Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 493 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable about all things Paris and Notre Dame. We walked to the top and the view was spectacular. I would have enjoyed a few extra minutes in the Cathedral to be able to take it all in. The quick tour around Ile de la Cite was informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a bit of trouble finding the metro entrance, meeting point. But your guides were prompt and very friendly. We enjoyed the island and Notro Dame tours. Wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an incredible place. Hard to imagine how they built this thing so long ago. Worth every one of the 387 steps to the bell tower!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Skipping the line makes all the difference! The tour guide was great and everyone had plenty of time to climb the steps to the top.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyed the tour and history shared. Line inside the Cathedral was not long at all - happy we could skip the line to climb the tour. Beautiful day in Paris!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. We booked the tour for the Sunday while the mass was taking place at Notre Dame which I feel greatly added to the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Meeting up with our group was so easy and the Metro was the only transportation we used. Our guide was outstanding. She was an expert in so many aspects -- history, art, the evolving culture, the architectural aspects and even the structural reasons for the features.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide and worth the money to get more information from her. We did not Skip the Line, however the line moves quickly. Also, this does not include a trip up to the bell tower.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The meeting location was easy to find and our tour guide was easy to identify.
Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.
Ile de la Cite is gorgeous. The cathedral has stunning architecture.
I'm glad I went on this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Félix was wonderful and made this tour extremely memorable, fun and informative. Notre Dame was spectacular and climbing the bell tower was a fun experience. Félix added some great historical perspective during the walking tour. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide shared a lot of good information with the group. She was also very friendly. Awesome experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and answered questions without hesitation. Climbing the tower was a challenge but the view was well worth the effort. I loved seeing the gargoyles up close!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Felix, our guide, knew so much information! He was great! The tour, to learn Paris' history, was really worth it! Notre Dame Cathedral was beautiful and the view from the top was spectacular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed our tour of the Ile de la Cite and our tour of the Notre Dame Cathedral. Our guide was very good and explained many things about Paris and the Cathedral that we had not read before. I would highly recommend this tour to first time visitors to Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Felix was a very knowledgeable guide- nice weather. Totally worth it just to skip the queue to the towers and learnt alot along the way!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was really great and the guide very knowledgeable. However, people should understand that the tower option requires some physical stamina as other people cannot pass in the stairways if a person needs to rest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Violet was terrific, charming, and she made the tour outstanding despite the fact that the church was unexpectedly closed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A nice tour, very interesting with great views. I would recommend.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a very good tour. Our guide was very personable and knowledgeable. He was Croatian and had a degree in history. He had been living in Paris for 4 years. He was able to answer all questions from our well-traveled group and was able to comment to topics that were off script to our satisfaction. He also had good suggestions about other things to see on Ile de la Cite as well as places to eat. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

very informative however it was NOT skip the line!!! I would have chosen another tour had I known. I also wished that we would have gone into Saint Chapell!!!!!
Guide was excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Not a great experience.....as we could not skip the line. If you want to see Notre dame, I would do it on your own.....we spent a lot of time walking around the cathedral and the additional information provided by the guide was not of tremendous value.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Absolutely terrible. Never found the tour guide. Missed the entire tour. Was on the phone for 40 minutes to no avail. Absolutely disappointed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Lindsey was finishing her thesis in Paris, so she had sooo much personal information she acquired from visiting Notre Dame We visited Ile de la Cite first and learned about the holding cell where prisoners would stay before the guillotine After viewing the inside of the church, we went to the bell tower. Our tour started at 10 am the line was already 3 hours long, we went right up 387 steps Breathtaking views Definitely recommend!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message