Perth ATTRACTIONS See all

Pinnacles Desert

The eerie limestone shapes of the Pinnacles are a popular day trip from Perth, rising out of the desert floor like something from a lunar landscape. The weather-worn pillars were formed by zillions of seashells blown here from the sea many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A really varied and interesting day out. The Pinnacles are unique in the world. The lobster processing plant was also really fascinating and seafood lovers should definitely opt for the lobster lunch upgrade. In fact, the whole day was outstanding.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Hasnah A
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful trip, feeding the kangaroos, good lobster lunch and sandboarding activity. I enjoyed the half hour at Caversham spending time with the kangaroos and koalas. The sandboarding experience at Lancelin was amazing. The lobster lunch at the Cervantes, the lobster fishing town, was lovely. And the breathtaking view of Pinnacles was superb. On the whole, this trip was great fun and highly recommended to all who visits Perth, Western Australia.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

AS
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thanks Keith for showing us around and his professionalism in checking if it is safe to go for sand-boarding using the 4WD is greatly appreciated. I love Pinnacles and Caversham Park, too bad that the tour for Caversham Park was too short, will definitely visit Caversham Park again to feed my white kangaroos!

All the best to Mr Keith!

Cheers~

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter and I had a good time , having chose this tour ie Pinnacles Desert , Koalas and Sandboarding..
I enjoyed most was the Lobster factory having an upgraded lunch and as for my daughter she enjoyed most was the Caversham Wildlife despite having just 45 mins ( I suggest you have it at least an hour )
And last but not least was the Sandboarding which we really enjoyed with most of the people together with us.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a blast. The bus trip was a bit long but the pinnacles were well worth it. The sandboarding was great fun and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Azizi A
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day trip from Perth. We were picked up from our hotel and drop off back at the hotel. The trip started early with the first stop at the wildlife park. We managed to get up closed to the animals. Feeding the kangaroos was great fun as they were not afraid of human and are very friendly animals. The next stop was for lunch but it was a long drive to get there. The box lunch was chicken salads. There was no alternative for vegetarians. I wish they could provide us with cheese salads as an alternative. We had a lobster lunch which was great but you have to pay extra for that. The pinnacles was interesting and the best part of the tour was the sandboarding which I think was a must for everyone, provided you have the energy to climb up the dunes.Overall we had a fantastic day trip from Perth,highly recommended.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative, had so much fun going sandboarding in the Lancelin Sand dunes, and the Pinnacles Dessert was awesome, alot bigger than I thought, good photo opportunities. Fish and chips at Lobster Shack is delicious! Very good seafood there. Varied tour, lots of different things to do.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Overall I really enjoyed this trip and the sandboarding was absolutely fabulous - even for a nearly 50 year old!!! The Pinnacles were impressive once you were among them, but the initial view was disappointing - but that is only my opinion. The lobster factory visit was interesting and previous comments about it being horrible and cruel I do not think were necessary - how else does this food source get to our tables? The quick visit to Caversham was good. The stop at York was however extremely brief and I think the information about morning coffee in York is possibly a little exagerated!! We had 20-25 minutes which only allowed me to actually "run" to the cafe (join a queue)and then "run" to the toilet queue and that was it. It's really only a toilet stop.

The 4WD over the dunes was excellent as well.

The driver was extremely good and informative about where we were passing as well. We saw emus and kangaroos in the bush which was brilliant.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The entire day was very well organised and informative. The Pinnacles was well worth the trip.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Had very little time to spend at Caversham wildlife park. Just managed to cover the 3 main marsupials namely the koala, kangaroo and the wombat before we were whisked off again in the bus. But the pinnacles desert was a wonder of its own class. Seeing the limestone jutting out of the desert sands was amazing. And sand boarding was extremely fun too. It was a perfect Aussie experience I would never forget.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, however, the information on the website differed to the itinerary on the day. We were so close to Cervantes it seemed a shame not to drive there for a look even if the lobster lunch wasn't available! New Norcia was a revelation, the Pinnacles were great and the Visitors Centre there was impressive. In particular, the bus driver was very informative.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

BELINA W
French Polynesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

It was a nice and good trip. Pinnacles desert has to be seen. We also liked to touch the koalas and the kangaroos. They are so cute.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Helen B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Really enjoyed this trip. The stops are well planned out so you're not spending too much time on a coach. There's the animal park in the morning you get the opportunity to stroke koalas, kangaroos and wombats - not to be missed, then a stop for lunch, then onto the Pinnacles for great photos and later in the afternoon, onto sand-boarding and the 4WD! A very enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Michael E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Meet and greet at International Airport plus return to domestic airport was excellent. Our flight into Perth was early but that was not a problem, representative was there waiting for us. The full-day tours all included an excellent buffet picnic lunch and some even included morning and afternoon tea with with cake and biscuits. Perth and Freemantle tour was excellent and we were given the option to cruise back to Perth, which we took and was well worth doing. Wave Rock full day tour was fantastic as was Margaret River, Eagles Cave, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse. Likewise the Pinnacles and New Norcia tour was great.

Advise that fellow customers of Viator do print off enough copies of the voucher to cover number of tours booked. as we were asked for a voucher for each tour. We printed off enough copies to cover the number of tours. Perth Sightseeing pass is excellent value for money and would highly recommend it. Excellent service.

Doing what: Perth Sightseeing Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour. Lunch somewhat basic, we weren't given the option of the upgrade to the crayfish lunch.
Zoo good but rushed. Pinnacles lovely, sand boarding great fun.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour packs a lot of different experiences into one day -- Caversham Wild Animal Park, the lobster processing plant, the pinnacles and sandboarding/4WD.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

russ
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A very good day out and interesting. Necessitated long distance travel but that is not the tour's fault! The highlights are miles apart.
Very good tour with ranger of the kangaroo and koala sanctuary. Feeding the kangaroo was fun for all ages; getting as close to koalas on this trip was better than anywhere else in Australia I have tried.
The rock lobster plant: interesting and the lobster tasted good. A bit unprepared for the ethics.
The Pinnacles was worth a look and possibly even a short walk although the sun beating down means you need to sun-screen well and use a hat.
The sand boarding was fun. Safe enough. It is a trek back to the top again but it is worth it.
Footwear: sensible shoes rather than sandals. Take sunscreen and a hat.
Our driver was just that: a driver. There was so much going by (scenery and interesting things) that he could have commented on but he didn't.
Overall - worthwhile doing because of the sanctuary and you see a selection of sights.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized. Our first stop at Caversham Wildlife park was quite short, but this was due to the long ride we had to make to Cervantes. The upgraded lobster lunch was delicious and worth it. Pinnacles desert was really amazing and the last stop at Lancelin for the sandboarding adventure was really fun! Only minor thing was that the mic on the bus was hissing whenever the busdriver would not turn this off. So we had to constantly remind him to turn this off. Other than this I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really nice tour!
Adapted for the needs of tourists (=good and bad): everywhere just enough time to take some nice photos. Would be even better if you could spend some more time at some locations.
The visit to the wildlife park was really nice: we could see kangaroos, a wombat and koalas from really close, touch them and make some nice photos. The people there were really friendly.
I really loved the pinnacles!! (although a bit more time there would be better)
Sandboarding was really nice.
The lobster lunch was a bit disappointing. Maybe because we first visited the lobster factory and so I didn't feel like eating lobster anymore. It was really hard to eat them with a plastic for from a basket. The taste was not as good as expected. To be honest, the salad lunch of the others looked better.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a very nice day, starting form Perth, heading out to the Caversham Wildlife Park, the Lobster Factory, The Pinnacles and Lancelin sanddunes. It's a long day but its fun. The weather in Perth was terrible when I did this, so our whole day was made gloomy with rain and wind, but we made the most of it and still had an enjoyable time. The Pinnacles are really cool, as was the sandboarding, the only thing bringing it down was the weather.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Love the stops at Caversham and lobster shack, although the tour in the lobster factory could do a better. My family's talking about going back to Caversham when we next visit!! Love the pinnacles and the sand dunes. Kids had loads of fun!!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We took this tour on a Public Holiday - Good Friday. Started off on-time. Tour guide cum driver (a big man - can't recall his name) is pleasant and drove well throughout the day. While driving, he updated us on the attractions and histories along the way. 1st stop - Caversham Wildlife. Unless you're on your own or have the whole day, do spend more time walking around and see the animals. 2nd stop - Lobster Shed. Lunch. Had an educational tour around. 3rd stop - Pinnacles. Closer look and feel of the desert 'tombstones'. 4th stop - sandboarding at sand dunes! Fantanstic experience! Overall trip was worth the $$$! Would definitely recommend to others! - Ayu and Yati (Singapore)

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is quite a long day with an early start. The Pinnacles are spectacular and well worth the drive. Our driver john was very knowledgeable and personable and passionate about the geological formations. New Norcia was brilliant but we really needed to spend more time there to properly see the museum. The local guide provided valuable insight to the town's background and ongoing changes today.
Lunch was fine but the wild flower part of the trip lacked real content, as the flowers have passed blooming and so the farm served as a lunch stop and a visit to the gift shop. Given that it took additional time to get there, this wasn't best use of time. The stop at Cervantes to see the ocean brought some welcome relief from the coach.
There are times on the trip when the journey can get to you as you pass miles of scrubland and wheat fields, which are very much the same - but it is worth it to see New Norcia and the desert.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Our informative and friendly bus driver-cum-tour guide Ian's commentary and service made the difference in our experience. New Norcia sounds more interesting than it was, while the wildflowers component was somewhat underwhelming. The Pinnacles were awesome, and I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Fascinating trip, could have spent longer at New Norcia but because of distance to be travelled in day we had to cut short. Packed lunch was really good and Pinnacles were wonderful to see.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, New Norcia and Wildflowers Day Tour from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message