Founded in 1786 as a trading post for the British East Indian Company, and named after King George III (the mad one!), Georgetown became an important trading post. Today, the period colonial design remains and the old warehouses and wharves still ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

An interesting tour with the obligatory tourist shop stops. Our guide was personable and informative. He showed us the flavor of the entire island and did not make us stay in the required stops.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We spend a wonderful day. Places to visit were great. Thank you and next time.

Doing what: Private Georgetown Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The guide just sokind and knowledgeable... Having a guide it is allowed you to visit and much more than by yoiurself. I recommend to everybody...

Doing what: Private Georgetown Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We are a family of three from the United States. We visited Penang in November 2013. The City Tour was awesome, the driver spoke beautiful English, his tour was very informative, even my 13 year old paid close attention -:). Overall experience is excellent.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very interesting tour, made more so by the particular guide that we had. Visits to the fruit stalls and snake temple were special - but more time needed at the temple to be able to visit the small reptile park as well. We also managed a side trip to the Coffee Tree. Penang white coffee is the best. Highly recommend trying it.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Irene D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Georgetown has a wonderful colonial ambience mixed with some magnificent Chinese, Malaysian and Indian restored Temples and Mansions. You need to be careful walking the narrow streets as there are no footpaths and the streets are busy with lots of cars and motor bikes. The shophouse streets are a mixture of old and restored: fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a small group of three. Phillip, our tour guide, was great. He was very knowledgeable about each place we went to. He shared his thoughts about Penang and answered questions willingly. It was very interesting and nice to be in a small group.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

The tour was without a guide,only a driver with broken English,interested only in the property market in the island.Print factory,Fruit market,and Coffee beans factory were commercial breaks,Nevertheless the latter was a good compromise,as the group members were desperate for free coffee drops.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This guy is really really nice, he made our trip a very enjoyable one, very pleasant indeed. lucky we had him on this tour.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

This tour was a really good opportunity to see the important and historical sights in Penang, Malaysia. I was the only one in the tour and my tour guide was quite good. The two temples- Thai and Burmese were truly spectacular! it wa really worth the trip including a trip to Georgetown!

Doing what: Penang City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The guide and the trip was good.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

The island of Penang is very beautiful and this tour drives you around the island. I felt that more opportunities to take photos would have been nice, and I would have loved to see the spice farm instead of the drivers friends roadside stand, but all in all it was okay. I was with two others and our tour was in a small car. The driver was pointing and talking while trying to drive a small car, and I felt in danger at times on the small crowded roads. We made it back safely though and the guide was pleasant enough.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great tour , guide was great , gave a good overview of the island .
Enjoyed all of it

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour guide! Knowledgable about Malaysia. No problem modifying tour schedule for us.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Penang Island Morning Tour was terrific. We'd never been to Penang before and the tour was an excellent introduction. The bas was clean and comfortable and well driven. Our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and gave us great insight into Penang and Malay history, culture and landmarks, flora and fauna. I would highly recommend this tour for those arriving in Penang wanting to know more about this beautiful island.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message