• USD ($)
  • English

Pisa ATTRACTIONS See all

Leaning Tower of Pisa

The Leaning Tower of Pisa is one of the most famous structures in the world – not because of its gently rising series of arches, but because of its legendary tilt. Constructed as the bell tower to accompany the cathedral, the tower began to shift ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. But needs to slow down a bit so you know what they are talking about. But nice staff. Would of been helpful to know place to catch bus which is outside Pisa tower next to taxi rank is a bus stop.

Doing what: Pisa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. But needs to slow down a bit so you know what they are talking about. But nice staff. Would of been helpful to know place to catch bus which is outside Pisa tower next to taxi rank is a bus stop.

Doing what: Pisa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Climbing the leaning tower of Pisa was impressive and definitely something we had to do. We were relieved to be able to purchase last minute tickets through Viator and be able to climb the tower in our limited time frame. Although the tickets were far more expensive than through other agents or direct, Viator was the only agent that had tickets available with 3 days notice. Confirmation was fast, picking up the tickets was very easy on the day, and all information was provided in the confirmation email.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good way to see the sights around Pisa, including the racecourse and the exercise track a little way out of the city.

Doing what: Pisa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Believe me this is all there is to see in Pisa. We drove from south of Siena for what we could see in about an hour on our own. While the guide was extremely good (once we found him- we were where we were told to be and had to call back to the tour operator twice; we were 20 minutes early, yet had to catch up with him during the tour) and funny, as well as informative there just was not that much to see. But, if you are spending more than 45 minutes to get there, don't go unless you REALLY want to see the tower.

Doing what: Pisa Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The landmark itself is amazing. However, since our tickets were not directly from the Pisa site, we had some trouble getting them "authorized." Our taxi driver, who spoke Italian, was able to help out and get our family group of 6 into a single tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

I recently did a tour of Italy and had 6 tours lined up. Out of all 6 tours, this was by far the worst. I understand 1 star is harsh, but when half of the entire group (which consisted of 15-20 people) was complaining, that is never a good sign. The tour guide herself was "OK" but really never gave any intimate stories that you cant get out of history books, however there were several problems with this tour.

1) Skipping the Line for the Leaning Tower of Pisa - Its not necessary skipping the line, but a "scheduled time" which isn't explained to you until the END of the tour, in which we do on our FREE TIME. Besides, if there is a long line, it goes by fairly quickly.

2) The tour doesn't take you in the Baptistry or Cathedral. Sure, she explained the history of both buildings, but its terrible that we had to go buy separate tickets to enter both building.

3) there was no tour of the cemetery. again, you have to buy separate tickets... its actually very interesting, if we knew what we were looking at.

Overall, I would highly suggest not doing a tour at the Leaning Tour of Pisa. If you find a cheap tour and want to know the history... sure... at 45 dollars per person, you get an hour history lesson.

Doing what: Pisa Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We found this tour excellent, what made it for us was the fact that though we had an elderly person in a wheelchair, the driver and assistant were very friendly and helpful, he was the only driver that took the trouble to deploy the wheelchair ramp for access. (see Florence tour). We were caught in a short storm and the driver even cleaned the windows so that we had a good view. the tour was good value and Pisa a must see.

Doing what: Pisa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

I was very disappointed in this service, there were a number of elements that caused me to feel stressed and confused. First of all, the representative who was meant to hand the tickets to us, did not use any sign of company identity which lead us to be confused with the people around us. On the order form, they stated that the rep would hold up a yellow sign, but instead it was blue and when we questioned why she didn't hold up a yellow sign, she was rather quite rude with her reasoning. Also, it stated on the order form that you had to meet the representative outside the Duomo Bar however, this caused problems because the cafe owner did not know any information regarding this and this caused him to be annoyed with the amount of tourists asking him. Surely it would have been better if the rep had stood outside the tower or outside the information desk with a visible identity.
I feel ripped off by the price I had to pay for this service. The tickets stated that we would be able to skip the line but I feel this is misleading as you only skip the line to buy the ticket and you still need to queue to get inside.
If you plan to go up the tower, I advise you to book from the leaning tower of Pisa website way ahead in advance as it books up quickly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

There is so much more to Pisa then we realized. This was a really good tour.

Doing what: Pisa Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Tour guide was fun and interesting but would have liked more site visits. We only visited the site of the Leaning Tower and one other piazza. Pisa has other sites to offer too.

Doing what: Pisa Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Totally boring they should just sell the ticket for leaning tower of pisa. Not worth doing the walking tour.

Doing what: Pisa Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

Lewis F
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I accept that this tour was basic, but in total it lasted some 40/45 minutes. Other members of the tour agreed. Perhaps there is not much else to see in Pisa, but this tour as such should be taken off the menu. I have done Florence with you and that was much much better.

Doing what: Pisa Walking Tour: Cathedral Square and Piazza dei Cavalieri

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

I have no problem with the local provider. I blame Viator for not making it clear before paying and getting confirmation on the skip the line pass. Besides the fact the price is over double if you go get tickets on your own. There was a set time to do the tour. I was on a cruise ship and could not stay in Pisa all day waiting for an afternoon skip the line pass. I went ahead and went to the ticket office for the tower walked right up, no line at all and got in the next group to climb the tower. Will not be using Viator again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This was disappointing. We did get our ticket to go up to the tower, did a walking tour of the city which was not that big an area but we never went inside the Duomo as it stated in the description of the tour:
•Head inside Duomo di Pisa and admire the cathedral’s Romanesque architecture

I wouldn't recommend this tour to anyone. You could get your tickets to the tower some other way and you would come out cheaper.

Doing what: Pisa Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Leaning Tower of Pisa Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message