Pattaya ATTRACTIONS See all

Pattaya Elephant Village

The non-profit Pattaya Elephant Village provides a sanctuary for former working elephants. Daily elephant shows put the animals through their paces, demonstrating training techniques, logging tricks and elephant behavior. Saddle up and go for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicole B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This is the WORST tour I've ever seen in my life. The elephants are chained up and walk in filth among the dirty villagers who live there. They are absolutely miserable and there is NO trekking through water. We sat strapped on a seat to the elephant for about 10 minutes and made them turn around to bring us back. This was horribly depressing and seemed like a factory. Even the baby elephant we say was chained to the ground without shade or water in the sun. I DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Melissa A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Did not meet expectations - we felt that we got ripped off. The local guide just left us at the Elephant docking area so there was confusion with the ticketing lady. Our group of 6 got separated would have been great if we all experienced the tour together and my husband and daughter only got to ride for 15 minutes because the ticketing lady thought they were part of another group. They had to look for the local guide for another 15 minutes to have it clarified.

In this site I see pictures of people riding elephants on a river so we were expecting that. But our tour only went through a local village no jungle, no rivers and lasted only about 30-40 minutes. The site also said that the local guide will give us a briefing for safety, but that did not happen either since he disappeared immediately after buying our tickets. I also had the impression that we were supposed to go to the Elephant Village but we were brought to the smaller Siam village instead. The manhout did not speak English either contrary to the description of this tour.

Overall the experience of riding an elephant is still memorable but I was just disappointed that the local guide did not really look after us and the description and pictures in this site is deceiving.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Mary Wai-Ching W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Very bad experience. The agent She needs customer service training badly. The elephant trainer keeps asking for tips during the ride. When you did not pay him good enough, he gives you a cold nose in return. I think they expect each rider has to provide tips at least 100 Baht in return.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

vicki28uk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

loved the trip, hated seeing the animals chained up and being hit by sticks

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Blake A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

This was the worst experience ever!!! This is not a trek through a lush jungle... this is a walk around a third world village filled with trash there was no water to walk through and they were building houses and apartments where the elephants were walking. The person guiding the elephant kept telling me that if i do not him the elephant and his family will not eat. It seems from reading other peoples reviews at one time this was a good attraction but has gone down hill and the guides now push people to tip them.... cause I was not the only one with this experience. If you want to ride the elephants take the Nong Nooch Village tour... they have elephants to ride and much more scenic!!!

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I have done this before in Zimbabwe, but this was better as the driver got off the elephant to take photos and you actually spend some time alone on the elephant. Remember to buy bananas beforehand to feed him/her during your ride.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Mohammad A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Not as advertised.
The 'english speaking guide' is the taxi driver who drives you to this elephant factory called Chiang Siam Not the elephant village sanctuary as I expected it would be.
Once you marched onto an elephant, the only english that the 'guide' knows is the word 'Tip' and he will ask for it the moment you get on till the moment you get off even if you give him one straight away. I don't mind tipping but surely tips are reserved until after you receive a good service not just as you have sat down.
The 'guides' also constantly threaten and hit the elephants with a stick and a sharp metal object attached to the end of it. I didn't like this.
The ride itself - you get taken through an area where the workers live. Its not natural beauty - some grass/shrubs, some shacks and bags of rubbish everywhere.
The whole experience left me feeling a little downhearted. I strongly do not recommend this.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Tamair E C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The whole thing felt kind of rushed... we weren't allowed to linger to look at the pictures they took of us or anything because the driver wanted to get going. Overall, it was a good experience. The guides spoke enough English that they could tell us about the elephants and answer basic questions.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Suzana T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Very disappointing. They instantly ushered us onto the elephant. We learnt nothing about the elephant and it's cultural significance to the Thai people. The guide couldn't speak English and at every opportunity requested a tip. He was disgusting.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

a very good trip , really recomended and good experience

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Hang H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The trip was not as per our expectation, it was not like what was in the photos in Viator. We didn't cross any river or stream, it is nearly one hour riding elephant around some untidy nature.The elephant rider spoke a little English and was not friendly at all. He made fun of us in local language they pointed at us said Vietnam, Vietnam and laughed when they knew we were from Vietnam.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Kathryn W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Travelled with our kids 7 and 9 who had a good time, they loved the Elephant and Ox Cart rides, it was great there were umbrellas to use as shade as it was really hot. The lunch was really nice with lots of variety,

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

Sophia G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Elephant trekking was not as advertised. We didn't go through the water, there weren't and sites but for the price it was a nice experience.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful experience at a really good price.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

a brilliant half day out while in pattaya, was picked up from my hotel on time, then driven to the elephant park
once there we were given a 30 minute ride on a elephant, while feeding him
once the elephant trek was finished we were told some interesting facts about elephants, it was then on th a small jungle trek , where the guide tells you how to survive in the jungle
then we had a small raft ride down a lake, then a 30 minute ox and cart ride, finished by a magnificent meal
i would recommend this to anyone while in pattaya

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

murskie

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We booked elephant half-day tour at evening, the weather wasn't too hot and the sunset was really beutiful and nature calm when it was getting dark. Tour guide spoke good english and he had good sense of humor. I don't have any children, but I noticed how good they took care of kids. Food was delicious, but I was disapointted because fooddrinks didn't included in the price. I didn't like the way how elephant and buffalo riders was asking for some tip. I didn't feel anykind of hurry during the tour and it was really well organized.

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

matthew c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Poorly looked after elephant with cuts to ears and head. The village was coverd in rubbish. No clean water for them to cool down and play. Chained up elephant made to stand still all day for photos. Guide hitting elephant on the head with metel object and laughing. Get them out pls. Sad sad sad day

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Lee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour and the guide was just awesome.

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

Luo M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Very rushed and the guy who was on the elephant with me kept asking for tips the entire time

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

gnied

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I have mixed feelings about this trip. The trip itself was good and the people who put it on do a good job overall. We did enjoy most of it. However, they need to clean-up some of their employees. My wife and I on the elephant ride had a driver that was less than honest. He kept taking his elephant off the path and into thicket, ponds, etc. At one point he broke away from the normal path, ran the elephant into a small lake. The water level got up almost to our shoes. Then he stops the elephant in the middle of the lake and turns around and starts to sell us cheap trinkets for high prices. My wife does not swim and I just came off of heart surgery and neither of us could have swam safely to the shore if he chose to have the elephant go deeper. We were intimidated to buy a cheap piece of plastic for 300 Baht. When I gave him a 500 Baht note he became upset because I wanted change. Imagine that! He kept saying the change was his tip. I know enough Thai to respond "no way." My son was on another elephant and experienced a good ride. I guess we just had a bad luck of the draw. Please watch your employees. They could ruin your good business.

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

Ilham G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Was good, the guide was also good, but the tour could be more comprehensive

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

Sarah S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We were rushed into a crowd of people. They were all getting on elephants for a short ride but our guide made us bypass everyone and cut in line. our elephant went off the beaten path and my friend and I actually got nervous since we weren't by anyone else. It felt awkward going through that small, poor village. We all could've done without going through that area. It was good trekking through the forest but not the village part. for a small tip, our tour guide got off the elephant and took a ton of pictures of us on the elephant so that was really neat. It was worth the money but think about not taking people through a poor village of several shacks and skinny dogs. It was sad.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour it was all that and more. I had a chance to observe another elephant trekking experience conducting by another company and it didn't come close to this experience. Well worth the money if you miss this you miss the boat.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

william k

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

I felt the Elephant trek although worth doing was very rushed, we only booked the trek alone and we were basically rushed straight onto the elephant and onto the trek without any chance of taking our own pics of each other on the elephant, the same thing at the end, it was very busy and went like a production line. The trek itself was good but only lasted half an hour then we were rushed out with little time to look around before being taken back to our hotel. Would maybe have benefited from doing the full tour.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Ryan H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Riding an Elephant was interesting however you basically walked around the very small neighborhood where the employees live who work at the park. There was no real information shared about the area or Elephants. I was also not happy with the conditions that i saw the Elephants living in or the way they were treated. It was very busy with about a dozen full tour buses the time we were there.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message