• USD ($)
  • English
From menacing crocodiles, deadly redback spiders and wild dingoes, to fluffy koalas and hopping kangaroos; Australia has its fair share of weird and wonderful beasts, but when it comes to sea creatures, nothing comes close to the mighty whale. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Best thing we did in Perth! We were very lucky that day, as a mother and calf came right alongside and swam around and underneath the boat. We were just blown away by it all. The best value day out in Perth by a mile! The girl who talked us through whale behaviour was really enthusiastic, without being annoying. If you only book one trip here, book this! You leave the jetty for a cruise down Swan River, then change at Freemantle for the whale watching. Plenty of time to explore Freemantle too. A whole day out - very good value for money - two very happy people!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very enjoyable. We saw quite a few whales. It was a long day and a shorter stay in Fremantle would have been better

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

unfortunately not enough whales in the area. the crew did try and track think was 3 pods but being a under water mammals can not judge what is going to happen. the crew were friendly and informative. but would do again

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Hillarys Boat Harbour Day Trip from Perth

Rachel
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

The whale watching cruise was fantastic but wished they guided us around Fremantle as well.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Hilary's boat harbour was pretty, the shops and restaurants were lovely to browse around. The aquarium was beautiful and well worth a visit. The boat trip to see the whales was nice and the crew were very helpful. We did sight a few whales briefly and saw them in the distance,it was a shame we didn't see them close up.I think if you just did the whale watching it would have been a disappointing day trip. The fact that there were other things to see and do at Hilary's made it a lovely day trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Hillarys Boat Harbour Day Trip from Perth

George T
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Love it.....the whale watching part and not the sea sickness. Regret not able to view the whales at much closer range. Overall....good with a plus.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

Gabrielle H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Very choppy on the boat did see some whales in the distance though. In the free time in Fremantle the prison is well worth a visit!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

Lydia Teo
Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

It would have been a very interesting trip as I looked forward to it earnestly. It took an hour from Perth and we were transferred to a smaller boat at Fremantle to head another hour out to the ocean. It was fun as everyone on board was in high spirits and excited about the whale sighting. Sad to say, the humbacks did not surface on that day and we were compensated with a day trip to Rottnest Island on another day. The beaches of Rottnest Island are so beautiful. Visiting this island was not in my schedule but thanks to Rottnest Express, We were able to see the beauty of this island with the quokkas freely roaming the island centre un-perturbed!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

We really enjoyed Hillarys Boat Harbour, it was a beautiful day, but the whale watching was a little disappointing. We were not allowed on deck until we reached the whale watching area. We were blocked into our seats when we were allowed and it took some time to get out, meanwhile all the prime watching spots were taken and of course they (watchers) didn't move the whole time. We didn't see a thing as we were not tall enough to see over their heads. We were disappointed for our interstate visitors. Luckily we enjoyed the rest of the day enjoying each others company.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Hillarys Boat Harbour Day Trip from Perth

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The whales are simply magnificent and we had numerous chances to view them. Downside was the number of people on the boat so you felt you needed to fight your way through so see the whales at times.
For his reason I would look for a smaller tour operator if we were to visit the whales again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

Ard
Belgium

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Unfortunately we did not see any whales. Seemed to be late in the season

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Hillarys Boat Harbour Day Trip from Perth

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The trip was nice, but we did not see so many whales. The whales we saw there were to far to see good. And we were not so lucky with the weather.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Being Sunday there was a large crowd with lots of kids, and being short I could not see very well through the ranks of people who ran over as soon as the sighting was announced. I waved my camera about to see if I could capture a shot of the whales way in the distance, I thought we would run into more pods but we didn't so I felt seasick for little or no reason... but I know it is unpredictable.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Hillarys Boat Harbour Day Trip from Perth

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

The highlight of this tour was the whale-watching but we could can hardly see the whales. Intermitently one would appear far far away but there were too many people on board and, as shorter women, we were always blocked by taller individuals. So imagine our disappointment when on top of being burnt by the scorching sun in the deck, we saw almost nothing!

Then when we arrived at Fremantle we were told to be back at the harbour by a certain time but the ferry arrived at least 30 minutes late.

It was a lousy trip and a waste of time.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Fremantle Day Trip from Perth

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

"Complimentary pick up from Hotel" was from their choice of hotel, not where you were actually staying. Trying to organise the pick up turned into a nightmare and confirming the arrangements had to be done via e-mail as you could never get on to them via phone. We didn't see many whales at all (not their fault - I know) making it a disappointing tour. It was strongly suggested we use our Aquarium tickets prior to the Whale Watching tour, which is what we did, so that when we arrived back at Hillary's Harbour, we had nothing to do for the 3 hours they expected us to wait for another "complimentary drop back to the hotel". There was nothing in this description to explain that a water park was nearby and that we could spend some time there, which would have been good as my children would have brought their swimmers then. We ended up making our own way back to the City, rather than wasting more time waiting on this tour operator. Very poorly managed day tour and would not have wasted my money if I'd known what the day was going to be like. Wouldn't waste my money with this lot ever again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise and Hillarys Boat Harbour Day Trip from Perth

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message