Playa del Carmen’s scenic Caribbean coastline and close proximity to historic ruins draw travelers in search of a truly Mexican experience. Whether its wandering the streets of this once small fishing town, heading below the surface on an epic scuba ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 226 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip- the tour of the ruins was informative; it is only 3 hours (which seems like a lot until you realize how much actually there is to see) and it would have been nice to have some additional time to walk around on your own but it was really great. The lunch was good- definitely try to the corn ice cream. Swimming in the cenote was a highlight and fun; definitely a unique experience. Definitely recommend for any first timers to the region/looking for something interesting to do.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nice small group that felt comfortable (12 ppl ). We got off the Ferry and we met by a person who drove us to meeting area/tour group. The ride was safe and my husband and I were happy that we didn't have to drive. The tour guide was knowledgeable. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommend this tour! The sites are breathtaking, and the staff fantastic! Jesús, Samuel, José and Amado couldn't have taken better care of us or done more for us, and it's wonderful to get to see such a fascinating place as Chichén Itzá without having to worry about the logistics. It's a 12 hour day and make sure you bring your camera!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the tour and it was small and private. What a great tour guide. He was so knowledgable and was able to get us into the parks efficiently. His information on Tulum and the Mayan Culture awed all of us. We met special friends on the tour also. We LOVED Xel-Ha and would spend the whole day there with our snorkels and vests just swimming, eating and drinking. Anyone taking this tour just know that the bus picks you up but takes you to a central destination before you board your private van. Just a bit more time FYI.
we loved our tour guide!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was amazing and we'll def. go back! People from experincias xcaret are very nice!

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Xel-Ha and Coba Ruins in One Day from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best service ......Beautiful areas........The tour personnel was on time, knowledgeable and most importantly very friendly and very funny......I will definitely recommend this tour to all my friends and family

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Richard B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

"Saul" our tour guide provided a well rounded experience by visiting two Mayan villages, a ceynote and the historic site of Coba. Great combination of physical activity and learning. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed the tour of Tulum but wish we had more time at the site. Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about the culture of the Mayans.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was great, the scenery unrivaled, and Xel-Ha a great way to relax in the water after our hot tour of the Tulum ruins. Well worth it!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We are all four Deaf Couples and other people have a wonderful time in there. Everything is beautiful. Thank you !!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is just an awesome place to see. The tour company did a wonderful job. Our guide was fantastic and lunch was delicious. One word of advice, take the umbrella they offer you to use when you get there. It can be insanely hot and there is not a lot of shade when walking around the ruins. You will be amazed how much that helps.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is probably the best way to explore not only the amazing Maya ruins of Coba, but also to catch a glimpse into the everyday life of the Maya people living in the low jungle of the Yucatan peninsula. Our driver and guide, Saul, who by the way, is super fun, picked us up at 7 and took us directly to a small Mayan community called Esmeralda. There, the shaman, Don Benjamin, performed a very beautiful and moving purification ceremony, in which he asked the gods for protection and permission, so that we could later swim in the local cenote. This cenote, about 14 meters deep, with clear, amazing water, is in the middle of the village and can be access through a wooden staircase. In is partially covered and partially open, so that the daring ones can choose to jump straight in, from a rock some 15 meters above. We were provided with towels, life vests and swimming floats.

After Esmeralda, we stopped at Laguna Chabela, an even smaller Mayan community, home to maybe 3 families altogether. There, we visited these hospitable people’s houses and kitchen. Dona Aurelia, the matriarch, was making corn tortillas and invited us to try some, which we gladly did, accompanying it with fresh made, spicy salsa.

During our tour of the Mayan communities, young boys kept snapping pictures of us, as part of a project. At the end of this part of the trip, you can purchase all the photos, from both locations, copied on a CD. We did, and are quite happy with our decision: not only did we get some 60 pictures of ourselves, but also amazing snapshots of the local flora, fauna and landscapes. We also got a recording of the purification ceremony.

A word of advice: if you want to buy a genuine piece of Mayan craftsmanship, make sure you visit the modest shops in these villages. What you can find here is not only authentic and cheap, but you know that by buying these objects, you are giving money directly to the community and not to some middlemen.
After this, we stopped for lunch, included in the trip price. We had very tasty local food and refreshments. From there, it was off to Coba, where a guide gave us a tour of the ruins. We left with plenty of time to rent bikes and go to Nohoch Mul. Climbing this very high pyramid is an amazing experience in itself, though not for the faint-hearted.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! My wife and I enjoyed this day trip on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the sites. The lunch and the swimming in the afternoon was great too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message