The Pinnacles Desert is one of the most popular day trips from Perth, the weird and wonderful limestone structures something that must be seen to be believed. It is of course entirely possible to hire a car and self-drive the area but a tour – ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful experience. Prefect trip I must say. Love the journey while listening to the knowledgeable tour guide and friendly too. Lobster Lunch was wonderful, I wanna eat some more during that time but I was full so I was looking for similar lobster during my trip to Freemantle the next day.
Sandboarding experience was awesome. Memorable trip to cherish. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter and I had a good time , having chose this tour ie Pinnacles Desert , Koalas and Sandboarding..
I enjoyed most was the Lobster factory having an upgraded lunch and as for my daughter she enjoyed most was the Caversham Wildlife despite having just 45 mins ( I suggest you have it at least an hour )
And last but not least was the Sandboarding which we really enjoyed with most of the people together with us.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

caryncwy
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun! Highlights for us were the Lancelin Sandboarding and 4WD. Improvements needed on food though. The cold chicken with salad for lunch drowned my appetite till now, not to mention my young children reaction. Pls get the upgrades to lobster meal. It's worth it. All in all Great Fun.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a blast. The bus trip was a bit long but the pinnacles were well worth it. The sandboarding was great fun and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a lovely full day out with a wide variety of activities. The guide and driver was excellent and very informative. I especially liked the sand dune ride and watching the sandboarding. (I've done it on snow and decided sand was one stage too far!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Azizi A
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day trip from Perth. We were picked up from our hotel and drop off back at the hotel. The trip started early with the first stop at the wildlife park. We managed to get up closed to the animals. Feeding the kangaroos was great fun as they were not afraid of human and are very friendly animals. The next stop was for lunch but it was a long drive to get there. The box lunch was chicken salads. There was no alternative for vegetarians. I wish they could provide us with cheese salads as an alternative. We had a lobster lunch which was great but you have to pay extra for that. The pinnacles was interesting and the best part of the tour was the sandboarding which I think was a must for everyone, provided you have the energy to climb up the dunes.Overall we had a fantastic day trip from Perth,highly recommended.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was amazing~ so close to these cute animals and the fun sandboarding, wish i can do it one more again. and there is a lot of food in lunch box. I love it~

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative, had so much fun going sandboarding in the Lancelin Sand dunes, and the Pinnacles Dessert was awesome, alot bigger than I thought, good photo opportunities. Fish and chips at Lobster Shack is delicious! Very good seafood there. Varied tour, lots of different things to do.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Overall I really enjoyed this trip and the sandboarding was absolutely fabulous - even for a nearly 50 year old!!! The Pinnacles were impressive once you were among them, but the initial view was disappointing - but that is only my opinion. The lobster factory visit was interesting and previous comments about it being horrible and cruel I do not think were necessary - how else does this food source get to our tables? The quick visit to Caversham was good. The stop at York was however extremely brief and I think the information about morning coffee in York is possibly a little exagerated!! We had 20-25 minutes which only allowed me to actually "run" to the cafe (join a queue)and then "run" to the toilet queue and that was it. It's really only a toilet stop.

The 4WD over the dunes was excellent as well.

The driver was extremely good and informative about where we were passing as well. We saw emus and kangaroos in the bush which was brilliant.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great tour guide with detailed introduction of local scenery and landscape. I truly enjoyed the whole trip. I recommend doing this in seasons that are not so hot. The desert can be up to 40 degrees. Do take tons of water with you. Don't wear sandals to the sandboarding but normal shoes. Shorts are better than pants. I regretted not trying diving down the sand dunes. Oh well, next time then!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We took this tour on a Public Holiday - Good Friday. Started off on-time. Tour guide cum driver (a big man - can't recall his name) is pleasant and drove well throughout the day. While driving, he updated us on the attractions and histories along the way. 1st stop - Caversham Wildlife. Unless you're on your own or have the whole day, do spend more time walking around and see the animals. 2nd stop - Lobster Shed. Lunch. Had an educational tour around. 3rd stop - Pinnacles. Closer look and feel of the desert 'tombstones'. 4th stop - sandboarding at sand dunes! Fantanstic experience! Overall trip was worth the $$$! Would definitely recommend to others! - Ayu and Yati (Singapore)

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

More time at Caversham, and cut out the lobster factory. Sandboarding and 4wd was fantastic!!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was a very early start and a lot of driving. The lobster lunch was good. The Pinnacles Desert was fascinating. The sandboarding was fun. But it was a very long day.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

I was looking forward to the Pinnacles part of the tour and by the time this part of the tour finally arrived I was a bit disappointed with the almost flipant manner in which this phenomenon was dealt with - perhaps the heat didn't help? The 4wd'ing was a bit farcical once we discovered that we were basically going in circles over the same tracks and the sandboarding might have been exhilirating for a 2 year old (maybe)? The drivers also seemed to be more concerned with the time and schedule rather than ensuring every one had a good time.
Overall the tour was enjoyable and given the distances it was good that a number of stops were included.
A direct Pinnacles only tour might also be worth including - if this doesn't already exist.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message