Whether it’s soft and chewy baguettes or rich sauces and creamy cheeses, French cuisine is a favorite across the globe. Travelers to Paris looking to unleash their inner Julia Child can attempt to master the art of French cooking under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 353 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jjhinch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very informative class with personalized instruction from an expert pastry maker. A wonderful way to experience a little bit of Paris.

Doing what: Paris Croissant and Traditional Breakfast Pastry Class

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

FANTASTIC! We liked it so much we stayed for a second class and learned how to make macaroons. Both Fred and his wife Amanda were patient, excellent teachers and very engaging. This was definitely a highlight of our vacation and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The company was delightful, exploring the market was fun and interesting, the food was delicious, the recipes doable and innovative, the chef--Fred--charming and informative. All in all, a great experience.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

gill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and enjoyable morning. Can't wait to try the recipes.

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

brad.crawley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful and tasty experience!! Marthe walked us through the market as she bought what we needed for our meal. She gave us time to stop at different stands and browse/buy things. The cooking portion of the day was back at her apartment. She did an excellent job of walking us through what we needed to do and let us actually do the cooking. Very hands-on! And oh my goodness - the resulting meal was DELICIOUS! She also sent us the recipes via email after the class, so we didn't have to worry about taking notes. This is a must-do!

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

Jillian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I'd been wanting to do a French cooking class in Paris for years, and I was pretty stoked to stumble across Le Foodist when I finally got around to it. I did the lunch cooking class with Fred, who was very entertaining and full of knowledge about not only French cooking, but French history in general.
Unlike some cooking classes, we all got to help out cooking a bit of everything - we weren't assigned to one part of the meal only. Great food - accompanied by wine of course - and a great way to spend an afternoon.
The next time I head back to Paris, my first stop will be Le Foodist's cheese and wine pairing.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Samantha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent experience! The chef was incredibly personable and the translator was fantastic. We felt we really learned the traditional methods involved in making croissants and baguettes. It was very hands on and we had a great time! I highly recommend!!!

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

tracey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great time. I learned a lot of the secrets to making delicious pastries. The instructors was very knowledgable and nice. The 3 pastries we made came out beautiful and delicious! I would recommend this to as friend.

Doing what: Paris French Pastry and Dessert Class

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful experience. Both fun and instructive. I'd do it again, and recommend it to anyone interested in learning how to make this very Parisian treat.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Macarons

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent! Well organized, instructive, and you walk away with easy to understand recipes.

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

gore.glenda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommended, the course was well organized, easy to follow and walked away with the pastries we had cooked. It would have been good to do some of the other courses.

Doing what: Paris Dessert Cooking Class: French Puff Pastry

ddh2345

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Dominique was a well informed and affable gentle man. I learned some new techniques from him and had a very enjoyable experience. He graciously invited my husband not part of the class to join us at the end when he arrived to pick me up. My only concern was the time it took to email me the recipes. But the email arrived yesterday, and all is well. I intend to try the chicken, and the molten chocolate cake recipes immediately! Thank you, Dominique.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful experience. Great food! Lovely people! Very helpful cooking tips. Waiting for the recipes.

Doing what: French Cooking Class at L'atelier des Chefs

Shannon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I was fortunate to have others cancel so had the class to myself - it was amazing to spend time, to ask questions, and for my fellow companions, to take back the results of a couple of hours of effort. It was one of the highlights of my time in Paris.
Glad that I had checked the map directions on-line prior to going because street names are not always where you need them to be.

Doing what: Pastry and Dessert Course in Paris

Therese C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous afternoon of culinary experiences. Dominique was excellent as both a chef and a conversationalist. I learnt a lot and had the chance to learn how to make true French desserts. Merci!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Desserts and Pastries

Kathrine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Chef Fred owner of the cooking class was a delightful, engaging host and excellent teacher. He used a story-telling approach to our cooking lessons, connecting the food we prepared to its place in French history, and keeping the five-hour class interesting from beginning to end. The market trip and cooking class was both well timed and well organized. We prepared a multi-course meal salmon carpaccio, coq au vin, poached pears with ice cream and chocolate sauce - with a focus on organic ingredients and sat down to enjoy the courses together while things simmered. Fred shared excellent tips and techniques including knife skills, using corn starch, cooking chicken in seven minutes, and more. The private, professional kitchen, located in the Latin Quarter, was beautifully and tastefully designed. This class was one of the highlights of our trip.

Wed love to have the recipes on hand to take with us, or emailed to us afterwards. What better way to share our experience with our friends and family, than to prepare these dishes at home ourselves?

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Merrily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fred took us to a cheese shop and explained the different types and origins. Then off to the open market to purchase fresh produce. Back to the kitchen where we were totally hands on. Enjoyed the meal - looking forward to the recipes coming soon.,

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Haig T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent experience.. Chef Dury did a wonderful job of picking ingredients and the end product was delicious. I am looking forward to getting the recipes soon :-

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

Monica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a real treat. I wasn't expecting to walk away with so many specific cooking tips and techniques. You can participate in the actual cooking as much or as little as you want. Personally, I took advantage of every opportunity to try a new technique. I was there on my own so I can attest that It's great for a single. Judging from the like minded foodies I met at the class, it's also great for couples, mother/daughters or friends. Fred is charming, knowledgeable and is willing to share his passion for food with you. The market visit adds another dimension to the class, but the ladies who joined us to simply cook seemed equally pleased with the experience.I highly recommend the experience and you'll love the meal you prepare.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

P H H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This class, taught by Frederic, was absolutely the best tour I have ever booked with Viator. And I have done quite a few! Only word to describe the whole experience was AMAZING! If there was a higher rating than 5 stars, I would definitely assign it. After the class, Frederic emailed us the step by step recipe for the incredible meal we prepared.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

LORETTA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great people, fun and learned a lot.

Doing what: Pastry and Dessert Course in Paris

Karl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Brilliant class. Well structured and very friendly. Will go again next time we visit Paris.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Chocolate Éclairs and Cream Puffs

Rita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved this class. Fred is wonderful as an instructor, full of helpful information and techniques to share, and tells many stories that are history based. Delightful time. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

CindyK USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was so much fun. Chef Frederick is the best kind of teacher - passionate about what he does, and committed to sharing and communicating it clearly with his students. The market tour is a unique experience for most Americans - markets with the number of vendors and the variety of products we saw in Paris are a rare find in the States. Wear good shoes as you walk through the market - Chef takes his time, chatting with the vendors to find what's fresh, frequently pausing to tell the class about a uniquely French item. Back to his kitchen-apartment to prepare our freshly-purchased ingredients for the menu that Chef decided upon that morning. Our finished product was delectable!

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

April C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The cooking class was wonderful. We had a group of eleven people, from three countries. Chef Fred was knowledgeable and humorous. We divided into groups, and cooked a delicious meal. I wouldn't pay for the market visit again, though, because it was basically a visit to an indoor grocery store, rather than the outdoor market we were expecting.

Doing what: Paris Evening Cooking Class Including 4-Course Dinner and Optional Market Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message