Once known as Betel Nut Island, Penang has been a melting pot of traders and artisans since the British East India Company discovered the charms of this spice island back in 1786. A Malaysian state, Penang is on the north-west coast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheryl T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, again we had Moy for our tour guide and he is amazing , such a nice man, with a wealth of knowledge to share. We got more than our allocated time, but thouroughly enjoyed all the points of interest. The batik, factory was good and in fact we ended up doing one on our KL tour as well but thought the Penang one was much better. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Rob
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So fortunate to have had Philip as my guide, his local knowledge was terrific, very friendly and easy to speak with. Turned out I was the only customer for the morning so essentially had a private tour of Penang Island and Philip adapted the program to suit my needs. He was able to recommend some of best places for dinner and seafood restaurants in Penang. Highly recommend the tour company for its level of service.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I lived in Penang in the late 70's so it was great to be able to see some of the old sites again. However I must say the hi light of this tour was our tour director Phillip, he was outstanding.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Some confusion initially about when our tour was (we had booked for afternoon but we were reported as no-show for the morning), we had an excellent time. Our guide, Philip, was a local who was very friendly and willing to add in some extra sightseeing when we got through the temple and hill early. We could take our own time, the vehicle was spotless and ran very smoothly, and we had no concerns for our safety despite Penang traffic.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I have done thhis tour previously and had the same tour guide again - Lawrence, he is a very good tour guide, his knowledge of the sights on the way to the temple and railway are excellent and he shares lots of information with you.

Only downer this time was we didn't go to the top at Kek Lok Si, not sure if it was a time thing or that last time it was only my wife and I on the tour, so unfortunately my son still hasn't been to the top to see the godess of mercy......I would recommend this tour to people visiting Penang for sure...

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Unfortunately, we were expecting to also visit the Penang Botanical Gardens on this tour as was mentioned in the tour description ("Stroll through the beautiful Penang Botanical Gardens"). Our tour guide said it wasn't part of this tour. Viator should update their website if this is the case!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We're sending this review over to our Product Department so they can check on an updated itinerary for this tour!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

not good, car not appropriate, guide didn't talk and more

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very good trip. Great water for snorkeling. Pity there wasn't a smoking ban on the trip.

Doing what: Pulau Payar Marine Park Snorkeling Tour from Penang

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was my fav of the 6 tours that I took with this company. Our guide stayed with our group and pointed out different sites. He made sure that we were in the 1st seats of the 1st car on the trip down. It would not have been as much fun without our guide.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

An interesting tour with the obligatory tourist shop stops. Our guide was personable and informative. He showed us the flavor of the entire island and did not make us stay in the required stops.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour with a Pleasant guilde

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable trip. Helpful and informative guide

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were EXTREMELY happy with this tour! We had Moy (sorry if I butchered your name), and he was a very excellent tour guide. We paid for the group tour but there were only 2 of us. He said the rest were still sleeping (even though it was 2 pm) :). He was very informative, pointing out landmarks and buildings on the way to the Temple and Penang Hill. As we stopped at these places, he always greeted one or 2 locals, which was nice to see. You can tell his friendliness wasn't an act. Also, he was very prepared with 2 umbrellas when he saw the rain clouds come in. Luckily, it didn't rain (just a light drizzle) but still it was nice to see that he took care of his guests. At one point, he chatted up with the train conductor and we actually got to see his switchboard. Pretty neat. Definitely would do another tour with Moy again!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We are a family of three from the United States. We visited Penang in November 2013. The City Tour was awesome, the driver spoke beautiful English, his tour was very informative, even my 13 year old paid close attention -:). Overall experience is excellent.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message