Swan River carves its way through the middle of the city of Perth before joining with the sea. Fed by the Avon, Canning and Helena Rivers, the Swan River itself is only around 60km long. Over 130 species of fish inhabit the Swan River, including ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We have done 2 previous Swan River trips and this was by far the best. The general organisation, friendliness of the crew and facilities were all excellent. The lunch was superb and the wine tasting was done in a very professional manner. Would go again once we have recovered from the unlimited wine on the way back.

Doing what: Swan Valley Wine Cruise from Perth

Denis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

this was a great tour , we took the 48 hour one and had the free swan river cruise as well

Doing what: Perth Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Phill C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was a perfect way to see the sites of the Swan River and a summary of the Perth area.

Doing what: Swan River Scenic Cruise

Denis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

this was a great value, because we did the 48 hour tour, we got the extra cruise down the swan river and tram in freemantle, the only problem was no one told us about the chillie festival, and some routes were closed so missed some sights. lots to see in Perth and Freemantle.

Doing what: Perth Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great afternoon on the Swan River. Excellent value for money - brilliant crew, good food and wine, and an added bonus of entertainment on the way home. Would recommend to all visitors to Perth.

Doing what: Upper Swan Lunch Cruise

Sally L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful afternoon with a delicious lunch and beautiful cruise up the Swan River. We saw a dolphin jumping in the water. Kimberley, one of the staff, entertained us with songs for the last part of the trip. She has a beautiful voice and the afternoon was a perfect way to end our stay in Perth.

Doing what: Upper Swan Lunch Cruise

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very pleasant trip down the swan river, captan and her staff were friendly, would recommend this to any of my family and friends to join

Doing what: Swan River Scenic Cruise

jay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour. Our driver was extremely informative and new all the areas and history really well. Only downer was that we only drove past Cottlesloe Beach, would have loved to stop for at least 15 minutes to get some photos and breath in the salt air. Took the Swan River Cruise back which was relaxing.

Doing what: Perth and Fremantle Tour with Optional Swan River Cruise

Glenn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Booking process easy, tour guides were great. We did the Swan River cruise option and in all was a great way to see the Perth and Fremantle sights.

Doing what: Perth and Fremantle Tour with Optional Swan River Cruise

Craig A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great scenery awaits you of Perth and the Swan River on your way to the Sandalford Winery. After coffee/tea and a muffin your wine tasting begins and continues until your arrival at the winery for a tour of the winery followed by a sampling of their wines and a delicious lunch. Amazing tour!

Doing what: Swan Valley Wine Cruise from Perth

Leo and Chrissy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a fantastic day on this tour. Very comprehensive tour of Perth and plenty of time left to wander around Fremantle for the afternoon. We went to the Maritime Museum and toured through an ex Aus Navy submarine, fantastic!! we opted for the last return to Perth on the Swan River - beautiful.

Doing what: Perth and Fremantle Tour with Optional Swan River Cruise

caroleann Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful scenic cruise. Well worth the money. Commentary from Captain was excellent. We took UK visitors and they loved every minute of our fabulous Swan River. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Swan River Scenic Cruise

Mary-Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great day out. Feared it might be a booze cruise but it was not. Great crew who made our day really enjoyable and good company with people who appreciated wine. The winery was most impressive and informative. Excellent wine tastings with lovely guide and the provided meal was very good. A great chance to have a leisurely day on the Swan River coupled with a great wine tour.

Doing what: Swan Valley Wine Cruise from Perth

Eric J United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A compact clean city on the banks of the Swan river, not too far from Freemantle, plenty to see and do.

Doing what: Perth Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Beverley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely the most enjoyable day out. The Swan River is so beautiful and to experience it from this beautiful boat was amazing. The sightseeing tour of Fremantle was so enjoyable with the most personable bus driver. Then the cruise back up the beautiful Swan with a delicious buffet lunch and wine to top off a great experience. Would highly recommend this to everyone. Oh! also I thought great value for money

Doing what: Perth Lunch Cruise including Fremantle Sightseeing Tram Tour

Gwendolyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved the smooth ride on the Swan River, the commentary was very informative and the lunch on the return trip was excellent. Loved the 'tram' ride in Fremantle.

Doing what: Perth Lunch Cruise including Fremantle Sightseeing Tram Tour

Peter W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did the 48 hour tour starting with the Swan River cruise to Fremantle where we did the Fremantle Prison tour which was very interesting. The fish and chips lunch was fantastic. On day 2 we took the bus to King's Park and then did the city loop out to the Casino and back. Enjoyed the tour very much. Great way to get around. Love Perth.

Doing what: Perth Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The cruise along the swan river was a relaxing sunday,spent with great people.The crew on the boat where fantastic,they make the whole day enjoyable.the wine tour was really informative,and the food was very nice.I would highly recommend the cruise for people wanting a great day in Perth.

Doing what: Swan Valley Wine Cruise from Perth

Mrs Julie M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We did this tour on our last day in Perth after a busy 8 days travelling the SW corner. We thought it was 90 minutes, but it turned out to be twice that, and it was a good opportunity to just sit and relax, and appreciate how vast the Swan River really is, and also the extent of the cities of Perth and Fremantle.The tour commentary was very good, and we learnt a lot about the local history. The only downside was that our photos are not very sharp as taken through the windows, possibly because of salt spray, but will still be good enough for our memory folders. Thank you for a very memorable trip. Wes and Julie Hart

Doing what: Swan River Scenic Cruise

Nerida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Relaxing taking in the beautiful surrounds of Perth and the magical Swan River
Highly recommend this cruise

Doing what: Swan River Scenic Cruise

Soulie1969

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband I were visiting several places in Australia and decided to take the Perth City and Fremantle Tour with a Cruise down the Swan River, in order to see as many of the sights possible in a short time. We were picked up at one of the Hotels near to where we were staying, and then taken by Coach to Perth Harbour, where some people transferred to other Coaches, dependant on which Tour they were taking. The only hitch was that 2 ladies (in there 90's) had not transferred to the correct coach at the Harbour and we had to pull in and wait for another Coach to come and pick them up. Once this was dealt with, the Tour commenced without any further problems. The Driver/Tour Guide who was in his 70's, was very informative and entertaining. His driving was smooth and safe and he knew his route well. After seeing Perth we proceeded by road to Freemantle, which is a lovely Town, smaller in scale than Perth, with a great atmosphere and easy to get around. After a Tour of Freemantle, with the Driver pointing out various buildings and advising of their history, We stopped at a bus stop were we were issued with our Cruise Tickets.. There were 3 sailings that day. The Driver advised, that he would leave us to have a look around Freemantle for an hour then pick us up to take us to the Port, or we could stay in Freemantle longer and take a later Cruise, but we would have to get to the Port by ourselves. We decided to have a little longer and had lunch in one of the many cafe's and also took a long walk along the Port, which has more cafe's shops and also Micro Breweries, before boarding our Ferry to Perth. My only disappointment was that we took the Tour on a Monday and the town was a little quiet as the Markets only open Friday, Saturday and Sundays. Had we had visited on a Market Day, I feel it would have had a livelier atmosphere however, it did make it easier to be served, with no long waits for food.

Doing what: Perth and Fremantle Tour with Optional Swan River Cruise

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A fun fantastic afternoon on the Swan River, the food and the wine was great, the staff were fantastic. Well worth the money.
A must for all that live and visit our city. We will go again.

Doing what: Upper Swan Lunch Cruise

TIMOTHY B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I HAS A FANTASTIC TIME ON THE PERTH CITY TOUR AND TOOK UP THE OPTION OF THE SWAN RIVER CRUISE BACK FROM FREMANTLE. OUR GUIDE ON THE PERTH AND FREMANTLE TOUR WAS GREAT BEING EXCELLENT IN HIS KNOWLEDGE OF FACTS ABOUT BOTH PLACES. ALSO THE BUS WAS A SMALL SIZED ONE AND WAS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE FOR THE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE ON THE TOUR. AS IT WAS MY FIRST DAY IN THE AREA THE TOUR GAVE ME A GOOD GROUNDING IN FINDING MY WAY AROUND, HELPED BY OUR TOUR GUIDE EXPLAINING SUCH THINGS AS THE CAT BUS.
THE SECOND PART OF THE TOUR WAS VERY RELAXING A NICE TRIP ON THE SWAN RIVER. TERRIFIC VALUE AND WHEN I RETURN TO PERTH WILL CERTAINLY USE VIATOR AGAIN WITHOUT HESITATION.

Doing what: Perth and Fremantle Tour with Optional Swan River Cruise

Padraic B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

My guests and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip on the Swan River. We were initially greeted by a guy called Chris who was very helpfull and who continued throught the entire trip to be genuinly a nice, pleasent, professional guy and who was a very good entertainer / singer also as were all the staff.

Doing what: Swan Valley Wine Cruise from Perth

Luigi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

enjoyable journey on Swan River. Excellent commentary and courteous staff. Loved the free wine tasting and nibbles. Would go again.

Doing what: Swan River Scenic Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message