The Pinnacles Desert is one of the most popular day trips from Perth, the weird and wonderful limestone structures something that must be seen to be believed. It is of course entirely possible to hire a car and self-drive the area but a tour – ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Interesting nature settings. It is really worthwhile riding so far out to the Indian Ocean coastline to see such natural setting as well as sandboarding experience over sand dunes.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Hasnah A
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful trip, feeding the kangaroos, good lobster lunch and sandboarding activity. I enjoyed the half hour at Caversham spending time with the kangaroos and koalas. The sandboarding experience at Lancelin was amazing. The lobster lunch at the Cervantes, the lobster fishing town, was lovely. And the breathtaking view of Pinnacles was superb. On the whole, this trip was great fun and highly recommended to all who visits Perth, Western Australia.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the most interesting tour among the three we went on when in Perth. The tour was packed with activities. I love the seafood lunch at the lobster place; also had a few goes at the sandboarding - we felt a lot younger doing it with people half of, and for some, a quarter of our age :) whilst in the desert, we went on the 2nd group of 4WD and got to see sunset atop a sandhill - it was beautiful seeing the sunset over the sea not too far from the desert, different experience to the sunset at Cuttesloe Beach. Pinnacle was a must see, amazing.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful experience. Prefect trip I must say. Love the journey while listening to the knowledgeable tour guide and friendly too. Lobster Lunch was wonderful, I wanna eat some more during that time but I was full so I was looking for similar lobster during my trip to Freemantle the next day.
Sandboarding experience was awesome. Memorable trip to cherish. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter and I had a good time , having chose this tour ie Pinnacles Desert , Koalas and Sandboarding..
I enjoyed most was the Lobster factory having an upgraded lunch and as for my daughter she enjoyed most was the Caversham Wildlife despite having just 45 mins ( I suggest you have it at least an hour )
And last but not least was the Sandboarding which we really enjoyed with most of the people together with us.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

caryncwy
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun! Highlights for us were the Lancelin Sandboarding and 4WD. Improvements needed on food though. The cold chicken with salad for lunch drowned my appetite till now, not to mention my young children reaction. Pls get the upgrades to lobster meal. It's worth it. All in all Great Fun.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a blast. The bus trip was a bit long but the pinnacles were well worth it. The sandboarding was great fun and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a lovely full day out with a wide variety of activities. The guide and driver was excellent and very informative. I especially liked the sand dune ride and watching the sandboarding. (I've done it on snow and decided sand was one stage too far!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Azizi A
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day trip from Perth. We were picked up from our hotel and drop off back at the hotel. The trip started early with the first stop at the wildlife park. We managed to get up closed to the animals. Feeding the kangaroos was great fun as they were not afraid of human and are very friendly animals. The next stop was for lunch but it was a long drive to get there. The box lunch was chicken salads. There was no alternative for vegetarians. I wish they could provide us with cheese salads as an alternative. We had a lobster lunch which was great but you have to pay extra for that. The pinnacles was interesting and the best part of the tour was the sandboarding which I think was a must for everyone, provided you have the energy to climb up the dunes.Overall we had a fantastic day trip from Perth,highly recommended.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was amazing~ so close to these cute animals and the fun sandboarding, wish i can do it one more again. and there is a lot of food in lunch box. I love it~

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative, had so much fun going sandboarding in the Lancelin Sand dunes, and the Pinnacles Dessert was awesome, alot bigger than I thought, good photo opportunities. Fish and chips at Lobster Shack is delicious! Very good seafood there. Varied tour, lots of different things to do.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Overall I really enjoyed this trip and the sandboarding was absolutely fabulous - even for a nearly 50 year old!!! The Pinnacles were impressive once you were among them, but the initial view was disappointing - but that is only my opinion. The lobster factory visit was interesting and previous comments about it being horrible and cruel I do not think were necessary - how else does this food source get to our tables? The quick visit to Caversham was good. The stop at York was however extremely brief and I think the information about morning coffee in York is possibly a little exagerated!! We had 20-25 minutes which only allowed me to actually "run" to the cafe (join a queue)and then "run" to the toilet queue and that was it. It's really only a toilet stop.

The 4WD over the dunes was excellent as well.

The driver was extremely good and informative about where we were passing as well. We saw emus and kangaroos in the bush which was brilliant.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great tour guide with detailed introduction of local scenery and landscape. I truly enjoyed the whole trip. I recommend doing this in seasons that are not so hot. The desert can be up to 40 degrees. Do take tons of water with you. Don't wear sandals to the sandboarding but normal shoes. Shorts are better than pants. I regretted not trying diving down the sand dunes. Oh well, next time then!

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized. Our first stop at Caversham Wildlife park was quite short, but this was due to the long ride we had to make to Cervantes. The upgraded lobster lunch was delicious and worth it. Pinnacles desert was really amazing and the last stop at Lancelin for the sandboarding adventure was really fun! Only minor thing was that the mic on the bus was hissing whenever the busdriver would not turn this off. So we had to constantly remind him to turn this off. Other than this I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really nice tour!
Adapted for the needs of tourists (=good and bad): everywhere just enough time to take some nice photos. Would be even better if you could spend some more time at some locations.
The visit to the wildlife park was really nice: we could see kangaroos, a wombat and koalas from really close, touch them and make some nice photos. The people there were really friendly.
I really loved the pinnacles!! (although a bit more time there would be better)
Sandboarding was really nice.
The lobster lunch was a bit disappointing. Maybe because we first visited the lobster factory and so I didn't feel like eating lobster anymore. It was really hard to eat them with a plastic for from a basket. The taste was not as good as expected. To be honest, the salad lunch of the others looked better.

Doing what: Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message