Penang ATTRACTIONS See all

Penang Hill (Flagstaff Hill)

Flagstaff Hill is the best known of the group of granite peaks which are Penang Hills. At 2,411ft (735m)  it provides brilliant panoramic views of the Georgetown, the Penang Bridge and the Straits of Malacca. It is accessible via a keen 2-hour ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Must take...we are pick up on time and the driver very friendly and answer all the question we have in mind about Penang. The Penang Hill view is very beautifull specially at night time.

Doing what: Penang Hill Railway Ride and Dinner with Georgetown Views

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were EXTREMELY happy with this tour! We had Moy (sorry if I butchered your name), and he was a very excellent tour guide. We paid for the group tour but there were only 2 of us. He said the rest were still sleeping (even though it was 2 pm) :). He was very informative, pointing out landmarks and buildings on the way to the Temple and Penang Hill. As we stopped at these places, he always greeted one or 2 locals, which was nice to see. You can tell his friendliness wasn't an act. Also, he was very prepared with 2 umbrellas when he saw the rain clouds come in. Luckily, it didn't rain (just a light drizzle) but still it was nice to see that he took care of his guests. At one point, he chatted up with the train conductor and we actually got to see his switchboard. Pretty neat. Definitely would do another tour with Moy again!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was excellent. Pickup from hotel on time. Tour guide was fantastic (also had the same guide for the Island Discovery Tour, and previously last year). He was very knowledgeable, accommodating and humorous. View from the top of Penang Hill was spectacular.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The guide was brilliant, such a nice man and very knowledgeable. The temple was just amazing. We were let down by the weather whilst up Penang Hill but you could appreciate what the views would be like during good weather. Guide also made sure we had the best seats going up and down the hill which was a real plus. I would highly recommend this tour and the guide.

I also did the Island half day tour in the morning. This tour again was really good (amazing scenary) although Snake Temple was a bit of a let down. Despite this the trip is still very much worth doing.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

J C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

great tour, Philip our guide was excellent, and made it very entertaining and answered every question, we done Botanic gardens instead of Penang hill, but guide was very well up to date with everything. Very recomended

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A most enjoyable and informative tour. Penang Hill and the funicular railway were very busy, but we had great views of Georgetown and across to Butterworth. Kek Lok Si temple was beautiful. We have seen a lot of temples, but this was by far the biggest and most beautiful. Our guide was very helpful, ensuring we had the best positions on the funicular and showing us the best spots for photographs. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

I loved this tour. It was almost like travelling independently with our own personal chauffeur and just someone there to ask questions when needed. You are left on your own to explore the temple for over an hour and the same at Penang Hill. The views are very impressive. If you want to, you can combine this tour with the Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour as the same guide does both one after the other and you can stay on the bus.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Mark V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Kek Lok Si Temple is amazing. Great views from Penang Hill. Our guide was the best! This tour is a must do when in Penang.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Jackie
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The view from Penang Hill is fantastic, the meal was outstanding. The grounds of the restaurant are not as manicured as described it over all very good evening.

Doing what: Penang Hill Railway Ride and Dinner with Georgetown Views

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Can see whole Penang!

Irene D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful views and a relaxing experience wandering around. We visited The Monkey Cup Garden. Enjoyed a guided tour being shown the many varieties of pitcher plants, as well as some scorpions and giant millipedes. For 1MR they give you a ride back to the main area. The food and drinks in the food court are tasty and well priced. A few souvenir markets too. Easy to catch the bus back to Georgetown from the Funicular station at the bottom of the hill.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

What a great tour especially the visit to the temple and funicular ride at Penang Hill with really good views of Penang and Butterworth! Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and very good.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Temple is a must see but unfortunately, the tram was not working so didn't do Penang Hill.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Simon G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Our guide was smart, polite and very friendly, happy to answer any questions. Really looked forward to the railway trip to Penang Hill but hated being packed in like sardines. Felt very claustrophobic and couldn't see the view as we ascended or descended, which was disappointing. Very enjoyable and made more so by the guide's input.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Paris N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

If you ever visit Penang, this is a must trip. The tour was organised very well, and the climb up to Penang Hill by train was quite an experience.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message