• USD ($)
  • English

Perth ATTRACTIONS See all

Pinnacles Desert

The eerie limestone shapes of the Pinnacles are a popular day trip from Perth, rising out of the desert floor like something from a lunar landscape. The weather-worn pillars were formed by zillions of seashells blown here from the sea many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Azizi A
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day trip from Perth. We were picked up from our hotel and drop off back at the hotel. The trip started early with the first stop at the wildlife park. We managed to get up closed to the animals. Feeding the kangaroos was great fun as they were not afraid of human and are very friendly animals. The next stop was for lunch but it was a long drive to get there. The box lunch was chicken salads. There was no alternative for vegetarians. I wish they could provide us with cheese salads as an alternative. We had a lobster lunch which was great but you have to pay extra for that. The pinnacles was interesting and the best part of the tour was the sandboarding which I think was a must for everyone, provided you have the energy to climb up the dunes.Overall we had a fantastic day trip from Perth,highly recommended.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative, had so much fun going sandboarding in the Lancelin Sand dunes, and the Pinnacles Dessert was awesome, alot bigger than I thought, good photo opportunities. Fish and chips at Lobster Shack is delicious! Very good seafood there. Varied tour, lots of different things to do.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Overall I really enjoyed this trip and the sandboarding was absolutely fabulous - even for a nearly 50 year old!!! The Pinnacles were impressive once you were among them, but the initial view was disappointing - but that is only my opinion. The lobster factory visit was interesting and previous comments about it being horrible and cruel I do not think were necessary - how else does this food source get to our tables? The quick visit to Caversham was good. The stop at York was however extremely brief and I think the information about morning coffee in York is possibly a little exagerated!! We had 20-25 minutes which only allowed me to actually "run" to the cafe (join a queue)and then "run" to the toilet queue and that was it. It's really only a toilet stop.

The 4WD over the dunes was excellent as well.

The driver was extremely good and informative about where we were passing as well. We saw emus and kangaroos in the bush which was brilliant.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The entire day was very well organised and informative. The Pinnacles was well worth the trip.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Had very little time to spend at Caversham wildlife park. Just managed to cover the 3 main marsupials namely the koala, kangaroo and the wombat before we were whisked off again in the bus. But the pinnacles desert was a wonder of its own class. Seeing the limestone jutting out of the desert sands was amazing. And sand boarding was extremely fun too. It was a perfect Aussie experience I would never forget.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, however, the information on the website differed to the itinerary on the day. We were so close to Cervantes it seemed a shame not to drive there for a look even if the lobster lunch wasn't available! New Norcia was a revelation, the Pinnacles were great and the Visitors Centre there was impressive. In particular, the bus driver was very informative.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

BELINA W
French Polynesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

It was a nice and good trip. Pinnacles desert has to be seen. We also liked to touch the koalas and the kangaroos. They are so cute.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Helen B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Really enjoyed this trip. The stops are well planned out so you're not spending too much time on a coach. There's the animal park in the morning you get the opportunity to stroke koalas, kangaroos and wombats - not to be missed, then a stop for lunch, then onto the Pinnacles for great photos and later in the afternoon, onto sand-boarding and the 4WD! A very enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Michael E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Meet and greet at International Airport plus return to domestic airport was excellent. Our flight into Perth was early but that was not a problem, representative was there waiting for us. The full-day tours all included an excellent buffet picnic lunch and some even included morning and afternoon tea with with cake and biscuits. Perth and Freemantle tour was excellent and we were given the option to cruise back to Perth, which we took and was well worth doing. Wave Rock full day tour was fantastic as was Margaret River, Eagles Cave, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse. Likewise the Pinnacles and New Norcia tour was great.

Advise that fellow customers of Viator do print off enough copies of the voucher to cover number of tours booked. as we were asked for a voucher for each tour. We printed off enough copies to cover the number of tours. Perth Sightseeing pass is excellent value for money and would highly recommend it. Excellent service.

Doing what: Perth Sightseeing Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is quite a long day with an early start. The Pinnacles are spectacular and well worth the drive. Our driver john was very knowledgeable and personable and passionate about the geological formations. New Norcia was brilliant but we really needed to spend more time there to properly see the museum. The local guide provided valuable insight to the town's background and ongoing changes today.
Lunch was fine but the wild flower part of the trip lacked real content, as the flowers have passed blooming and so the farm served as a lunch stop and a visit to the gift shop. Given that it took additional time to get there, this wasn't best use of time. The stop at Cervantes to see the ocean brought some welcome relief from the coach.
There are times on the trip when the journey can get to you as you pass miles of scrubland and wheat fields, which are very much the same - but it is worth it to see New Norcia and the desert.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Our informative and friendly bus driver-cum-tour guide Ian's commentary and service made the difference in our experience. New Norcia sounds more interesting than it was, while the wildflowers component was somewhat underwhelming. The Pinnacles were awesome, and I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Fascinating trip, could have spent longer at New Norcia but because of distance to be travelled in day we had to cut short. Packed lunch was really good and Pinnacles were wonderful to see.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

This was great fun. The driver was interesting and informative. The Pinnacles are amazing, the animals part is so-so, but the sand boarding was fun and I really enjoyed the scenery on this tour. The food was good and there was plenty of it. Might be nice to give people a taste of the lobster on the lunch stop as to buy 1/2 a lobster is too much food

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Great tour, would totally recommend it. It does get VERY hot in the Pinnacles Desert in the summer so bring water! Bit on the pricey side but for the distance you travel and the length of the tour it's not so expensive to deter from the whole experience!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

The Abbey at New Norcia was really the highlight of the tour! It would have been great to have had more time there. The Pinnacles are also really impressive but make sure to properly hydrate, it is really hot and sandy out there!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message