Penang ATTRACTIONS See all

Snake Temple (Fu Xing Gong)

Snake Temple (Fu Xing Gong) may not be the largest Buddhist temple in Malaysia, but it’s certainly one of the strangest. True to its name, this small Chinese temple in Penang is filled with Wagler’s pit vipers and tree snakes perched on trees ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Penang Island Discovery Tour was a great way to see some wonderful sights on the outskirts on Penang. Phillip was a wonderful tour guide and went above and beyond to make the tour enjoyable and unforgettable. Really enjoyed seeing the large variety of snakes near the snake temple.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Mr Michael C S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very interesting tour, made more so by the particular guide that we had. Visits to the fruit stalls and snake temple were special - but more time needed at the temple to be able to visit the small reptile park as well. We also managed a side trip to the Coffee Tree. Penang white coffee is the best. Highly recommend trying it.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

audi2111

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were picked up from our hotel on time and taken to a meeting point were we joined the rest of the tour. We were only 2 familes on the tour travelling in a coach. This gave a very private tour feel as we saw other tours having their buses cramped. The tour was amazing, took 5 hours from start to finish, and gave an excellent tour of Penang, including the snake temple, a jewellery factory, a malaysian style village, and getting some great views on the way.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Peter John N

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

An enjoyable tour, made even better by David, the tour guide. The snake temple suprised me, there were far less snakes than when I last visited in 1965!! It was a very pleasant morning's tour. The Batik factory was an eye opener, for the hard work involved in making the designs. It was interesting to see the Malay village, when one sees all the development with high rise accomodation on the Island now.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Barry B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The tour was very good and covered some very interesting places on Penang Island. The snake temple is a must and make sure that you get your picture taken with the snakes. Tour guide was very informative and answered all questions. Definitely a good tour to start our stay with giving you a feel for what the island has to offer.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Patsy R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Definitely worth doing at this guy takes you around the island and stops at certain spots. My Favourite was the snake temple, Had a photo taken with the huge snakes. The tour guide was asleep during the second half of the tour so he didnt talk at all

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Was very enjoyable. A good tour to do if you don't have much time. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to pay RM5 to get into the animal enclosure at the snake temple. This was not mentioned when booking the tour. Jewellery factory is interesting but very expensive to buy anything.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Alexter L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Toured in the morning on Sat 16 Jan. Rated 3 stars out of 5 as I felt it was still generally worth the trip. Had an initial scare prior to the trip when I received the email reply from the travel agent who menioned that the tour price excluded entrance fees. This conflicted with the understanding I had when I made the viator booking. It was later I found out this was partially true as only the snake farm within the snake temple required a fee. However the listed fee of RM5 in the email was lesser than what I paid. Also, it doesnt make sense when I've listed the hotel name in my initial booking through viator but still needed to email the agent again to repeat the information - these instructions are not visible until after I've paid online and is reflected at the end of the e-voucher generated. The driver and guide was the same staff. Didnt catch his name. Arrived early to pick us. Generally knowledgeable although there were periods of silence during the journey, which I felt could have been more conversational. The itinerary was well planned, although I dont recall being introduced to the fruits and spices, which I thought was part of the itinerary. More importantly, we missed the sighting of the penang bridge as my partner and I had been chatting away happily during the long drive and the guide/driver probably didnt want to interrupt us. An overall memorable tour.

Doing what: Private Penang Island Tour Including Snake Temple

SK T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Interesting and knowledgeable visit along the west coast line among the local fruit orchards. Batik printing reveal some insight and snake temple was quite thrilling and intriguing.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Siew Fun N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

Interesting trip to batik factory something new. A small shop showing rubber tapping, spices & fruits, a bit disappointing. Visit to malay kampong with nobody around for you to mingle. Snake temple got to pay for entrance fee just to see the different species but nobody is there to explain so got to walk around yourself. Interesting tour to jewellery factory but everything is expensive. Didn't stop to see the penang bridge just drive pass so didn't manage to take a picture of this 3rd longest bridge in the world.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Krishnan ...  Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

Couple of shopping stops was a bit of a dampener. I can't fathom why Georgetown is not included in the itinerary. The guide was quite knowledgeable. Snake Temple is quite incredible.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message