• USD ($)
  • English
One of the best ways to tour the famous Pearl of the Andaman is by elephant, and a number of carefully structured tours offer the opportunity to do so in considerable style. For travellers with a bit of extra time (and curiosity), notable half-day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Not exactly a jungle trek more a trek around handlers campsite situated along main road.
Not recommended for people who care about elephants as our handler repeatedly kept hitting the poor animal with metal hook. The monkey attraction consisted of 10 monkeys chained to oil drums by short leads.

Doing what: One-Hour Elephant Jungle Trek from Phuket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We loved this experience! It was very well organised and in a beautiful location. Our guide was really sweet and great fun. But most importantly the Elephants looked loved and well cared for by their mahouts and are such patient and gentle animals. An experience we will treasure forever.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

More than expected! Out tour guide Au Au (Oo Oo) nickname. Was exceptional, explaining all aspects of Thai culture, the introduction of the elephant, traditional methods of rice growing, life cycle through to separation of the different grains and how it is used. Thai traditional coffee - not to be missed, rubber harvesting and coconut harvesting and uses for the whole of the coconut as well as Thai traditional meal made with the freshly grinded spices. If you are on a budget you will not be disappointed spending your money here! Tip:Go early morning in the cool of the day.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Totally recommend this tour! The elephants were so well taken care of and seemed happy and healthy. It was a great experience to get to feed them fruit as a Thank You for taking us for a ride. I loved how they also showed us a variety of cultural elements from rice, tea, coconut, to the actual rides.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great tour, very professionally delivered. There is some dull stuff involved (i.e. how rice is grown), but the tour is so well paced that you don't get bogged down in it.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Propably the best place to do an elephant ride. The site was amazingly beautiful overlooking the ocean from the top of the mountain. The staff were friendly and we had a great time.

Doing what: One-Hour Elephant Jungle Trek from Phuket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip! The guide was knowledgeable very nice. The elephants are well cared for and the little compound with the rice, coconut, and rubber demonstrations well done. The cruise was nice and the food good. All in all, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very enjoyable and knowledgable. one of our favourite trip

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour included so many things, much more than I expected. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Absolutely wonderful. It did take us awhile to get there but once there, everything was well organized and informative. Our guide was wonderful and have us a lot information. I really enjoyed learning about the different techniques for making rice and coconut products. I would do this again. Oh yeah, lunch was wonderful. They sold many items that they used but the only thing missing was a cookbook or at least the recipe for the dish the made.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Very good experience.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Staff were fantastic making sure our 4 year old was enjoying herself, included in activities and had enough food or water.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I had such an amazing time on this safari tour. The tour description does not do it justice! Not only do you get to ride an elephant through the mountains but it entails so much more. You also get to watch the younger elephants train and do tricks which was so special (I was able to purchase the painting the elephant painted during the show too!). We learned how Thai produces it's curry, coconuts, rubber and rice through actual demonstrations. We also had delicious Thai tea and coffee with a snack onsite as well. We had pictures of us sitting on an ox and took a ride on a cart pulled by the ox as well. The tour is very interactive and our guide was so funny and kept everyone engaged.

We also opted for the boat ride which was enjoyable and would recommend. Lunch was great and the staff was so friendly and awesome! This was such a well rounded, high quality tour and more importantly, the elephants were treated well there. A must experience for anyone going to Phuket.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour especially with our tour guide "Ma". It was very informative in that the tour included several exhibits of basic aspects of Thai life and culture. I would definitely recommend the junket boat ride and lunch. Outstanding food and views.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Fantastic! Loved the elephants and our guide Tut. She was friendly, knowledgeable and so much fun. I'm always a little concerned about animal tours. But the elephants were well cared for and well trained. The views were spectacular! We enjoyed feeding the elephants and watching the baby elephants being trained. We learned about rice, cooking curry, and rubber farming. A great day!

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message