Insider's Guide to Picton

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Picton ATTRACTIONS See all

Picton Cruise Port

Small but lively, Picton may be one of the sunniest ports in New Zealand. Located at the head of Queen Charlotte Sound, it links the country’s South Island with the north, making it a hub for inter-island ferries across the Cook Strait. It is also a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a very pleasurable day thanks to our wonderful guide Carol.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a fantastic time. The small group is the way to do the wineries and our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and gave us an awesome experience. We enjoyed the wineries selected and the price was very reasonable compared to the Cruise ship's price and lack of wineries. We would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great trip. We went to 5 wineries chosen by our guide Carol from Marlborough Wine Tours. Her choices included a very interesting range of different wineries. When she heard I had special interest in a winery not on the planned tour she also arranged for us to stop by it for a quick visit as well. The tour included a stop at the Makana chocolate factory on the way back to Picton, which we all enjoyed. And at the end Carol took us to a couple of lookouts near Picton for beautiful views of the town, the harbour and the Queen Charlotte Sound. Carol was an excellent guide and made the excursion a lot of fun for all involved. Had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a small group tour of 10 people in a minibus. The tour guide was Carol who was local and informative. We went to 4 vineyards and tasted 25 wines altogether. We were still standing and had a wonderful lunch in the sunshine. A short visit to the chocolate factory finished the day which in all was a wonderful one - highly recommended

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous time with great guide. Extremely reasonable when compared to our ship's tours.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, great wines and great guide thank you Viator

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

top trip on time great driver good fun day highly recommend to all cruises

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip, excellent driver, small, group great, excellent nice vineyards.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic trip. The ship docked at a different place than you were expecting, but the tour guide found us no problem. We Got to 4 extraordinary wineries, one of which had an organic restaurant to die for. We got to the Makana Chocolate Factory even tho it was not actually on the tour itinery (a wonderful stop)! The tour group was small and we did not have to wait for 80-90 people to get on/off the bus. Viator.com, you Rock. Frank, Honolulu.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great trip in a small group. Plenty of wines/wines with a flexible itinerary. The lunch stop at Geisens for a tasting and lunch was value for money. A day well spent.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Carol was our guide. We had a small group and visited the vineyards in a mini van. We had time to do 5 stops during the day. An excellent lunch was planned with sufficient time to rest and chat. Carol is very knowledgeable of the region and she communicated very well. Morning pickup and return to the ship was flawless. Thank you!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We spent a really nice day touring the wine regions. Our driver was right on time and we were a group of six . It was a relaxing, interesting, pleasant day.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message