Picton ATTRACTIONS See all

Picton Cruise Port

Small but lively, Picton may be one of the sunniest ports in New Zealand. Located at the head of Queen Charlotte Sound, it links the country’s South Island with the north, making it a hub for inter-island ferries across the Cook Strait. It is also a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent. Beautiful scenery and good Marlborough wineries. Small group of 10 which made the trip that bit more personal. Guide very knowledgeable and affable. Altogether a trip worth taking.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We visited 3 wineries and they were all very nice. Lunch at our own expense was very enjoyable. The driver, Trish, was very pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Gwendoline J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great excursion through lovely countryside, on time, good content, informative and caring staff but more to the point, lovely food and wine.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour - comfortable small group tour, knowledgeable driver, wineries waiting for us and good Marlborough wines too!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great way to spend the day in Picton. We were picked up from the cruise ship and taken back in time to sail.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately, I'm not a white wine drinker, as this is a white wine region, but Andy, my guide took me to a couple of red wine vineyards while the remainder of the group were on lunch and I got more out of that. Afterwards, I got taken to a brewery as I like ale, and they paid for me to get samples of the ales, which was more thank kind of them

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately, I'm not a white wine drinker, as this is a white wine region, but Andy, my guide took me to a couple of red wine vineyards while the remainder of the group were on lunch and I got more out of that. Afterwards, I got taken to a brewery as I like ale, and they paid for me to get samples of the ales, which was more thank kind of them

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

George K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous guides and wonderful wineries......it was the best tour of our cruise!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Flower10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our driver met us in Picton, and we drove out to Marllborough. It was cold and rainy, but we had a great time visiting a variety of wineries, from very small to large. Our driver was knowledgeable and made the day interesting and fun, in spite of the bad weather.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

bgbeaudoin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great itinerary and excellent guides. Went out of their way to please. Prompt pickup and delivery.
Excellent mix of large and small vineyards.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

mm_fuller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I would definitely recommend this small group over the large bus tours from the ship. We had a great driver/guide and went to four wineries and chocolate store.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Maggie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

it was a great tour. Our guide Andy asked us what particular wines we were interested in and took us to a couple of the smaller family run wineries as well as a few of the bigger ones. He was very good and obviously knew his wines and the area well. I would heartily recommend him and the company to anyone doing this tour in the future

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Greg C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had such a nice time on this tour of the beautiful wine country. We were in a clean minivan with a great driver 10 people max who pointed out interesting landmarks and bits of information as we made our way to the wineries. The wineries were each different and it was great that there was no big sales pressure....just a true enjoyment of sharing their wine for tasting and they were happy to talk about the area too. We had a quick lesson on vine cultivation and we also stopped for some chocolate which was absolutely delicious too!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a terrific time. On time pickup. Our vehicle was clean and comfortable. Carol, our driver and guide, was knowledgeable about the Marlborough Wine Region, geography, history, wine making, and viticulture, She was recognized by the people at each stop and was clearly friendly with all. She took us to a winery and restaurant for green lipped mussels which was an unexpected and delightful treat. It was a cool, sunny day and everything was about perfect.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent small group tour of four Marlborough wineries. Carol, the guide, was very pleasant and accomodating. Some excellent small food plates at the Geisen winery.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Michel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a very pleasurable day thanks to our wonderful guide Carol.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Krystyna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a fantastic time. The small group is the way to do the wineries and our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and gave us an awesome experience. We enjoyed the wineries selected and the price was very reasonable compared to the Cruise ship's price and lack of wineries. We would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

robert h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great trip. We went to 5 wineries chosen by our guide Carol from Marlborough Wine Tours. Her choices included a very interesting range of different wineries. When she heard I had special interest in a winery not on the planned tour she also arranged for us to stop by it for a quick visit as well. The tour included a stop at the Makana chocolate factory on the way back to Picton, which we all enjoyed. And at the end Carol took us to a couple of lookouts near Picton for beautiful views of the town, the harbour and the Queen Charlotte Sound. Carol was an excellent guide and made the excursion a lot of fun for all involved. Had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Stuart W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a small group tour of 10 people in a minibus. The tour guide was Carol who was local and informative. We went to 4 vineyards and tasted 25 wines altogether. We were still standing and had a wonderful lunch in the sunshine. A short visit to the chocolate factory finished the day which in all was a wonderful one - highly recommended

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous time with great guide. Extremely reasonable when compared to our ship's tours.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Judy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, great wines and great guide thank you Viator

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Kath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

top trip on time great driver good fun day highly recommend to all cruises

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Isobel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip, excellent driver, small, group great, excellent nice vineyards.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message