• USD ($)
  • English
Once known as Betel Nut Island, Penang has been a melting pot of traders and artisans since the British East India Company discovered the charms of this spice island back in 1786. A Malaysian state, Penang is on the north-west coast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very good trip. Great water for snorkeling. Pity there wasn't a smoking ban on the trip.

Doing what: Pulau Payar Marine Park Snorkeling Tour from Penang

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was my fav of the 6 tours that I took with this company. Our guide stayed with our group and pointed out different sites. He made sure that we were in the 1st seats of the 1st car on the trip down. It would not have been as much fun without our guide.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

An interesting tour with the obligatory tourist shop stops. Our guide was personable and informative. He showed us the flavor of the entire island and did not make us stay in the required stops.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour with a Pleasant guilde

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable trip. Helpful and informative guide

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were EXTREMELY happy with this tour! We had Moy (sorry if I butchered your name), and he was a very excellent tour guide. We paid for the group tour but there were only 2 of us. He said the rest were still sleeping (even though it was 2 pm) :). He was very informative, pointing out landmarks and buildings on the way to the Temple and Penang Hill. As we stopped at these places, he always greeted one or 2 locals, which was nice to see. You can tell his friendliness wasn't an act. Also, he was very prepared with 2 umbrellas when he saw the rain clouds come in. Luckily, it didn't rain (just a light drizzle) but still it was nice to see that he took care of his guests. At one point, he chatted up with the train conductor and we actually got to see his switchboard. Pretty neat. Definitely would do another tour with Moy again!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We are a family of three from the United States. We visited Penang in November 2013. The City Tour was awesome, the driver spoke beautiful English, his tour was very informative, even my 13 year old paid close attention -:). Overall experience is excellent.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The beach is dirty but aside from that it was a great experience getting the boat over. We stopped to fish which was rather exotic with eagles soaring down nearby! The lunch was nice and the monkeys were fun.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Jackie
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Even though I had to call as we weren't picked up at alotted time all worked out well. We fished with hand lines for about an hour for going onto the beach. Monkey's are very friendly and the bbq lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our tour Guide was Fantastic, In fact it was the best tour we did while aboard Diamond Princess Cruise and you are to be highly recommended, you are A great company to deal with, it's not the first time I have made a booking through VIATOR and I was not disappointed, simply the best Thank you for making our cruise cheers Michael Hemingway

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was excellent. Pickup from hotel on time. Tour guide was fantastic (also had the same guide for the Island Discovery Tour, and previously last year). He was very knowledgeable, accommodating and humorous. View from the top of Penang Hill was spectacular.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very interesting tour, made more so by the particular guide that we had. Visits to the fruit stalls and snake temple were special - but more time needed at the temple to be able to visit the small reptile park as well. We also managed a side trip to the Coffee Tree. Penang white coffee is the best. Highly recommend trying it.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a small group of three. Phillip, our tour guide, was great. He was very knowledgeable about each place we went to. He shared his thoughts about Penang and answered questions willingly. It was very interesting and nice to be in a small group.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Fun trip up to the top of the hill! The "guide" was NOT a guide...he just drove us place to place and dropped us off on our own. Thank goodness, we ran into Phillip, from a previous day....he was so helpful.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message