Whether it’s soft and chewy baguettes or rich sauces and creamy cheeses, French cuisine is a favorite across the globe. Travelers to Paris looking to unleash their inner Julia Child can attempt to master the art of French cooking under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 382 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ffehle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic, Chef Marthe made macaroons with my daughter and her friend both 13, they had a great time, and the macaroons are out of this world delicious!

Doing what: Learn How To Make French Macaroons in Paris

jonnypantansky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This class rocked. I had a blast learning some of the fundamentals of French cooking and considering the amount of time we had we were really able to create something delicious and gorgeous. Fred kept us interested the entire time, and told some great historical snippets as well as some funny jokes. It was the perfect way to learn more about French culture - through its food! Would definitely recommend to anyone with even the slightest foodie tendencies. We had some time to explore during market tour so it was also a chance for me to pick up some fois gras to bring back home for much less than in the States.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Yalaka H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic and the chef did some instructions in english and french. It was really great except I forgot to get the recipes!!!

Doing what: French Cooking Class at L'atelier des Chefs

Patrice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a wonderful class! I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Harvey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Class was immensely informative, lots of fun, relaxed, comfortable, and I walked away with truly delectable croissants and the knowledge and confidence to make them again and again. Bravo!

Doing what: Paris Croissant and Traditional Breakfast Pastry Class

Jim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was Avery fun experience. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

Sherri E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best experience ever and the highlight of my trip to Paris. My son and I took the 6 hour class which included the market visit where we got a mini lesson on French cheese and wine. Fred and Frederick were both entertaining and shared a wealth of knowledge on French cooking as well as the culture and history of France. I hope to take another class on my next visit!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

EXACTLY the experience we were looking for! From the moment we arrived Chef Dominique was nothing but friendly and hospitable. After a nice chat over espresso we headed across the street to the farmer's market to gather fresh ingredients for our meal. Chef took the time to walk us through what local life is like and was sure to accommodate our food preferences. While preparing the meal he carefully walked us through each step and made it interactive to ensure we were learning as we went. We also appreciated we made dishes we would actually make in real life on an average week night and not something just for special occasions which we'd be less likely to make again. His beautiful daughter joined us for the finished product and we enjoyed the meal together. Thank you Chef Dominique!

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

big bird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Such a fun and learning experience! Chef Didier Lavry of Le Petit Mitron gave us so much of his time and shared his passion for this profession. We were all inspired to go home and get elbow deep in flour! Such a great experience I will never forget!

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

Machel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Too much fun . . . even with an interpreter the experience was priceless and a must do when in Paris!

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife has made macaroons at home, but this class gave her inside tips she didn't know. Making macaroons is very precise, and Chef Marthe was fantastic.

Doing what: Learn How To Make French Macaroons in Paris

Anthony W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful way to spend an afternoon in Paris. Frederik is great company. His cooking instructions clear and concise. Still enjoying the macarons days later.

Doing what: Learn How To Make French Macaroons in Paris

Mike C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Hello, my name is Robyn. I attended the small-group cooking class with Mike my husband on our honeymoon. I was extremely excited to do this class again as I did it before with Frederic and had such great experience. So great,, I brought my husband a chef as well to do it with me. Cooking with Fred was awesome, we used unusual ingredients, learned new skills and the entire experience was very organized, professional and worth the money. I even made the pineapple dessert pictured on your website. Loved it!

When booking most recently, I saw the picture of Frederic on your website which made me think I had the correct booking. For our class on April 20th, we had Chef Dury. I was disappointed at first, but if it was like my past class, I knew it would be great. Dury was pleasant, but I was not impressed with our experience at all. I was disappointed most because of the wasted money and our precious time in Paris. It was not professional, organized and food prep was pretty basic. The chef seemed scattered, he engaged us very little, often doing tasks himself without even describing verbally what he was doing. I asked questions to engage him and so we didn't just stand there doing nothing. We chopped onions and the chef gave us dull knives. My knife wasn't even a chopping knife, but a peering knife, so I hit my knuckles with every chop. He did described how important it is to slice an onion not crush the onion as you cut it and also mentioned the importance of a sharp knife. He laughed a bit b/c I think he realized how dull his knives were.

The wine came out of a box which I would not expect from a class described as a three-course Parisian banquet.

It was also a bit uncomfortable when arriving to the apartment with the chefs kids there. They also ate with us a meal that we paid for. The family also had discussions among themselves in French, again excluding the customers.

Time and money wasted :

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

Althea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ok Paris is known for it's amazing architecture but also Macaroon I got to take this macaroon class and learn how to make macaroon. It was a lot of fun to meet new people there and understand the craft of Macaroon and appreciate how tasty macaroon's are. I highly recommend this tour to all ages.

Doing what: Paris Small-Group Macaron Cooking Class

Nicole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a highlight of our Paris trip. Baker Didier is full of personality and charm and our translator was great. Didn't receive the recipes as promised, however.

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My granddaughter and I really enjoyed this class. We and the teacher and others students laughed and devoured our croissants. Can't wait to make them at home. This class was the only one that gave us the recipe to take home instead of promising to email them, which we still haven't received.

Doing what: Paris Croissant and Traditional Breakfast Pastry Class

Stacey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful experience! I opted for the market visit and it was a nice walk during which we learned about French cheese and wine. The market itself was neat and we had a little bit to wander if we wanted to.
Once back we got to work peeling, chopping, laughing and enjoying the experience. New ways of cooking and preparing food were learned and I've already started using them! In particular the stock brand Fred uses. It has incredible flavor and I was able to find some before I left Paris and will be sure to purchase more during future trips! it's seriously good!!!
Don't miss this experience!!!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

jordyn.sifferman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had such a great time in this class. Baking macarons is very precise but the instructor was so sweet and helpful she made the process seamless and enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this class!

Doing what: Paris Small-Group Macaron Cooking Class

Wendy N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Interesting to learn how croissants are made, if you have the time on your trip, I recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Paris Croissant and Traditional Breakfast Pastry Class

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Authenitic cooking class with full recipes. Julie our instructor was very knowledgable, well prepared and had a perfect temperament. Facilities were excellent as well. Great tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Paris Croissant and Traditional Breakfast Pastry Class

I L Morgan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good day - Didier the Baker was great and so was the translator. I will now be looking for some more European food tours. We learnt a huge amount about baking. On a separate issue can you give me some idea as to when I will receive the recipes for the Baguettes/Croissants.
Thanks
ian

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

plinda4533

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fabulous! Chef Marthe was great. Explained everything well, and followed up with e-mailed recipes. Left her class with lots of goodies. Would most definitely take more of her classes on our next trip to Paris.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Desserts and Pastries

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had an excellent experience with chef Fred who shared lots of tips with us and made sure everyone participated in the preparation of our meal. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message