While many Parisians leave town in the summer, the city and its environs rewards those who stay – and visitors also get to reap the rewards. A fine example of this is one of the best day trips from Paris, the Palace of Versailles. During the summer ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1019 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was young, vivacious and very knowledgeable. The palace was gorgeous, albeit extremely crowded, but the skip-the-line feature made getting in easy. We hit all the highlights and could hear hear our guide clearly through the headsets. The fountain show at the gardens was breathtaking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great! Better than we could have expected. Viator guide was there at Les Invalides metro meeting place early - and so were we- John from UK was witty and knowledgeable.
Viator was recommended to me by my son and a friend. And they were right!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a sight to see indeed! The fountain show should be added if you have time since the gardens are breathtaking and a large part if the locations.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent. She was knowledgeavble and helpful. She kept us on track and on time while providing us enough time to see everything.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide! Hebrard (I think that´s his name) tell history as a fairy tale! So in love with his country and culture, that he was available to transmit that feeling to the whole group!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved it, loved it, loved it our guide was great and made our trip very enjoyable. The whole tour was well organised from the bus trip there to the bus trip back. Good value for money

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. The Palace of Versailles was impressive and our tour guide was informative, friendly and professional.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Amazing. Everything well went, our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We joined the trip in Paris and caught the train with the group which was easy. We split up into 2groups of about 12 people which made it easier to get around. Going in mid September was great as although crowded, we kept moving through the palace. Our guide said in peak time you could wait up to 40 minutes go get to just another room. Be aware that from now, the queens bedrooms will be closed for renovation until 2017 which is unfortunate however they were already stunning. Going on a tour was best, however we did get a bit rushed looking at the garden, but in saying that, you were given your return train ticket and you could spend your own time in the gardens and return later. The gardens are a must, they are breathtaking. Getting back on your own is easy so if you can, stay and enjoy the gardens. Take good walking shoes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Hassle free afternoon. Versailles is a "mad house", it is so crowded and it was September. Bus drive was comfortable. Great information about the Palace that makes you appreciate it's still there after the revolution. Not really much time to see the gardens though. Beautiful town, hope to have some time to visit on my own next time.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved Versailles! It's the ultimate in living large....the fountain was being renovated, so we couldn't see it in action, but the chalet was beautiful! Just seeing where French royalty lived and walking through the rooms they occupied was heaven. The only problem was the number of tour groups that bombarded Versailles. If we had come on the off-season, it may have been better. It was so claustrophobic with that many people cramming themselves into each room, it was hard to really enjoy it. I do recommend this tour, just not during peak season!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Travel by train was great and because of John, our trip guide, my husband and I felt safe and comfortable.Our guide in Versailles was absolutely great!!! I think his name was Harve (pardon - if this is not his name). He was passionate about the French history, extremely knowledgeable, accommodating, charming. Versailles Palace is definitely must see when in France. Very impressive, very beautiful. It was a memorable afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic and we'll worth the time!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were unable to attend due to illness however we had done this one in 2011 and loved it so beautiful

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour coordinators (3 of them) met us outside the Invalides station, had our train tickets ready to go for us (which were included in the price) and gave us our audio guides before we got to the palace. The tour guide, Chloe, was knowledgeable and gave us great insight into the history of the time of Louis XIV and the building of the palace. The fountain show was fun to watch but the gardens themselves were a bit plain, just a lot of tall hedges and a few statues here and there. The view from the back steps of the palace is spectacular, as are the rooms inside the palace itself. Definitely get a nice picture of the hall of mirrors from the entrance! We only had about ten minutes to go through the gift shop since we wanted to leave with the tour coordinators, but we had the option of just getting our return train ticket from them and taking our own time to go back to Paris. We felt very well-taken care of!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message