Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Vaux le Vicomte was absoultely amazing!!!!!!! If I lived in France I would become a member.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Emma Teresa V Mexico

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I think this trip has to be a half hour later so we can get to se the castle with the night light as it shows on the picture or give a half hour more to see that. Besides the garden is so big that you need time to go around.

Doing what: Christmas Day Trip to Vaux le Vicomte from Paris

bml L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was so great and fun, I learned so much on this trip,I really like the different Christmas tree, and of course Paris in general,I wanna go back soon,maybe next year I'll come again:!!!

Doing what: Christmas Day Trip to Vaux le Vicomte from Paris

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the bus ride was comfortable, and the chateau's were beautiful

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lila J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour event well worth the time. The tour departed as stated, leading us into a world of history, art, wealth and wonder. You are given enough time to explore, shoot photo's and shop for gifts. I took snacks with me so that I would not waste time grabbing a bite in the cafe.
Chateaux Vaux le Vicomte provided the historical background to the movie version of, All This and Heaven Too. Thirty minutes away, Chateaux de Fontainebleau, is visually expansive in size with room after room of historical beauty. Both buildings are architectural masterpieces that are worth the visit.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

John United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip. The bus driver was very accommodating and very helpful.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything was perfect - on time, clean, friendly and well worth the price.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

camerontilson

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This day-long tour represents great value in that you get to visit both Vaux-le-Vicompte and Fountainebleau. We really enjoyed Vaux-le-Vicompte given that it was less crowded and its pastoral setting. The only downside is that there is insufficient time 2.5 hours for Fountainebleau - there is barely enough time to see all the rooms and none at all for the grounds and gardens.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

EDUARDO B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Beautiful sightseeings and a lot of French history in these places

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Bill C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

We enjoyed seeing the Chateauxs but there was no interaction with anyone- m

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour with 2 very interesting Chateaux. Tour Guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Jtalexandercmps

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect night. Food was great and candles and fireworks made it really special. Guide was just there to manage things and tours were on your own. And taking the van rather than a bus made a really civilized evening out of it!

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

radtechy2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Instead of doing Versailles we chose to see two chateau's. Glad we did the tour from the beginning it was fabulous. The tour bus was new and modern which had a moon roof and seats very comfortable. The Vaux le Vicomte was my favorite as it was stately and in the country. Lunch at Vicomte was terrific but you need to allow time as you can't do all the gardens and include lunch so budget your time. The Chateaux de Fontainebleau is endless and at times boring but you can choose where you want to go. I would split my time and do some of the gardens which we only had a small amount of time as we didn't know better. This is a full day as we left at 9:00 am and arrived home at 6:30 pm. Viator I have used in New York and Chicago and for the price it is quality all the way.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

skclaudi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was one of my favorite places Vaux le Vicomte. It was such a great day of history and exploration. The sheer beauty of the chateaux and gardens were beyond belief. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

CHRISTINE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I did not realize that all those lights shown in the photo are for lighted candles. A magical experience and definately a must do. The meal was just OK but the fire work display was great. You ate dinner in an area
separate from Chateau. Then you walked to the Chateau for a tour. The fire works were in the back side of chateau over the gardens. The second floor was closed but it did not matter. First floor the most spectacular. There might have been over 1000 light candles.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

sol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a must before you visit the versailles, Dinner was romantic , the tour very informative and firework was amazing, highly recommended

,

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everything was great except for the toilets! Squat toilets and no toilet paper after such an elegant evening caused dismay and hilarity. Mostly dismay.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Comfortable bus and journey, well organised.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting and impressive visits to great monuments to French history, culture and life. What tremendous achievements in art, architecture, landscaping and culture these two palaces represent. The only negative was could not fully enjoy the gardens in Fontainebleau as it was raining.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Augusta M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Both Chateauxs are breathtaking. The bus is a very efficient way to get to both places. My only complaint is that it took such a long time to sign in and get going in the morning. We arrived at 8:45 and the bus did not really get rolling till almost 10pm. They need to streamline their sign in process. If you go it might be smart to bring a drink and a sandwich as there is so much to see and so little time.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Sherril W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was very enjoyable, both sites and well worth the day trip to get there

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Diane N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed being able to tour these two chateaux at our own pace. The audio headsets were informative and outlined the history and artifacts at each site. There may not have been a hall of mirrors as in Versailles but the treasures were no less spectacular and there were far fewer crowds.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

David G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The transportation provided was good, because that is all that is provided on the tour. It was understood that this was not a guided tour, but some more information on the tour plan and lunch would have made it more enjoyable. The time is limited at both locations, b ut still worthwhile. Vaux de Vicomte far outshines the chateaux.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message