Penang ATTRACTIONS See all

Penang Hill (Flagstaff Hill)

Flagstaff Hill is the best known of the group of granite peaks which are Penang Hills. At 2,411ft (735m)  it provides brilliant panoramic views of the Georgetown, the Penang Bridge and the Straits of Malacca. It is accessible via a keen 2-hour ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating tour, the guide was very good and arrived on time. The views from Penang Hill were amazing as was the ride to the top as our guide managed to get us in the first carriage. Well worth the money

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Must take...we are pick up on time and the driver very friendly and answer all the question we have in mind about Penang. The Penang Hill view is very beautifull specially at night time.

Doing what: Penang Hill Railway Ride and Dinner with Georgetown Views

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were EXTREMELY happy with this tour! We had Moy (sorry if I butchered your name), and he was a very excellent tour guide. We paid for the group tour but there were only 2 of us. He said the rest were still sleeping (even though it was 2 pm) :). He was very informative, pointing out landmarks and buildings on the way to the Temple and Penang Hill. As we stopped at these places, he always greeted one or 2 locals, which was nice to see. You can tell his friendliness wasn't an act. Also, he was very prepared with 2 umbrellas when he saw the rain clouds come in. Luckily, it didn't rain (just a light drizzle) but still it was nice to see that he took care of his guests. At one point, he chatted up with the train conductor and we actually got to see his switchboard. Pretty neat. Definitely would do another tour with Moy again!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was excellent. Pickup from hotel on time. Tour guide was fantastic (also had the same guide for the Island Discovery Tour, and previously last year). He was very knowledgeable, accommodating and humorous. View from the top of Penang Hill was spectacular.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The guide was brilliant, such a nice man and very knowledgeable. The temple was just amazing. We were let down by the weather whilst up Penang Hill but you could appreciate what the views would be like during good weather. Guide also made sure we had the best seats going up and down the hill which was a real plus. I would highly recommend this tour and the guide.

I also did the Island half day tour in the morning. This tour again was really good (amazing scenary) although Snake Temple was a bit of a let down. Despite this the trip is still very much worth doing.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

J C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

great tour, Philip our guide was excellent, and made it very entertaining and answered every question, we done Botanic gardens instead of Penang hill, but guide was very well up to date with everything. Very recomended

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A most enjoyable and informative tour. Penang Hill and the funicular railway were very busy, but we had great views of Georgetown and across to Butterworth. Kek Lok Si temple was beautiful. We have seen a lot of temples, but this was by far the biggest and most beautiful. Our guide was very helpful, ensuring we had the best positions on the funicular and showing us the best spots for photographs. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

I loved this tour. It was almost like travelling independently with our own personal chauffeur and just someone there to ask questions when needed. You are left on your own to explore the temple for over an hour and the same at Penang Hill. The views are very impressive. If you want to, you can combine this tour with the Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour as the same guide does both one after the other and you can stay on the bus.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Mark V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Kek Lok Si Temple is amazing. Great views from Penang Hill. Our guide was the best! This tour is a must do when in Penang.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Interesting tour and the journey to Penang Hill a great experience and fantastic views from a high elevation.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Jackie
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The view from Penang Hill is fantastic, the meal was outstanding. The grounds of the restaurant are not as manicured as described it over all very good evening.

Doing what: Penang Hill Railway Ride and Dinner with Georgetown Views

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

What a great tour especially the visit to the temple and funicular ride at Penang Hill with really good views of Penang and Butterworth! Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and very good.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Temple is a must see but unfortunately, the tram was not working so didn't do Penang Hill.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Simon G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Our guide was smart, polite and very friendly, happy to answer any questions. Really looked forward to the railway trip to Penang Hill but hated being packed in like sardines. Felt very claustrophobic and couldn't see the view as we ascended or descended, which was disappointing. Very enjoyable and made more so by the guide's input.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Paris N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

If you ever visit Penang, this is a must trip. The tour was organised very well, and the climb up to Penang Hill by train was quite an experience.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Anne
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

I enjoyed the tour although it was shorter than I had expected at 2hours15mins. Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si were both worth the visit and the guide was well informed.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Our tour was confirmed for hotel pick up @ 2PM but no one turned up !!!! After some upsetting, stressful time and many phone calls we were finally sent a (private) bus and driver/guide @ 4PM. :o) There were 2 highlights listed on the tour that we did not get to see at all : #1-Stroll through the beautiful Penang Botanical Gardens with the free roaming monkeys. #2- See hundreds of tortoises at the "Pond of Longevity"
Apart from all that, Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si were beautiful. Wish we had more time there instead of rushing through.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Good tour but too bad the penang hill part wasnt included due to works on the funicular train.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Patsy R
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Well this Penang Hill tour that was booked was actually closed till Nov 2010 but I was still able to book it on the website. I didn't find out it was closed until the day we were geting picked up. They didn't show up. Then the hotel rang the company and they were an hour late, only to let us know that the attraction is being renovated! We were still taken to the temple and the botanical gardens, the gardens are a waste of time all you see is a park, a tram and a few monkeys. The temple is a must see. Make sure you cover your shoulders for the temple tour and allow the whole day to walk the temple, make sure you wear good shoes, I walked nearly 10KM - it's huge!!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Misleading as there was no Penang Hill tour. Kek Lo Si Temple tour was refreshing and a nice walk at the Botanical Gardens

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Leticia
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2010

It is actually quite disappointing. First, we were only able to go to one section of the the Kek Lok Si . The other section had a sign that said it is closed. Our Penang Hill was replaced by the Botanica Garden which I would rate it as average. The guide was more of a driver than a guide. He does not provide us with any information of the places even during the drive. He just simply drop us at the place and said this is it and we see you at xxx time. I had the impression we are having a guide not a driver??

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Hotel pick-up on time. Tour guide was very good. The temple is certainly worth a visit and enough time provided here for a good look around. We knew that Penang Hill was closed for renovations and so were aware of the Botanic Gardens substitution. Unfortunately this was a waste - run down, poorly tended. The tram ride option at an extra, though nominal, cost only serves to highlight the Garden's poor condition. Although not stated in the intenerary, we also stopped at a CoffeeTea Honey operation outlet. Really little more than a sales opportunity, product is pricey and is not going to get through Australian customs anyway. But, tastings offered were an appreciated refreshment on a hot afternoon!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Good tour but not enough time to to see Kek Lok Si or Penang Hill. Kek Lok Si needs at least twice the time, not the hour provided since only mounting to the temple takes a lot of time. Same for the Penang Hill, a good part of time on the top of this hill spent to wait for the cable car otherwise you might not find a place in it.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

Penang Hill Tour, not many good views on the peak deserving sightseeing, and the Kek Lok Si Temple isn't the biggest one in E. Asia as the tour guide said. The trams running to the other end every 30 minutes were just wasting the travellers' time.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message