Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The facilities at both places were great. I highly recommend these tours.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good food, nice gardens and amazing fireworks show.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

Elizabeth W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Well worth a long day made longer by demonstrations in Paris that delayed us for an hour and a half. Vaux le vicomte is an unexpected gem and has excellent facilities for lunch. fontainebleu is vast and you would need several visits to do it justice. this tour is excellent in that you can go at your own pace with an audio guide

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I think you can do this tour on your own. We were lead to believe that we would be eating outside on the terrance, but when we arrived, we were sent upstairs in a restaurant and tucked away in a corner. The staff wasn't very attentive. They only showed up to bring food and didn't check on us otherwise. I think for the price, you can take the train out to the closest train station, then take the shuttle to the chateau. Once there, you can purchase a tour of the chateau audio-guided, eat at the same restaurant there were tables outside, but wasn't an option for our tour, and watch the fireworks for yourself. It would have been a whole lot cheaper for a little extra effort on my part, but we honestly thought we were going to be dining al fresco with a great view instead of upstairs tucked away in a little room. Not worth the price.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour sounded great on paper, but was too much to cover in the time allotment. I would recommend taking a tour of the chauteaux that has the most interest, as it is hard to cover both in one day.
The instructions for the audio that covered the first chateaux, was easy to use, when walking through the chateaux. It was nice to be able to return to a specific room and replay the audio for that particular room, if one missed some information from the audio the first time around. The instructions for the audio of the second chateaux, however, was not as clear. It was a bit more confusing.
The garden areas for both chateaux were breath-taking at a glance. One did not really have enough time
to really go out and wander around the gardens.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is amazing. Tour guide quite helpful. Bus has huge glass window so great views along the way. Had lunch at first shuttle. Very yummy. Spent a long time viewing each room. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly satisfactory. By far the most convenient and efficient means of visiting these two fabulous castles. The audioguides worked well.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

i had studied the history of this two wonderful chateax in college, so it was especially meaningful to actually have the opportunity to visit them!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, well organized tour. Plenty of independent time as well as tasty meal, chateau audio tour, candlelit walks and fireworks.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We didn't expect to have a guide on the bus with us, but she was wonderful! She gave us a brief tour of the city as we left and filled the traffic jam with jewels of knowledge for our group on the way home. YES! We will certainly use you in future European visits!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had the driver pick us up at our hotel highly recommended as you don't get back until after midnight. He was a dream---so kind, considerate. Our dinner at the palace was lovely we opted for a bottle of champagne at an additional nominal charge. It was wonderful touring the candle-lit castle with few guests, but the best: our own, private, fireworks show! It was spectacular!!! I can't write enough about this experience. It was one of the best things we've ever done, and I can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as advertised, very efficient and friendly service. Highly recommend Vaux le Vicomte - an under-advertised gem of a Chateau. Fontainebleau is bigger and more famous, but Vaux le Vicomte gives you a better idea of the elegant lifestyle.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I were very pleased with the service. It was an amazing experience, it may not the most economical way to visit two beatiful chateaux in one day it was well worth money experience. Transportation was comfortable, on-time and service was very proffessional. I would highly recommend this tour again.
thank you,

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and related service. Well worth the cost.
The Palace and grounds were beautiful.
Our driver/tour guide picked us up on time at our hotel and was attentive and informative the entire trip.
My wife fell ill during the tour and the driver made a special effort to ensure she and I were comfortable, etc.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very pleasant short tour. Saves you time as it is not straightforward to reach Vaux Palace on your own.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as described on the Viator website

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice drive through the countryside and very informative about the history behind the buildings and the people involved. A very pleasant excursion. I definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vaux le Vicomte is fascinating -- its history, its construction, garden surprises. The audio tour is excellent -- pictures on the handheld display help verify you're in the right room! The bus was on time and comfortable.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Don't get alarmed when you walk into the office for check in. The staff at the touroffice handle the customers with speed, efficiency while being friendly. Anthony was especially helpful. Our.driver departed on time, was friendly during our dest6. Would recommend company.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour but could have been enhanced with a handout explaining entrance procedures and diagrams,

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were a bit delayed out of Paris and did not have time to see the carriage museum. There was no choice at dinner which was a bit problematic for the picky eaters in our group, but most of us enjoyed the food and service was good. The chateau itself and the audio guide were wonderful-lots of time and space no crowds! to look around. We also enjoyed the fireworks. Wish someone had advised us to explore grounds first as it was too dark to really see much once we were out of the chateau. Overall, highly recommend

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The traffic back in central Paris was terrible. It would be better to move the tour time earlier to avoid the traffic.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The driver's microphone did not project to the back of the minivan so very little of the short narration could be heard. The frenzied wait staff were not hospitable and were disorganized. They attempted to charge for the water which was included and did not offer coffee as it was trop tard or getting late. The candlelights created a very novel and romantic setting. The fireworks were less impressive. Overall, this tour is expensive and needs improvement.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message