Phnom Penh ATTRACTIONS See all

Killing Fields of Choeung Ek

A trip to this historic spot just 15 kilometers south of Phnom Penh is not for the faint of heart. Known as The Killing fields, some one million Cambodians were murdered here by the Khmer Rouge between 1975 and 1979. Nearly 9,000 bodies have been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

If I could give 10 stars I would. The trip to the Genocide Museum and Killing Fields was an amazing if heart wrenching experience. I knew nothing about the events that unfolded under the Khmer Rouge before visiting. The tour guide was brilliant, he really knew his stuff and gave us a very in depth history of the tragic events that happened under the Khmer Rouge. On the day, the last two survivors of the S-21 Detention Centre were there at the museum, which made it even more 'real' knowing that what happened was still in living memory and I bought their biographies and had photos with them. The Killing Fields were grim but a fitting tribute to those who lost their lives. Overall, a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We went on this tour which was just over four hours and had a terrific guide who spoke English very well and was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the prison and the killing fields. We got picked up from our hotel and travelled in a comfortable air conditioned vehicle.

We visited the Choeung Ek (S21 Prison) first before going out to the Killing Fields. To fully understand what actually happened under the Khmer Rouges regime you should do the prison first.

My husband, my two teenage daughters and I found it difficult coming to terms with the visual atrocities that happened to the lovely people of Cambodia, and I personally needed to move out of the tour group every now and then to compose myself. However, no matter how startling or disturbing it is, everyone who visits Cambodia should visit here to truly understand the horrific history of Cambodia.

At the Genocide Museum, we were fortunate enough to also meet Bou Meng and Chum Mey the last two survivors of S21 Prison. A truly humbling experience.

This was a powerful and harrowing tour which has given us memories that will stay with us forever.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was the most moving moments I have had. The killing fields feel very touristy but the school is just as it should be. Though I disagree with the shop on the premises I understand why it is there. Being a school teacher myself and having worked in a similar place it was a very emotional experience

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed this tour.
We had to leave early and we were. Accommodated, we had a hotel change at 2300hrs the night before and we're able to change pickup location no problems.

We had a personal tour guide who was incredibly passionate about what he was saying, and was clear with his English, but we did have to pay very close attention to hear word for word. He kept buying us snacks and coconuts to drink. I forgot my wallet and he offered to buy the survivors book for me.

The tour is a must do for anyone and really eye opening. Everyone has their own personal experience. Mine was strange. The fields are so peaceful and there is a really good energy, despite the fact that you literally are walking on human bones. I just didn't know how to feel, which made me feel like a bad person.

5 star tour that you'll never forget!

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting tour! We booked small-group tour but eventually there were only two of us. Guide spoke good English and knew much about history. We met two old gentlemen who both survive from S 21 it was the most touching moment in the prison part. Scenery around Killing Fields is very beautiful and peaceful so it is even harder to think how terrible things happened there. Traffic in Cambodia is pretty chaotic but at least our driver drove safely. There was only one negative thing: tour lasted 4.5 hours which was far too short (to me).

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very emotional but feel it needs to be included as part of anyones holiday to Cambodia just to realise what the people have been through and to admire how the country and people are rebuilding their lives. They picked us up on time from the hotel. We went to the musuem first and the tour guide was excellent. Very well explained and alot of knowledge. It was done at a good pace. Then moved onto the killing fields and again was very impressed with the tour guide and they way he explained what had happened there, Would thoroughly recommend this tour but do something happy afterwards. Back at hotel by lunch time.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Too much chatter by the guide - I would have preferred to get the key information when outside the Museum, opportunity to ask questions if I wanted further information, and then just being able to walk respectfully and quietly through the museum myself. Fortunately at the Killing Fields we were able to do this because you are required to be quiet there.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The killing fields and prison were very interesting although harrowing. But unfortunately the tour was very rushed.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message