Pisa ATTRACTIONS See all

Leaning Tower of Pisa

The Leaning Tower of Pisa is one of the most famous structures in the world – not because of its gently rising series of arches, but because of its legendary tilt. Constructed as the bell tower to accompany the cathedral, the tower began to shift ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A very good guide and very helpful with extra information re Pisa

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We wasted a time at Pisa to get the ticket and claim the Tower.
Please do not use this people service

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much easier getting these tickets in advance. We walked right up at the appointed time and had as long as we wanted in the tower. It was so hot that day I thought that I'd expire before I reached the top but the views were worth it. We took the train back and forth from Livorno and I would have liked to spend more time in Pisa.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

the whole tour only takes about one hour, as pisa is not a bit town. these tours are a must to get your bearings.

Doing what: Pisa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the highlights of my trip! We took the train from Florence to Pisa, which cost 10 Euros each way. Train ride was around an hour, then we walked to the city center, which took about 20 minutes. The tour was great and gave us insight into the history of Pisa. Going up in the Leaning Tower was incredible!

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour of the major points in Pisa

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Our visit to Pisa once we went into the tower was great but finding the tour guide was really hard and I called the office to ask about this only to find that the italian person at the office in Pisa was incredibly rude and hung up on me not once but TWICE!!!!!
Finally a second person at the office answered the phone and was able to send a guide to find me...
Never again will I book a tour for Pisa with Viator!!!

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Ticket should be provided for the time convenient to traveller. But this is not the case with Viator tickets and with my experience too. Following are the two negative points I would like to highlight :
1. There was no option of time selection while booking the ticket. So the first thinking goes with traveller mind is any time on the selected date is possible.
2.I accept that a Time is given in the voucher. But it looked like an example to get a voucher on the ticket date. Nowhere it is mentioned as meeting time.

On the whole, this ticket sale is very misleading to a traveller. Its total waste of money. There is nothing special or great with Viator to recommend to others. I have lost 150 Euro by booking the tickets through Viator. I don't see any benefit to book ticket through viator.. Pisa tower official website is much cheaper and convenient.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Directions for where to meet the guide was confusing. Only people familiar w/Pisa would know where Marin Square is located. Fortunately, we met someone from Pisa who was able to help us find it. Correct info should be "under the arch at the entrance closest to the bapistry at the Field of Miracles."

We started at Filed of Miracles, then walked elsewhere, then returned to Field of Miracles to go to the Learning Tower. This made it very disjointed.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Not good at all as we never go to have the tour! The operator was not there! We waited for over an hour and a half and no one showed up. We were directed to the building to speak with a tour operator but was told there was nothing they could do as it was not their tour. We continued waiting outside the bar where it stated our tour operator would be but no one showed up! I spent all this money to go on the tour of the Leaning Tower of Pisa for nothing, I would appreciate having my money returned!

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Purchased the ticket and it covered the Church and the Tower. It was fun walking up the steps and seeing the beautiful view. Pisa is a lovely city. The church is amazing and a must see

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Timings vary very much from that projected on the online " important info". So if you plan to go to pisa from another city, say Firenze, do the bus tour and go back, be wary of the timings change. Only the Pisa stop is worth getting off to visit. Rest of stops have nothing much to get off, enter and see.

Doing what: Pisa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Bit pricey for what you get. The tour was actually only an hour long, the guide was friendly spoke good English and had some interesting facts. You are then dropped off at the tower with "skip the line tickets" where we had to queue up, only to be told that our tickets don't allow us entry before 5 and to go wait 10 minutes and then join the back of the queue again, so they are far from skip the line tickets. We only bought this tour as we were in Pisa for just a few hours and worried that there would be a massive queue. Both the ticket queue and the queue for the tower were tiny so wished we just waited and paid half the price on the day.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

When I booked the ticket online it did not at any time advise me that a time of day for the visit would be imposed by the e-ticket. Had I known this, I would not have gone ahead with the booking as I was given a ticket for a 4.45/5.00pm visit when I only intended to be in Pisa until approx 2pm.
The 'skip the line' is misleading as you still have to queue outside the tower with the other 50 people (approx, I counted) who will be climbing the tower at the same time. The person issuing my ticket did not advise me that I could not take my hand bag into the tower so after queuing, I got to the entrance only to be turned away and told I had to go to the bag storage area and get rid of my bag. I then had to queue again!
This was not a good service and poor value for the extra money I paid. I would have been better going to the ticket office first thing that morning and obtaining a ticket which suited my needs.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very nice experience at Pisa,I and my wife thoroughly enjoyed our trip,the guide was very informative and friendly,it was a very pleasant environment out there,climbling the tower's 294 steps was amazing and it was a nice way to sum up the pisa experience,skipping the huge lines was doing the same was a great feature,overall a very very nice experience.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I booked the Pisa online whilst in Pisa and received a time slot for 5.00 pm. On arriving you are taken through to a seating area in the centre of the tower whereby we were given a short talk on the tower. Unfortunately for us it was not very clear nor professional the guide did not engage with any of his customers and looked totally bored of the whole experience. It just felt like another day another tour. We took our time climbing the steps, they were not as steep as we had expected - we therefore didn't find it as difficult to climb as we thought. We took our time taking pictures on the way up and enjoying the views from the side windows. However, I would advise making your way to the top fairly quickly. Once we reached the top we were informed we only had 5 mins to look at the view and take photos. The time allocated for the whole process was only 15 mins. We had spent 10 mins climbing and taking photos so we did feel a little rushed. Had we known this from the onset and maybe if the guide was clearer in his instructions we would have climbed straight to the top with only a couple of rests. The view however, is lovely and seeing all the seven bells in situ was also lovely to see. Overall, seeing the leaning tower of Pisa and taking the steps to the top has to be done if you are visiting.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

the tour was good, we actually only bought the tour for the Tower tickets. If travelling to Pisa by train check the timetable and get a taxi to the meeting point.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic. Short walk around Pisa was lovely.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pisa tour was fantastic . It is a great experience and we like the skip the line tour.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed our walking tour. We learned a little of the people of Pisa, who fled to Sardinia, beautiful area concentrated around the leaning tower.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Pisa tour was Ok but it was supposed to be in two parts but one of the tours was not running so we just had the long one.
This was fine although apart from the leaning tower area we did not think there was a lot to do.

Doing what: Pisa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to get to walk up the leaning tower of pisa without waiting in line!

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

To be clear, it isn't a tour - it is just the receiving of pre-ordered tickets to climb the tower (which is superb on its own!). Our Contact was there at the agreed time, gave us our tickets and was off in a minute after. It suited us but if you want any tour or commentary, this is not for you. My only negative is that we weren't able to request a particular time, only a day. I added a request to get tickets for after 11am (so we actually get to Pisa) but the tickets were for 4:30 in the afternoon. We managed to spend the time on the amazing Field of Miracles but consequently got to Lucca later than was desired.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

It was a tag along with another tour group which didn't bother us. Our guide was from Pisa so she was very passionate about the history and very informative. Being able to climb Pisa was the highlight. The marble steps are very slippery so be careful if you wear sandals

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A great day spent in Pisa well worth a visit, also great to skip the line good communication with tour operator.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message