Playa del Carmen’s scenic Caribbean coastline and close proximity to historic ruins draw travelers in search of a truly Mexican experience. Whether its wandering the streets of this once small fishing town, heading below the surface on an epic scuba ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A - MAZE - ZING.
This place was the best thing I did on my vacation! a must do

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Faye C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tulum was magnificent! We had a fantastic time at Xel-ha, definitely a must try!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very good tour. Tulum is a beautiful place to go and visit Mayan ruins. Xel-Ha offers the best snorkeling spot where you can see tons of fish and don't have to worry about currents. We even had a couple of non-swimmers in our group and they were able to sit on the steps and watch the fish swim around their feet. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

With his encyclopaedic knowledge, Alfredo was in inspiration to anyone wishing to gain an insight into Mayan culture and heritage.
This was a true privilege and one which we will always remember.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Vicky B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is an amazing tour!!! Tulum is fascinating and Xel-Ha was wonderful - I would go back there all the time if it wasn't an 11 hour flight away! Its very scenic and the water activities like the zip lines and lazy river are so fun. With this tour we had all-inclusive food which was actually really yummy in the restaurants we tried.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

edgardoap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome time. Plenty to do at this adventure park. Enjoyed the zip lines and underground rivers/caves. Pick up and drop offs were on time.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Nancy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family of 4, including 13-year-old twins, took this tour on July 28, 2015, and would highly recommend it to others. The tour operator, Cancun Passion, provided prompt pick-up at our resort and brought us to a central location to meet the coach. We were served coffee, juice, fruit and pastries, which made for a pleasant trip. We had a restroom/shopping stop for about 30 minutes prior to Chichen Itza, where we purchased some lovely crafts. Chichen Itza was amazing!! Our guide, Tony, provided excellent explanations of sites before we were given free time for pictures and lunch included in the price, aside from drinks. The history and sites are not to be missed!! We had an amazing cenote swim before heading back. This is a long day, but well worth it. The staff was professional and personable from start to finish. Tony taught us so much about Mayan history. This tour is highly recommended. Once again, I have had success in booking an excursion through viator!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Michele O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I want to first acknowledge the local tour company who viator works with or who was at least the assigned local tour group. Evelyn was so accommodating and super nice. The email sent from Viator says to contact the local tour group 48 hours in advance. This, in my opinion, was not highlighted very well. We were also traveling on the 48 hour mark. So we did not contact them in time for our Monday tour. The company rescheduled us with no problem. Seeing the ruins is highly recommended. Our tour Cancun Passion was also fantastic. The guides Noe and Fernando were fabulous. Noe cares more about the history and is very knowledgeable. If you just want to take pictures you don't really need a guide. But it was really informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Danny O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love it. I recommend taking the bikes to the beginning of the river. Great smirking! Service was very nice. All kinds of activities while cruising down the
River. Tulum was very interesting. Love all the history behind it. Our tour guide was very informative when we were
There.but slept on the drive

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Christine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Tenecia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tulum and Xel -Ha all inclusive trip was one of the best excursions if you are staying in Cancun, Riviera Maya or Playa Del Carmen. You cant beat that it all inclusive and round trip transportation from your hotel is included. Tulum was our first stop and it was impressive to see how well preserved the Mayan ruins have been kept. Our tour guide David was very knowledgeable on the Mayan People and how they lived. He even quizzed out group on certain aspects of history. I do recommend taking bug spray, sunsceen and an umbrella because there is very little shade and a lot of walking. David did provide us with water at the beginning of our tour. Of course people are selling all of these items once you get there for a nice price but you will need the bug spray. After Tulum, our next stop was to Xel- Ha. This was truly a lot of fun in the sun. The staff, food and drinks were awesome. Lockers, towels and snorkel gear was all included. Snorkeling was so much fun and just floating in the river was really relaxing. We hopped on the bikes feeling like a kid again and met Deer on the trail. That was an eye opener. It was really breathtaking to see some people swim with the dolphins and with the stingrays. The tour through the cenote was adventurous. If this is your first time visiting I do recommend both trips to get the experience and history of the Mayans. If you just want the fun and adventure, then just book the all inclusive Xel-Ha trip. You will not regret the fun and food that you will have while there.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very educational and fun excursion. The tour guide was awesome. He shared information in both English and Spanish. The all you can eat and drink buffet was awesome! Swimming at the sink hole was definitively a unique experience. Be sure to bring your beach things. The ride was a bit long 2.5 hours each way, but well worth it. Truly a must do excursion.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Kayla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Tulum guide was highly knowledgeable and spoke English very well. He allowed for stopping in shade. Learned a lot about the Mayans. Xel-ha was awesome. Good food and drinks. Bring shoes for Tulum! Only con is that our transportation ran 30 minutes late on what we were told. A bit annoying.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Matthew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Our Guide Alex was informative and nice. Arrived at our resort on time. Ruins were imressive as were the Mayan families we went to visit.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Ravonne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had an AWESOME time!! Be ready to do a lot of climbing stairs if you do the zip line, but it's well worth it! The lunch buffet was great and there are hammocks to relax when you need a break. I would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely awesome! Our tour guide, Saul, was very entertaining and knowledgeable. This tour includes some really unique and personal experiences that I don't believe many tour companies are offering. We were taken into rural Mayan peoples' homes, blessed by a Mayan elder, and allowed to swim in a sacred Cenote sinkhole which was a highlight of the trip. I strongly suggest jumping off of the high ledge into the water because it is one of the most refreshing experiences I've had in my life, and the water is so deep there is nothing to worry about. Lunch was delicious and all you can eat! The Coba ruins are, of course, stunningly awesome as well. Climbing to the top of the tallest pyramid was scarier than I expected because the steps are very steep, but it was totally worth it. Take advantage of the opportunity to climb to the top of this pyramid before they discontinue that option! It is the only Mayan pyramid that still allows it, so there is no telling when they will stop. Overall, this tour is a 10 out of 10. You will really enjoy it if you have any interest in the Mayan culture or just different cultures and customs in general.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Heidi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tulum- amazing, but it was hot. Tour guide was really informative.
Xelhal - GO ! Fun place but lost my waterproof disposable camera :( lots to do and really good food

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Yvette P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! The views are so beautiful from the cliff and the water is so clear and blue. Perfect timing this spring break. The history on the Mayan Temples and how it was built. tips is to take a camera and water and of course walking shoes its quite a hike. I cant wait to come back to visit. It was an experience in a life time.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

wjolson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful trip Because we were over an hour drive, to this excursion, we chose this combined offer. We did feel rushed at Tulum and ran out of time enjoying the fun in Xel Ha. Both rate high in our books but would have done better as a full day at Xel Ha. Can't wait to go back!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

negrete432000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire tour was nicely arranged, from taking the ferry to Playa Carmen and back. The driver was waiting for us at the dock and drove us to Chichen Itza. He was very nice and helpful. Our tour guide at Chichen Itza did a fantastic job of explaining the history - very enjoyable. Our lunch was lovely. Great food and service. All in all a great tour!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

William L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent, well-informed and patient guide. Good bus and safe driver.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip- the tour of the ruins was informative; it is only 3 hours (which seems like a lot until you realize how much actually there is to see) and it would have been nice to have some additional time to walk around on your own but it was really great. The lunch was good- definitely try to the corn ice cream. Swimming in the cenote was a highlight and fun; definitely a unique experience. Definitely recommend for any first timers to the region/looking for something interesting to do.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Pamela U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nice small group that felt comfortable (12 ppl ). We got off the Ferry and we met by a person who drove us to meeting area/tour group. The ride was safe and my husband and I were happy that we didn't have to drive. The tour guide was knowledgeable. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message