Once known as Betel Nut Island, Penang has been a melting pot of traders and artisans since the British East India Company discovered the charms of this spice island back in 1786. A Malaysian state, Penang is on the north-west coast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day of our tour it was just my wife and I and our outstanding guide, Junne, was waiting for us upon arrival. She spoke perfect English and took us through a wide range of activities until we could not eat or walk any further. Not only was she super knowledgeable about the fact of and restaurants of Penang but she gave us terrific tips about where to go and what to do on the island.mi could not recommend the tour higher. Sorry if I misspelled our guides name, her business card is safely filed away in my suitcase to recommend to my friends and clients.

Doing what: A Taste of Penang: Small Group Food Tour

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day with a very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

karenalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend this trip. Great views of Penang when you go up Penang Hill. The temple is amazing so much to see,
My tour guide Philip was fantastic he came on time and was so knowledgeable. I even booked with him for a private tour the next day. I would highly recommend him and this tour.
A must see in Penang.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

ALESSIO F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely amazing! The guide was very good and the park is awesome! The pick up service was perfect too! Must try!

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Sharron G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Overall guide good and beautiful scenery, bit disappointed the swing bridge was out of action.

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Jacklyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Came back on Last Saturday and I had no regrets in choosing the tour package by Viator..and the tour agency whu had arranged dis tour guide for me was superb n I really liked his explanation..Very detailed.thevwhole trip was a great experience and an eye-opener for me .

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

rosemary m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

we were met by our guide and Driver Philip, he embarked on a ver fine tour, which included the reclining Budha, botanical gardens, a tip round Georgetown, showing us the murals, the Eastern Peninsula hotel, Suffolk house and little India. He the took us to the Chew jetty where we had free time and did some shopping.
As we have found Phillip spoke exceptional English was very well informed and wonderfully informative. All in all a very good tour and experience

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

andrew t

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very friendly, informative guide. Great views of Penang. Well worth doing this tour.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Cynthia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Driver both flexible and knowledgeable. A great combination!

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Rebecca J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must do. Our tour guide Philip was amazing, he was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions. Talked in depth to us about each place and then let us go off and explore. He didn't once rush us and even took us to a pewter factory and a tea, chocolate and coffee tasting tour at the end of the trip. It was fabulous but also very bad as we brought as much coffee as we could fit in our case. Philip also has lots of recommendations for things to do and places to eat, all of which we did. This trip made our time in Penang! Thank you Philip

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Penang Island Discovery Tour was a great way to see some wonderful sights on the outskirts on Penang. Phillip was a wonderful tour guide and went above and beyond to make the tour enjoyable and unforgettable. Really enjoyed seeing the large variety of snakes near the snake temple.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly enjoyed this tour. Kek lok si is a must see temple and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. Penang Hill was amazing and loved seeing so many monkeys at the top of the hill. Highly recommend Phillip as your tour guide. He was extremely friendly and funny and taught me so much about Penang in just a few hours.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip was great and the guide very knowledgeable. As a woman by myself for the afternoon I really appreciated being picked up from my hotel and I felt comfortable with my guide and it was a wonderful opportunity for me. Many thanks

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Tracy M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great to have someone show us around town and give a history of the place. Guide had excellent English and was very knowledgeable. Great way to see town in air-conditioned comfort.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

dimitrakis v

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My Guide Tan was very knowledgable about the City and could provide detailed information about all the Sites we visited

Doing what: Penang City Tour

Laura E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An incredible tour guide who was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and accommodating! Tailored the tour to what we wanted to see and do and so friendly!

Doing what: Penang City Tour

mohdy12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

it was a great adventure, the orgnizing was excellent.
My kids really enjoyed their day.

Doing what: ESCAPE Adventureplay Theme Park Entrance Ticket with One-Way Transport

preronade

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I was the only one on the tour, and Tan my guide was very good.He took me to 2 other Buddhist temples as Kek Lok Si was closed.The panoramic views from Penang Hill were awesome! Tan, later went out of his way to show me some major sights Penang and also a quick trip to the Botanical Gardens.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating tour, the guide was very good and arrived on time. The views from Penang Hill were amazing as was the ride to the top as our guide managed to get us in the first carriage. Well worth the money

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

George L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Interesting tour and the journey to Penang Hill a great experience and fantastic views from a high elevation.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Michelle H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very informative, helpful and friendly. Happy that we did this tour.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

George L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A good tour but not a lot to see that had a wow factor. Guide very good.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Lesley C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The Iranian island was worth doing but would advise English speaking tourists not to the Taiping Zoo as the guide, even after repeated efforts to get him to translate into English completely ignored the request. The Perak Museum was worth doing though.

Doing what: Private Tour: Orangutan Island, Taiping Zoo and Perak Museum from Penang

Parvinder S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The train ride was amazing. The hills had a panoramic 360 degree view of George town. The temple was located in a foothill of dirty market. Seemed not to be a tourist attraction in comparison to Thai and Burmese Buddhist temple we visited in Penang.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

chris F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Certainly worth a visit here but allow at least 11/2 hour for the zoo

Doing what: Private Tour: Orangutan Island, Taiping Zoo and Perak Museum from Penang

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message