Playa del Carmen’s scenic Caribbean coastline and close proximity to historic ruins draw travelers in search of a truly Mexican experience. Whether its wandering the streets of this once small fishing town, heading below the surface on an epic scuba ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Was worth every dollar. Even my girlfriend said it was the highlight of her trip and our trip included everything from dolphin swim to xel-ha and myan pyramids

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Xel -ha was beautiful and a great park for the entire family. We had a great time and would highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a fabulous experience at Xplor. What a well designed and well run adventure, in the middle of the Mayan jungle, no less. Worth the money!

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was great, the scenery unrivaled, and Xel-Ha a great way to relax in the water after our hot tour of the Tulum ruins. Well worth it!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a great time snorkeling, swimming with the dolphins and trekking. The food was awesome. I would love to do this again

Doing what: Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We went to Xplore on July 14th and had a fantastic time. Zip lining first thing is the way to go as the lines get longer throughout the day. By saving the water activities for the heat of the day, you are best able to cool off. Be prepared for a lot of walking, but the trails are beautiful and well worth the walk. Swimming in the lava tubes was one of the favorite activities, though some in our group would say the zip lines and others would say the amphibious vehicles. The river rafting takes lots of upper body strength as you only have paddles on your hands and aren't far enough down to the water to be very effective, so it was probably the least favorite, but still enjoyable. The staff was incredible and the buffet was great! This is an activity we would enjoy doing again and again!

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Took advice from other reviewers and made the tour as our only stop of the day, Way too much fun to be rushed! We did everything and ended up having lunch at 4pm---excellent food by the way. A lot of walking. Unlike our group, give a thought to your walking shoes at the locker area. Once you have shut that door, it is too far to walk back!!! All the employees were outstanding---went way out of their way to help us. Very clean place. Few lines but does get more crowded in the afternoon because of late arrival people. Never irritating about the crowds. Everyone having a blast!

Doing what: Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This adventure is awesome!!! We really enjoyed the zip lining and the ATV circuits, we have done that twice, then the river rafting too.

Food are good and satisfying, beverages are great. Xplor staff are friendly and helpful. It just takes an hour and 10 minutes from our hotel in Cancun to the XPLOR park.

Enjoyed very much the whole days spent @ XPLOR...and might do it again next time.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We are all four Deaf Couples and other people have a wonderful time in there. Everything is beautiful. Thank you !!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is just an awesome place to see. The tour company did a wonderful job. Our guide was fantastic and lunch was delicious. One word of advice, take the umbrella they offer you to use when you get there. It can be insanely hot and there is not a lot of shade when walking around the ruins. You will be amazed how much that helps.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Snorkeling is the best part of this trip. Do bring a water proof camera for the exotic fish and zip lining. All the restaurants had delicious meals and ice cream for the children. Bring some cash for the trip for the snorkel deposit and eco bug spray for the horse fly.

Doing what: Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is probably the best way to explore not only the amazing Maya ruins of Coba, but also to catch a glimpse into the everyday life of the Maya people living in the low jungle of the Yucatan peninsula. Our driver and guide, Saul, who by the way, is super fun, picked us up at 7 and took us directly to a small Mayan community called Esmeralda. There, the shaman, Don Benjamin, performed a very beautiful and moving purification ceremony, in which he asked the gods for protection and permission, so that we could later swim in the local cenote. This cenote, about 14 meters deep, with clear, amazing water, is in the middle of the village and can be access through a wooden staircase. In is partially covered and partially open, so that the daring ones can choose to jump straight in, from a rock some 15 meters above. We were provided with towels, life vests and swimming floats.

After Esmeralda, we stopped at Laguna Chabela, an even smaller Mayan community, home to maybe 3 families altogether. There, we visited these hospitable people’s houses and kitchen. Dona Aurelia, the matriarch, was making corn tortillas and invited us to try some, which we gladly did, accompanying it with fresh made, spicy salsa.

During our tour of the Mayan communities, young boys kept snapping pictures of us, as part of a project. At the end of this part of the trip, you can purchase all the photos, from both locations, copied on a CD. We did, and are quite happy with our decision: not only did we get some 60 pictures of ourselves, but also amazing snapshots of the local flora, fauna and landscapes. We also got a recording of the purification ceremony.

A word of advice: if you want to buy a genuine piece of Mayan craftsmanship, make sure you visit the modest shops in these villages. What you can find here is not only authentic and cheap, but you know that by buying these objects, you are giving money directly to the community and not to some middlemen.
After this, we stopped for lunch, included in the trip price. We had very tasty local food and refreshments. From there, it was off to Coba, where a guide gave us a tour of the ruins. We left with plenty of time to rent bikes and go to Nohoch Mul. Climbing this very high pyramid is an amazing experience in itself, though not for the faint-hearted.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! My wife and I enjoyed this day trip on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the sites. The lunch and the swimming in the afternoon was great too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message