Penang ATTRACTIONS See all

Snake Temple (Fu Xing Gong)

Snake Temple (Fu Xing Gong) may not be the largest Buddhist temple in Malaysia, but it’s certainly one of the strangest. True to its name, this small Chinese temple in Penang is filled with Wagler’s pit vipers and tree snakes perched on trees ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very interesting tour, made more so by the particular guide that we had. Visits to the fruit stalls and snake temple were special - but more time needed at the temple to be able to visit the small reptile park as well. We also managed a side trip to the Coffee Tree. Penang white coffee is the best. Highly recommend trying it.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were picked up from our hotel on time and taken to a meeting point were we joined the rest of the tour. We were only 2 familes on the tour travelling in a coach. This gave a very private tour feel as we saw other tours having their buses cramped. The tour was amazing, took 5 hours from start to finish, and gave an excellent tour of Penang, including the snake temple, a jewellery factory, a malaysian style village, and getting some great views on the way.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

An enjoyable tour, made even better by David, the tour guide. The snake temple suprised me, there were far less snakes than when I last visited in 1965!! It was a very pleasant morning's tour. The Batik factory was an eye opener, for the hard work involved in making the designs. It was interesting to see the Malay village, when one sees all the development with high rise accomodation on the Island now.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Barry B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The tour was very good and covered some very interesting places on Penang Island. The snake temple is a must and make sure that you get your picture taken with the snakes. Tour guide was very informative and answered all questions. Definitely a good tour to start our stay with giving you a feel for what the island has to offer.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Patsy R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Definitely worth doing at this guy takes you around the island and stops at certain spots. My Favourite was the snake temple, Had a photo taken with the huge snakes. The tour guide was asleep during the second half of the tour so he didnt talk at all

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Was very enjoyable. A good tour to do if you don't have much time. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to pay RM5 to get into the animal enclosure at the snake temple. This was not mentioned when booking the tour. Jewellery factory is interesting but very expensive to buy anything.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Interesting and knowledgeable visit along the west coast line among the local fruit orchards. Batik printing reveal some insight and snake temple was quite thrilling and intriguing.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

Interesting trip to batik factory something new. A small shop showing rubber tapping, spices & fruits, a bit disappointing. Visit to malay kampong with nobody around for you to mingle. Snake temple got to pay for entrance fee just to see the different species but nobody is there to explain so got to walk around yourself. Interesting tour to jewellery factory but everything is expensive. Didn't stop to see the penang bridge just drive pass so didn't manage to take a picture of this 3rd longest bridge in the world.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

Couple of shopping stops was a bit of a dampener. I can't fathom why Georgetown is not included in the itinerary. The guide was quite knowledgeable. Snake Temple is quite incredible.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message