The gentle green landscape of the Loire Valley lies within easy reach of Paris. While not lacking in scenic vistas and historic towns, it is the region’s magnificent concentration of chateaux which make it an irresistible detour from the French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dezhang Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour is well organized with good history stories about the chateaux. The late lunch and wine tasting at Chateaux Nitray was very delicious! A wonderful trip to the Loire Valley!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Jade Hazel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved our tour guide, Adam! He was a great treat to this amazing tour -- Very knowledgeable about French history, food and wine! Team Champagne all the way! ...

The ride to and from Loire Valley is a bit long and exhausting but you get to see amazing castles and know more of France's nobility and history. The cheateaus we visited were amazing -- each one got better and better and tastings were great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

lorraine a w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

NIce trip to the loire valley. Comfortable bus.About a 13 hour day,
Gives you a taste of the loire valley and an overview of the area you might want to visit on your own with a car.It was a nice day trip out of paris.The guide was very helpful and gave a nice history of the area and the chateaux.
Was disappointed for the price they did not include lunch

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Lisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lovely tour, and our guide Violette was amazing. She kept everyone so engaged and enthralled. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather. Both castles are spectacular, but the lunch stop at Chateau de Nitray really made this trip. To see a working castle with a winery, and enjoy their lunch was lovely. And Hubert, the patron of this chateau was a hoot. After walking all over Paris for a few days, this break was perfect, and the Loire Valley hold such amazing history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Irene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Castles, Loire Valley, Wine - what else can be said? It was perfect! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and shared fun facts about the history of the Loire Valley and the castles we visited. It was a great introduction to the beauty of this area!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Diana M N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful. Having lunch at Chenonceau is an unforgettable experience. The only thing I would change is visiting Amboise. I would switch it to a different more beautiful chateau. Out tour guide was wonderful and kept us entertained during the trip with the history behind the castles. I recommend this tour to anyone who hasn't been in the Loire Valley before.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Leslie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time on this tour exploring the Loire Valley and Wine Tasting! It was a long day but highly recommend it to those wanting to see some lovely Chateaux's. Our guide was very knowledgeable, easy to understand, friendly and gave excellent recommendations for the rest of trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Bruce K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great way to see 3 different Chateaux and enjoy wine from the Loire Valley. Violet, our tour guide was a joy during the day long tour providing interesting history of the Loire Valley and Chateaux de Chambord and Chenonceau. Since we were staying in Paris, it was nice to get away from the city and enjoy a relaxing day in the countryside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Kristin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was everything I had expected. It was thoroughly delightful and informative. Our guide, Tina, was very personable and added to the tour with her knowledge of French history and the chateaux.
Our visits to the different chateaux were brief but we had a guided tour and then a little bit of time to explore on our own. The chateaux themselves were outstanding with their history, architecture and gardens.
The lunch at Chateau Nitray was a delight. The food and wine were excellent and the owner was very fun. I

I definitely recommend this tour for someone who would like to get a taste of the Loire Valley.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

europe 2015 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Prior to our family vacation, we held planning meetings to talk about the must see sights and must do things because we wanted to make the most of our 5 days in Paris. Everyone who studied French in high school had learned about Loire Valley castles and put it at the top of their list. Sandwiched between jam-packed days walking Paris, it was a welcome break to relax on an all-day bus trip between the three uniquely different castles.

Although unfurnished, the architecture of Chambord is undeniably unsurpassed by any other chateau. Chenonceau provided the most amazing backdrop for my daughters fairytale proposal, which we were honored to observe and relive during a leisurely lunch in the café on the castle grounds. And we thoroughly enjoyed learning that Chateau de Cheverny is still inhabited by descendants of the original family. An added bonus was the nearby village of Cheverny, so we eagerly zipped through the castle for some local wine tasting and quick shopping.

This trip will definitely remain as one of our most cherished memories!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Marian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a day out of our Paris stay to visit the Loire Valley the tour, booked thru Viatour, is run locally by the tour company and they do an excellent job. Our tour guide, Violette, was simply extraordinary extremely knowledgeable, very personable and quite adept at dealing with groups. Theyve structured the tour quite well to hit the true highlights: Chambord Castle is truly impressive, and they give you head sets to ensure you can hear your guide Violette did a wonderful walking tour. An authentic French country lunch accompanies the wine tasting with some amazing wine values and the stop at Chenonceau Castle is a good way to end a perfect day. This tour was an ideal combination of sightseeing, history lessons and wonderful food and wine.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Debbie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable day touring the picturesque Loire Valley. Chateau Chenonceau and it's surrounding grounds was particularly beautiful. Really glad we took this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Sharon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent from start to finish. Two guides, Stephanie and Sophie, who took the English speakers and the Italian/Spanish speakers respectively. Headsets earphones meant that we could always hear our guide clearly. The group was a decent size but not too big. I liked that we had free time everywhere, but would have liked a touch more at Chenonceau and Chambord we had a lot more at Amboise, which was substituted in place of Cheverny for the day that we went.

The chateaux are absolutely stunning and you won't regret seeing them! This also from a comfy and air-conditioned necessary when we went! bus will make it a day to remember. The Loire Valley is just stunning!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A lovely day touring the Loire valley and three different chateaux. Very interesting informative tour guide. Lots of opportunity to wander on our own after the guided part finished. Lunch was included as it is winter.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Elizabeth United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved Loire Valley. The chateaus are absolutely gorgeous. Wish we had more time at each, especially Chenonceau, an hour really isn't enough to see the entire castle and grounds.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Rick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a small van tour with total of 7 people (4 in our party) plus tour guide. The tour guide gave us great insight into the stories behind the three chateuas we visited and there was ample time to explore. The lunch at Chenenceau was excellent and we had a full day of seeing and learning about the great castles of the Loire Valley. Only issue is to be preapred for a 21/2 hour trip from Paris but it is well worth the time.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Sharon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you are looking for a tour to give you a taste of the Loire Valley castles and a taste of the local wines, this is the tour for you. The time allocation was very good. We were given time at both of the larger castles to explore on our own after the guided tour. I didn't feel hurried. The tour guides were friendly, fun and informative. It was a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good tours of three famous Loire Chateaus, plus several chateaus are visible along the route. On Summer Sundays the traffic is heavy coming back to Paris. The tour was close to 13 1/2 hours long.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Ben Howard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We finished off our Paris trip with this tour on the last day. It was a highlight of our trip. Adam, the guide, was great. The wine tasting was awesome; it was really nice to have a regular folksie meal over Parisian restraunt fare. Our biggest complaint is that you pack a lot into one day, and so you don't get to spend a lot of time at the castles. Chenonceau was pretty packed. When we go back to Paris, we want to go back to the Loire Valley. Out of all the things we did, this tour was the most memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Ron and Nina'sParis ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an outstanding trip. The three chateaus we visited were very interesting and the audio guides were helpful. The guide was outstanding. Pedro was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Loire area. He made the long drive very enjoyable and the time went by quick. He also did his homework on the scuttle about the inhabitants of the chateaus . . .very juicy stories. Some of the best photos I took on my trip overall were taken at the chateaus in the Loire valley.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great day trip out of Paris. We got to enjoy the provincial countryside, as well as extensive visits to three Castles of the Loire region. The tour guides provided a continuous commentary during the trip, as well as detailed information once inside the Castles. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Brian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour. It takes all day but you get to visit 3 castles. Drove through the Loire Valley with a small group of 7. We visited the castles in Chambord, Chenonceau, and Amboise. All were incredible. The guide/driver told us about each castle before entering and then you explore the castle on your own for about an hour and a half. Our guide, Olivie, was very knowledgeable and nice. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

Sandra F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide, Lindsey, was phenomenal! She answered our questions and gave additional suggestions of places to see in Paris. The Loire Valley is beautiful and on a sunny day, it is really spectacular. Nittray Winery was a wonderful lunch location. The owner is quite a character and extremely charming, but the wine and food were extraordinary. To me it is amazing that a simple roasted chicken lunch could possibly be so tasty. We tasted wines before and after lunch, and ended up purchasing some of the red we had for lunch. Chambord and Chenonceau are such different chateaux, and really good choices to understand the French aristocracy and how they were tied to the history of France. Lindsey provided us with some side information that was wonderful about life inside the chateaux. Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Hannelore I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A GREAT TOUR IF YOU ARE LIMITED FOR TIME ON YOUR TRIP TO FRANCE.....EXCELLENT VISITS TO THE WONDERFUL CHATEAU'S IN THE LOIRE ,GREAT TOUR GUIDE. THE ACCOMMODATION WAS BRILLIANT AT THE MECURE HOTEL..THE EVENING MEAL WAS AVERAGE AND BREAKFAST THE NEXT MORNING WAS EXCELLENT. DEFINATELY WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR.

Doing what: 2-Day Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

pjh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide was prompt, friendly and gave us a very good trip. We got a lot of sightseeing in one day. This is about the only way to see the Loire Castles in a day trip from Paris.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message