• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Time to spend seeing all you want and punch a bonus

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. There was no narration on the bus but we knew this from previous comments. We did have an audio guide at both places. To our surprise we much preferred Vaux le Vicomte to Fontainebleau as we felt the latter was so overdone it was almost gaudy.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Faux le vicomte was great because it you can see it almost at its original state but fountain blue was ammazing because you actually see Napoleans clothing hoax family portraits. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Faux le vicomte was great because it you can see it almost at its original state but fountain blue was ammazing because you actually see Napoleans clothing hoax family portraits. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Although it would have been nice to hear a little history or information during the ride to the chateaux's, it was still great. You aren't forced to stand in a group and do what the tour entails but are allowed to explore the chateaux's and grounds on your own with your audio guide. I loved this as sometimes there are things I would like to linger on and somethings I can skip quicker through. All you have to do is get back to the bus at the required time. All in all five stars.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The self guided tour of 2 Castles was amazing - audio guides were provided in both places (included in price of package). The info of the audio guides provide a lot details related to the Vicomte castle. Be sure to visit the Dome at the Vaux Le Vicomte which is only 3 Euros per person - the view is amazing and also eat at L'ecureuil restaurant which opens at 12 - food is delicious and affordable. as for Fontainebleu - the audio guide provided a lot of information and was interesting too. The only thing we didn't like is the person from the tour company who provided us the tickets/schedule on the bus before the departure - she was unfriendly and didn't explain much.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this evening. Selected option to meet coach at agency, no issues here. Easy to find and was prompt arriving. The Chateau itself is amazing and lovely to walk round. Shown to carriage museum first before dinner. Dinner was lovely. We had a table for two to ourselves but most of the others were grouped together in tables for 4-6 etc. Was a set meal with a foie gras terrine to start, chicken and mash main and a pistachio ice cream for dessert and coffee to end. The waiting staff were nice and helpful. We were in a private room so did not sit with regular customers in restaurant (note the chateau is still open to public at this time so there will be regular tourists around). After dinner is the tour of the Palace. Given audio-set so can tour at own pace. Afterwards made our way to garden for fireworks display around 10.50pm. Music is playing in the gardens and candles are lit everywhere. The Palace looks spectacular lit up at night.

My only main criticism would be that the guide told us all that we would not be dropped off at the pick up point but there would be 3 stops and asked us where we were staying so that he could advise where we should get off. It turned out that the metro station we were left at was closed for renovations and we had to navigate our way around the city to try and find another station to get us to that stop and then onto the correct line to get to our hotel. I just felt that if the guide is making the decision where to drop us the agency should check prior to ensure the stations are running. It was an arduous task navigating our way around the city at 1am in the morning especially when the city was heaving due to rioters out celebrating the Summer Solstice and it was difficult to move freely around.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The chateaux were wonderful, of course, but the tour itself was very casual and unfocused. We weren't sure when to be where, one woman was almost left behind, no one said anything about anything. We just got on the bus and went, on our own. Maybe it's the CityParis crowd that's so unfocused, but it made the day a bit nerve-wracking.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Our driver appeared to not be into this tour. Very little information was volunteered as we drove from Paris to chateau to chateau. On our return trip to Paris, he appeared to become very agitated with the traffic and became upset with another driver who cut him off and drove very recklessly.

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The chateaus ( Vaux le Vicompte and Fontainebleau ) were most definitely worth visiting; however, the staff from the agency seemed a bit disorganized. Upon arriving at VLV most in our group remained waiting in the parking area unsure of what to do next. The “guide” who accompanied us on the bus was no where to be found. Several of us decided to take the initiative and begin our chateau tour independent of the “guide”. Apparently, this was the correct thing to do. Later after arriving at the Chateau de Fontainbleau we waited in line to obtain our audioguides ( these were provided at the first chateau ) only to be informed that we were required to wait in a separate line first to pay for the audioguide charge. This information was never made clear to us prior to our departure from Paris. The positives re booking for the service is transportation and tickets provided in advance.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Although we had no expectation that these would be guided tours, we did not expect to be simply left at the bus park and told what time to return to the bus. No information whatsoever. We were to have lunch at Vaux le Vicomte. The only restaurant that was available did not open until 12, so there was nowhere to sit with a coffee and enjoy the gardens. Viator's information said "head inside for your audio-guided tour". Audio guides were available, but at extra cost. At Fontainbleau, only a small part of the chateau was open to the general public. The "mesmerising ceilings" etc. in the Viator information could only be seen with a separate guided tour (11 euros extra). By the time we realised this, (no information) there was not sufficient time left to join a tour. The last tour of the day had closed. All in all, a very disappointing tour - should have gone by train.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Bus left right on time, good driver. Had enough time at each Chateau. Nice having an audio guide.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was basically a transportation trip, but I enjoyed both Chateaux's very much. There as no real tour and basically the bus driver got us into both locations.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Would have been more helpful if the tour host had been available until all people were back on bus after the first stop as the driver couldn't speak English when we tried to tell him one of our friends was not on the bus. She got left behind at vaux le vicomte and had to find her own way back to paris. This was a bit distressing.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message