The Trocadéro area is made up of a large square and incorporates a number of museums. It is dominated by the Palais de Chaillot, a neo-Classical building dating from the 1937 Exposition Universelle, and designed in two wings with a gap between ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The skip-the-line tickets were very valuable, as the crowds at the Tour Eiffel in the ticket lines were unbelievable. The informative guide told us a lot of interesting things enroute from the Trocadero meeting place to and into the Eiffel Tower. We were glad we had chosen this option.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The bus trip did not cover all major sights, and commentary was poor. More information instead of music would have been useful. Also bus needed to be open top as it was impossible to see places on opposite side of the bus. Eiffel Tower was good. Boat trip was good. However, with 150 steps from water level to reach the METRO at Trocadero it was not suitable for elderly or disabled people.

Doing what: Paris City Tour, Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a phenomenal tour of the city at night. We got to see all the monuments and sights lit up nicely and the driver pulled up at Trocadero right in front of the Eiffel tower at 10:58 PM just two minutes prior to the spectacle of lights of the Eiffel tower. It was just fantastic !!!

Doing what: Best Paris Evening Tour on an Open-Top Bus

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Unfortunately we missed this tour we went to the wrong side of the Trocadero we were over a half an hour early but did not realise we were in the wrong place. We unfortunately lost our money.....not happy about that. We were new to Paris and thought we were in the right place, even asked the Police and they assured us we were in the right area.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent photography session with Michel Planson, in Paris.

He was great at getting the best shots with the Eiffel tower from the Champs de Mars treed area, the Seine river banks and the Trocaderro parks. We received some pictures within 24 hours, the rest within 5 days and there are hundreds of superb pictures! Would recommend this photographer!

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great - a real nice experience - good meeting point Trocadero. To be recommended. Also visit all floors as it is worthwhile !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic seems to not be adequate to describe the experience. Our tour guide feel horrible that I can't remember her name was phenomenal. She took us from Trocadero Sq to the Eiffel Tower and up to the second deck, even finding the shortest security line. She gave us a historical perspective on the monuments and their relationship to each other. She also pointed out the prominent buildings that make up the Parisien skyline.

This was my first day in Paris and it was the BEST way to start the trip because I was able to plan my otter days based on the introduction she provided.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour. Started off at trocadero for picture taking before walking over to the tower. The only drawback was it was too windy that day and we weren't allowed to visit the summit.

The American tour guide from Chicago was really enthusiastic. Forgot her name though.

Get ready for a crowded Eiffel Tower especially during December

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was easy to find the meeting point at the Trocadero and this was a good place to take in the fantastic views of the Eiffel Tower to start. Our Australian tour guide, Caroline, was exceptionally well versed in French history and gave us so many interesting stories about the Eiffel Tower and various landmarks around Paris as we went along. Our daughters, 9 and 6, were happy to listen in on the information too. We were able to skip the general public queue, but still had to join a short line to get through security and wait for the lift, but this didn't take too long. There's no skip the line pass to get the elevator from the 2nd floor to the top, but we were lucky and only had to wait about 15 minutes. We hopped on the boat after we'd finished at the Eiffel Tower and enjoyed a leisurely cruise down the river past Notre Dame and back again. It was a fairly cool day and the boat was completely open so my advice would be to wear warm clothing if you're going in the cooler months.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was a gift from my boss and it was such fun. The bus tour took in most all the famous sights; lunch at the Eiffel Tower was delicious with a view of the Trocadero Fountains and the boat trip on the Seine was nothing short of marvelous. Viator guides were knowledgeable and courteous. It was a tour I'd recommend again and again.

Doing what: Paris City Tour with Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Guide was particularly "waffling" and by the end of the tour many of the peope on it had already left (inclidung us). Tour starts in Trocadero which also means that there is a fair walk to the Eiffel Tower before the actual climb commences.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

it took us a long time to fund the viator stand, eventhough yu marked the meeting point.
we didnt realize it will be that far from trocadero station plus nobody we asked knew the street
maybe we should have taken a map.
paying 52 dollars each for a ticket that normally costs 9 euro is very very high!
if i am not mistaken eveyone who buys in advance does not stand in line.
plus there were lines to every elevator and many people in general.
so ... in general- not a good experience for us adults, the child liked it very much.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Ticket in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked a skip the line tour for entry at 9:30 p.m. It went well. Easy meeting place for guide. Walked to front of new line. Stopped few minutes on 2nd floor but we then got in line to take elevator to the top. Great. It still was very crowded at the top at 10:30. So you need to be have patience to get in position for pictures. Before meeting our guide we went to the Trocadero area where you have great views of the Eiffel about 7 p.m. My granddaughters (age 14 and 17) said they were glad to see the Eiffel both in daylight and night. Glad we booked skip the line about 9 weeks ahead of arrival in Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Ticket in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour, with two suggestions to make it perfect: 1. Be more clear on instructions that meeting place is on steps behind the Trocadero. We, along with another family, initially waited on the steps in front (ie facing the Tower). 2. It would be great if the 'skip the line' also applied to the queue from level 2 to the top. That queue was so long that we gave up and didn't bother going to the top. I would have happily paid an additional premium for that convenience.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour was good but we almost missed it. The directions said to meet on the steps of the Palais de Chaillot by the Trocadero. We later discovered that it meant the Palais steps around the other side of the Trocadero. My husband and I got there early and waited until 30 minutes after the scheduled meeting time and were ready to leave when I spotted a group following a tour guide with flag coming down the steps from the other side of the building. Another family were also on the same steps with us waiting for the tour. It turns out that apparently the direction were written from the point you would exit the Metro and we had arrived by taxi in front of the Trocadero.

Doing what: Best Paris Night Combo: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Tour and Seine River Cruise with Champagne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

To be honest, I'm not a big fan of organized tours, but I booked this one because it was the only way to obtain a reserved time to visit the Eiffel Tower. It turned out to be an awesome tour. Alison was our guide, and she made the entire experience very enjoyable. Her commentary about the history of the Tower and the surrounding monuments was informative and fun. Because she told us about it, we went to Trocadero that night at 11:00 pm to get the best view of the sparkling Eiffel! She also gave us a very good restaurant recommendation not far from our apartment. We loved Polidor - had a great time there too! If this is a good representation of Viator tours, I would not hesitate to use you again. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tickets and Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were a bit nervous about finding the tour operator's office, but it turned out to be pretty easy. We started with the bus tour, which was very nice after a morning of walking all over the city. There was a lot of silence on the audio portion of the bus ride, and it would have been nice to have a bit more commentary or perhaps some music. The second stop was the Skip the Line Eiffel Tower tour. It went only to the second stage, which was fine. At that point we were on our own, and had been given our river cruise tickets to use at our leisure. That turned out to be great, as we went up to Trocadero for dinner on our own (Le Wilson, was quite good), then chose to take the boat tour at dusk. We saw the city lit up, including the Eiffel Tower. I wish we had taken the tour earlier in our trip as it gave a good overview of the city and we might have wanted to return to some of those areas.

Doing what: Paris City Tour, Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Reasonable price for what we got. Excellent thing to do on the first day to get oriented to Paris.Got to see all the major sites from the exterior in comfort. Bus pick up site fairly easy to find and check-in not too difficult. Problems we had: my mother-in-law wears hearing aids and we couldn't get the audio loud enough for her to hear on the bus. Drop-off for the boat tour was abrupt and instructions weren't clear. Person that put us on the boat gave us misinformation that "she heard" the Trocadero subway stop was closed. This was only half true. It was closed in one direction. The directions she gave us to the alternate stop were rushed and inadequate. Fortunately we walked to Trocadero anyway and found the mistake and took the train exactly where we wanted. It was our first touring day, so we didn't have a lot of information ourselves. I think it is critical for people in these kinds of jobs to have the best of information at all times. I would still recommend this tour overall, however.

Doing what: Paris City Tour and Seine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very well handled by the Tour Company. We were met at the Trocadero and escorted by Caroline upto the second floor of the Tower. No standing in line for us. After one and a half hours there, we were left alone and had to stand in the normal queue, which took about 15-20 minutes, to go to the very top.The view is fabulous. We were blessed with a clear, sunny day.
The only tip is to make it as early as possible. We were there by 9am. The boat cruise leaves every 30 minutes, so you can get on it immediately after the Tower.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

David and Victoria were wonderful! This was our first vow renewal (we promised long ago to celebrate one another and renew every so often; we never had a grand wedding, in fact, we had eloped and had a civil ceremony with only one witness). They were patient with us as we were just a bit late. They both were wonderful and pointed out landmarks along the Tour Eiffel, the bridge, nearby carousel, and Trocadero. The ceremony prepared by Victoria was simple and perfect. David's photographs will be ones to treasure forever! We've already shared them with our friends and family upon our return home, and there were smiles all around. This was a great option if you are interested in renewing your vows-- you do not need to search for separate photographers and officiant, it's a package deal, and this pair couldn't have done a better job. We were very, very pleased with our experience and would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Overall this was a little disappointing from what I was expecting. The observation deck gives you a great panoramic view of Paris. You can get really good shots of the Eiffel Tower as well, however I'm glad I went to the Trocadero because I think my Eiffel Tower pics came out better from there. We actually took a cab to the Tower and if you don't enter the building at the correct entrance (which I did not see marked) you get turned around and don't bother asking for directions because the security guard was no help. We were a bit disappointed because going to the 59th floor is only accessible by stairs and my mom was not able to walk them. I wish I would have known this before because we really wanted to go to the restaurant up there, instead of the grab and go snack bar on the 56th floor. Like I said if you want a good panoramic view of Paris and don't want to deal with the lines or the elements (if its really cold or rainy) of the Eiffel Tower, then take this trip. Lots of interactive stuff for kids, seems like a good place to bring them. Just not what I expected.

Doing what: Montparnasse Tower 56th Floor Observation Deck

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The green route was the best - it included most of the sights like Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Trocadero, Les Invalides, The Louvre. Never had to wait long for the next bus.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I organised this tour to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday and it didn't disappoint. Our tour guide Guillame was fantastic and spoke fluent english. The dinner at the Eiffel Tower was superb and we had a table with the most beautiful view over the Trocadero. The night was made extra special when all the waiters sang happy birthday to my daughter.

The cruise on the river was enjoyable and a great way to see Paris. We finished the evening at the Moulin Rouge which was a let down. We were were seated at a table located right at the back corner. The show was disappointing and I wouldn't bother with this again.

Doing what: Eiffel Tower, Paris Cabaret Show and Seine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Initially it was very hard to locate the stop at the Eiffel Tower since the e-mail never mentioned that the bus stops on the Trocadero side, and not on the Champ de Mars side where all the other buses stop. Once we figured it out, it was a great bus tour. We dud Les Cars Rouges too but this one was FAR BETTER. Better commentaries, all headphones work, bus is clean, etc.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It was a great way to see Paris. There are many ways to see Paris but this way is one of the most unique ways to experience it. I did it at night, 10pm, to see Paris lit up, the highlight being the Eiffel Tower from Trocadero. The driver was friendly and easy going. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to experience something different, something out of the ordinary.

Doing what: Private Tour: 2CV Paris City Highlights Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message