The phrase 'Impressionist' was coined in late 19th-century Paris when an art critic used it to describe an exhibition showcasing Monet's Sunrise oil painting. The work's patchy textures, created using loose brush strokes, brought sunlight to life ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 930 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to get oriented on Montmartre, impressionist artists. Guide was great and a treat to be with. Great way to spend 2 hours, walking tour, interesting and manageable.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

LGEANEY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour by far. Guide Adele was beyond great. LOVED THIS TOUR!!!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Alanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of hills and stairs so not for the light walker. Great tour and the guide was fabulous. Used the Orsay ticket -- enjoyed the exhibition.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Trisna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a very nice experience for me.
I was very lucky that I'm the only one customer so it's like a private tour, and my tour guide Lylia I hope I spell the name correctly is very competent with her background as history teacher, she has lots of knowledge about all the pieces in the museum.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Pfflyer635

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quentin our tour guide was fantastic giving us the history and artistry which is montmatre. He spent time with each person individually to personalize our tour. Our visit to Musee Dorsay the next day was much more rewarding filled with our knowledge from his tour. He used art from the museum as examples during his tour. Musee Dorsay has Van Goghs self portrait.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The only way to see the museums if you don't know much about art. Our guide was so knowledgable and very nice to be around and listen to. I think his name was Alex but I'm not sure. He was open to doing whatever we wanted to do or see. It was obvious that he loved history and art depicting it. He got us tables at the bakery when it was busy and just took good care of us. I wished our tour was longer than 5 hours. Actually it was! He spent an extra hour with us at the Louvre but I was so interested in what we were seeing that I didn't notice at the time. He even took breaks to have us sit down a few minutes so we wouldn't get too weary on our feet. I think you should consider lengthening the time if it wouldn't scare people away. Or maybe a second tour, a day 2 option, covering different parts of the Louvre. We left him a big tip!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Melissa M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great independent walking tour. Guide was fantastic and very helpful answering questions! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

JoyceG104

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite tour and highly recommended for anyone visiting France. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel and It was a comfortable drive of about 1 hour and a quarter. The gardens were extensive and exquisite, and Monet 's home was charming and filled with his art. It was a breathtaking experience!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Martin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour and guide. Very knowledgeable. He gave historical background on the way to Giverny. Comfortable ride on the bus. A beautiful home and town away from the city.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Lynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tours - loved hearing about the Montmarte area, walking around the neighbourhood, it was all wonderful. The night tour of the lights, and some of the history of the area. All in all both were great tours!!

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

Jeffrey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great experience that we thoroughly enjoyed!
The transportation was good,and the guide excellent.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Stephanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was awesome. Guide was very knowlegable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

RONALD H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Jean, did an outstanding job of pointing out important sights and not being as verbose as most tour guides can be. Nice man with years of experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quentin was a great tour guide - very friendly, knowledgeable, and easy to understand as he had very good English. My husband and I really enjoyed this walking tour.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Beverley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was very good, but would have liked a bit more time to explore.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Samantha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Meander the streets, see some places that make you want to start painting and feel as though you have travelled back in time for a couple of hours! Resist the urge to jump on the Metro at the end and take your guide's advice about a different walking route back down before walking straight past the queue at Musee D'Orsay!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Christie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! The highlight of our trip. However, with this kind of tour, the guide really makes it. Our guide Belen was superb. She had a passion and knowledge of art that took us on a journey through the ages, marrying the history of France with each piece of art we viewed. We started our journey at some point BC as we entered the Louvre and six hours later wound up in the early 20th century at the Musee d'Orsay. I would recommend everyone who visits Paris and has any interest in art take this tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A small group tour is 5 or less and the experience was wonderful. Our guide was Christina and she provided great stories about all the art we enjoyed. The only downside are all the selfies from people who don't even look at the art. No fault of the tour, but be prepared.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Kimberly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour ...Alex was phenomenal! He was so knowledgeable and really made our tour special. Anyone going on this tour should ask for Alex as their guide. Would do this all over again!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Marianne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one of the best tours I ever experienced! Our tour guide, Carolina, was simply amazing. She was personable, engaging, funny and warm, and best of all, extremely knowledgeable. We would unequivocally recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Allesondra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was very interesting and a lot of fun. It was great to see the inspiration behind some of the most famous paintings in the world.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hillary is an awesome guide!! She is very knowledgeable in all aspects of art and art history. She was fun to be with and we enjoyed a lunch with her between the Louvre Museum tour and the Musee d Orsay tour. She was insightful and kept our attention throughout both tours. We cannot say enough about Hillary and hope you get her for your tour!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Angela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tina, our guide, was wonderful! She was extremely knowledgeable about the art and history and made the tour so very interesting. My two teenagers were enthralled with all the information. On top of that, Tina was friendly, personable, and flexible. She made the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay one of the hi-lights of our trip to Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message