Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Visiting Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte was a wonderful trip. I have been using Viator in France for the past three summers and each time I book about three to four trips with them. Always very professional and they pick the best places in and around the Paris area. The tour guides know what they are doing and try to make it very pleasant for all the passengers. The coach bus is very comfortable and it is great at the end of the day to get back on a nice air conditioned bus, let the driver take the wheel and enjoy the trip back into Paris.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What can I say? This was the best day of our vacation! We had gone to Versailles the day before and were so disappointed. These 2 Chateaus and their gardens were so much better! The lunch was superb and the 4 other travelers we were with (2 from Australia, 2 from Wisconsin) were a lot of fun. Wish we could have spent a half hour more in Barbizon and a half hour less at Fontainebleau though. Then it would have been perfect! Our guide Natasha was wonderful too. She was very informative about the history of each Chateau. Would recommend to all my friends and family as a must do!

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very relaxing way to see Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte. I had never heard of Vaux before but I liked it better than Fontainebleau. There was a wonderful cafe at Vaux.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day trip, guide was really good and informative.

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful day with this tour. Everything went beautifully thanks to the great organisation by Viator and its subsidiaries.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very knowledgeable driver. Fascinating visit. Worth going to

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice bus ride. Fantastic chateaus. Fontainebleu was more opulant. Walking around the town was lovely. We had time to have a cafe crême.
There was no guide nor did we get an audio guide.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is definitely a transport only tour. After telling us where we were going and a timeline sketch not another word was spoken on the bus. Thought they could have at least given us a history of the chateaux and Vaux le Vicomte. The restaurant was expensive and my piece of pork was 75% fat. There is no other option to eat except for a walk up snack bar.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful chateau and grounds. The dinner was good but the service was very slow. Fireworks at the far end of the grounds conclude the evening.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

2 different but enjoyable castles. The gardens are great but the castle interiors are what you go to see. Well worth the day to cover both castles.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The trip to Vaux le Vicomte was interesting and enjoyable. We had lunch there. Unfortunately we were then told that the Chateaux de Fontainebleau was closed because of the weather. We were told that we would be refunded the entrance fee for the Chateau. That seemed completely unfair to me, since the whole reason for the tour was to go to Fontainebleau. I felt I had missed one-half on my trip and they were refunding me one-sixth of the price. I wrote to the corporate office about my complaint and have been told I will receive one-half of my tour price back. So I feel the company responded in good faith. I have been to Fontainebleau and it is well worth visiting.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace was only slightly better than if we had gone independently. The guide was proficient but did not add any additional information to give a personalised feel. The meal and setting was below our expectations having read your promotional material. I would not recommend this tour as good value for your money.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Time to spend seeing all you want and punch a bonus

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. There was no narration on the bus but we knew this from previous comments. We did have an audio guide at both places. To our surprise we much preferred Vaux le Vicomte to Fontainebleau as we felt the latter was so overdone it was almost gaudy.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Faux le vicomte was great because it you can see it almost at its original state but fountain blue was ammazing because you actually see Napoleans clothing hoax family portraits. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message