Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alice Shiqing H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip especially like Vaux le Vicomte. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Yangtian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good and easy. This is exactly what I want, basically includes transportation, tickets and audio guide, then you are on your own. The timing is pretty good too. Recommended!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Laura W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is the first tour that there were no tour guide just the bus driver. We were given our entry tickets to the destinations and loaded on the bus. No other info - be back at this time here.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Relaxing and educational trip. Enjoyed it very much and had a very good tour guide. This was our second excursion with Viator and would recommend them to others.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Vaux le Vicomte was my favorite of the two Chateaux. This is a self guided tour. I recommend someone from the local tour operator explain the tour before we leave Paris. We did not realize the bus was for this trip and people taking the Provins trip. I almost did not get off at the right stop and some people got off at the wrong stop and had to take a taxi to Provins.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Cassaundra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed the two locations as they both had something interesting to offer. It was good to have the audioguides to help learn about the buildings and former occupants. The charter bus was in perfect condition.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was as advertised. The bus was on time and an efficient way to see both sites in one day. Both sites were tours on your own with audio-guides which as perfect. You could proceed or skip areas at your discretion.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

rosalyn.fleischer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

These castles are not to be missed! Vaux is not well known, but the chateau is beautiful and the grounds rival Versailles. Fontainebleau is grand and well maintained, but crowd control and signage are disappointing. Both places have informative audio guides that are included in the tour price. Fun!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

jwillie925

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Both chateaux were quite beautiful and the guide was very informative. The tour is pretty much all-day, which I expected. But was worth it.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Tham X

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The castle was beautiful and the garden was good with the placement of the candles which light up the place. However, there was a last minute change in the program by the castle management whereby they removed away the fireworks which we really wanted to see with the castle. The service staffs at the castle restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The food could be better improved.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

Elizabeth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Vaux le Vicomte was absoultely amazing!!!!!!! If I lived in France I would become a member.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Emma Teresa V Mexico

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I think this trip has to be a half hour later so we can get to se the castle with the night light as it shows on the picture or give a half hour more to see that. Besides the garden is so big that you need time to go around.

Doing what: Christmas Day Trip to Vaux le Vicomte from Paris

bml L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was so great and fun, I learned so much on this trip,I really like the different Christmas tree, and of course Paris in general,I wanna go back soon,maybe next year I'll come again:!!!

Doing what: Christmas Day Trip to Vaux le Vicomte from Paris

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the bus ride was comfortable, and the chateau's were beautiful

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lila J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour event well worth the time. The tour departed as stated, leading us into a world of history, art, wealth and wonder. You are given enough time to explore, shoot photo's and shop for gifts. I took snacks with me so that I would not waste time grabbing a bite in the cafe.
Chateaux Vaux le Vicomte provided the historical background to the movie version of, All This and Heaven Too. Thirty minutes away, Chateaux de Fontainebleau, is visually expansive in size with room after room of historical beauty. Both buildings are architectural masterpieces that are worth the visit.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

John United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip. The bus driver was very accommodating and very helpful.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything was perfect - on time, clean, friendly and well worth the price.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

camerontilson

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This day-long tour represents great value in that you get to visit both Vaux-le-Vicompte and Fountainebleau. We really enjoyed Vaux-le-Vicompte given that it was less crowded and its pastoral setting. The only downside is that there is insufficient time 2.5 hours for Fountainebleau - there is barely enough time to see all the rooms and none at all for the grounds and gardens.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

EDUARDO B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Beautiful sightseeings and a lot of French history in these places

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Bill C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

We enjoyed seeing the Chateauxs but there was no interaction with anyone- m

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour with 2 very interesting Chateaux. Tour Guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Jtalexandercmps

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect night. Food was great and candles and fireworks made it really special. Guide was just there to manage things and tours were on your own. And taking the van rather than a bus made a really civilized evening out of it!

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message