While many Parisians leave town in the summer, the city and its environs rewards those who stay – and visitors also get to reap the rewards. A fine example of this is one of the best day trips from Paris, the Palace of Versailles. During the summer ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

To not see Versailles on a trip to Paris would not be forgivable. The tour guide was very forthcoming with interesting bits of history which made this tour stand out in our memories. Touring here requires more time that was allocated, so that was a little disappointing. Never the less a very good tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was amazing and the tour guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour - skipped the long queues!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Eloise, our tour guide was superb. She was VERY informative. We do not know how she knew so much information, but it was to our advantage. This was a 4 hour tour, but you could literally spend a month at Versailles and still not see everything. This is a MUST see. Our entire family was very impressed with this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was off the charts. We did this tour after arriving in Paris and not sleeping on the plane. We were exhausted but once we arrived at the Palace it rejuvenated myself and my family. The palace, the gardens, everything about it was magnificent. After the tour, we stayed in Versailles and had dinner. It is quite a lovely town with some wonderful shops and restaurants. This is a must see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour with a small group of people. Guide was great and extremely knowledgeable. Just be ready to be surrounded by 1000s of other visitors there with you when you do visit! We actually went on our own bus from Paris to Versaille instead of going in the Metro...worked out nice and comfy :

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Informative and beautiful sights. Our guide was really helpful and well informed. She kept a good pace so we were able to see much of what is described. It was a great experience

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour guide - very entertaining and informative. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Chris H.
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour with fantastic guide and timing. I loved seeing the fountains, especially when Versailles started playing music. A special, enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was extraordinary. The palace very much worth seeing. I would recommend providing advice to tourists in advance of taking the tour that the grounds are gravel and closed toed shoes are recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Paris Tours
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun. Just a word of caution, most of the tour was uphill and over terrain that you had to be cautious of, cobble stone paths. I was in a boot for a broken foot but was able to keep up and enjoy the entire tour. If you have trouble walking or get short of breath, this tour might not be for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were a group of 5, including our 19 month grandson. The tour delivered as promised- we met our first guide in front of the designated Metro stop and instead of riding the train, there was a nice motor coach for us. The guide on the journey to Versaiiles was Patrice- he was funny and kept us entertained and informed as we traveled through Paris and then out to the palace. Once we were there, Patrice turned us over to our guides for the walking tour and the bus was split into two groups. Our group had to wait around 25 minutes for some people who were supposed to meet us at Versailles but finally we left without them- our group did not have much time in the gardens as a result. We did not have to wait in the mile long line snaking through the courtyard, thank goodness. I feel we did luck out with our marvelous guide, Clair, however! She was so adept at getting us through the palace- it was Thursday so less crowded, she said and fewer pickpockets. It was still wall to wall people inside the rooms. The palace is a must see when visiting Paris- it creates historical perspective on the French Revolution, for sure- much in the way of excess and opulence!
In conclusion, I am not sure if a train ride would have been as easy as the bus we had but this tour was highly enjoyable for our group and a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Ural T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was highly informative and enjoyable even with the large amount of crowds. The gardens are massive and the fountain shows were very impressive.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend the tour! There is so much history at Versailles, it was wonderful to be able to hear the history that accompanies what you're viewing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic experience. Tour Guide in the bus and a different one at Versailles were very knowledgeable and personable. Too bad couldn't take train. Just the right amount of time. The headsets were incredibly useful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour and history of Versailles. Our guide was nice but had a strong French accent for an English speaking tour. Overall I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing. The tour guides were fantastic. They made it so worth while. Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife, daughter, granddaughter and I all enjoyed this tour. It was easy to locate and get to the pickup location for the tour start. The staff were great in getting the group organized. Our guide at Versailles was terrific. This was our first time to book a tour with Viator, but it will not be our last.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a spectacular place to see. Although it was very crowded and hot. Amazing job by the tour guide. Hard to do what she did under the circumstances where people such you so they can see or catch up. Amazing gardens and fountains.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Jose Morales
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, Catherine was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable about the history of the palace. She kept the pace of the tour relax, fun and also showed us some extra beautiful areas in the gardens. Overall an amazing place and a fun tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

With all the crowds we were glad to skip the line and get Tanya who provided an excellent and insightful tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide, well worth it. The initial meeting at the train was unorganized.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time touring the Versailles castle and gardens.From the time we met up with our guide Pablo who escorted us to Versaillles, we were in good hands. Our tour guide through the castle and Gardens was Katherine, and she was excellent. So very friendly, and knowledgable. We were able to see the musical fountains show and it was delightful. All in all, between the helpful guides who helped us skip through very long lines, and all the interesting history, the trip was definitely worth the price!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

THE FOUNTAINS WERE GREAT AND THE TOUR WAS EXCELLENT IF YOU ARE GOING TO GO AND SEE THE FOUNTAIN SHOW IT WAS GREAT. THE GUIDE WAS VERY INFORMATIVE

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message