narrow and it isn't easy. My mom climbed all the way to the top 3 months after a Total Hip Replacement-you can do it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Kimberly B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

We never found our group or tour guide so we didn't get to go on our tour. We tried calling but no one answered. Not sure what happened. We were extremely disappointed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Aine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very very well worthwhile! We really enjoyed it - although we did feel the burn in our legs after it but the amazing views from the top and the different vistas and what felt like secret parts of the cathedral made it all worth while.

I would recommend it 100% ,just make sure you're wearing sensible shoes! There are 380 steps down!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide was well-informed and very knowledgeable about the architecture and history French and Art of Notre Dame, Tower and Ile de la Cite. I had a great time listening to his stories about each nook and kranny - so entertaining - and he answered all of my questions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Mary Kay S

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Definitely do a skip the line for the bell tour. However would have preferred more time in the cathedral and less time walking on the streets. Tour guide did not go with the group to the top and some members of the group missed seeing the bell. Other tour guides stayed with their group all the way to the bell.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Guide was amazing! you learn all about the island as well as Notre Dame!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a group of 6 travelers and as it turned out we were the only ones on the tour so it was absolutely fantastic. We all enjoyed it very much and would recommend it. Our only problem was finding the meeting place which was by a subway entrance/exit. We were walking from the D'Orsay and had to ask a couple of policemen for directions. We eventually found our guide and he was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We got stuck in the Mannheim Germany train station due to a broken down train for 5 hours on the day of our tour and as a result we were an hour late getting to Notre Dame. We never expected that they would still let us climb the tower, but they did!!! We missed the history that the tour guide gave the rest of the group and we didn't get quite to the top, but we did get to the gargoyle level and saw the bells!! Great experience despite what we missed!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message