• USD ($)
  • English
The gentle green landscape of the Loire Valley lies within easy reach of Paris. While not lacking in scenic vistas and historic towns, it is the region’s magnificent concentration of chateaux which make it an irresistible detour from the French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour. It combined a swift transfer and efficient itinerary with 3 of the great chateaux of the loire. Lionel was a top guide and the group size was just right. Decent lunch, comfortable microbus and fair price made for one of the best days out on our paris holiday.

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was absolutely incredible! We were split into groups with either English or Portuguese speaking guides. Then, once we arrived at each chateau, our guide took us into the chateau and explained the significance of several of the rooms. Afterwards, we received about 45 minutes of free time at each chateau to explore the grounds, which was great because I got to see the beauty of each chateau. Additionally, since it was winter, we were served lunch at a restaurant in Cheverny; 3 course meal with wine and coffee that was delicious. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the Loire Valley because it's the best way to see an exquisite area of France without having to try to navigate the area in a car.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was well organized, both castles are beautiful (in their own way). I enjoyed leisurely ride along Loire Valley and the wine tasting - it was definitely a highlight and it was very interesting to see the "operating" châteaux and meet the owner.
Our guide (Adam) was very knowledgeable, shared a lot of interesting stories about history of the region and the chateaux. I quite enjoyed his sense of humor :)
Overall it was a very pleasurable day and a nice break from the busy-busy Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We spent ten glorious days in Paris and thoroughly enjoyed it. But the highlight of our visit was the wonderful tour of Loire Valley chateaus and tasting wine and enjoying a country lunch at Chateau Nitray. Our guide, Adam, regaled us with fascinating historical facts and little-known anecdotes of the periods of French monarchy. It was a perfect day to compliment our trip. Thanks from the bottom of our hearts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour lead by Adam, a fantastic guide. It certainly was a day well spent visiting the Loire Valley and 3 outstanding chateaus. The chateaus were extremely interesting and the wine lunch was outstanding. Adam was extremely knowledgeable about each of the chateaus and provided interesting information relative to each. I would highly recommend this tour. It was certainly an enjoyable day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful tour! The tour (operated by Dark Rome Tours) took in two of the most spectacular Chateaux in the Loire Valley. The tour never felt rushed, and we were always given adequate time to explore each chateaux at out leisure after the major points of interest were addressed. The history lesson given by our guides (Caroline and Randa) was a welcomed addition! The highlight would have been the visit to Chateau de Nitray (a privately owned Chateaux and winery). The hospitality received here (including the gourmet lunch) was exceptional! Would highly recommend to travellers thinking of escaping Paris for a day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A full day tour from Paris to Loire Valley. We went to three castles in the countryside and each one was a little different. The ride was beautiful and the tour guides were great. The castles are full of so much history. If you have been to other castles in Europe, the architecture is a little different. Glad we did this tour!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This trip was excellent from start to finish. The tour guide (Jean) arrived at our hotel on time and was very informative and friendly, even making sure we got some coffee after the very early start !! At each castle Jean was very engaged and enthusiastic about what he was telling us. He also arranged a visit to a Loire winery for a brief tour and tasting which all appreciated. Even the organised group lunch at a local restaurant was very nice (lunches on tours are usually pretty average in our experience). The castles were all beautiful to look at, inside and out, and each had its own particular points of interest and history. The group of people on our tour were all very nice to spend a day with and even though he is french, we were all super impressed with Jean's ability to negotiate the rush hour traffic in Paris at the end of a long day. Would thoroughly recommend this tour and this tour guide and go on another trip again when we're next in France.

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We were three sisters visiting Paris - with the Loire Valley high on our list of places to see. We loved it ! Natasha our driver was wonderful, she was friendly and informative and helped make the day great. The Amboise Castle was lovely - as was the Village of Amboise itself - what a quaint and picturesque place to visit. We absolutely loved the Chateau Chenonceau, the chateau was sensational, the gardens stunning, and our lunch at the restaurant very delicious. We didn't particularly enjoy the Chateau Chambord - we would have preferred to have spent the time at Da Vinci's garden or have more time in the Village of Amboise. That said, we would still highly recommend the tour with your company.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and I booked this tour during our 2 week trip to Paris to get a view of the Loire valley. Our tour guide was great. She had lots of interesting info and facts about the area and the Royalty who lived in the chateaus. The 2 chateaus were beautiful. The lunch was delicious. We would love to go back and spend more time there now that we had a taste of the beautiful Loire Valley.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Had a great tour of the Loire Valley with our guides Adam and Marie. The chateaux were lovely but the country lunch and winemaking stop made the day. Highly recommend this to all visitors of Paris!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My daughter and I loved this tour. We wanted to go to the countryside to see the chateauxs and tour a vineyard. Randa our guide was great! Very informative and had a great personality. We loved Chambord and Chenonceau was beautiful. Wish we could have stayed longer at Chenonceau-there was so much to see. Lunch at the vineyard was great and the owner entertained us all! It was really easy. We met at a central location and were escorted on a comfortable bus around the Loire Valley. I highly recommend this day trip to anyone who visits Paris and has a full day to spare!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My daughter and I have a wonderful experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the chateaus and the history of the area. We were picked-up and returned on time to our hotel. All in all a lovely day in the Loire Valley!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and offered great facts and insights about the castles and the Loire Valley in general. Totally worth the money, as you don't have to do any thinking or planning with regards to transportation. All you have to do is show up!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had a wonderful trip to the chateaus of the Loire Valley. Our guide provided very interesting historic and local information and generally made it a most enjoyable experience. We visited Amboise, probably our favourite as it is in such a picturesque location and there were few other tourists. Next was looked through the very beautiful Chenenceau were we also had an excellent 3 course meal with local wine. The final chateau was Chambord. A most grand and ornate buidling complex.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message