The phrase 'Impressionist' was coined in late 19th-century Paris when an art critic used it to describe an exhibition showcasing Monet's Sunrise oil painting. The work's patchy textures, created using loose brush strokes, brought sunlight to life ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 891 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Montmartre is a must for any student of art history. This walking tour provided an intimate look at the Montmartre neighborhoods, but more importantly, it took us by the studios of famous artists, such as Picasso.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Chris was a wonderful tour guide and was very knowledgeable about both museums. Great day!!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Jean Luc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guided tour of the Louvre and Museé dOrsay was excellent. It turned out to be private, because my husband and I were the only ones on it. This made it super special. Lilia was our guide and we were very lucky. We are not what you could consider into art people. She managed to keep it interesting by linking history to the paintings, sculptures and objects of art during the visit. Time flew away and before we knew it, the tour was over.
Starting at the Louvre and finishing at Museé dOrsay takes you from ancient to modern. She took us to see many of the famous pieces housed at these two wonderful museums Diana, Cupid and Physique, Venus, Monalisa, Van Goghs, and many others famous artists. She told us about their personal lives while admiring the pieces, which are intrinsically linked to who they were.
Half day to discover and admire these treasures is short. They contain so many pieces of art that a few days would be the rule. But if time is short while in Paris, we recommend this tour to wet your appetite and come back for more on your next visit to the City of Lights.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Annette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I wish we could give 10 Stars! We were a group of 6 and had two awesome tour guides, Lily and Harriet! Since my father was in a wheel chair we separated into two small groups. Lily was so great that she went to the museums prior to our tour and mapped out the tour for a person in a wheelchair, since this was her first time with someone in a chair. They were both so knowledgeable and provided us with lots of great history, fun facts and made us feel right at home. They took us to the most important pieces in the museum but if we were curious about something else they were knowledgeable about it, they did a super nice job! We had lunch at this really cute Parisian café that Harriet recommended to us and they even joined us, they fit into our group just like family. Our entire group was pleased with the tour and I have and will continue to recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Robin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent. Worth every penny. Our guide Chris was wonderful, entertaining, and let us go at our own pace. Even though the group is limitd to ten, we were lucky that it was just our family of four and him. Chris also directed to a delicious restaurant where we dined without a hurry. Be sure to ask for Chris he made all the difference!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Cheri R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Probably the best tour we had in Paris. Our Tour guide Chris, was FABULOUS! It was a small group of 6 of us for the Louvre and after lunch we broke into two groups, so it was just the four in our family with the tour guide Chris. He was fun, taught us a few things about the art, made you think, and really was a great time. Chris was the best guide. If you get a chance to request him, do it.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide was amazing. Very insightful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Beautiful trip. Great to be driven and friendly driver.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

keith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide really made this excursion outstanding!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Malcolm F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We went on the walking tour last Saturday, and highly recommend it. The guide was outstanding punctual, friendly and knowlegable. She took us all around the area and to out of the way places. When the tour finished we had 'skip the line' tickets for the Musee d'Orsay. A great way to learn more about and enjoy Paris!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour and tour guide.....

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Margaret A. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great day! Our driver was engaging and very helpful. He added a quick visit to Monet's grave site to our day which was so nice. Loved the fact that we could wander at our leisure through the house and gardens and then return to the bus for the trip back to Paris.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Angeline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We loved Nicholas. He was so nice and knowledgeable. We highly recommend this tour. I've been to Montmarte before, but I saw things I hadn't seen before through his eyes.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed our day with the guide and she was careful to speak clearly so the non-native English speaker could understand her clearly. She also advised us regarding our plans for the rest of the day at the D'Orsay so we could see the rest of the art in the time remaining after the tour ended. We recommend this company highly and agreed that our guides were very knowledgeable and well spoken.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Symon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our favorite. Our guide was a lovely French woman, who took us to the bakery that won Best Baguette in 2015, we all shared the baguette while she explained how they select the winner, by smelling the bread, crunching it, and of course tasting it!

Walking through Montmartre, it was amazing see where Picasso, Van Gogh lived and the various places where many artists got inspiration for their paintings. The best part is going into Musee d'Orsay and seeing their masterpieces.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Lois C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely setting. Delightful guide. Plenty of time to tour at our leisure without having to deal with lines.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Patti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Belen is one of the most enthusiastic, educated, engaging people I have ever met. She inspired us with her knowledge, comforted us with her kindness and made the entire Paris experience one we will never forget. While there is beauty every where you turn in these museums, it is easy to miss out on the history, the techniques, the back story and learning as we went enriched our experience. Maybe it was Belen but I encourage anyone going to book a tour with her. She was fabulous!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Sue D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A lovely fall day to wander the streets of Montmarte! Our guide was very knowledgable about the area and the artists who made this their home. It is a difficult place to walk if you don't know where you are going. We saw both windmills, the last vineyard in Paris as well as import ants homes and artist studios. Great views of Paris and it added to our afternoon visit to the Musee d'Orsay-must do!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We totally enjoyed the tour - our guide was knowledgeable and charming. So glad we found this tour option. Also loved the museum. Thank you so much.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Lloyd H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide Chris was terrific!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Marion was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw parts of the Montmartre we would have ignored. Plus, she knew the best bakeries.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Belen was a joy! My wife and I were part of a tour with Belen that included another couple and a single woman. We were taken through the Louvre by Belen and she was able to cover alot of ground all while providing very interesting information abut the sculptures, the paintings and the building we were in. Belen walked us over to Musee d'Orsay and really came into her element. We had a wonderful time exploring the treasures of the museum. Belen was engaging, knowledgeable and funny. Belen made our day a complete pleasure!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

sharon A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide who drove us there was wonderful. He was very knowledgeable and talked on the drive of the history of France,including Jeanne d'Arc, Monet,many things. I wish I had gotten his name to give you. I would go on any tour just to listen to him, as he could talk about anything without ever going into a canned tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was excellent and the knowledge of the guide was impressive to say the least!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message