Apache Trail is a 120 mile (193km) historic road that connects Apache Junction (the east edge of the Phoenix metropolitan area) to Theodore Roosevelt Lake. Although the trail’s official name today is “State Route 88”, it adopted the name “Apache ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Chris was a great guide. It was also a great group. We had a really enjoyable day. Got to see some real wildlife - bald eagles, big horn sheep and fish in Canyon Lake. It was a beautiful day all the way around.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was informative and just hands down awesome. Our Guide, Chris was amazing. I would recommend Ma and Pops tours to anyone. My youngest just took to Chris like glue. We all felt comfortable with him and he made the trip worth it 10X's over

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

we got lost because of the marathon and only got to the gold mine town by 10 then only had a short period of time there, the driver was boring and monotonous.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We took the Apache Trail tour in mid -Sept 2014 the day after a heavy rain. The desert was lovely. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer our question. We especially enjoy the Ferry ride on Canyon Lake.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time! tour guide Meno was good .

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

went to tomestone to much driving see to little.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

very nice, but it would have been nice for a printed sheet of route and the area

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour - lots of information, beautiful scenery. guide (Montana) fantastic. Would recomment to anyone.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Surpassed expectations and was thoroughly enjoyed by all members of our party. Memo was knowledgeable and informative. The journey to Fish Creek was amazing, just a shame there were not more opportunities to take in the views

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time! Our guide was very nice and informative. Beautiful scenery and a good time all around

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a great time exploring the area Our tour guide was a local with so much knowledge. Had a good time meeting new people. Definetlu would reccommend

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A really different trip along the Apache trail then on to Tortilla Flat followed by a 90 minute steamboat cruise then to Goldfield Ghost Town and finally a visit down the mine. I've done this trip before on a previous visit, every time I learn more about the local area, and Arizona too, due to the knowledgable tour guides. Many thanks Brad.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The trip was interesting but the ghost town was not impressive.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Was a very pretty tour but it felt like we were just in the car the whole time. There was a mix up with our tour so it was delayed by 2 hours and when the tour guide got there it seemed like he really didn't want to be there. It was supposed to be an 8 hour tour and we only got 6 hours. It would have been great to have extra time at the Goldfield town, we only had 1/2 hour so I felt like we were rushing around trying to get photos of everything. We ate at the pub Tortilla Flat but again was really rushed and only had 45 minutes there, all we saw was the inside of the pub which was very cool and the food was great. The Steamboat tour was the highlight and the only thing that wasn't rushed because it couldn't be rushed. Over all it was an ok tour which could have been an amazing tour if we had a great tour guide and if we were given the time that we paid for.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The Apache Trail was a scary ride if you don't like heights. The road had very few guard rails but the view was well worth the trip. Canyon Lake had some spectacular views., the paddle boat was pleasant and relaxing. This was a great trip to get the feel of the land during the mining era. The tour guide was great at explaining history of the area. The tour guides on the Viator Tours I booked were excellent.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Apache Trail trip is a must. The scenery along Salt River Canyon is awesome. A magic day.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Wonderful tour going up the Apache Trail where mule teams once hauled the men and materials that made Roosevelt Lake. This amazing story comes to life on this tour. Plus seeing the desert is marvelous, and our tour guide was most informative about everything in Phoenix. The cruise was magical; we floated past canyon walls spotting eagles and big horn desert sheep. Loved the old mining town of Goldfield where we had just enough time to tour the gold mine on our own; it was amazing. The hard life of the miners boggles the mind. The guide there was also most entertaining and informative, but u need to ask if there's enough time to squeeze in this extra. I recommend you do it if possible. The lunch stop at Tortilla Flat was fine but we used the time there to see he tiny museum there about Roosevelt Lake.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

I THINK THE TOUR COULD HAVE BEEN SPLIT IN TWO PARTS,ADDING THE MUSEUAM ACROSS FROM THE "GHOST TOWN" AND SPENDING MORE TIME AT EACH VENUE. PERHAPS A SHOW AND LUNCH INCLUDED AT THE "GHOST/WESTERN TOWN". A CATERED LUNCH AT THE "STAGE COACH" STOP AND MORE TIME TO EXPLORE. YOU COULD SPEND TWO OR THREE HOURS AT EACH OF THOSE POSSIBLE LUNCH VENUES. AS IT WAS,WE WERE VERY RUSHED TO MOVE ON TO THE NEXT EVENT. NO COMPLAINS ABOUT THE CONTENT,JUST NOT ENOUGH TIME FOR EACH.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

It was a wonderfully enjoyable day. A bit long (but we were the first pick up and the last drop off). The guide was very knowledgeable and the steamboat guide was equally as entertaining and informative. Definitely an area of the valley that we would like to revisit at our leisure

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a fabulous tour. Not too long (8:30 - 3pm) but full of information. Our guide new the area and loved it. He was full of information and it was interesting and appropriate for our area.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a lovely tour that showed us many forms of cactus and desert plants and the lake cruise was also very nice. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of Arizona and also the varieties of desert plants. We learned many things we didin't know before and we have visited Arizona many times. He was also considerate enough to bring bottled water for each of us. I definitely recommend this tour. Ruth J., Ft Worth

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a good tour, the bigget downfall is there is not enough time at the Gold Mining Town, Steamboat Cruise and Tortilla Flats add to the tour, making it a nice relaxing day.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was a very nice tour, the driver was friendly and familiar with the area and the steamboat cruise was beautiful and relaxing. The views were spectacular. If I were to complain about anything it would be the stop at Goldfield, which was too short to do much and most of the shops were closed.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The Apache Trail was amazing. The tour guide
was awesome explaining everything to us. It was such a beautiful day, that next time we travel we are using Viator. i spoke to Mike Simmons, and he was so kind as to fax the voucher at the hotel we were staying in, since we had no way to print the voucher. Everyone at Viator was great and very helpful. Love them.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Great tour with plenty of things to do. The website didn't state the corect time to complete the tour. The tour takes approx. 8 hrs. Although, the cruise was the highlight of the tour we found the stop at the gold mine to be equally enjoyable.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message