Experience traditional recipes and methods for preparing French cuisine and indulge your passion for cheese, pastries, chocolate and wine as you explore Paris. Fine food, wine, and the gourmet spirit are at the very heart of French culture, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Caroline was an excellent guide. She was on time and made sure we had our needs met before walking to cheese shops, open market and bakeries. Each step of the way, she gave the history of the foods and the importance each food item played within the French culture and daily living. I gained a better knowledge of how the French eat and why they do so. I ate plenty of samples and we had time to sit with wine, pate, bread and cheese. A perfect way to spend 3 hours on my first full day in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Carole Fouque, our guide, was terrific. She is a print food writer with a natural passion for cooking and food. She is a fashionably dressed French women wearing a beret to complete her image. The tour started at the local outdoor farmers' market. Carole explained the importance of choosing produce, fish and meat in their growing seasons when the local produce is at its peak, fish are in optimal water temperatures and animals are eating healthy natural grasses. As we walked, Carole explained the history of the area and how it related to the architecture. We stopped at a boulangerie for unbelievable croissants and brioche, toured an amazing fromagerie and butcher shop ,and then stolled up and down Rue Mouffetard to a final stop at a foie gras shop. Chilled white wine was waiting for our tasting of the bread, cheeses, fruit and foie grass that Carole gathered for us on our walking tour. All was delicious and informative. We highly recommend the Paris Walking Tour of the Latin Quarter.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great way to see areas of Paris. Our guide was very informative and good fun. The food we got to experience was excellent! A good way to sample some great food and markets of Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This wine tasting dinner exceeded any expectations I had built up in my mind for my last night in Paris. I was travelling alone, so wanted something where I wouldn't feel alone at dinner and it met that and more. We were seated at a long wine tasting table, very sophisticated and beautiful in the cellar of a restaurant. Our sommelier was more than attentive, was present for the entire time and led us on a wonderful path through French wines, their origins, anything we might have wanted to know was happily answered by Richard. He was cheerful, funny, seriously into teaching us about wine without being pushy. He really made our evening. I think he might have just stayed with us all night had we not needed to get back to our hotels before the Metro closed. Richard was a shining star of this tour, but the food was excellent as well. Thanks so much, Viator for offering this tour. Nobody should hesitate, just book it and enjoy!

Doing what: French Wine Tasting Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the most enjoyable afternoon on this tour. We were in Paris with 2 teenagers. The guide was very informative and engaging. The food stops were excellent and the guide was well versed on the history of the area. Which was great because we were only in Paris for such a short time so tasting good quality chocolates and pastry in a small group of 5 and getting a history lesson exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Paris Chocolate and Pastry Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Chef Dominique was charming and instructive. We took a bus to the Farmer's Market and got immersed in that setting. Then back to his home to cook up a wonderful lunch. We were joined by his charming children and wife, which made the entire experience even more wonderful. This was a highlight of our Paris vacation.

And he emailed us the recipes so we can try to recreate our culinary success at home.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Extremely interesting and nice tour. I recommend this for all that are interested in food culture and history of Paris. Our guide was wery good and we liked the walk. Best regards. From Iceland.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this! We had a group of 4 and a friendly and informative guide. The guide filled us in on a lot of the history of Paris and this area which was most fascinating and was able to answer a whole lot of questions we had been bottling up. The food was delicious - I wished we had done this earlier in our stay. Great value for money.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a definite "must" for people coming to Paris for the first time. The atmosphere, the charm and the food was outstanding. The people who run the restaurant/bar were charming and very helpful. Can't say enough about the food. The dessert was fabulous. Even my husband who does not usually eat dessert ate it and proclaimed it great. The wine served with each course was explained thoroughly and was very generous in the portions.

Doing what: French Gourmet Cuisine: Dinner and Wine Pairings at a Paris Wine Cellar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent class. Fred is a great cook and teacher. Hope to do it again the next time I'm in Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely loved the tour and my guide. Tried some amazing treats but also learned about Paris itself. I do a food tour in almost every city I visit and this one was definitely in the top three. The guide even helped me plan the rest of my day, pick something to bring home for my boyfriend, and directed me to my next destination. I wish I could remember the guide's name, but he was great!

Doing what: Paris Chocolate and Pastry Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time taking this cooking class!!! The instructor was amazing and lots of fun. This was one of our favorite and most memorable activities in Paris!! I would highly recommend that all visitors take a class at Patisserie a la Carte!!!

Doing what: Pastry and Dessert Course in Paris

Jacki S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed the tour and going to places we wouldn't have found by ourselves. The food was delicious and after the tour we decided to leisurely revisit all the wonderful places again. The places we visited were all very delicious, good quality and well worth visiting. There were only three of us on the tour which meant we were able to ask many questions about food. Our tour guide was a local herself and knew Paris and food...when we visit again we were like to do another tour with the company...

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was SOOO much fun. I would highly recommend this to everyone that wants to try something different in Paris. My husband and I did this together. It was so much fun to watch him slam and bang the puff pastry dough into shape, since he doesn't ever do any of the cooking. Once we got there, we saw that she offers several other cooking classes- all in ENGLISH- and all looked to be amazing. I wanted to take more of her classes while we were there, but she is super popular and was all booked up. We made Nepoleon's, Palmier's, apple turnovers and the cream for the Nepoleon's. It was fantastic. Definitely book this tour

Doing what: Pastry and Dessert Course in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Myriam, was really nice and knowledgeable. The food we got to experience was fantastic and it was nice to see a part of Paris that many tourists don't get to see.

Doing what: Paris Chocolate and Pastry Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message