The phrase 'Impressionist' was coined in late 19th-century Paris when an art critic used it to describe an exhibition showcasing Monet's Sunrise oil painting. The work's patchy textures, created using loose brush strokes, brought sunlight to life ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1006 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful experience.and our guide was superb- as she was an art historian she was able to explain every painting and sculpture we saw in terms we could understand and appreciate. It was a very tiring day but we would recommend this tour especially if you had the same guide as we had.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was beyond expectations. Paul, our drive and guide, was outstanding, friendly, courteous and his knowledge of Monet and Van Gogh and the history of Giverny and Auvers sur Oise were so in-depth. I learned more than I could have expected from him. And the lunch was wonderful. Charming restaurant and excellent food. The tour could not have been better . . . the weather even cooperated!

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful trip to Giverny. Our driver/guide gave us lots of interesting information throughout our drive to Giverny. We had plenty of time to tour the gardens and house. Thank you!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour, guides both really helpful and avoiding me getting left behind. thanks viator..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent! Nathan, our tour guide was exceptional. His historical background gave wonderful insights into the different periods represented at the Louvre and the Musee d Orsay. Time flew by but felt he gave us a good overall art experience.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

THE BEST!!!! Loved this excursion. Started off with th most delightful and informative guide Louis. Very knowledgeable. Small van with 8 people total. Walked through the very long line at Giverny and had a wonderful time. The house and his life are as exquisite as the garden take the time to wait. Then drove to a lovely mill were the most charming three course lunch was laid out with wine. Headed off to Auvers sur Oise after wards to a most tragic part but still beautiful. TO hear about the short tortured life of Van Gogh. Traveled to his gravesite and heard about his last days. Tour of the Inn is also lovely where he stayed and the movie was very informative. Thank you Definatley one of my faves during our trip.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

THIS WAS ANOTHER FABULOUS TOUR. It is alot of walking uphill so this is not for anyone with knee, back or feet issues. Our guide was lovely!! The tour was very interesting and the weather cooperated completely. I would do this again.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Montmartre area is a Paris must-see. This was a great way to do it. Our guide was great, and tolerated my often distracted 8 year-old. A plus in my book!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful trip. It was a great way to get out of the city for the day into the very lovely Normandy countryside. Our guide, Manuel, was awesome. He was a great driver through the crazy Parisian traffic and was even able to book a late-day appointment with a dentist back in Paris for one of the tour members who broke a tooth during the trip. During our ride to Giverny, he gave our group of 7 a non-stop commentary in both English and Portugues about Monet, Paris of the 1800s and today and the French countryside. He even through in a few 'extras' for us--I won't spoil it unless you are lucky enough to get him as your guide. This guy has to be the hardest working tour guide in Paris!
The Monet gardens were wonderful, made even better by getting there early with our small group. Since we beat the big busses, we had a much quieter moment to tour for the first half hour or so.
The lunch at the Moulin de Fourges was wonderful. The setting was truly idyllic.
Auvers-sur-Oise is moderately interesting, but our guide set our expectations appropriately. It certainly would not be worth a trip on its own, but coupled with Giverny was worth seeing.
All in all, it was a great day and this was definitely the way to do it.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour!! Our guide, Amanda, was so gracious and had a great knowledge in our particular interests. She gauged those interests and tailored our tour. This is the best way to go if you only have a day or two to visit the museums.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing to be in the same room with these original works of art. Gave me goose bumps and I loved every inch of the d'Orsay.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and very entertaining. Best way to see the museum as you can get so much more out of your experience if you understand the history and development of art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful excursion. The downside was that we did not have enough time at Giverny and also that we were the first to be picked up and last to be dropped off, so we had a long time in the car. I would suggest that the first to be picked up be the first to be dropped off.
Otherwise, the outing was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Please note that I have already rated this trip - twice!!!! Yes, it was excellent

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very polite, friendly and informative. He provided info and facts both to and from the tour sight. He also suggested a route we follow so that we saw all we should see while on the tour of the gardens, house, galleries, etc. Van was comfortable and clean.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide was very informative and spoke English well. We saw all the highlights of the Musee d'Orsay and we learned a lot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a Bucket List thing for me and it was everything I thought it would be!! Our driver Louie was so kind as to pick us up right outside the door to our apartment we rented. We had two Australian women and a father and daughter from CA with us. It was a wonderful day!! Thank you Louie!!
Diana from New Jersey

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was outstanding. Our tour guide Quentin was exceptional. He had excellent knowledge and added many interesting stories to the tour about various artists. It is such a lovely area of Paris that everyone should experience culminating with an end point at the sacre couer and a breathtaking view of the city.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the highlight of our Parisian vacation. David, our tour guide, picked us up on time and provided wonderful commentary on the two hour drive to Giverny. After giving the group an overview of the gardens and house, he let us tour at our own pace for two hours. Afterwards, he drove us about 15 minutes away to Le Moulin de Fourges for a delicious three-course lunch only issue was tour groups were seated upstairs in a very warm room and not outside under the canopy. After lunch we headed to Auvers sir Oise where we learned about Van Gogh. David's love of both artists was apparent in his commentaries and his insights gave me a greater appreciation of the artists. Giverny was a bucket list item for me and it didn't disappoint. I highly recommend this tour and hope you get David as your guide.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was informative and personable. He also had a good sense of humour.
Tip ... If you can, go on a weekday. The church at the top was a swarm of humans on the weekend.
PS ... I made the mistake that the tour ended at the Musee d'Orsay -- it does not :o

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent - Roman our tour guide was charming and informative. It was a great way to understand art in the 19th century and to view the collection.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great trip with a great guide who gave us a fantastic learning experience

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message