The Trocadéro area is made up of a large square and incorporates a number of museums. It is dominated by the Palais de Chaillot, a neo-Classical building dating from the 1937 Exposition Universelle, and designed in two wings with a gap between ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pamala S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

just ok.. had to lunch somewhere. There food is not so good and service not so good either.
Trocadero view seats..only because they were by the window everyone had trocadero view if in the area.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Eiffel Tower Visit with Picnic-Style Lunch, Champagne and Trocadero View Seating

Scott S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour. Davor, our guide, was very knowledgeable. great views from the second level. No real need to go up any higher. Only caveat is to be aware of meeting location. We had a bit of trouble finding it as we got off the hop-on-hop off bus at the Eiffel tour. The meeting spot is actually across the seine on the other street side of the two large curved buildings Architecture museum at Trocadero. A picture map of the area would have helped.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Frances D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. The guide, Davor, was very knowledgable and interesting and able to answer questions. The tour starts from the trocadero so you get a great view of thectower as you approach it. Skipping the line alone makes it worth while, although you still need to queue if you want to get right to the top. The tour uses the elevators so if you want to climb up this is not the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Small-Group Tour

Mary W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

On 30 November we had to detour at notre dame .went to get bus back at 4.10 no bus came and we got taxi back to Trocadero at 5 .last year no conference we waited at stop after champ elyese at 5 no bus came for half an hour so we had to get taxi. Just an obersavation on 2 Dec at around 4we could see 4of your buses at Trocadero. Very disappointed we we got on bus we should have been told what was happening .

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marsh M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great location. Food and champagne was good although we wish there were a more extensive menu for lunch. We wouldn't have minded paying more for additional items. We were seated right by the window which gave a great view of the Trocadero and the Arc de Triomphe, etc. . The service was fantastic and the overall experience was unforgettable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Eiffel Tower Visit with Picnic-Style Lunch, Champagne and Trocadero View Seating

Ernesto M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The bus city tour just and hour.....
The Seine River Cruise was good and the visit to the 2nd level of the Eiffel Tower.
All the participants must find their find out via taxi or metro.... If you leave at night be carefull during your walk on your way to Trocadero Metro Station....

Doing what: Paris City Tour, Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower

nazky102

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

It would be great if they did not stop more than 30 minutes on the Trocadero/Eiffel Tower and Louver Stops.

Doing what: Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and Seine River Cruise

Cynthia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I was pretty upset about the meeting place for this tour. I arrived by bus, on the other side of the tower, about 2:30 for a 3 pm tour. The instructions were to meet at the steps of the Palais de Chaillot, in front of the main entrance to the Architecture Museum at Trocadero. The City Wonders rep will be wearing a blue polo shirt or jacket and holding a City Wonders sign. I asked several people where this was and they didn't know. This is not a well-known landmark - Rick Steves barely mentions it. I finally learned it was across the river, down a long driveway, up many steps and in back of the building facing the tower. I got there a bit before 3 pm and saw no one wearing a blue shirt/jacket, nor holding a City Wonders sign, nor any signs saying where the Palais de Chaillot was. I kept looking, and at 2 minutes past 3, I frantically called City Wonders. They initially told me I had missed the tour, which I refused to accept, and the operator did locate the City Wonders supervior/rep while I stayed on the phone, going back down the stairs, down the long driveway, across the river to the Nord entrance of the tower. The rep was there and wearing a blue jacket, but had no sign. When the guide arrived with the 3 other people in the group, he was wearing a plaid shirt and had no sign. To me, that meeting place made no sense. It is not really near the tower, is not well known, when looking at the building from the tower, one can easily mistake the back of the building for the front, like I did, and I didn't see any signs pointing to the Palais de Chaillot, nor the Architecture Museum. Even more upsetting is the guide not wearing a blue shirt/jacket nor holding a sign, which I was frantically trying to see. When we got up the tower, the guide was okay, but I was having trouble standing for the length of time he was talking, especially after running around trying to find him after a full morning of sightseeing.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The skip-the-line tickets were very valuable, as the crowds at the Tour Eiffel in the ticket lines were unbelievable. The informative guide told us a lot of interesting things enroute from the Trocadero meeting place to and into the Eiffel Tower. We were glad we had chosen this option.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a must 'do' in Paris. firtsly it gets you past the massive line up to go up the tower to the first level. I was spectical of the food at 58, but once there it was absolutely superb and filling. The magnificent window view of the Trocadero was only equalled by the fantastic service from the very friendly and generous staff..

Doing what: Viator VIP: Eiffel Tower Gourmet 4-Course Dinner with Champagne and Trocadero View Seating

Jennifer D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The bus trip did not cover all major sights, and commentary was poor. More information instead of music would have been useful. Also bus needed to be open top as it was impossible to see places on opposite side of the bus. Eiffel Tower was good. Boat trip was good. However, with 150 steps from water level to reach the METRO at Trocadero it was not suitable for elderly or disabled people.

Doing what: Paris City Tour, Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower

Carlos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a phenomenal tour of the city at night. We got to see all the monuments and sights lit up nicely and the driver pulled up at Trocadero right in front of the Eiffel tower at 10:58 PM just two minutes prior to the spectacle of lights of the Eiffel tower. It was just fantastic !!!

Doing what: Paris Evening Tour on an Open-Top Bus

patricia r

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Unfortunately we missed this tour we went to the wrong side of the Trocadero we were over a half an hour early but did not realise we were in the wrong place. We unfortunately lost our money.....not happy about that. We were new to Paris and thought we were in the right place, even asked the Police and they assured us we were in the right area.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Michel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent photography session with Michel Planson, in Paris.

He was great at getting the best shots with the Eiffel tower from the Champs de Mars treed area, the Seine river banks and the Trocaderro parks. We received some pictures within 24 hours, the rest within 5 days and there are hundreds of superb pictures! Would recommend this photographer!

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great - a real nice experience - good meeting point Trocadero. To be recommended. Also visit all floors as it is worthwhile !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tour by Night

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic seems to not be adequate to describe the experience. Our tour guide feel horrible that I can't remember her name was phenomenal. She took us from Trocadero Sq to the Eiffel Tower and up to the second deck, even finding the shortest security line. She gave us a historical perspective on the monuments and their relationship to each other. She also pointed out the prominent buildings that make up the Parisien skyline.

This was my first day in Paris and it was the BEST way to start the trip because I was able to plan my otter days based on the introduction she provided.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Benedict S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour. Started off at trocadero for picture taking before walking over to the tower. The only drawback was it was too windy that day and we weren't allowed to visit the summit.

The American tour guide from Chicago was really enthusiastic. Forgot her name though.

Get ready for a crowded Eiffel Tower especially during December

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Georgina K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was easy to find the meeting point at the Trocadero and this was a good place to take in the fantastic views of the Eiffel Tower to start. Our Australian tour guide, Caroline, was exceptionally well versed in French history and gave us so many interesting stories about the Eiffel Tower and various landmarks around Paris as we went along. Our daughters, 9 and 6, were happy to listen in on the information too. We were able to skip the general public queue, but still had to join a short line to get through security and wait for the lift, but this didn't take too long. There's no skip the line pass to get the elevator from the 2nd floor to the top, but we were lucky and only had to wait about 15 minutes. We hopped on the boat after we'd finished at the Eiffel Tower and enjoyed a leisurely cruise down the river past Notre Dame and back again. It was a fairly cool day and the boat was completely open so my advice would be to wear warm clothing if you're going in the cooler months.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

JAMES C B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was a gift from my boss and it was such fun. The bus tour took in most all the famous sights; lunch at the Eiffel Tower was delicious with a view of the Trocadero Fountains and the boat trip on the Seine was nothing short of marvelous. Viator guides were knowledgeable and courteous. It was a tour I'd recommend again and again.

Doing what: Paris City Tour with Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower Lunch

skillr01

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Guide was particularly "waffling" and by the end of the tour many of the peope on it had already left (inclidung us). Tour starts in Trocadero which also means that there is a fair walk to the Eiffel Tower before the actual climb commences.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Shiri K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

it took us a long time to fund the viator stand, eventhough yu marked the meeting point.
we didnt realize it will be that far from trocadero station plus nobody we asked knew the street
maybe we should have taken a map.
paying 52 dollars each for a ticket that normally costs 9 euro is very very high!
if i am not mistaken eveyone who buys in advance does not stand in line.
plus there were lines to every elevator and many people in general.
so ... in general- not a good experience for us adults, the child liked it very much.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Ticket in Paris

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked a skip the line tour for entry at 9:30 p.m. It went well. Easy meeting place for guide. Walked to front of new line. Stopped few minutes on 2nd floor but we then got in line to take elevator to the top. Great. It still was very crowded at the top at 10:30. So you need to be have patience to get in position for pictures. Before meeting our guide we went to the Trocadero area where you have great views of the Eiffel about 7 p.m. My granddaughters (age 14 and 17) said they were glad to see the Eiffel both in daylight and night. Glad we booked skip the line about 9 weeks ahead of arrival in Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Ticket in Paris

ANTHONY J C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour, with two suggestions to make it perfect: 1. Be more clear on instructions that meeting place is on steps behind the Trocadero. We, along with another family, initially waited on the steps in front (ie facing the Tower). 2. It would be great if the 'skip the line' also applied to the queue from level 2 to the top. That queue was so long that we gave up and didn't bother going to the top. I would have happily paid an additional premium for that convenience.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Deborah L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour was good but we almost missed it. The directions said to meet on the steps of the Palais de Chaillot by the Trocadero. We later discovered that it meant the Palais steps around the other side of the Trocadero. My husband and I got there early and waited until 30 minutes after the scheduled meeting time and were ready to leave when I spotted a group following a tour guide with flag coming down the steps from the other side of the building. Another family were also on the same steps with us waiting for the tour. It turns out that apparently the direction were written from the point you would exit the Metro and we had arrived by taxi in front of the Trocadero.

Doing what: Paris Night Combo: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Tour and Seine River Cruise with Champagne

Leslie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

To be honest, I'm not a big fan of organized tours, but I booked this one because it was the only way to obtain a reserved time to visit the Eiffel Tower. It turned out to be an awesome tour. Alison was our guide, and she made the entire experience very enjoyable. Her commentary about the history of the Tower and the surrounding monuments was informative and fun. Because she told us about it, we went to Trocadero that night at 11:00 pm to get the best view of the sparkling Eiffel! She also gave us a very good restaurant recommendation not far from our apartment. We loved Polidor - had a great time there too! If this is a good representation of Viator tours, I would not hesitate to use you again. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tickets and Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message