Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent way to see two exciting Chateaux in one day, but don't expect anyone to guide you. One is given written directions when to get back to the bus when boarding, but that is about it. The bus driver drove us to the Chateaux without a word. There was some confusion where to pick up our audios,etc., but with a little common sense it wasn't difficult.
I suggest bringing a snack and eating it between the drive to the second Chateaus as one won't have time to eat if you want to see everything that's in these Chateaux. You will have to decide what is more important to you - eating or viewing everything ...
This is a full day trip, from 9:00 until after 5:00, and do get there early as there are a number of day trips starting at the same place !

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really nice tour, friendly people, and what we loved is that they take you there but you are on your own when you visit!!! You can take as long as you like or go as fast as you want. both castles are beautiful and worth the visit.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great Guide and wonderful places to visit. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed this day! Make sure you hire a buggy , that way you will get to see all of the garden otherwise it's a long walk and the tour probably won't allow you to explore beautifully kept gardens at Fontainebleau if you walk. They aren't expensive, you'll enjoy the gardens more, plus there fun to drive. You will see little brooks and streams, lovely. The woods are beautiful, very peaceful and pretty.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I do not like the Paris Visión office on Rue Pyramids, it is waybtoo small and the línes to check in y way too long and there are no restroom facilities either, I will not book your tours if I have to go to that office to check in

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It is great that our guide was bilingual and made it clear to use on where/when to meet up.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Mixed feelings on this one. No commentary at all when starting out, on drive or throughout the day except for the audios at the properties. Vaux lt Vicomte very good.
However did not know at Fontainebleau whether could do the bedchambers or the museum or both.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I believe this tour is a little overpriced. I agree with some of the other reviewers regarding not getting what was offered in the description. Pick up point was near the Louvre, left about 45 minutes after time stated. Driver and guide were very friendly and courteous. Took about 1 hour to get to the castle. Don't be confused with the title of the tour and the pictures. You don't get a candlelight visit outdoors under the fireworks like it shows in the pictures. We were all herded upstairs to a small cramped restaurant section of what was most likely once a bedroom. What you do get is a dinner of the restaurants choice, unlike the three options that are shown in dinner section. We were served the foie gras, chicken and rice pilaf, and a strawberry dessert. Good part about dinner is instead of a glass of red or white wine, they gave us a whole bottle to share at our table for two. I think the table for six were given two bottles to share. With that being said, if there are two of you then go for the single table.

We didn't get a tour of the chateaus' Carriage Museum. The chateau, was unspectacular. You've seen one you seen them all. You're given what resembles an old style flip cell phone that has audio for you to listen to during the tour. There are no earphones, so it looks as if everybody is holding a cellphone to there head the whole time. Like another reviewer said, by the time you are done touring the interiors, there isn't much time left to go explore the gardens with what daylight is left.

Find yourself a nice seat on the steps behind the chateau or anywhere that faces out to the left. That's where the extremely short firework show will take place. After the fireworks, all of the onlookers walk out to the same side of the chateau and come across the dining section where you thought you would be having your own candlelight dinner / firework show.

At this point, you're back to the bus waiting on all the others. Bus driver makes attempt to bring to hotels.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

You get what you pay for. The bus will drop you on site and pick you up at the designated time.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

First we were told to dress up formal this is wrong u need comfortable shoes and cloths for the weather at the time ,second it sounds like u will be eating in the castle because that what u were selling, u sit up top of a cafeteria setting loud and drafty not nice, the food was horrible, and a small pc of chicken and spoon ful of rice .there was 32 of us with 1waitress who could not look after us properly. the guide could hardly speak English and hard to understand, on top of it I had to sit through him speaking it 3 times in other languages I booked English and did not enjoy this at all over all did not enjoy it at all for the money it was only worth 50.00 and for what I paid it was high way robbery do not recommend at all it was terrible right from the beginning, on top of it all the washrooms were dirty had no toilet paper or paper towels or hand dryers not working when I asked for supplies I was told it's not her problem nothing she could do for such a large place and so many people it sure was not looked after properly. I would not recommend this again horrible experience do not go!!

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I really was disappointed with the lack of any guidance on this tour--basically thrown on a bus, barely told where the entrance was and what time to return. Probably some of my fault for not realizing there was not a guide of any sort--so merely a bus ride and entrance ticket. I would definitely not do this again and will research the tours better next time.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The facilities at both places were great. I highly recommend these tours.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good food, nice gardens and amazing fireworks show.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both chateaus were very interesting. Jean Louis was an excellent guide, keeping us informed about times and locations to meet. It made our trip very manageable.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Elizabeth W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Well worth a long day made longer by demonstrations in Paris that delayed us for an hour and a half. Vaux le vicomte is an unexpected gem and has excellent facilities for lunch. fontainebleu is vast and you would need several visits to do it justice. this tour is excellent in that you can go at your own pace with an audio guide

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I think you can do this tour on your own. We were lead to believe that we would be eating outside on the terrance, but when we arrived, we were sent upstairs in a restaurant and tucked away in a corner. The staff wasn't very attentive. They only showed up to bring food and didn't check on us otherwise. I think for the price, you can take the train out to the closest train station, then take the shuttle to the chateau. Once there, you can purchase a tour of the chateau audio-guided, eat at the same restaurant there were tables outside, but wasn't an option for our tour, and watch the fireworks for yourself. It would have been a whole lot cheaper for a little extra effort on my part, but we honestly thought we were going to be dining al fresco with a great view instead of upstairs tucked away in a little room. Not worth the price.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour sounded great on paper, but was too much to cover in the time allotment. I would recommend taking a tour of the chauteaux that has the most interest, as it is hard to cover both in one day.
The instructions for the audio that covered the first chateaux, was easy to use, when walking through the chateaux. It was nice to be able to return to a specific room and replay the audio for that particular room, if one missed some information from the audio the first time around. The instructions for the audio of the second chateaux, however, was not as clear. It was a bit more confusing.
The garden areas for both chateaux were breath-taking at a glance. One did not really have enough time
to really go out and wander around the gardens.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is amazing. Tour guide quite helpful. Bus has huge glass window so great views along the way. Had lunch at first shuttle. Very yummy. Spent a long time viewing each room. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly satisfactory. By far the most convenient and efficient means of visiting these two fabulous castles. The audioguides worked well.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

i had studied the history of this two wonderful chateax in college, so it was especially meaningful to actually have the opportunity to visit them!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, well organized tour. Plenty of independent time as well as tasty meal, chateau audio tour, candlelit walks and fireworks.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We didn't expect to have a guide on the bus with us, but she was wonderful! She gave us a brief tour of the city as we left and filled the traffic jam with jewels of knowledge for our group on the way home. YES! We will certainly use you in future European visits!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had the driver pick us up at our hotel highly recommended as you don't get back until after midnight. He was a dream---so kind, considerate. Our dinner at the palace was lovely we opted for a bottle of champagne at an additional nominal charge. It was wonderful touring the candle-lit castle with few guests, but the best: our own, private, fireworks show! It was spectacular!!! I can't write enough about this experience. It was one of the best things we've ever done, and I can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as advertised, very efficient and friendly service. Highly recommend Vaux le Vicomte - an under-advertised gem of a Chateau. Fontainebleau is bigger and more famous, but Vaux le Vicomte gives you a better idea of the elegant lifestyle.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message