Perth ATTRACTIONS See all

Pinnacles Desert

The eerie limestone shapes of the Pinnacles are a popular day trip from Perth, rising out of the desert floor like something from a lunar landscape. The weather-worn pillars were formed by zillions of seashells blown here from the sea many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jill T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A full day with a brief stop at Caversham Wildlife Park followed by a visit to the Lobster Shack for lunch.
The Pinnacles were amazing and plenty of time allowed to wander around and go to the visitors centre.
It was fun driving over the sand dunes and trying sandboarding. A very long day but worth it.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Bernard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very full and long day's excursion with so many fantastic experiences. We stroked koalas and handfed kangaroos, whilst at the same time getting some great background from one of the wildlife parks guides.
Then a drive to the coast to visit the lobster shack for lunch, then on to the really unusual Pinnacles desert. It actually feels eerie but has some incredible photo opportunities. Finally on to the sand dunes, our driver let some air out of the adapted coaches tyres then we were driven up and down the dunes before trying our hand at sandboarding.
Jack, our driver, gave us an informative friendly commentary and made sure we had sufficient time at each venue. A really great day worth every penny.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour! Good arrangement with a very nice driver and guide the same person. Each spots were attractive and worth seeing. I love visiting Caversham Widelife Park and we could closely to see and touch with Koala and Kangaroos. Really enjoyable! Besides, sand boarding and surfing was also another attractive spot to stay. We enjoy very much! Pinnacles Desert of course was a highlight in the tour. I arrived hotel at around 7:30 in the evening and I have enough time to enjoy my dinner at my favor restaurant. It's a valuable tour!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent day, starting off by visiting Caversham Wildlife Park to see Kangaroos and Koalas. Pinnacles very interesting along with the four wheel drive and sand boarding. Very enjoyable but long day.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

j_steeleuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A great day out. Our guide/driver, Paul, entertained us all day with commentary about the early settlers and local fauna and flora. New Norcia is interesting. No wildflowers but lunch at the wildflower centre was delicious. The Pinnacles are amazing. The drive was comfortable with interesting scenery all the way. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

Anne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A really varied and interesting day out. The Pinnacles are unique in the world. The lobster processing plant was also really fascinating and seafood lovers should definitely opt for the lobster lunch upgrade. In fact, the whole day was outstanding.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Hasnah A Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful trip, feeding the kangaroos, good lobster lunch and sandboarding activity. I enjoyed the half hour at Caversham spending time with the kangaroos and koalas. The sandboarding experience at Lancelin was amazing. The lobster lunch at the Cervantes, the lobster fishing town, was lovely. And the breathtaking view of Pinnacles was superb. On the whole, this trip was great fun and highly recommended to all who visits Perth, Western Australia.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

AS Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thanks Keith for showing us around and his professionalism in checking if it is safe to go for sand-boarding using the 4WD is greatly appreciated. I love Pinnacles and Caversham Park, too bad that the tour for Caversham Park was too short, will definitely visit Caversham Park again to feed my white kangaroos!

All the best to Mr Keith!

Cheers~

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Fauziah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter and I had a good time , having chose this tour ie Pinnacles Desert , Koalas and Sandboarding..
I enjoyed most was the Lobster factory having an upgraded lunch and as for my daughter she enjoyed most was the Caversham Wildlife despite having just 45 mins ( I suggest you have it at least an hour )
And last but not least was the Sandboarding which we really enjoyed with most of the people together with us.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a blast. The bus trip was a bit long but the pinnacles were well worth it. The sandboarding was great fun and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Azizi A Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day trip from Perth. We were picked up from our hotel and drop off back at the hotel. The trip started early with the first stop at the wildlife park. We managed to get up closed to the animals. Feeding the kangaroos was great fun as they were not afraid of human and are very friendly animals. The next stop was for lunch but it was a long drive to get there. The box lunch was chicken salads. There was no alternative for vegetarians. I wish they could provide us with cheese salads as an alternative. We had a lobster lunch which was great but you have to pay extra for that. The pinnacles was interesting and the best part of the tour was the sandboarding which I think was a must for everyone, provided you have the energy to climb up the dunes.Overall we had a fantastic day trip from Perth,highly recommended.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Corinne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative, had so much fun going sandboarding in the Lancelin Sand dunes, and the Pinnacles Dessert was awesome, alot bigger than I thought, good photo opportunities. Fish and chips at Lobster Shack is delicious! Very good seafood there. Varied tour, lots of different things to do.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

jukejam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Overall I really enjoyed this trip and the sandboarding was absolutely fabulous - even for a nearly 50 year old!!! The Pinnacles were impressive once you were among them, but the initial view was disappointing - but that is only my opinion. The lobster factory visit was interesting and previous comments about it being horrible and cruel I do not think were necessary - how else does this food source get to our tables? The quick visit to Caversham was good. The stop at York was however extremely brief and I think the information about morning coffee in York is possibly a little exagerated!! We had 20-25 minutes which only allowed me to actually "run" to the cafe (join a queue)and then "run" to the toilet queue and that was it. It's really only a toilet stop.

The 4WD over the dunes was excellent as well.

The driver was extremely good and informative about where we were passing as well. We saw emus and kangaroos in the bush which was brilliant.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The entire day was very well organised and informative. The Pinnacles was well worth the trip.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

dreyvii

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Had very little time to spend at Caversham wildlife park. Just managed to cover the 3 main marsupials namely the koala, kangaroo and the wombat before we were whisked off again in the bus. But the pinnacles desert was a wonder of its own class. Seeing the limestone jutting out of the desert sands was amazing. And sand boarding was extremely fun too. It was a perfect Aussie experience I would never forget.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, however, the information on the website differed to the itinerary on the day. We were so close to Cervantes it seemed a shame not to drive there for a look even if the lobster lunch wasn't available! New Norcia was a revelation, the Pinnacles were great and the Visitors Centre there was impressive. In particular, the bus driver was very informative.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

BELINA W French Polynesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

It was a nice and good trip. Pinnacles desert has to be seen. We also liked to touch the koalas and the kangaroos. They are so cute.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Helen B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Really enjoyed this trip. The stops are well planned out so you're not spending too much time on a coach. There's the animal park in the morning you get the opportunity to stroke koalas, kangaroos and wombats - not to be missed, then a stop for lunch, then onto the Pinnacles for great photos and later in the afternoon, onto sand-boarding and the 4WD! A very enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Michael E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Meet and greet at International Airport plus return to domestic airport was excellent. Our flight into Perth was early but that was not a problem, representative was there waiting for us. The full-day tours all included an excellent buffet picnic lunch and some even included morning and afternoon tea with with cake and biscuits. Perth and Freemantle tour was excellent and we were given the option to cruise back to Perth, which we took and was well worth doing. Wave Rock full day tour was fantastic as was Margaret River, Eagles Cave, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse. Likewise the Pinnacles and New Norcia tour was great.

Advise that fellow customers of Viator do print off enough copies of the voucher to cover number of tours booked. as we were asked for a voucher for each tour. We printed off enough copies to cover the number of tours. Perth Sightseeing pass is excellent value for money and would highly recommend it. Excellent service.

Doing what: Perth Sightseeing Pass

suramani

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It is a long day but the Pinnacles desert and the park are worth a visit. The driver / guide was great. But the time spent at the lobster shack is not certainly in the spirit of seeing the beautiful outdoors of Western Australia. The company should probably offer extended time outdoors rather than a lobster lunch.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

mon15mon05

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Airport transfer to/fro: Timely and friendly and helpful driver
Hotel: Ibis Perth, centrally located in the city. Good location.
Day Tour: 4WD Pinnacles, Koalas and Sandboarding - well coordinated and tour guide/driver is knowledgeable and experienced. Truly enjoyed the sandboarding experiences!
Recommended!

Doing what: Perth Sightseeing Pass

K D T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Adams Pinnacles coach tours pass 2 was definitely well worth cost. Transport to and from airport and day tour to Margaret River and half day Perth Fremantle excellent. Drivers and staff at Adams superb.

Doing what: Perth Sightseeing Pass

Giulietta S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very interesting. The driver Peter was very good and he gave us very good explanations. However too much rush or too much time for nothing. At the Caversham Wildlife park we spend only 35 minutes and 10 minutes just to allow people to get a photo with a Wombat. I would have prefer to see other animals like dingo, instead.
The stop at Caversham was useless. A part the lunch there, WE HAD ONLY THE VIDEO PRESENTATION, 10 minutes video and we did not see any onlive process. The beach is not very nice, so a long stop did not make too much sense
The Pinnacles Desert was fantastic as well as the adventure of 4WD-ing over large white sand dunes.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Charlotte S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a really enjoyable day with lots packed in. The visit to the wildlife park was very rushed - we could have done with 20 minutes or so to have a wander around after seeing the 3 native animals up close. Time was of the essence though with so much to get around! The Pinnacles were great, as were the sand dunes and sand boarding. I had a lovely day and got some great photos.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

George H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour. Lunch somewhat basic, we weren't given the option of the upgrade to the crayfish lunch.
Zoo good but rushed. Pinnacles lovely, sand boarding great fun.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message