The Pinnacles Desert is one of the most popular day trips from Perth, the weird and wonderful limestone structures something that must be seen to be believed. It is of course entirely possible to hire a car and self-drive the area but a tour – ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jill L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a day packed with awesome activities. The first stop was Caversham Wildlife Park where we got to see kangaroos, koalas, and a wombat. It was sadly a short stop but the staff and the animals were awesome. Next was a tour and lunch at The Lobster Shack. The tour was interesting and I got the upgrade to the lobster lunch. The lobster itself was delicious but sadly the chips and lobster cakes didn't come with any aioli or ketchup or anything so it was pretty dry. Most disappointing part of the day honestly. The Pinnacles were our next stop - a unique geological feature. Then we went for a drive on the sand dunes followed by sandboarding. Keith was an amazing driver and a great sandboarding instructor as well. It was an experience I won't forget. The day ended with Keith dropping me off convenient to my hotel. The day was long but for somebody that didn't have a lot of time to spend in Perth, it was perfect.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Jill T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A full day with a brief stop at Caversham Wildlife Park followed by a visit to the Lobster Shack for lunch.
The Pinnacles were amazing and plenty of time allowed to wander around and go to the visitors centre.
It was fun driving over the sand dunes and trying sandboarding. A very long day but worth it.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Rachael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful place. We enjoyed the entire tour, especially the sandboarding and the 4WD ride. The place was magnificent. Must go!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Bernard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very full and long day's excursion with so many fantastic experiences. We stroked koalas and handfed kangaroos, whilst at the same time getting some great background from one of the wildlife parks guides.
Then a drive to the coast to visit the lobster shack for lunch, then on to the really unusual Pinnacles desert. It actually feels eerie but has some incredible photo opportunities. Finally on to the sand dunes, our driver let some air out of the adapted coaches tyres then we were driven up and down the dunes before trying our hand at sandboarding.
Jack, our driver, gave us an informative friendly commentary and made sure we had sufficient time at each venue. A really great day worth every penny.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

johunter3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour with lots to see and do and very informative driver/guide - a great day out. Loved the sandboarding! Book it :-

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Pairote V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Interesting nature settings. It is really worthwhile riding so far out to the Indian Ocean coastline to see such natural setting as well as sandboarding experience over sand dunes.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Hasnah A Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful trip, feeding the kangaroos, good lobster lunch and sandboarding activity. I enjoyed the half hour at Caversham spending time with the kangaroos and koalas. The sandboarding experience at Lancelin was amazing. The lobster lunch at the Cervantes, the lobster fishing town, was lovely. And the breathtaking view of Pinnacles was superb. On the whole, this trip was great fun and highly recommended to all who visits Perth, Western Australia.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Jie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the most interesting tour among the three we went on when in Perth. The tour was packed with activities. I love the seafood lunch at the lobster place; also had a few goes at the sandboarding - we felt a lot younger doing it with people half of, and for some, a quarter of our age :) whilst in the desert, we went on the 2nd group of 4WD and got to see sunset atop a sandhill - it was beautiful seeing the sunset over the sea not too far from the desert, different experience to the sunset at Cuttesloe Beach. Pinnacle was a must see, amazing.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Danny A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful experience. Prefect trip I must say. Love the journey while listening to the knowledgeable tour guide and friendly too. Lobster Lunch was wonderful, I wanna eat some more during that time but I was full so I was looking for similar lobster during my trip to Freemantle the next day.
Sandboarding experience was awesome. Memorable trip to cherish. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Fauziah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter and I had a good time , having chose this tour ie Pinnacles Desert , Koalas and Sandboarding..
I enjoyed most was the Lobster factory having an upgraded lunch and as for my daughter she enjoyed most was the Caversham Wildlife despite having just 45 mins ( I suggest you have it at least an hour )
And last but not least was the Sandboarding which we really enjoyed with most of the people together with us.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

caryncwy Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun! Highlights for us were the Lancelin Sandboarding and 4WD. Improvements needed on food though. The cold chicken with salad for lunch drowned my appetite till now, not to mention my young children reaction. Pls get the upgrades to lobster meal. It's worth it. All in all Great Fun.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a blast. The bus trip was a bit long but the pinnacles were well worth it. The sandboarding was great fun and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

janine l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a lovely full day out with a wide variety of activities. The guide and driver was excellent and very informative. I especially liked the sand dune ride and watching the sandboarding. (I've done it on snow and decided sand was one stage too far!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Azizi A Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day trip from Perth. We were picked up from our hotel and drop off back at the hotel. The trip started early with the first stop at the wildlife park. We managed to get up closed to the animals. Feeding the kangaroos was great fun as they were not afraid of human and are very friendly animals. The next stop was for lunch but it was a long drive to get there. The box lunch was chicken salads. There was no alternative for vegetarians. I wish they could provide us with cheese salads as an alternative. We had a lobster lunch which was great but you have to pay extra for that. The pinnacles was interesting and the best part of the tour was the sandboarding which I think was a must for everyone, provided you have the energy to climb up the dunes.Overall we had a fantastic day trip from Perth,highly recommended.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Tianmiao Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was amazing~ so close to these cute animals and the fun sandboarding, wish i can do it one more again. and there is a lot of food in lunch box. I love it~

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Corinne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative, had so much fun going sandboarding in the Lancelin Sand dunes, and the Pinnacles Dessert was awesome, alot bigger than I thought, good photo opportunities. Fish and chips at Lobster Shack is delicious! Very good seafood there. Varied tour, lots of different things to do.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

jukejam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Overall I really enjoyed this trip and the sandboarding was absolutely fabulous - even for a nearly 50 year old!!! The Pinnacles were impressive once you were among them, but the initial view was disappointing - but that is only my opinion. The lobster factory visit was interesting and previous comments about it being horrible and cruel I do not think were necessary - how else does this food source get to our tables? The quick visit to Caversham was good. The stop at York was however extremely brief and I think the information about morning coffee in York is possibly a little exagerated!! We had 20-25 minutes which only allowed me to actually "run" to the cafe (join a queue)and then "run" to the toilet queue and that was it. It's really only a toilet stop.

The 4WD over the dunes was excellent as well.

The driver was extremely good and informative about where we were passing as well. We saw emus and kangaroos in the bush which was brilliant.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great tour guide with detailed introduction of local scenery and landscape. I truly enjoyed the whole trip. I recommend doing this in seasons that are not so hot. The desert can be up to 40 degrees. Do take tons of water with you. Don't wear sandals to the sandboarding but normal shoes. Shorts are better than pants. I regretted not trying diving down the sand dunes. Oh well, next time then!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

mon15mon05

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Airport transfer to/fro: Timely and friendly and helpful driver
Hotel: Ibis Perth, centrally located in the city. Good location.
Day Tour: 4WD Pinnacles, Koalas and Sandboarding - well coordinated and tour guide/driver is knowledgeable and experienced. Truly enjoyed the sandboarding experiences!
Recommended!

Doing what: Perth Sightseeing Pass

Marc J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour packs a lot of different experiences into one day -- Caversham Wild Animal Park, the lobster processing plant, the pinnacles and sandboarding/4WD.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Gregorio

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized. Our first stop at Caversham Wildlife park was quite short, but this was due to the long ride we had to make to Cervantes. The upgraded lobster lunch was delicious and worth it. Pinnacles desert was really amazing and the last stop at Lancelin for the sandboarding adventure was really fun! Only minor thing was that the mic on the bus was hissing whenever the busdriver would not turn this off. So we had to constantly remind him to turn this off. Other than this I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Kristine V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really nice tour!
Adapted for the needs of tourists (=good and bad): everywhere just enough time to take some nice photos. Would be even better if you could spend some more time at some locations.
The visit to the wildlife park was really nice: we could see kangaroos, a wombat and koalas from really close, touch them and make some nice photos. The people there were really friendly.
I really loved the pinnacles!! (although a bit more time there would be better)
Sandboarding was really nice.
The lobster lunch was a bit disappointing. Maybe because we first visited the lobster factory and so I didn't feel like eating lobster anymore. It was really hard to eat them with a plastic for from a basket. The taste was not as good as expected. To be honest, the salad lunch of the others looked better.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Megan C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a very nice day, starting form Perth, heading out to the Caversham Wildlife Park, the Lobster Factory, The Pinnacles and Lancelin sanddunes. It's a long day but its fun. The weather in Perth was terrible when I did this, so our whole day was made gloomy with rain and wind, but we made the most of it and still had an enjoyable time. The Pinnacles are really cool, as was the sandboarding, the only thing bringing it down was the weather.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

ayu

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We took this tour on a Public Holiday - Good Friday. Started off on-time. Tour guide cum driver (a big man - can't recall his name) is pleasant and drove well throughout the day. While driving, he updated us on the attractions and histories along the way. 1st stop - Caversham Wildlife. Unless you're on your own or have the whole day, do spend more time walking around and see the animals. 2nd stop - Lobster Shed. Lunch. Had an educational tour around. 3rd stop - Pinnacles. Closer look and feel of the desert 'tombstones'. 4th stop - sandboarding at sand dunes! Fantanstic experience! Overall trip was worth the $$$! Would definitely recommend to others! - Ayu and Yati (Singapore)

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anastasia N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

More time at Caversham, and cut out the lobster factory. Sandboarding and 4wd was fantastic!!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message