Waiting in long lines or simply walking everywhere can take up a lot of valuable sightseeing time. Luckily, there are ways to see the best of Paris that still leave you with an open schedule.  See It All on a Bike Tour You will see far ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My 16-year old nephew and I took this tour and without a doubt, this was the highlight tour of our trip to Paris - even in the rainy weather! Experiencing Versailles by bike was a perspective that shouldn't be missed because it really makes you appreciate the beauty of the grounds beyond the grandeur of the buildings, as well as the town itself. Stopping in the market to buy lunch was a lot of fun.

Our tour guide, Costigan, took great care of the entire group; had interesting and funny stories to share; and really made the day a great experience.

Big thumbs up on this one!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our absolute favorite of all our viator tours! We had Bill as our guide. He was wonderful, knowledgeable and very fun! After a full day of a beautiful bike ride, fun picnic, an amazing trip to the market and a tour of Versaille Bill was kind enough to go back on the train and metro with each of us to make sure we made it back into Paris ok.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Having lived in Paris 1960-1964, I was familiar with the Palace and had visited the gardens last year (on a Monday so the building was closed). Our guide was well informed and provided a lot of updated information in a conversational and intelligent format. The walking pace was a bit brisk and I would hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is not "in shape". The audio guide at the palace was difficult to hear but in general was adequate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The walking tour started off with areas that one would not consider "secret" or "hidden", but our tour guide soon has us exploring some really obscure places that are not in the tour books. Arthur was a knowledgeable guide who took time to talk to everyone in the group individually. He made us feel as though we were a team. We highly recommend this tour - especially if it is your first day in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour gives you the ultimate French experience, meet your guide and group the take a 20 min train ride from Paris to Versailles. Collect your bike, then off to the local market to buy your picnic and what an experience that is in itself, truly fantastic. Amazing scenery, great company, Bill our guide made it very interesting. The palace it's self was very interesting but for us it was the visit to the market, ride around the grounds, meeting some great people and the views that made our day!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Just a great half day! A nice way to get away from the hustle of central Paris. Awesome company! Our tour guide was amazing! 33 year old guy with curly hair (can't remember his name). Well organized, funny, very knowledgeable, just the perfect guide. Versailles and this tour are a must. Worth the extra few dollars you pay for this tour, just to skip the line is worth it. The train ride and meeting point were very easy to find. The tour of the gardens is amazing! and the Palace audio guided tour is great. Palace takes about 1 hour to walk through. Look up what days the fountains are on at Versailles. Always an added treat! A great place to go, not far from Paris at all. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was a great way to see Paris a little faster than walking. We enjoyed it so much that we booked a similar tour in Barcelona a few days later. The river cruise was OK but a little cold for the time of year. A neat way to see some of the amazing bridges of Paris.

Doing what: Paris Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was one of three highlights of our honeymoon in Paris! The bike ride, market, information and picnic made for an excellent day! Anya was very friendly, helpful, fun and knowledgable : ) We've already recommended this tour to a friend who will be in Paris later this month. Merci!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome highlight to a fabulous Paris vacation with my 11 year old daughter. REALLY worth the money. Easy, organized, safe, fun, great bikes, very knowledgable (and cute) guide. : ) We had a great group also, which made our day even more magical. Perfect for my daughter and I.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a home run experience. The meeting point is a local bike shop where they do a safety and general briefing, then it's a 5-10 min walk to the RER train station for a short ride out to Versailles. The train was really crowded but Dan, our guide, did a good job preparing the group for the crowds and we all met at the Versailles station without issue. After a short walk to their local office where the bikes are stored, the group rode through the streets of the town of Versailles to a local farmer's market. Dan made several excellent recommendations for picnic supplies (you're on your own for about 45 mins to shop at your own expense) and the experience there was fantastic. Then it's a short ride onto the palace grounds with regular stops to learn about the history of the palace and its inhabitants. Dan is a fantastic storyteller and engaged the whole group. I think we covered about 8 miles by bike, mostly flat but with a few gradual hills. About halfway through, the group stopped to eat the picnic lunch. The bike portion concluded back at their local office, followed by a 10 min walk to the palace's main entrance where we skipped the long queue and entered as a group. The palace portion is self-guided at your own pace, with the option of riding back to Paris at an appointed time with the guide or going back on your own. Train tix are included both ways. Overall a fantastic experience and a full day adventure.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Such a fun day out and not too strenuous. Our guide Andrew was really knowledgeable and we learnt a lot about the sights in Paris whilst also riding around on bikes. Would recommend this to any age group. Would loved to have to done the evening bike tour too but we only had one full day there, maybe next time.

Doing what: Paris Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was the perfect way to kick off our week in Paris. Not only did we see and learn about a TON of the major tourist attractions in just a few short hours, we got a lot of great tips from our tour guide, Nick, about staying in and exploring the city. The bikes were incredibly comfortable, and we felt safe riding through the streets of Paris - even with volume of cars and crazy drivers sharing the road with us. Our safety was clearly a top priority, but even so, "fun" was absolutely the word of the day.

In short, I'll seek out Fat Tire Bike Tours at every one of my future travel destinations. I couldn't recommend this tour more.

Doing what: Paris Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the best day I had in Paris. Enjoyed it enormously. Sixteen of us, cycling along the cobbled streets of Versailles, the markets to buy lunch, then onto the palace grounds. Phil was a terrific guide, good sense of humour and just enough information. A most beautiful area to cycle (many acres of parkland), easy going, lots of photo opportunities, and then picnic lunch by the lake. Then back to Versailles town to drop off the bikes. Two hours to view the palace and gardens, then metro back to Paris. A very full day, very enjoyable.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our bike tour of Versailles with Johnny was better than the chateau itself. He was knowledgable and funny. He really came through for us when a few of the trains headed to Paris from Versailles Rive Gauche were cancelled. There were 4 couples from our tour and several more from other tour groups who he 'adopted'- translating for us and helping us all find another way back. He even used his personal phone to call our hotel and shuttle service to let them know we would be late for our pickup. He truly saved the day!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful day in Versailles! What a great way to see the palace. Very knowledgeable tour guide gave us historical perspective rarely found in audio guided tours. We will do this same trip again the next time we are in Paris. The beginning of the bike trip started at a fabulous market that is a wonderful experience in and of itself. We do not ride bikes but found this trip very easy to do.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message