The phrase 'Impressionist' was coined in late 19th-century Paris when an art critic used it to describe an exhibition showcasing Monet's Sunrise oil painting. The work's patchy textures, created using loose brush strokes, brought sunlight to life ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 808 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful way to visit these two museums when time is limited. And our tour guide was fabulous! Worth every penny!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was wonderful!!! fun, informative, nice pace in walking, intelligent, Outstanding in every way!!!!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A Very good tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the real Paris and experience it through the eyes of a resident. Guillaume , our guide grew up in Montmartre and made the area come alive for us. He was informative and interesting. The skip the line tour of the Musee D'Orsay was a wonderful. Seeing all those impressionist masters' works close up was an experience I will never forget. Booking these tours is a must for seeing the real Paris. The guides are passionate, warm and interesting. Paris is best seen on foot.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was a local who lived in Montmarte and a painter himself! He was knowledgable and fun!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was amazing he even gave us an extra hour of his Time and took us to the non-tourist areas

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fabulous day! Our guide was super sweet and very knowledgeable. There ended up being just 6 of us on the tour... with hotel pickup and drop off, it was perfect! I'll gladly pay a few extra dollars to not ride a huge tour bus. And there was plenty of time to explore the gardens.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I knew my time would be limited and I wanted to make the most of what little time I would have. I was in Paris 3 days prior to the AFS Centennial celebration and knew I would want to see the Louvre. The tour is a small group tour for 10 or less, and there were 3 of us. Our guide, a lovely young women whose name escapes me at the moment, was very informative, spoke good English, was patient with our questions and was an experienced artist. Originally I was concerned that the price of the tour was a bit expensive, but it the end it was the best value for the limited time I had available. I would highly recommend the tour. I was not disappointed at all and I will do it again on my next trip.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Superb tour - well organized and led by a very knowledgeable guide, AnnaMarie. She managed to convey an enormous amount of history and detail of how the artists displayed in the museum were linked in terms of the evolving art world, and directed our attention to details that illustrated the development of technique and styles of painting. Best museum tour I have ever taken, and I've taken many.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip in a nice van with an interesting, knowledgeable guide. Monet's Giverny gardens were a dream come true. Visited gardens in the morning when the light and colors were pretty to photograph the flowers. Luckily got in when crowds were starting to grow from buses of visitors. But go if you want to see the flowers and Monet's home. Lunch on Epp River was delicious and setting was lovely. Afternoon at town Auvers was solemn considering VanGogh's death and grave but felt privledged to go to church he painted and walk around the town. Those who appreciate VanGogh's work should go.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, taken in September 2014, as it took us to places which we'd never have found had we gone on our own. The Guide had a very evident interest in and comprehensive knowledge of the subject and the district, which really put the relationship between the artists and the places visited into context for us. For those wishing to understand the influence the location and times had upon the Impressionist artists, this tour is highly recommended. Susan and Brian Russell, Queensland, Australia

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was amazing--.our guide was so interesting.
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone .
Thank you.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide, Marion, was spectacular. I think the d'Orsy was the finest museum the we have seen in all of our travels. However, marion made the day.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a fabulous afternoon, Julian our driver was informative and interesting. Of course the highlight was Monets house and garden, a long time dream of mine! Definitely worth going, a simple delight!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I really enjoyed this walking tour. Our guide was a Parisian art history student and was very passionate about impressionism so we got some real insights and learned a lot about the history of Montmatre and the life there during the impressionism movement. And the Skip-the-Line Orsay ticket was brilliant - I pretty much walked right past massive queues straight through the doors. Sweet!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message