Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is amazing. Tour guide quite helpful. Bus has huge glass window so great views along the way. Had lunch at first shuttle. Very yummy. Spent a long time viewing each room. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly satisfactory. By far the most convenient and efficient means of visiting these two fabulous castles. The audioguides worked well.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

i had studied the history of this two wonderful chateax in college, so it was especially meaningful to actually have the opportunity to visit them!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, well organized tour. Plenty of independent time as well as tasty meal, chateau audio tour, candlelit walks and fireworks.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We didn't expect to have a guide on the bus with us, but she was wonderful! She gave us a brief tour of the city as we left and filled the traffic jam with jewels of knowledge for our group on the way home. YES! We will certainly use you in future European visits!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had the driver pick us up at our hotel highly recommended as you don't get back until after midnight. He was a dream---so kind, considerate. Our dinner at the palace was lovely we opted for a bottle of champagne at an additional nominal charge. It was wonderful touring the candle-lit castle with few guests, but the best: our own, private, fireworks show! It was spectacular!!! I can't write enough about this experience. It was one of the best things we've ever done, and I can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as advertised, very efficient and friendly service. Highly recommend Vaux le Vicomte - an under-advertised gem of a Chateau. Fontainebleau is bigger and more famous, but Vaux le Vicomte gives you a better idea of the elegant lifestyle.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I were very pleased with the service. It was an amazing experience, it may not the most economical way to visit two beatiful chateaux in one day it was well worth money experience. Transportation was comfortable, on-time and service was very proffessional. I would highly recommend this tour again.
thank you,

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and related service. Well worth the cost.
The Palace and grounds were beautiful.
Our driver/tour guide picked us up on time at our hotel and was attentive and informative the entire trip.
My wife fell ill during the tour and the driver made a special effort to ensure she and I were comfortable, etc.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very pleasant short tour. Saves you time as it is not straightforward to reach Vaux Palace on your own.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as described on the Viator website

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice drive through the countryside and very informative about the history behind the buildings and the people involved. A very pleasant excursion. I definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vaux le Vicomte is fascinating -- its history, its construction, garden surprises. The audio tour is excellent -- pictures on the handheld display help verify you're in the right room! The bus was on time and comfortable.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Don't get alarmed when you walk into the office for check in. The staff at the touroffice handle the customers with speed, efficiency while being friendly. Anthony was especially helpful. Our.driver departed on time, was friendly during our dest6. Would recommend company.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour but could have been enhanced with a handout explaining entrance procedures and diagrams,

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were a bit delayed out of Paris and did not have time to see the carriage museum. There was no choice at dinner which was a bit problematic for the picky eaters in our group, but most of us enjoyed the food and service was good. The chateau itself and the audio guide were wonderful-lots of time and space no crowds! to look around. We also enjoyed the fireworks. Wish someone had advised us to explore grounds first as it was too dark to really see much once we were out of the chateau. Overall, highly recommend

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The traffic back in central Paris was terrible. It would be better to move the tour time earlier to avoid the traffic.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The driver's microphone did not project to the back of the minivan so very little of the short narration could be heard. The frenzied wait staff were not hospitable and were disorganized. They attempted to charge for the water which was included and did not offer coffee as it was trop tard or getting late. The candlelights created a very novel and romantic setting. The fireworks were less impressive. Overall, this tour is expensive and needs improvement.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour was well organised. However, there were traffic delays in travelling from Vaux le Vicomte to Fontainbleau. Our time was cut short at the second venue as a consequence, rather than being given extra time.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Some of us really enjoyed going through the palace, but I found it all too much alike and the roping of areas to direct the flow of tourists through the house very restricting. There were some very nice items to see, but mixed with many of less interest to me. Our favourite part of the castle was the kitchen area downstairs.The candles outside and the fireworks were beautiful and were the only thing we saw like that on our trip to Europe. I may have liked the tour better if I spent more time in the gardens outside, but after following the inside all the way through I didn't have time or energy for the gardens.... Candlelight and fireworks- beautiful- castle okay.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Very pretty. Food mediocre at best. Thought we would eat outdoors by candlelight. No. Indoors, next to cafeteria. Fireworks 5 mins. Driver had never been there before. Guide was incompetent. Then they dare beg for tips. Go on your own by train, shuttle is free fr station. Eat outdoors at Charmille.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I would not recommend this tour to anyone as there was no tour. It was just transportation to the Chateaus and back to Paris.

I guess it was fine since I hate listening to useless trivial information from tour guides.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The palace, dinner and fireworks were well worth the time and money but there was a BIG issue as both the driver and guide did not know the route and we got list on the trip going to the palace. The guide appeared to be more concerned but a woman traveling with a small child and her stroller. It became apparent that she was associated with he and was observed pushing the stroller at the palac. When we arrived at the palace and received our audio guides our guide said just push any number and disappeared. Please replace this guide. For these reasons I am submitting a negative review

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message