Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Such a special night for us!!! The grounds and the chateau are absolutely stunning!! We enjoyed the dinner. The staff at the dining room were very helpful and friendly and gave very good service. The night of our visit the weather was very wet and breezy, so we were not able to really walk around the grounds as much as we would have liked to. When we first saw all the candlelight throughout the gardens and the chateau it was rather breathtaking!!! The palace tour was very informative and helped us to appreciate the history of the building and the people that lived there. All very interesting!!! The fireworks were wonderful, a great way to end the evening. Our tour guide was great and seemed as excited as we were to spend the evening at the Vaux-le-Vicomte. We did appreciate the dropoff at our hotel at such a late time at night. I would highly recommend that others should enjoy this magical night!!!!

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A DELLIGHTFUL DAY...VAUX LE VICOMTE EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS...HOUSE AND GARDENS TRULY MAGNIFICENT...AND A LOVELY DRIVE OUT IN THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE AS WELL.
CHATEAUX FONTAINEBLEAU SOMETHING OF A DISAPPOINTMENT...IT ISN'T BEING KEPT UP VERY WELL...CHANDELIERS ARE DUSTY AND LOTS OF STUFF NEEDS A COAT OF PAINT...A DISAPPOINTMENT BUT LOVED ROAMING THE LITTLE TOWN OF FONTAINEBLEAU AND MIXING WITH THE NATIVES...

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I enjoyed the tour. Audio guides were helpful. A round guide would have been better.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Enjoyed the flexibility to walk around on our own instead of being guided every step of the way. The tour guide was full of information on the bus ride out of and back into Paris, she also knew a lot about where we were going. Beautiful chateau's.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour! We had all day between the two chateaux but they were so beautiful we could have stayed even longer. The guide was helpful and there was a restaurant to eat lunch at that was quite good. The bus was comfortable and the ride was a lovely little voyage outside Paris. The Vaux le Vicomte was a wonderful surprise and so outstanding to see for the first time! I would highly recommend this all day independent tour with audio go at your own pace devices to anyone wanting to see something new and different from the Paris tourist attractions.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Loved seeing both chateaus, they were great. My only complaint is that the description said we would have an audio guide at Fontainebleau, but we did NOT. We would have had to get in line with the other tourists, which would have made is not skip the line, and pay 3 euros to get the audio guide. The line was long enough that our foursome decided to not do that, so we missed out on hearing what each room had to offer and the history. There were descriptions posted in each room, but again, with the number of tourists there and with the darkness in some rooms, sometimes it was impossible to read them. We did get the audio guides at Vaux le Vicomte, so that part was great.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Christmas Day Trip to Vaux le Vicomte from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful trip, an amazing Chateau and the Christmas decorations were incredible. Garden spectacular. Bus driver was good and excellent driving skills given the amount of traffic to get out of Paris. We would recommend this trip to one of the best Chateaus in France.

Doing what: Christmas Day Trip to Vaux le Vicomte from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out exploring 2 amazing historical palaces. Having an experienced driver makes it easy to just focus on sightseeing and have a relaxing day.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well worth seeing, gives you an insight to the past, and how royalty lived.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

what a beautiful place, felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. The only bummer was that the fountains where not on during our visit so we had to use our imagination

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thouroughly enjoyable, well paced, and time for an enjoyable lunch at Vaux le Vicomte. Sadly, Fountainebleau is now filled with masses of furnishings of the period, and not as interesting as when we saw it some years ago.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful day. Such beautiful estates.
Limited time to expore the grounds so if an electric buggy/golf cart is available, make use of it as the grounds are extensive and you may not have the time to walk around.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised. Couldn't have done it without the tour. Fontainebleau was fabulous and Vaux le Viscomte was a wonderful surprise. Just what we needed: transport and guidance. Great tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous day out - definitely need the whole day to get around the place. The bus left on time and was punctual picking us up again. Perfect time of the year to go (Sept 2014) as there weren't too many tourists and could have a really good look at everything.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Plenty of time at both places and enjoyed the fact that we could go at our own pace

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice trip to VAUX-Le Vicomte. The dinner was nice and included wine. The time allowed for the tour felt a bit rushed but with the long ride from Paris it would be difficult to make it longer. The palace is beautiful and the candles made it a special evening. The fireworks were very nice although i was disappointed you could not hear classical music which would have enhanced it, tThere was music but you could only hear it off in the distance.) Think they need bigger speakers. Our driver was very helpful and dropped us off close to our hotel when we returned which was after midnight.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Day trip was great. There was no audio guide for Fontainebleau. This was a little misleading. The add read like you would get one at both. The line was very long which prevented you from getting an audio guide. Enjoyed the tour at your own pace. Bus driver was very nice and helpful. Amount of time allocated at both was good.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable day out from the madness of Paris. Remember that this is not a full tour per say, but rather transport between Paris and the two chateaux's. Upon check in we were given tickets and vouchers for admission and audio guides at each chateaux, along with a sheet giving us the drop off and pick up times, as the driver speaks very little English. You get about 3 hours at each location. Really enjoyed Vaux le Vicomte, as it was very quiet, but fantastic rooms and grounds. Fontainebleau was also nice, just busier. Driver was about 20 minutes late on the last pick up, but given the traffic and the fact this bus covers two totally different tours (both by drop off and pick up later), it was understandable. Overall it was worth it and the day went smoothly.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a heavy fog to start the day so it was slow getting to the chateau. There was no guide provided.The driver had multiple tours on board so we were dropped off and given entry tickets to progress. He came back for us at the appointed hour and took us to the next chateau. The arrangement worked fairly well. Both chateau were impressive places to visit. Lunch at Vaux le Vicomte was expensive and did not appeal to our taste. Some of the food was obviously prepared well in advance of their lunch time slot and that was to its disadvantage. I had some brie cheese that was not at all nice. You can find something in their menu to eat but it was nothing brilliant. There were no other food venues (or any other buildings, shops etc) near Vaux le Vicomte so you are a captive audience unless you bring your own. There was at least a village immediately outside Fontainebleau chateau and food could be sourced there if you can wait until that late in the day to eat.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was nice and we had enough time to visit both places.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Vaux le Vicomte was well worth seeing. The audio tour was excellent.
We would like to have spent more time there so we could wander the spectacular gardens.
Fontainebleau was very different and very beautiful. Unfortunately, by then we were suffering from chateaux overload. I recommend you come up with a 1/2 day tour to Vaux le Vicomte so visitors get more time there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, we enjoyed Vaux le Vicomte a lot more than Fontainebleau only because we were already tired but both places were beautiful. We also enjoyed exploring on our own with the audio guide instead of being tide to a tour guide. The bus ride wasn't that long but make sure to bring comfortable shoes because you will be doing lots of walking!!!.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most memorable day on our trip and would well recommend it to anyone. You visit two beautiful Chateaux, have enough time to see everything, can enjoy a good lunch, have nice gifts shops and relax on the bus. It will be part of cherished memories

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message