Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 530 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful information provided by our guide John. Since mass was on we were did not have access to some of the church - so would have been great if we started a bit earlier as by the time we actually came down from the bell tower which was amazing the church was closed. Burt in the big scheme of things - not a big deal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great guide very infomative plus bonus of skip the line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a fairly good tour. Word of warning, be careful when climbing the Tower, if you go the wrong way you'll miss the bell tower and won't be allowed to go back.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This tour was the best, we love it the most, out tour guide was wonderful, lot to see lots of history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

super tour guide and very educational--would do it all over again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bell tower tour was so unique. Felix, our tour guide was courteous and well informed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Nickolas picked us up at our rental apartment promptly and took us on a fantastic grand tour.it was every thing advertised.we were very pleased aand would use viator services again.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WOW. What a great experience. Tour guide was excellent. She knew every single aspect of the Notre Dame Cathedral. The Cathedral is impressive and we had a great time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved learning more about Notre Dame as well as Ile de la Cite from the guide and it was great to be able to skip the line to the top since I had several other things I wanted to do that day. I loved the gargoyles and the view was gorgeous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of benefit from this tour! Our guide, Felix, was well informed, easy to hear and understand, and pleasant...even charming. From this tour we learned many interesting facts about the monarchy and gained a very useful tip on how to skip the long line outside St Chapelle which is gorgeous. Being shown and taught facts about Notre Dame increased our enjoyment of the catherdral and being able to skip the line to the tower was sublime. Great tour. I'd recommend it to my family and friends.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the time to stroll thru the streets, to hear the history...you will look at Paris differently.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of my Paris trip. When will you ever get to climb up 400 steps, after hours at Notre Dame, climb into the bell tower and then all the way to the top? Our guide was knowledgable and genuinely interested in giving us as much information as possible. I will never forget this experience.

Note: be prepared to climb up and them down these steps, a narrow circular staircase with no resting points. If you think you can do it but tire easily, stay at the back of the line. If you can do this tour, you will not regret it. Also, this tour does not go inside the Cathedral itself, so be sure to go in before your tour starts.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour ! Our guide was well-informed, funny and on time.
The fact we had the skip-the-line tickets to climb the 400 steps up the Notre Dame tower was a huge relief, especially after seeing the line up !
You must get this tour .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I have to say this was the highlight of our trip! Our tour guide wish I can remember her name was so much fun and knew her history! We were so pleased with her. Yes, the stairs may seem a little exhausting but in the end it was well worth it hike. The view was breathtaking and part of the treat we got to hear Quasimodo play the bells while we were up there. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved this tour and our guide Florence. There were only 4 of us and she spent much time sharing her knowledge not only of the cathedral but of the surrounding neighborhoods. We were really pleased with this experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour that showed around Ile de la Cite and Notre Dame. Our tour guide Sandrina was very informative and new her stuff. Skipping the line for the Bell Tower is a must. Inside Notre Dame is good but for me one of the highlights of my trip to Paris was the view from the Bell Tower complete with Gargoyles. Definitely worth doing this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A great tour with the highlight being the climb to the top of the Notre Dame tower with wonderful views of the gargoyles silhouetted against the Paris skyline. This is our third visit to Paris and we are glad we finally pre-booked this skip the line tour so we could do this climb without hours of standing in a queue. Our guide Violet was a delight and a fountain of information. We tried her recommended lunch stop and the food and atmosphere were wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour was absolutely fabulous, mostly due to the knowledge and guidance of your tour guide, Avi. The sole reason for giving it a 4 star rating had to do with Viator, and their poor directions. The directions as to how to find the beginning of the tour were very unclear. We showed them to the cab driver who didn't understand them but got us in the general area. Then 2 separate police officers couldn't help us find it. Finally a person who lived in the area was able to direct us to the right location. Luckily we had allowed an extra 40 minutes , and even more importantly, Avi was willing to stay in the area of the Metro station and wait for us to find the group, even though we arrived a few minutes after the designated time. The small group size and the wealth of knowledge we gained were terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and our female guide was excellent. Although there was no skip the line at the Cathedral as it is not allowed here. Although the line was long, it moved very quick. Have used this company before and would use again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The walked tour was great, we walked around when he was telling us about the history about the cathedral. If you can and have enough time go to the top of the cathedral, we didn't but people said that was amazing!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Even though our tour was disrupted with an early evening thunderstorm our guide managed us through Notre Dame during a vespers ceremony...she knew what she was doing! After the sun came out we took advantage of the opportunity to climb the Bell Tower and enjoyed the magnificent 360 degree photo opportunities.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful catherdral, a must see whilst in Paris. Very handy to have the skip the line pass. Lovely tour guide although difficult to hear at times. Recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour except there was some advertising confusion and we did not get to skip the line and climb to the top. We were given an unsolicited rebate, for not having the opportunity to climb the towers , which was nice and allowed me to enjoy my trip without any hassles.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message