There’s plenty to do and see in the coastal town of Playa del Carmen. Originally a quiet fishing town, the now thriving tourist destination has undergone lots of development in previous years. Located on the Riviera Maya, its close proximity to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cherise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The experience was great!! There were so many thrilling things to do.

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park

Jamie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome time, I highly recommend the nighttime package, no lineups and very fun at night!

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park

Deborah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

More awesome than Vegas shows. The dinner presentation itself was spectacular.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® from Playa del Carmen

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A - MAZE - ZING.
This place was the best thing I did on my vacation! a must do

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Eula O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing show...great experience

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® from Playa del Carmen

pittstravel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This show was FANTASTIC!! A total not to miss experience.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® from Playa del Carmen

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Joya was an amazing show - it delivered such an unforgettable array of scenes and actions that we'll be talking about it for months now. Since we've been back home we have raved about this show continuously. We are incredibly glad we went!

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® from Playa del Carmen

Samantha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING!!!
because you arrive at the park at 5pm the crowds have gone so you have time to go on each activity twice. the rafting is horrible! i hated that. but the ziplining is amazing! they let you go as a single or couple, i was dreading the ziplining but felt so safe and the staff were great. The photos you receive are amazing. The vehicle is great, that was my husbands favorite activity.
We did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment on the food, but the drink machine near the main heart was broke.
Overall brilliant little trip if you love Adrenalin

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park

April G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My boyfriend and I took this adventure and absolutely loved it. We are in our early 50s and felt right at home in taking this tour. I would recommend this adventure. It was a lot of fun and the food was very good. Kudos to your staff. Very good experience.

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park

edgardoap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome time. Plenty to do at this adventure park. Enjoyed the zip lines and underground rivers/caves. Pick up and drop offs were on time.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Naomi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

transportation was very comfortable

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Dean J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the greatest trip we have had throughout our whole 10 day trip. It was so amazing.

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park

Raul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well coordinated with schedules!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Erika A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Overall both trips well organized. Buffet that came included in the Chichén Itzá trip was not impressive, but not completely terrible. Only other thing that could have made it better was for the tour company to allow guests to sit in the front row of the bus rather than use them for guide's bags.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up at 7am and taken by tour bus to the Xcaret Xperiencas transfer center, then took another tour bus to the parks Xcaret and Xplor are right next to each other, which are another hour away, so it was almost 10:30 by the time we got into the parks.
Xcaret is like a small zoo with some activities. We swam the 50/50 swim half caves, half outside and it was beautiful, but crowded. I didn't bring a towel, but luckily you can rent one at the park. There are several different shows, both during the day and later in the evening if you want to stay we took the 4:30 bus back to the hotel, but you can stay until 9:30 if you want to catch the shows. It is a LOT of walking but not as much as Xplor, so wear the most comfortable shoes you own. The best part of the day was the shark swim, where we snorkeled with nurse sharks. You learn about them and get to pet them, then you swim with them for about a half hour.
Xplor was much more active. I probably shouldn't have done most of the activities since I have back problems, but I did them anyway because I'm stubborn. We did all 14 ziplines, including one waterslide and three ziplines into waterfalls/cenotes, so be prepared to get wet! Also, be prepared to walk and climb stairs until you can't move. We also did the rafting and the ATVs, which are really just golf carts the track is incredibly bumpy and they don't go very fast, but it was fun all the same. Admission includes all day access to the buffet, which was not bad.
General notes for both parks: The other tourists were really inconsiderate, but that's just people being people - from pushing through lines to smoking in covered common areas. Both parks have RFID-triggered cameras everywhere, so if you like to pose, this is your chance you can buy a USB with your pics on it for about 75. The bus home takes you directly to your hotel, so it's a much shorter trip than the morning ride.
Overall we had a great time both days. Enjoy!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Russell D C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My nephew and I really enjoyed the food tour,our guide Ivan was a very knowledgeable about all the culinary treasures we visited.The local venders were so eager for us to try there delicious food.

Doing what: Mexican Street Food Crawl in Playa del Carmen

Brendamorais09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

SO MUCH FUN!!!! Ziplining at night is really an unforgettable experience. Workers were awesome, and the park is super cool! A MUST DO!

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park

Leah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great show. We have been to many Cirques and this one was every bit as good as the ones in Vegas. The dinner was fun and delicious. Every thing had a bit of whimsy about it. My only complaint is with Viator themselves. We had called Joya about ten days before our arrival to confirm the transportation. Joya had no record of our reservation. I called Viator and they said that the dinner was not available for the night we chose. We luckily had another night free. If it had not been for us calling Joya, we would never have known because we got nothing from Viator. No email, phone call nothing. My advice is to double check your booking with the venue before you leave.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® from Playa del Carmen

Ravonne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had an AWESOME time!! Be ready to do a lot of climbing stairs if you do the zip line, but it's well worth it! The lunch buffet was great and there are hammocks to relax when you need a break. I would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

EXCELLENT!! Truly enjoyed the show, there is no bad seat in the house, the small theater was built just for Joya. We have seen many Cirque shows in Vegas, Orlando and back home and this was one of the best. A small intimate setting with amazing performances. Highly recommend catching this if you are in the Playa del Carmen area.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® from Playa del Carmen

Rebecca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I attended Joya show on March 4th -2015 and after seeing Kooza in London i must say I do prefer Joya, perhaps for me it was easier to understand the spanish and english content of the show hence i enjoyed it to the maximum... it was a shame that it is only 1h 20min show but over all best cirqus de solei by far.
Thank you

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® from Playa del Carmen

Katalin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Do not miss this opportunity to get to know a bit of real Mexico! Thank you to Ivan our guide for a wonderful evening of delicious food, from taco stands, street vendors, small restos etc. tequila tasting a bonus at the end! A true highlight of our week in Playa del Carmen!

Doing what: Mexican Street Food Crawl in Playa del Carmen

Brae W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park

Jeremy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a lot of fun. Food was good at both places. Transportation was good but long. I didn't realize we would have to pay more to do other activities in Xel-ha, as I thought everything was covered in the voucher.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message