Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out exploring 2 amazing historical palaces. Having an experienced driver makes it easy to just focus on sightseeing and have a relaxing day.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well worth seeing, gives you an insight to the past, and how royalty lived.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

what a beautiful place, felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. The only bummer was that the fountains where not on during our visit so we had to use our imagination

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful day. Such beautiful estates.
Limited time to expore the grounds so if an electric buggy/golf cart is available, make use of it as the grounds are extensive and you may not have the time to walk around.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised. Couldn't have done it without the tour. Fontainebleau was fabulous and Vaux le Viscomte was a wonderful surprise. Just what we needed: transport and guidance. Great tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous day out - definitely need the whole day to get around the place. The bus left on time and was punctual picking us up again. Perfect time of the year to go (Sept 2014) as there weren't too many tourists and could have a really good look at everything.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Plenty of time at both places and enjoyed the fact that we could go at our own pace

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice trip to VAUX-Le Vicomte. The dinner was nice and included wine. The time allowed for the tour felt a bit rushed but with the long ride from Paris it would be difficult to make it longer. The palace is beautiful and the candles made it a special evening. The fireworks were very nice although i was disappointed you could not hear classical music which would have enhanced it, tThere was music but you could only hear it off in the distance.) Think they need bigger speakers. Our driver was very helpful and dropped us off close to our hotel when we returned which was after midnight.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

GREAT DAY OUT COULD HAVE DONE WITH A COUPLE MORE HOURS NOT ENOUGH TIME TO EXPLORE WONDERFUL GARDENS

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Day trip was great. There was no audio guide for Fontainebleau. This was a little misleading. The add read like you would get one at both. The line was very long which prevented you from getting an audio guide. Enjoyed the tour at your own pace. Bus driver was very nice and helpful. Amount of time allocated at both was good.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable day out from the madness of Paris. Remember that this is not a full tour per say, but rather transport between Paris and the two chateaux's. Upon check in we were given tickets and vouchers for admission and audio guides at each chateaux, along with a sheet giving us the drop off and pick up times, as the driver speaks very little English. You get about 3 hours at each location. Really enjoyed Vaux le Vicomte, as it was very quiet, but fantastic rooms and grounds. Fontainebleau was also nice, just busier. Driver was about 20 minutes late on the last pick up, but given the traffic and the fact this bus covers two totally different tours (both by drop off and pick up later), it was understandable. Overall it was worth it and the day went smoothly.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a heavy fog to start the day so it was slow getting to the chateau. There was no guide provided.The driver had multiple tours on board so we were dropped off and given entry tickets to progress. He came back for us at the appointed hour and took us to the next chateau. The arrangement worked fairly well. Both chateau were impressive places to visit. Lunch at Vaux le Vicomte was expensive and did not appeal to our taste. Some of the food was obviously prepared well in advance of their lunch time slot and that was to its disadvantage. I had some brie cheese that was not at all nice. You can find something in their menu to eat but it was nothing brilliant. There were no other food venues (or any other buildings, shops etc) near Vaux le Vicomte so you are a captive audience unless you bring your own. There was at least a village immediately outside Fontainebleau chateau and food could be sourced there if you can wait until that late in the day to eat.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was nice and we had enough time to visit both places.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Vaux le Vicomte was well worth seeing. The audio tour was excellent.
We would like to have spent more time there so we could wander the spectacular gardens.
Fontainebleau was very different and very beautiful. Unfortunately, by then we were suffering from chateaux overload. I recommend you come up with a 1/2 day tour to Vaux le Vicomte so visitors get more time there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message