Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Saqqara (Sakkara)

Saqqara (or Sakkara) lies about 18 miles (30 km) south of Cairo and was the burial site for the ancient Egyptian capital Memphis, now in ruins. In the site of 4.4 by 0.9 miles (7 by 1.5 km) there is a sphinx, smaller than that at Giza at only 26ft ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My 13 year old son and I travelled to London and Paris on a two weeks, jammed packed holiday but the VERSAILLES BIKE TOUR was THE highlight of our holiday.
We both had so much fun and learnt a lot.
Our tour guide MIKE was superb and so knowledgable. He gave me a refreshingly different perspective on my favourite part of history!
If there is one thing you must do its this tour.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our day started off on the wrong foot as we slept in and missed our connection with the group in Paris. Nonetheless, we hopped on the metro and headed to Versailles where we met Mark who was headed that way with another tour group. He made the connections happen and we met Dan and our group in Versailles and had the best day in Paris ever!!!! The bike tour is the only way to see Versailles. The spectacular views every time you turn a corner, the market area where you purchase your picnic lunch, the Peasant Village, the Grand Canal area where you eat your lunch and finally the palace. We arrived at the palace close to 3pm, the crowds were minimal, very easy to walk through at your leisure talking pictures along the way, this is done at your own pace. Our tour guide was Dan, he was very informative and passionate about the palace history and all its characters which made our day more enjoyable!!! Highly recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took this tour on the first Saturday of September. We enjoyed it a lot. Our tour guide was Bill. I was very happy to learn that each bike came with a basket, it was very helpful with all of the grocery shopping bags. Bill recommended shops for specifics picnic food and wine. That was very helpful. We covered lots of grounds on the bikes and it was great to see it all. At the end, we were left to explore the palace, or as Bill calls it "the house," and the gardens on our own. Thank you for that. For our budget it was an expensive tour but we would highly recommend it. Wonderful day even though when we got to the train station there were no more trains running (in the middle of the day) and we were told to go to another station. Luckily the people we were following knew where they were going and we were able to get back to Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our most fun day in Paris! Our guide, Drew, was absolutely the BEST! He brought to life the history of Versaille in an exciting way. We cannot say enough about him and his passion for this bike tour. We can't wait to do this again!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see Versailles. Our guide was Anna (can spell it both ways). Meeting in Paris and then on train to Versailles. After getting bikes ride to market to buy picnic lunch - then onto the grounds of the palace. You could easily spend the day just here. Lots of surprising places, interesting facts and probably the best picnic spot in the world. After lunch visit the Palace itself. Great fun, top guide and real value for money. Highly recommended. Thx.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My favourite day in Paris. It was my 2nd your with this tour company and our guide Anya was fantastic. I am not used to bike riding but I totally enjoyed shopping for the picnic in the marketplace, riding through the streets and the cycling and picnic in the Versailles Palace magnificent gardens.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow! What a way to spend the day! The trip to the outdoor market to buy picnic supplies, the bike tour and our guide were all just lovely! Our guide was Australian and I don't remember her name - sorry! She was wonderful! We met at the bike shop where our guide gave us the details of the day. We had to traverse Paris streets and trains to get to Versailles and she was so attentive to the pace of the group and our safety. When we got to the market she gave us some great insider info and plenty of time to pick up our picnic supplies. While touring Versailles grounds she gave us great history lessons and gave the group options for flow of the day. Once the bike tour was completed we were given our tickets to the palace and our ticket for the train ride home so we could enjoy the palace at our own pace. The guide will escort you through the group entrance so you don't have to wait in the longer lines. She gave us detailed instructions on how to get back and was also gave us the option to ride back with her later in the day, if we wanted to. I would tell anyone that they are not seeing Versailles until they do this tour!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I only did the Day Bike tour as I had to reschedule due to my luggage not arriving. This tour operator is a professional, well organized bike company. The pace was leisurely and the guide (Dawn) made sure everyone knew where we were going, especially when we had to ride the bike lanes in traffic. I have done other bike tours and this one is one of the best. You have lots of time to see the sights as well as take pictures. The company also allowed me to have a credit for the Evening Bike tour so when I come back to Paris, I can join the tour without having to pay again. That's A1 customer service! Thank you.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Day Bike Tour, Evening Bike Tour and Seine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing trip. One of the highlights of our trip to Paris. Kit was a fabulous guide! He made the trip! The gardens were beautiful. Now, when I look at a Monet painting I can imagine where he was sitting in the garden. The bike ride was fun and easy. Kit was extremely well informed about art and spent time during our picnic and on the train enthusiastically educating us. A lovely, peaceful way to spend a day away from the hustle and bustle of Paris

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My 16-year old nephew and I took this tour and without a doubt, this was the highlight tour of our trip to Paris - even in the rainy weather! Experiencing Versailles by bike was a perspective that shouldn't be missed because it really makes you appreciate the beauty of the grounds beyond the grandeur of the buildings, as well as the town itself. Stopping in the market to buy lunch was a lot of fun.

Our tour guide, Costigan, took great care of the entire group; had interesting and funny stories to share; and really made the day a great experience.

Big thumbs up on this one!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our absolute favorite of all our viator tours! We had Bill as our guide. He was wonderful, knowledgeable and very fun! After a full day of a beautiful bike ride, fun picnic, an amazing trip to the market and a tour of Versaille Bill was kind enough to go back on the train and metro with each of us to make sure we made it back into Paris ok.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour gives you the ultimate French experience, meet your guide and group the take a 20 min train ride from Paris to Versailles. Collect your bike, then off to the local market to buy your picnic and what an experience that is in itself, truly fantastic. Amazing scenery, great company, Bill our guide made it very interesting. The palace it's self was very interesting but for us it was the visit to the market, ride around the grounds, meeting some great people and the views that made our day!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great day out , bike ride is great and the markets are full of yummy produce for picnic. Monet's garden is a picture of beauty. Definitely a tour to do if you are in Paris .

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was one of three highlights of our honeymoon in Paris! The bike ride, market, information and picnic made for an excellent day! Anya was very friendly, helpful, fun and knowledgable : ) We've already recommended this tour to a friend who will be in Paris later this month. Merci!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome highlight to a fabulous Paris vacation with my 11 year old daughter. REALLY worth the money. Easy, organized, safe, fun, great bikes, very knowledgable (and cute) guide. : ) We had a great group also, which made our day even more magical. Perfect for my daughter and I.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message