The gentle green landscape of the Loire Valley lies within easy reach of Paris. While not lacking in scenic vistas and historic towns, it is the region’s magnificent concentration of chateaux which make it an irresistible detour from the French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We finished off our Paris trip with this tour on the last day. It was a highlight of our trip. Adam, the guide, was great. The wine tasting was awesome; it was really nice to have a regular folksie meal over Parisian restraunt fare. Our biggest complaint is that you pack a lot into one day, and so you don't get to spend a lot of time at the castles. Chenonceau was pretty packed. When we go back to Paris, we want to go back to the Loire Valley. Out of all the things we did, this tour was the most memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an outstanding trip. The three chateaus we visited were very interesting and the audio guides were helpful. The guide was outstanding. Pedro was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Loire area. He made the long drive very enjoyable and the time went by quick. He also did his homework on the scuttle about the inhabitants of the chateaus . . .very juicy stories. Some of the best photos I took on my trip overall were taken at the chateaus in the Loire valley.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great day trip out of Paris. We got to enjoy the provincial countryside, as well as extensive visits to three Castles of the Loire region. The tour guides provided a continuous commentary during the trip, as well as detailed information once inside the Castles. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour. It takes all day but you get to visit 3 castles. Drove through the Loire Valley with a small group of 7. We visited the castles in Chambord, Chenonceau, and Amboise. All were incredible. The guide/driver told us about each castle before entering and then you explore the castle on your own for about an hour and a half. Our guide, Olivie, was very knowledgeable and nice. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide, Lindsey, was phenomenal! She answered our questions and gave additional suggestions of places to see in Paris. The Loire Valley is beautiful and on a sunny day, it is really spectacular. Nittray Winery was a wonderful lunch location. The owner is quite a character and extremely charming, but the wine and food were extraordinary. To me it is amazing that a simple roasted chicken lunch could possibly be so tasty. We tasted wines before and after lunch, and ended up purchasing some of the red we had for lunch. Chambord and Chenonceau are such different chateaux, and really good choices to understand the French aristocracy and how they were tied to the history of France. Lindsey provided us with some side information that was wonderful about life inside the chateaux. Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A GREAT TOUR IF YOU ARE LIMITED FOR TIME ON YOUR TRIP TO FRANCE.....EXCELLENT VISITS TO THE WONDERFUL CHATEAU'S IN THE LOIRE ,GREAT TOUR GUIDE. THE ACCOMMODATION WAS BRILLIANT AT THE MECURE HOTEL..THE EVENING MEAL WAS AVERAGE AND BREAKFAST THE NEXT MORNING WAS EXCELLENT. DEFINATELY WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR.

Doing what: 2-Day Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide was prompt, friendly and gave us a very good trip. We got a lot of sightseeing in one day. This is about the only way to see the Loire Castles in a day trip from Paris.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour. It combined a swift transfer and efficient itinerary with 3 of the great chateaux of the loire. Lionel was a top guide and the group size was just right. Decent lunch, comfortable microbus and fair price made for one of the best days out on our paris holiday.

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was absolutely incredible! We were split into groups with either English or Portuguese speaking guides. Then, once we arrived at each chateau, our guide took us into the chateau and explained the significance of several of the rooms. Afterwards, we received about 45 minutes of free time at each chateau to explore the grounds, which was great because I got to see the beauty of each chateau. Additionally, since it was winter, we were served lunch at a restaurant in Cheverny; 3 course meal with wine and coffee that was delicious. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the Loire Valley because it's the best way to see an exquisite area of France without having to try to navigate the area in a car.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was well organized, both castles are beautiful (in their own way). I enjoyed leisurely ride along Loire Valley and the wine tasting - it was definitely a highlight and it was very interesting to see the "operating" châteaux and meet the owner.
Our guide (Adam) was very knowledgeable, shared a lot of interesting stories about history of the region and the chateaux. I quite enjoyed his sense of humor :)
Overall it was a very pleasurable day and a nice break from the busy-busy Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We spent ten glorious days in Paris and thoroughly enjoyed it. But the highlight of our visit was the wonderful tour of Loire Valley chateaus and tasting wine and enjoying a country lunch at Chateau Nitray. Our guide, Adam, regaled us with fascinating historical facts and little-known anecdotes of the periods of French monarchy. It was a perfect day to compliment our trip. Thanks from the bottom of our hearts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour lead by Adam, a fantastic guide. It certainly was a day well spent visiting the Loire Valley and 3 outstanding chateaus. The chateaus were extremely interesting and the wine lunch was outstanding. Adam was extremely knowledgeable about each of the chateaus and provided interesting information relative to each. I would highly recommend this tour. It was certainly an enjoyable day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful tour! The tour (operated by Dark Rome Tours) took in two of the most spectacular Chateaux in the Loire Valley. The tour never felt rushed, and we were always given adequate time to explore each chateaux at out leisure after the major points of interest were addressed. The history lesson given by our guides (Caroline and Randa) was a welcomed addition! The highlight would have been the visit to Chateau de Nitray (a privately owned Chateaux and winery). The hospitality received here (including the gourmet lunch) was exceptional! Would highly recommend to travellers thinking of escaping Paris for a day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A full day tour from Paris to Loire Valley. We went to three castles in the countryside and each one was a little different. The ride was beautiful and the tour guides were great. The castles are full of so much history. If you have been to other castles in Europe, the architecture is a little different. Glad we did this tour!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This trip was excellent from start to finish. The tour guide (Jean) arrived at our hotel on time and was very informative and friendly, even making sure we got some coffee after the very early start !! At each castle Jean was very engaged and enthusiastic about what he was telling us. He also arranged a visit to a Loire winery for a brief tour and tasting which all appreciated. Even the organised group lunch at a local restaurant was very nice (lunches on tours are usually pretty average in our experience). The castles were all beautiful to look at, inside and out, and each had its own particular points of interest and history. The group of people on our tour were all very nice to spend a day with and even though he is french, we were all super impressed with Jean's ability to negotiate the rush hour traffic in Paris at the end of a long day. Would thoroughly recommend this tour and this tour guide and go on another trip again when we're next in France.

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message