• USD ($)
  • English
The Sonoran Desert is a 100,000 square mile (260,000 square kilometers) arid region in North America that stretches across large portions of Arizona, California, and the northwest Mexican states of Sonora, Baja California, and Baja California ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour is on a beautiful neighborhood and a great part of the desert. My family from out of town thoroughly enjoyed the segway tour. The tour guide is an amazing person. He is very personable, with the right touch of humor and interesting facts about the area, plants, and other special fun facts to know. This was my second time doing this tour and it will always be the choice adventure for any time guests come in from out of town.

Doing what: Segway Tour of the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort in Phoenix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Hummer Night Tour - we had a very pleasant trip in the back of the Hummer out into the desert and on the way we were lucky enough to see some wild horses drinking in a river. En route we saw some beautiful spots to stay and to picnic in, When we arrived in the desert we reached the perfect high spot just in time to get a great view of the most amazing sunset - the colour changes on the surrounding mountains were out of this world. We saw some turkey vultures as we moved through the desert and as it got dark, we saw some tarantulas and kangaroo rats which was interesting, I would definitely recommend this tour it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Hummer Night Tour in the Sonoran Desert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing night tour in the hummer. The tour guide made our journey very interesting. The night tour of the desert is very different from the day tours. This is a very safe, enjoyable activity.

Doing what: Hummer Night Tour in the Sonoran Desert

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

This was very exciting because you get to drive your own Desert Car and we went quite fast. The biggest downfall was the tour guide not very friendly, nor organized. During our tour we unfortunately had a flat tire, they did not have a patch nor spare to fix on trail, which according to terrain must happen periodically so had to cut the whole ride short. The guide put blame on the driver for not driving in the exact trail that he was but closer to the back it was very dusty, they were moving quickly and you had to pick your trail, I do not believe it was a total driver fault, for accidents like this happen to the best of us. The tour could have continued if the guides were prepared. This could have been a blast for the terrain is quite rugged, they do move fast and go through water, so be prepared to get wet and dirty and have fun!

Doing what: U-Drive Desert Car Tour in the Sonoran Desert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Our desert car tour was great! The cars were fun to drive and felt very safe and stable. The guides were helpful and polite and were concerned about our safety. It was a unique way to see the desert landscape.

I was frustrated with two items about booking through Viator. I received my confirmation and printed my voucher. Only on the day of my tour did I see that I was supposed to contact the vendor directly to confirm. Viator should have made this more clear on the confirmation. Luckily, we were still booked for the tour. If we had contacted them we might have found out that the meeting place was different than the Viator information said. Also, the confirmation said the tour left at 8:00 am in the summer but the tour operator was prepared for 9:30. We waited an hour and a half.

Doing what: U-Drive Desert Car Tour in the Sonoran Desert

Simon C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent tour, Our guide was fantastic, his knowledge and the information he provided was excellent. The tour itself was great fun and we got to see the desert up close and in detail. The shooting part of the day was just brilliant and again the information and instruction provided was second to none. They also took pictures of everything throughout the day and were available to few on a website within a couple of days. Give it a try you won't regret it.

Doing what: Sonoran Desert Tomcar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

I took my 5 year old son along with our tour guide Chris through the the desert back country. This was an amazing trip and Chris was very knowledgable and helpful in answering questions about the various types of plants and wildlife. I enjoyed driving the Tomcar and my son was fascinated by the desert.

Doing what: Sonoran Desert Tomcar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Our trip was geat! Our guide was very knowlegable of the desert and did a fantastic job with our group.

Doing what: Sonoran Desert Tomcar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

The trip was great. Paul the guide was very knowledgable and more than willing to relate his vast experiences in the desert. The vehicle was well set up and overall it was an excellent tour. The only real negative was that Viator had the incorrect starting time on the Voucher I had with me. Paul was there at 5:30 and per Viators voucher I was there at 6:30. That extra hour of daylight would have made the tour even better.

Doing what: Hummer Night Tour in the Sonoran Desert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

What a great trip this was! Our guide was so incredibly knowledgeable and we learnt so much from him. He managed to spot both a tarantula and a rattle snake from the hummer and we stopped to get a closer (but very safe) viewing. Bright LED lights on the side of the hummer made it easy to see in the desert at night. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Hummer Night Tour in the Sonoran Desert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our night tour. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to the desert for our extreme adventure. There were times I was a little nervous, but our guide was amazing at navigating the flora in the desert as well as the cliffs, all while giving us expert narration. And the sunset was absolutely amazing!!

Doing what: Hummer Night Tour in the Sonoran Desert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

This was such a rush! Riding through the desert with your guide hanging on the side was a trip! These tomcars can handle the desert better than anything I’ve driven before – this was an awesome experience.

Doing what: Sonoran Desert Tomcar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Loved it! What can I say? The guide was awesome and really knew his stuff – everything from the trails to the desert plant life and wildlife. We chose to add on the firearms option and I have to say – our instructor totally had safety on his mind. He was a former soldier and sniper, so we knew we were getting expert guidance and we even got to keep our targets. The environment is extremely important to these guys and they make sure it’s looked after. That’s important to me too, so I am more than happy to recommend this to anyone going to Phoenix.

Doing what: Sonoran Desert Tomcar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

What a great trip this was! Our guide was so incredibly knowledgeable and we learnt so much from him. He managed to spot both a tarantula and a rattle snake from the hummer and we stopped to get a closer (but very safe) viewing. Bright LED lights on the side of the hummer made it easy to see in the desert at night. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Hummer Night Tour in the Sonoran Desert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our night tour. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to the desert for our extreme adventure. There were times I was a little nervous, but our guide was amazing at navigating the flora in the desert as well as the cliffs, all while giving us expert narration. And the sunset was absolutely amazing!

Doing what: Hummer Night Tour in the Sonoran Desert

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message