If it’s the weekend, it’s time to get down to Rottnest Island, Perth locals’ number-one island getaway. Perfect for family holidays or a relaxing break right on Perth’s doorstep, ‘Rotto’ is ringed by perfect beaches for swimming, fishing, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely must do , we saw dolphins within minutes of leaving the berth .. An abundance of New Zealand Fur Seals, stringray, osprey and their nesting , Austrlian Sean lions ....the crew were fantastic friendly informative ..
It was a perfect day to share Austrailia Day Thank you Rottnest Express :

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle including Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip and we loved Rottnest Island. We had to book from Perth rather than from Fremantle as I was in a wheelchair which they could only get on the boat in Perth. If you are fit I would recommend booking from fremantle as it was rather a long boat trip. However if you've never down the boat trip from Perth to Fremantle it is a good trip, just a little long when you're off to Rottnest as well. The coach tour on the Island was very good and interested and we managed to see some quokkas. All in all a very good trip.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

As a family of 5 we rate this trip very highly, from the boat cruise along the Swan River and out to Rottnest.

The Adventure Boat Ride around Rottnest was a wild ride, but a highlight for our children. The commentary and Skipper were excellent in safety, commentary and comfort of passengers. It was such a great day.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle including Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had an awesome day started with our ferry ride down the swan river saw some absolutely amazing wealth with the size and position of some of the houses then onto Fremantle which is a amazing port .then of to Rottnest lunch bike riding and snorkeling all in our pre played tour thank you so much David

Doing what: Rottnest Island Bike and Snorkel Tour from Perth or Fremantle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Organisation perfect, coach tour very informative, meal arrangements good, and we enjoyed our necessarily brief visit to Rottnest

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great, fast service. The ferry is very clean and nicely decorated. Will use again as we loved the destination of Rottnest Island.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Round-Trip Ferry from Perth or Fremantle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent trip, it was helped by the good weather and the wonderful sights while snorkelling off the basin bay. The rib boat tour for the wildlife was very good and we saw seals, seal lions, dolphins and various birds. Lunch was nothing special and probably not worth the extra as Rottnest has many eating places anyway. Quokkas are fab

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle including Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A fantastic day out and tour! I loved the island and wish I could stay longer. The cycling was great, however we didn’t really take advantage of the snorkelling gear.

We were a group three girls in our late 20’s / early 30’s with average fitness levels (maybe slightly lower)

The weather conditions were perfect for cycling. We started off the day with cycling the coast to Cape of York and stopping for a break before heading back using the Defence road, then Digby Drive passing through the lakes.

We had lunch at the Rottnest Lodge. We had a pleasant surprise to find that lunch was included in the tour price as we didn’t realise this before boarding the boat. Brilliant added bonus.
Lunch was very nice. It was a small buffet that was fairly busy which meant that the food was constantly fresh.
The staff were excellent. One waiter bought beef to our table so we didn’t have to wait for it and a waitress took us to an area in the lodge were it was guaranteed to find quokkas as we hadn’t seen them yet.

In the afternoon we cycled to Parker point. This seemed a bit more strenuous which could be because it seemed a little hillier or because we had heaps to eat at lunch.
On the way back we stopped for a quick drink at Hotel Rottnest, which had an awesome outside area that overlooks the water.

The process of collecting and returning the bikes and snorkelling gear was too easy.
Most of the bikes seemed rusty, which isn’t really a surprise considering the amount they get sprayed with salt water of the ferry. My bike made a slight squeaking noise as I cycled, but wasn’t too bad. A lot of the bikes didn’t locked, but by the end of the day no one was locking them anyway.

I loved Rottnest and I would like to stay longer on the island. Definitely worth a visit!
I thought that this tour was a very well organised way to get there.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Bike and Snorkel Tour from Perth or Fremantle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very good trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. I picked up the ferry from Perth City - do be warned its a long trip to Rottnest from there, we were on the boat at 8.30 and it was gone 11 by the time we got to Rottnest, so do be prepared to spend a long time travelling if you pick the boat up from the city. The alternative is to get the boat at Fremantle. Lovely cycle round the island, although my 70 year old mother found the hills hard! The beaches were beautiful and the quokkas were seriously cute. A really good day out.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Bike and Snorkel Tour from Perth or Fremantle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent cruise to and from Rottnest Island. The Wildlife Cruise at Rottnest was both exciting and great fun - the Skipper was exceptional. This was the highlight of the day. The lunch at the Lodge was terrible. Poor quality food and not properly cook. It was a disgraceful lunch and everyone who took this option on the day complained. The whole trip was very good value but the lunch partially ruined what was a very good day adventure.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle including Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Rottnest Island is amazing! Due to high tides, we bused from central Perth to Freemantle where we boarded the express boat. The boat ride was uneventful and comfortable. Bicycles were ready on the pier and I quickly embarked on a lovely tour of the island. I believe it's about 18km around and is generally fairly flat. I made a point of stopping at every lookout and point of interest. The day was beautiful, the water was crystal clear and every beach was amazing. The entire ride took approximately3 hours at a very leisurely pace.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Bike and Snorkel Tour from Perth or Fremantle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

a MOST WONDERFUL adventure :)......
even if we got heaps more spray on us in the open top deck during the trip back to Perth, than we did on that exhilarating bucket-list trip circumnavigating Rottnest :)

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle including Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a fabulous trip, the adventure cruise was better than we were expecting, the boat ride alone was exciting (like a roller coaster is how the guide described it) and we saw seals, eagles and sea lions amazing!! would highly recommend a trip to Rottnest.

Doing what: Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle including Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Very enjoyable day at Rottnest Island. Ferry from Perth to the island was comfortable and informative- with lots of historical facts and trivia and bike / snorkel rental process was very easy. Island itself has stunning scenery and the beaches are top notch. If riding a bike make sure you take plenty of water with you. Definately one of those experiences that is a "must do" whilst visiting Perth!

Doing what: Rottnest Island Bike and Snorkel Tour from Perth or Fremantle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message