Once known as Betel Nut Island, Penang has been a melting pot of traders and artisans since the British East India Company discovered the charms of this spice island back in 1786. A Malaysian state, Penang is on the north-west coast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating tour, the guide was very good and arrived on time. The views from Penang Hill were amazing as was the ride to the top as our guide managed to get us in the first carriage. Well worth the money

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Interesting tour and the journey to Penang Hill a great experience and fantastic views from a high elevation.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very informative, helpful and friendly. Happy that we did this tour.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A good tour but not a lot to see that had a wow factor. Guide very good.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The Iranian island was worth doing but would advise English speaking tourists not to the Taiping Zoo as the guide, even after repeated efforts to get him to translate into English completely ignored the request. The Perak Museum was worth doing though.

Doing what: Private Tour: Orangutan Island, Taiping Zoo and Perak Museum from Penang

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The train ride was amazing. The hills had a panoramic 360 degree view of George town. The temple was located in a foothill of dirty market. Seemed not to be a tourist attraction in comparison to Thai and Burmese Buddhist temple we visited in Penang.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Certainly worth a visit here but allow at least 11/2 hour for the zoo

Doing what: Private Tour: Orangutan Island, Taiping Zoo and Perak Museum from Penang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lovely tour with Lawrence as our guide he was great and very informative

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A very good overview of Penang Island. Lawrence the guide is very knowledgeable about the island. I was the only person on this tour due to low season.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent because our guide Francis was informative, knowledgeable, entertaining and interesting . In fact I would go as far as to say that with out him I would have only given this tour 3 stars.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If your guide is Phillip your in for a happy trip all the way round. There wasn't a question he didn't answer, and he adapted the trip really well to cater for our needs. Its the best way to start a trip to Penang. As a solo traveller its the only tour I could get ! Tour companies need a fresh proach to solo travellers. There were three of is on this trip.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing.. The driver picked us up on time and gave us a brief description of the areas around.. The park itself was a lot of fun.. The people there really professional and welcoming.. Since we took one way transport. The park shuttle bus dropped us off at the bus stop.

Doing what: ESCAPE Adventureplay Theme Park Entrance Ticket with One-Way Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful and highly knowledgeable. The tour covered much of Georgetown and everything was very interesting. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Penang City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting. Our guide spoke English extremely well and was very informative.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Despite our initial hesitation at this tour being taken by one man in his car, it turned into a really great tour. Our guide was great (unfortunately I can't remember his name). He had a great knowledge of the island and injected his sense of humor into the tour which really made it. We felt like we were on a photshoot at times as he was constantly pointing out photo opportunities and snapping away for us. High up on our list of must sees was the famous street art which we got to see on this tour. We seems to pack so much in and the tour went over the 3 hours but this was no problem for our guide. All in all a worth while tour of Georgetown.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour, we very much enjoyed fishing with the guide and his friends. It was a beautiful day and the views were breathtaking. We saw some sea eagles up close, sea otters, and then were dropped off at Monkey beach for a superb BBQ lunch, surrounded by the monkeys and a hungry monitor lizard. The food was great. We had a variety of food: prawns, satay, sausages, chops, chicken, and a simple salad, followed by fresh fruit. The weather was just right for a dip in the ocean (at the beach) too. Overall a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Guide was on time, had a good knowledge of Penang and tour was impecable

Doing what: Private Penang City Sightseeing Tour

Sheryl T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, again we had Moy for our tour guide and he is amazing , such a nice man, with a wealth of knowledge to share. We got more than our allocated time, but thouroughly enjoyed all the points of interest. The batik, factory was good and in fact we ended up doing one on our KL tour as well but thought the Penang one was much better. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Rob
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So fortunate to have had Philip as my guide, his local knowledge was terrific, very friendly and easy to speak with. Turned out I was the only customer for the morning so essentially had a private tour of Penang Island and Philip adapted the program to suit my needs. He was able to recommend some of best places for dinner and seafood restaurants in Penang. Highly recommend the tour company for its level of service.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I lived in Penang in the late 70's so it was great to be able to see some of the old sites again. However I must say the hi light of this tour was our tour director Phillip, he was outstanding.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Some confusion initially about when our tour was (we had booked for afternoon but we were reported as no-show for the morning), we had an excellent time. Our guide, Philip, was a local who was very friendly and willing to add in some extra sightseeing when we got through the temple and hill early. We could take our own time, the vehicle was spotless and ran very smoothly, and we had no concerns for our safety despite Penang traffic.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I have done thhis tour previously and had the same tour guide again - Lawrence, he is a very good tour guide, his knowledge of the sights on the way to the temple and railway are excellent and he shares lots of information with you.

Only downer this time was we didn't go to the top at Kek Lok Si, not sure if it was a time thing or that last time it was only my wife and I on the tour, so unfortunately my son still hasn't been to the top to see the godess of mercy......I would recommend this tour to people visiting Penang for sure...

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Unfortunately, we were expecting to also visit the Penang Botanical Gardens on this tour as was mentioned in the tour description ("Stroll through the beautiful Penang Botanical Gardens"). Our tour guide said it wasn't part of this tour. Viator should update their website if this is the case!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We're sending this review over to our Product Department so they can check on an updated itinerary for this tour!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

not good, car not appropriate, guide didn't talk and more

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message