The gentle green landscape of the Loire Valley lies within easy reach of Paris. While not lacking in scenic vistas and historic towns, it is the region’s magnificent concentration of chateaux which make it an irresistible detour from the French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very enjoyable. It was rainy but being on the bus and seeing the Normandy and Loire countryside broiught back many memories. in addition, the tour of the chateaux and Mont st. Michel were incredible.

Doing what: 2-Day Mont St-Michel and Loire Valley Castles Tour from Paris

Tracey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, but I think what really makes it is the guide. We had Daniel the Irishman. He made this trip very educational and fun! The instructions on where to meet were very clear. I did call to ask about carrying a backpack which is OK and you can leave items on the bus while touring.

We went on the Loire Valley Castles and Wine Tasting Tour. Our guide was excellent! His name was Daniel and he was from Ireland so he had a little Irish twang to his French Accent. He was extremely knowledgeable and fun! He shared tons of history and there wasn't a question he couldn't answer. If you go on this tour, be sure to ask for Daniel. As for the tour, Chambord was so beautiful and honestly you could spend the day there. Danial gave us a walking tour and then allowed us 30 min to tour on our own. Another thing, Daniel is very sure he keeps all of us together. There were 26 and he was always looking and counting. The other two Chateaus were very cool and wonderful to see and hear the history. The wine is OK, some enjoyed others did not. Just depends upon your liking. The lunch was simple but excellent! Roasted tomatoes, potatoes, chicken, cheese and bread. This is definitely worth the money! It is about 2.5 hrs to the first place and you do stop to visit restrooms. There is about 45 min between places and the ride home which again we stopped for restrooms. Wear good walking shoes and it is safe to leave stuff on the bus if you don't wish to carry. You will receive a headset and box to listen to Daniel so he doesn't have to speak over others. Having your own head set is a little nicer. But still it was very clear to hear him.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

sknaufmn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one great day tour. The Loire Valley is beautiful and the Chateaus were also. Great gourmet lunch and wine tasting at Nitray. Would definitely recommend this over any other Loire Valley tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was exactly what I hoped it would be. The tour guide was very informative and fun. The lunch was delicious and the owners of the vineyard made us feel like family. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced. It is a long day, but well worth it to see these beautiful chateaux and the Loire Valley.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Chonglun F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

That was a wonder and very impressive trip with the great help of our tour guide Olivier Forgive me if the spelling is inaccurate.. The trip was excellently organized by him. From Paris within one day, we visited 3 French castles Ambroise, Chenonceau and Chambord in Loire Valley and enjoyed French cuisine at a very tasty lunch. Olivier introduced us the histories of the castles and of the surrounding areas during the trip and that made the visit even more interesting! We would like to take this opportunity to thank Olivier for his great job and professionalism. Merci beaucoup! We will certainly recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

alejandro t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour guide Laila was extremely nice and very knowledgeable about the castles and history of France in general. Castles were amazing, especially Chenonceau Do not miss it if you visit the Loire Valley Lunch was included in the package, but food was below expectation.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Dezhang Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour is well organized with good history stories about the chateaux. The late lunch and wine tasting at Chateaux Nitray was very delicious! A wonderful trip to the Loire Valley!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Jade Hazel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved our tour guide, Adam! He was a great treat to this amazing tour -- Very knowledgeable about French history, food and wine! Team Champagne all the way! ...

The ride to and from Loire Valley is a bit long and exhausting but you get to see amazing castles and know more of France's nobility and history. The cheateaus we visited were amazing -- each one got better and better and tastings were great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

lorraine a w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

NIce trip to the loire valley. Comfortable bus.About a 13 hour day,
Gives you a taste of the loire valley and an overview of the area you might want to visit on your own with a car.It was a nice day trip out of paris.The guide was very helpful and gave a nice history of the area and the chateaux.
Was disappointed for the price they did not include lunch

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Lisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lovely tour, and our guide Violette was amazing. She kept everyone so engaged and enthralled. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather. Both castles are spectacular, but the lunch stop at Chateau de Nitray really made this trip. To see a working castle with a winery, and enjoy their lunch was lovely. And Hubert, the patron of this chateau was a hoot. After walking all over Paris for a few days, this break was perfect, and the Loire Valley hold such amazing history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Irene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Castles, Loire Valley, Wine - what else can be said? It was perfect! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and shared fun facts about the history of the Loire Valley and the castles we visited. It was a great introduction to the beauty of this area!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Diana M N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful. Having lunch at Chenonceau is an unforgettable experience. The only thing I would change is visiting Amboise. I would switch it to a different more beautiful chateau. Out tour guide was wonderful and kept us entertained during the trip with the history behind the castles. I recommend this tour to anyone who hasn't been in the Loire Valley before.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Leslie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time on this tour exploring the Loire Valley and Wine Tasting! It was a long day but highly recommend it to those wanting to see some lovely Chateaux's. Our guide was very knowledgeable, easy to understand, friendly and gave excellent recommendations for the rest of trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Bruce K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great way to see 3 different Chateaux and enjoy wine from the Loire Valley. Violet, our tour guide was a joy during the day long tour providing interesting history of the Loire Valley and Chateaux de Chambord and Chenonceau. Since we were staying in Paris, it was nice to get away from the city and enjoy a relaxing day in the countryside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Kristin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was everything I had expected. It was thoroughly delightful and informative. Our guide, Tina, was very personable and added to the tour with her knowledge of French history and the chateaux.
Our visits to the different chateaux were brief but we had a guided tour and then a little bit of time to explore on our own. The chateaux themselves were outstanding with their history, architecture and gardens.
The lunch at Chateau Nitray was a delight. The food and wine were excellent and the owner was very fun. I

I definitely recommend this tour for someone who would like to get a taste of the Loire Valley.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

europe 2015 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Prior to our family vacation, we held planning meetings to talk about the must see sights and must do things because we wanted to make the most of our 5 days in Paris. Everyone who studied French in high school had learned about Loire Valley castles and put it at the top of their list. Sandwiched between jam-packed days walking Paris, it was a welcome break to relax on an all-day bus trip between the three uniquely different castles.

Although unfurnished, the architecture of Chambord is undeniably unsurpassed by any other chateau. Chenonceau provided the most amazing backdrop for my daughters fairytale proposal, which we were honored to observe and relive during a leisurely lunch in the café on the castle grounds. And we thoroughly enjoyed learning that Chateau de Cheverny is still inhabited by descendants of the original family. An added bonus was the nearby village of Cheverny, so we eagerly zipped through the castle for some local wine tasting and quick shopping.

This trip will definitely remain as one of our most cherished memories!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Marian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a day out of our Paris stay to visit the Loire Valley the tour, booked thru Viatour, is run locally by the tour company and they do an excellent job. Our tour guide, Violette, was simply extraordinary extremely knowledgeable, very personable and quite adept at dealing with groups. Theyve structured the tour quite well to hit the true highlights: Chambord Castle is truly impressive, and they give you head sets to ensure you can hear your guide Violette did a wonderful walking tour. An authentic French country lunch accompanies the wine tasting with some amazing wine values and the stop at Chenonceau Castle is a good way to end a perfect day. This tour was an ideal combination of sightseeing, history lessons and wonderful food and wine.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Debbie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable day touring the picturesque Loire Valley. Chateau Chenonceau and it's surrounding grounds was particularly beautiful. Really glad we took this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Sharon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent from start to finish. Two guides, Stephanie and Sophie, who took the English speakers and the Italian/Spanish speakers respectively. Headsets earphones meant that we could always hear our guide clearly. The group was a decent size but not too big. I liked that we had free time everywhere, but would have liked a touch more at Chenonceau and Chambord we had a lot more at Amboise, which was substituted in place of Cheverny for the day that we went.

The chateaux are absolutely stunning and you won't regret seeing them! This also from a comfy and air-conditioned necessary when we went! bus will make it a day to remember. The Loire Valley is just stunning!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A lovely day touring the Loire valley and three different chateaux. Very interesting informative tour guide. Lots of opportunity to wander on our own after the guided part finished. Lunch was included as it is winter.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Elizabeth United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved Loire Valley. The chateaus are absolutely gorgeous. Wish we had more time at each, especially Chenonceau, an hour really isn't enough to see the entire castle and grounds.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Rick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a small van tour with total of 7 people (4 in our party) plus tour guide. The tour guide gave us great insight into the stories behind the three chateuas we visited and there was ample time to explore. The lunch at Chenenceau was excellent and we had a full day of seeing and learning about the great castles of the Loire Valley. Only issue is to be preapred for a 21/2 hour trip from Paris but it is well worth the time.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Sharon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you are looking for a tour to give you a taste of the Loire Valley castles and a taste of the local wines, this is the tour for you. The time allocation was very good. We were given time at both of the larger castles to explore on our own after the guided tour. I didn't feel hurried. The tour guides were friendly, fun and informative. It was a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good tours of three famous Loire Chateaus, plus several chateaus are visible along the route. On Summer Sundays the traffic is heavy coming back to Paris. The tour was close to 13 1/2 hours long.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Ben Howard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We finished off our Paris trip with this tour on the last day. It was a highlight of our trip. Adam, the guide, was great. The wine tasting was awesome; it was really nice to have a regular folksie meal over Parisian restraunt fare. Our biggest complaint is that you pack a lot into one day, and so you don't get to spend a lot of time at the castles. Chenonceau was pretty packed. When we go back to Paris, we want to go back to the Loire Valley. Out of all the things we did, this tour was the most memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message