The phrase 'Impressionist' was coined in late 19th-century Paris when an art critic used it to describe an exhibition showcasing Monet's Sunrise oil painting. The work's patchy textures, created using loose brush strokes, brought sunlight to life ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 906 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! The highlight of our trip. However, with this kind of tour, the guide really makes it. Our guide Belen was superb. She had a passion and knowledge of art that took us on a journey through the ages, marrying the history of France with each piece of art we viewed. We started our journey at some point BC as we entered the Louvre and six hours later wound up in the early 20th century at the Musee d'Orsay. I would recommend everyone who visits Paris and has any interest in art take this tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A small group tour is 5 or less and the experience was wonderful. Our guide was Christina and she provided great stories about all the art we enjoyed. The only downside are all the selfies from people who don't even look at the art. No fault of the tour, but be prepared.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Kimberly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour ...Alex was phenomenal! He was so knowledgeable and really made our tour special. Anyone going on this tour should ask for Alex as their guide. Would do this all over again!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Marianne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one of the best tours I ever experienced! Our tour guide, Carolina, was simply amazing. She was personable, engaging, funny and warm, and best of all, extremely knowledgeable. We would unequivocally recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Allesondra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was very interesting and a lot of fun. It was great to see the inspiration behind some of the most famous paintings in the world.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hillary is an awesome guide!! She is very knowledgeable in all aspects of art and art history. She was fun to be with and we enjoyed a lunch with her between the Louvre Museum tour and the Musee d Orsay tour. She was insightful and kept our attention throughout both tours. We cannot say enough about Hillary and hope you get her for your tour!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Angela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tina, our guide, was wonderful! She was extremely knowledgeable about the art and history and made the tour so very interesting. My two teenagers were enthralled with all the information. On top of that, Tina was friendly, personable, and flexible. She made the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay one of the hi-lights of our trip to Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Ellen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide makes the difference, and ours, Lily, was the BEST!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide was terrific and answered any and all questions we had. She was very informative.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

stbdabner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Belén was so informative in our tours of The Louvre and Musee d'Orsay. I not only learned about the works themselves, I learned of the different periods of art, how they progressed and how they influenced not only the art world but the world in general. My Father who is a bit more knowledgable than I, being a retired high school art teacher, thoroughly enjoyed himself. Excellent tour, educational and fun, thank you Belén!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Montmartre is a must for any student of art history. This walking tour provided an intimate look at the Montmartre neighborhoods, but more importantly, it took us by the studios of famous artists, such as Picasso.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Chris was a wonderful tour guide and was very knowledgeable about both museums. Great day!!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Jean Luc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guided tour of the Louvre and Museé dOrsay was excellent. It turned out to be private, because my husband and I were the only ones on it. This made it super special. Lilia was our guide and we were very lucky. We are not what you could consider into art people. She managed to keep it interesting by linking history to the paintings, sculptures and objects of art during the visit. Time flew away and before we knew it, the tour was over.
Starting at the Louvre and finishing at Museé dOrsay takes you from ancient to modern. She took us to see many of the famous pieces housed at these two wonderful museums Diana, Cupid and Physique, Venus, Monalisa, Van Goghs, and many others famous artists. She told us about their personal lives while admiring the pieces, which are intrinsically linked to who they were.
Half day to discover and admire these treasures is short. They contain so many pieces of art that a few days would be the rule. But if time is short while in Paris, we recommend this tour to wet your appetite and come back for more on your next visit to the City of Lights.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Annette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I wish we could give 10 Stars! We were a group of 6 and had two awesome tour guides, Lily and Harriet! Since my father was in a wheel chair we separated into two small groups. Lily was so great that she went to the museums prior to our tour and mapped out the tour for a person in a wheelchair, since this was her first time with someone in a chair. They were both so knowledgeable and provided us with lots of great history, fun facts and made us feel right at home. They took us to the most important pieces in the museum but if we were curious about something else they were knowledgeable about it, they did a super nice job! We had lunch at this really cute Parisian café that Harriet recommended to us and they even joined us, they fit into our group just like family. Our entire group was pleased with the tour and I have and will continue to recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Robin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent. Worth every penny. Our guide Chris was wonderful, entertaining, and let us go at our own pace. Even though the group is limitd to ten, we were lucky that it was just our family of four and him. Chris also directed to a delicious restaurant where we dined without a hurry. Be sure to ask for Chris he made all the difference!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Cheri R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Probably the best tour we had in Paris. Our Tour guide Chris, was FABULOUS! It was a small group of 6 of us for the Louvre and after lunch we broke into two groups, so it was just the four in our family with the tour guide Chris. He was fun, taught us a few things about the art, made you think, and really was a great time. Chris was the best guide. If you get a chance to request him, do it.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide was amazing. Very insightful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Beautiful trip. Great to be driven and friendly driver.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

keith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide really made this excursion outstanding!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Malcolm F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We went on the walking tour last Saturday, and highly recommend it. The guide was outstanding punctual, friendly and knowlegable. She took us all around the area and to out of the way places. When the tour finished we had 'skip the line' tickets for the Musee d'Orsay. A great way to learn more about and enjoy Paris!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour and tour guide.....

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Margaret A. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great day! Our driver was engaging and very helpful. He added a quick visit to Monet's grave site to our day which was so nice. Loved the fact that we could wander at our leisure through the house and gardens and then return to the bus for the trip back to Paris.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Angeline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We loved Nicholas. He was so nice and knowledgeable. We highly recommend this tour. I've been to Montmarte before, but I saw things I hadn't seen before through his eyes.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message