Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 594 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Shannon was an excellent guide and the skip the line to the top of the bell tower was invaluable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Geraldine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide was very good, very informative, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great! John was knowledgeable and witty and gave us plenty of background information we definitely would have missed otherwise. The ability to walk right up to the tower and go right in past the long line Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Marian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Shannon was funny and informative. Skip the line was well worth it. As a warning, while there are places you can let people pass, the stairwell is very narrow and it isn't easy. My mom climbed all the way to the top 3 months after a Total Hip Replacement-you can do it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Kimberly B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

We never found our group or tour guide so we didn't get to go on our tour. We tried calling but no one answered. Not sure what happened. We were extremely disappointed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Aine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very very well worthwhile! We really enjoyed it - although we did feel the burn in our legs after it but the amazing views from the top and the different vistas and what felt like secret parts of the cathedral made it all worth while.

I would recommend it 100% ,just make sure you're wearing sensible shoes! There are 380 steps down!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide was well-informed and very knowledgeable about the architecture and history French and Art of Notre Dame, Tower and Ile de la Cite. I had a great time listening to his stories about each nook and kranny - so entertaining - and he answered all of my questions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Mary Kay S

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Definitely do a skip the line for the bell tour. However would have preferred more time in the cathedral and less time walking on the streets. Tour guide did not go with the group to the top and some members of the group missed seeing the bell. Other tour guides stayed with their group all the way to the bell.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Guide was amazing! you learn all about the island as well as Notre Dame!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a group of 6 travelers and as it turned out we were the only ones on the tour so it was absolutely fantastic. We all enjoyed it very much and would recommend it. Our only problem was finding the meeting place which was by a subway entrance/exit. We were walking from the D'Orsay and had to ask a couple of policemen for directions. We eventually found our guide and he was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We got stuck in the Mannheim Germany train station due to a broken down train for 5 hours on the day of our tour and as a result we were an hour late getting to Notre Dame. We never expected that they would still let us climb the tower, but they did!!! We missed the history that the tour guide gave the rest of the group and we didn't get quite to the top, but we did get to the gargoyle level and saw the bells!! Great experience despite what we missed!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

nygurl102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. Great guide. We learned a lot. Dress appropriate, as you will be outside and on your feet for a while.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Sara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic! Our tour guide was very knowledgable. We has a great time walking the Il De La Cite and then ending our tour with Notre Dame. It was breathtaking. It was so nice to have a guide navagate us through the crowds. Go on Sunday while they are holding mass. Very special!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

JEAN G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was the best, we love it the most, out tour guide was wonderful, lot to see lots of history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Jingwen Cindy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved the tour, the tour guide and the rich history behind Notre Dame and lle de la Cite. Skip the Line is definitely worth it for climbing the Notre Dame Tower!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Michelle W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow what a fabulous tour and our wonderful guide can't remember her name was one of the best. We learnt a lot about the history of Paris and Notre Dame is just beautiful. I definitely recommend this tour and I recommend going up the Bell Tower. It is 400 steps, I had injured my back a couple of days before the tour and took it very slowly because there was no way I was going to miss out and it was so worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

barbara c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great way to get an overview of Paris. Our guide, Lara, was extremely knowledgeable and accommodating.two thumbs up!

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

marluce_silva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide allocated to us was simply amazing. We learned so much from him! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Diane H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable and lovely guide. Great tour, and even though there was a little rain we thoroughly enjoyed it. The tower is a challenge, with 422 steps, and you wouldn't want to do that if you were unwell. Great views of the city though!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message