Perth ATTRACTIONS See all

Pinnacles Desert

The eerie limestone shapes of the Pinnacles are a popular day trip from Perth, rising out of the desert floor like something from a lunar landscape. The weather-worn pillars were formed by zillions of seashells blown here from the sea many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

AS
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thanks Keith for showing us around and his professionalism in checking if it is safe to go for sand-boarding using the 4WD is greatly appreciated. I love Pinnacles and Caversham Park, too bad that the tour for Caversham Park was too short, will definitely visit Caversham Park again to feed my white kangaroos!

All the best to Mr Keith!

Cheers~

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

AS
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thanks Keith for showing us around and his professionalism in checking if it is safe to go for sand-boarding using the 4WD is greatly appreciated. I love Pinnacles and Caversham Park, too bad that the tour for Caversham Park was too short, will definitely visit Caversham Park again to feed my white kangaroos!

All the best to Mr Keith!

Cheers~

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter and I had a good time , having chose this tour ie Pinnacles Desert , Koalas and Sandboarding..
I enjoyed most was the Lobster factory having an upgraded lunch and as for my daughter she enjoyed most was the Caversham Wildlife despite having just 45 mins ( I suggest you have it at least an hour )
And last but not least was the Sandboarding which we really enjoyed with most of the people together with us.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a blast. The bus trip was a bit long but the pinnacles were well worth it. The sandboarding was great fun and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Azizi A
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day trip from Perth. We were picked up from our hotel and drop off back at the hotel. The trip started early with the first stop at the wildlife park. We managed to get up closed to the animals. Feeding the kangaroos was great fun as they were not afraid of human and are very friendly animals. The next stop was for lunch but it was a long drive to get there. The box lunch was chicken salads. There was no alternative for vegetarians. I wish they could provide us with cheese salads as an alternative. We had a lobster lunch which was great but you have to pay extra for that. The pinnacles was interesting and the best part of the tour was the sandboarding which I think was a must for everyone, provided you have the energy to climb up the dunes.Overall we had a fantastic day trip from Perth,highly recommended.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative, had so much fun going sandboarding in the Lancelin Sand dunes, and the Pinnacles Dessert was awesome, alot bigger than I thought, good photo opportunities. Fish and chips at Lobster Shack is delicious! Very good seafood there. Varied tour, lots of different things to do.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Overall I really enjoyed this trip and the sandboarding was absolutely fabulous - even for a nearly 50 year old!!! The Pinnacles were impressive once you were among them, but the initial view was disappointing - but that is only my opinion. The lobster factory visit was interesting and previous comments about it being horrible and cruel I do not think were necessary - how else does this food source get to our tables? The quick visit to Caversham was good. The stop at York was however extremely brief and I think the information about morning coffee in York is possibly a little exagerated!! We had 20-25 minutes which only allowed me to actually "run" to the cafe (join a queue)and then "run" to the toilet queue and that was it. It's really only a toilet stop.

The 4WD over the dunes was excellent as well.

The driver was extremely good and informative about where we were passing as well. We saw emus and kangaroos in the bush which was brilliant.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The entire day was very well organised and informative. The Pinnacles was well worth the trip.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Had very little time to spend at Caversham wildlife park. Just managed to cover the 3 main marsupials namely the koala, kangaroo and the wombat before we were whisked off again in the bus. But the pinnacles desert was a wonder of its own class. Seeing the limestone jutting out of the desert sands was amazing. And sand boarding was extremely fun too. It was a perfect Aussie experience I would never forget.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, however, the information on the website differed to the itinerary on the day. We were so close to Cervantes it seemed a shame not to drive there for a look even if the lobster lunch wasn't available! New Norcia was a revelation, the Pinnacles were great and the Visitors Centre there was impressive. In particular, the bus driver was very informative.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

BELINA W
French Polynesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

It was a nice and good trip. Pinnacles desert has to be seen. We also liked to touch the koalas and the kangaroos. They are so cute.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Helen B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Really enjoyed this trip. The stops are well planned out so you're not spending too much time on a coach. There's the animal park in the morning you get the opportunity to stroke koalas, kangaroos and wombats - not to be missed, then a stop for lunch, then onto the Pinnacles for great photos and later in the afternoon, onto sand-boarding and the 4WD! A very enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Michael E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Meet and greet at International Airport plus return to domestic airport was excellent. Our flight into Perth was early but that was not a problem, representative was there waiting for us. The full-day tours all included an excellent buffet picnic lunch and some even included morning and afternoon tea with with cake and biscuits. Perth and Freemantle tour was excellent and we were given the option to cruise back to Perth, which we took and was well worth doing. Wave Rock full day tour was fantastic as was Margaret River, Eagles Cave, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse. Likewise the Pinnacles and New Norcia tour was great.

Advise that fellow customers of Viator do print off enough copies of the voucher to cover number of tours booked. as we were asked for a voucher for each tour. We printed off enough copies to cover the number of tours. Perth Sightseeing pass is excellent value for money and would highly recommend it. Excellent service.

Doing what: Perth Sightseeing Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a very nice day, starting form Perth, heading out to the Caversham Wildlife Park, the Lobster Factory, The Pinnacles and Lancelin sanddunes. It's a long day but its fun. The weather in Perth was terrible when I did this, so our whole day was made gloomy with rain and wind, but we made the most of it and still had an enjoyable time. The Pinnacles are really cool, as was the sandboarding, the only thing bringing it down was the weather.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Love the stops at Caversham and lobster shack, although the tour in the lobster factory could do a better. My family's talking about going back to Caversham when we next visit!! Love the pinnacles and the sand dunes. Kids had loads of fun!!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message