Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 584 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Guide was amazing! you learn all about the island as well as Notre Dame!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a group of 6 travelers and as it turned out we were the only ones on the tour so it was absolutely fantastic. We all enjoyed it very much and would recommend it. Our only problem was finding the meeting place which was by a subway entrance/exit. We were walking from the D'Orsay and had to ask a couple of policemen for directions. We eventually found our guide and he was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We got stuck in the Mannheim Germany train station due to a broken down train for 5 hours on the day of our tour and as a result we were an hour late getting to Notre Dame. We never expected that they would still let us climb the tower, but they did!!! We missed the history that the tour guide gave the rest of the group and we didn't get quite to the top, but we did get to the gargoyle level and saw the bells!! Great experience despite what we missed!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

nygurl102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. Great guide. We learned a lot. Dress appropriate, as you will be outside and on your feet for a while.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Sara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic! Our tour guide was very knowledgable. We has a great time walking the Il De La Cite and then ending our tour with Notre Dame. It was breathtaking. It was so nice to have a guide navagate us through the crowds. Go on Sunday while they are holding mass. Very special!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

JEAN G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was the best, we love it the most, out tour guide was wonderful, lot to see lots of history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Jingwen Cindy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved the tour, the tour guide and the rich history behind Notre Dame and lle de la Cite. Skip the Line is definitely worth it for climbing the Notre Dame Tower!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Michelle W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow what a fabulous tour and our wonderful guide can't remember her name was one of the best. We learnt a lot about the history of Paris and Notre Dame is just beautiful. I definitely recommend this tour and I recommend going up the Bell Tower. It is 400 steps, I had injured my back a couple of days before the tour and took it very slowly because there was no way I was going to miss out and it was so worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

barbara c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great way to get an overview of Paris. Our guide, Lara, was extremely knowledgeable and accommodating.two thumbs up!

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

marluce_silva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide allocated to us was simply amazing. We learned so much from him! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Diane H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable and lovely guide. Great tour, and even though there was a little rain we thoroughly enjoyed it. The tower is a challenge, with 422 steps, and you wouldn't want to do that if you were unwell. Great views of the city though!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Matty

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very informative guide. A great way to see the bell tower, cathedral, and the oldest parts of Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Drew B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour was not quite what I was expecting but that was for the better. Naive as I am about history, I did not actually realize the Ile de la Cite was actually the beginning of Paris before it spread across the Seine. Amazing history on this little island. I figured Notre Dame would be the focus of the tour. We definitely spent a lot of time there but I really enjoyed everything else the tour had to offer. I would recommend taking the steps to the top of the cathedral. It's really not hard and I didn't see many people having any difficulty with it. Once you get to the top it is fairly crowded and there is no way to bypass the crowd so you'll have to be patient. Bring a jacket for sure because it's windy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Laura W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

What a wonderful time. Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Nick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Want to see Notre Dame Cathedral? This is the way to do it. A must.
Awesome. Perfect guide with all the history info. No waits anywhere. Amazing views from the top. The bells. Lots of stairs, but worth the exercises to the top.
Highly recommended. Loved it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

April C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was interesting and well-informed, it was totally worth purchasing the skip-the-line portion, and going up in the bell tower. The view was spectacular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Raymond S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was Phil. Very interesting and knew everything about Paris today and Paris history going back centuries. He was a true class gentlemen who really made this tour worthwhile.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

Claudine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We only did the Cathedral and Tower. They are worth the climb! When all was done we thought we were in line to start heading down, but no, you are going up even higher! After another 100 steps you are above everything and eye level with the bell towers. Your legs are going to be on fire but this worth the climb up!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Kunal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour with lots of good information. And you really get all the details of Notre Dame, along with a good benefit of skipping the line to go up. Should go all the way to the top. Do note, that if you don't like climbing stairs, going up will not be easy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Kunal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour that gives you a lot of information about the area and Notre Dame. Lots of walking, but great to skip the line to go to the top. You should go all the way up. Do note, if you don't like stairs, going up will not be easy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message