Founded in 1786 as a trading post for the British East Indian Company, and named after King George III (the mad one!), Georgetown became an important trading post. Today, the period colonial design remains and the old warehouses and wharves still ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Cameron Highlands were the highlight! Our guide Arif was very knowledgable and always smiling! Lots to see on the way to Penang.

Doing what: 3-Night Cameron Highlands and Penang Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour took me back to my childhood when I lived on Penang. Tour Guide was excellent and the food at the Hawker stalls was a real eye opener. In a great way !!

Doing what: Penang Night Tour from Georgetown with Malacca Strait Ferry Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I get travel sick so was not good for me. A lot of time on the bus bad roads going uphill. 2 day option should be provided as well.Penang was quite boring with lots of traffic and beaches weren't nice.I'm at Langkawi now and wish I had not gone on that tour. Felt like a waste. Hotels all smelt musty

Doing what: 3-Night Cameron Highlands and Penang Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful and highly knowledgeable. The tour covered much of Georgetown and everything was very interesting. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Penang City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting. Our guide spoke English extremely well and was very informative.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Despite our initial hesitation at this tour being taken by one man in his car, it turned into a really great tour. Our guide was great (unfortunately I can't remember his name). He had a great knowledge of the island and injected his sense of humor into the tour which really made it. We felt like we were on a photshoot at times as he was constantly pointing out photo opportunities and snapping away for us. High up on our list of must sees was the famous street art which we got to see on this tour. We seems to pack so much in and the tour went over the 3 hours but this was no problem for our guide. All in all a worth while tour of Georgetown.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

Sheryl T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, again we had Moy for our tour guide and he is amazing , such a nice man, with a wealth of knowledge to share. We got more than our allocated time, but thouroughly enjoyed all the points of interest. The batik, factory was good and in fact we ended up doing one on our KL tour as well but thought the Penang one was much better. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Rob
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So fortunate to have had Philip as my guide, his local knowledge was terrific, very friendly and easy to speak with. Turned out I was the only customer for the morning so essentially had a private tour of Penang Island and Philip adapted the program to suit my needs. He was able to recommend some of best places for dinner and seafood restaurants in Penang. Highly recommend the tour company for its level of service.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

An interesting tour with the obligatory tourist shop stops. Our guide was personable and informative. He showed us the flavor of the entire island and did not make us stay in the required stops.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We spend a wonderful day. Places to visit were great. Thank you and next time.

Doing what: Private Georgetown Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The guide just sokind and knowledgeable... Having a guide it is allowed you to visit and much more than by yoiurself. I recommend to everybody...

Doing what: Private Georgetown Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We are a family of three from the United States. We visited Penang in November 2013. The City Tour was awesome, the driver spoke beautiful English, his tour was very informative, even my 13 year old paid close attention -:). Overall experience is excellent.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very interesting tour, made more so by the particular guide that we had. Visits to the fruit stalls and snake temple were special - but more time needed at the temple to be able to visit the small reptile park as well. We also managed a side trip to the Coffee Tree. Penang white coffee is the best. Highly recommend trying it.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a small group of three. Phillip, our tour guide, was great. He was very knowledgeable about each place we went to. He shared his thoughts about Penang and answered questions willingly. It was very interesting and nice to be in a small group.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

The tour was without a guide,only a driver with broken English,interested only in the property market in the island.Print factory,Fruit market,and Coffee beans factory were commercial breaks,Nevertheless the latter was a good compromise,as the group members were desperate for free coffee drops.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message