Whether it’s dipping below the ocean’s surface, riding the epic waves or exploring incredible ocean reefs, Playa del Carmen proves a wet water wonderland for travelers who love sun, sand and sea. It takes some serious skill to hang ten, but ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The catamaran and snorkeling was amazing. We saw a couple sea turtles and our guide made sure we received a great tour of the reef. We were lucky that the weather was terrific, but also lucky that we had such great guides for our trip. We will definitely use "Fat Cat" tours next time we want to snorkel. Thanks for the great time!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a lovely outing. Alex was really nice, and very helpful--he made sure our glasses were never empty! Mack and Lisa(?) were also super nice and very accommodating. Unfortunately, the weather was not clear enough for us to actually see the sunset, but we had a wonderful time regardless. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an awesome tour! Lots of fun activities but also relaxing.

We were transported in a comfortable van to the Oasis Maya private cenotes. These cenotes are not open to the public so it was never crowded. We had about 10 in our group. There are other groups but they stagger them through the various locations so it never seems crowded or rushed.

The tour provides two towels, a mask and snorkel, and food and drink. I highly recommend you bring water shoes. Also they don't want you wearing sunscreens or insect repellant as it might damage the ecosystem. Mostly you'll be in the shade so sunscreen is not needed and I had no problem with mosquito's even though I'm usually a magnet for them. Our guide explained that they plant neem plants around the cenotes which acts as a natural insect repellant.
You'll be taken to several sites throughout the day. The roads between the sites were dirt and very bumpy. The facilities at each site were very nice with changing rooms, bathrooms, and eating areas. They were like little jungle oases. At each site you'll be given a life vest to wear.
The first site we went to we rappelled into. The rappelling was easy. You just sit in the harness and they lower you down. The next site we got to snorkel and kayak.
At the third cenote, we got to zip-line into the water. We were able to do this multiple times. At this site we had a nice lunch. Finally we went to the last cenote, where we got to zip-line again, followed by a leisurely swim down a long open cenote.
Our guide was very good and spoke perfect english and spanish. He was very informative about how the cenotes are formed. A photographer comes along to take pictures. You can buy a flash drive with the results for $79.
All in all it was a great day. It does involve activity and swimming so you have to be up for that, but it’s nothing too intense. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xenotes Oasis Maya: Cenotes Adventure from Playa del Carmen

Glynis O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

this is the second time we have used the fat cat and this wont be our last. Everyone is just great, from the owners to the lovely crew.... Sammy who keeps the glasses filled and the rest who keep the party atmosphere going... just great. Cant recommend this trip enough... I urge you to do it.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous trip. The crew were friendly, accommodating and very welcoming. The views were spectacular and the whole experience felt more like a party on board a friend's boat rather than an excursion. The selection of drinks and food provided was excellent. This was a fabulous tour and excellent value for money.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip, great atmosphere and superb views. A must do for everyone visiting the are!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great day out on the water - I would recommend!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Lunch and Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Loved it! Saw a big sea turtle and stingrays! bring anti sea sick pills!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This was my first time swimming with dolphins and it was everything I expected and more! My favorite thing was the foot push - they are one strong animal!

Doing what: Puerto Aventuras Dolphin Royal Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Great day with the dolphins. It is a memory that will last a lifetime. You gat up close and personal with the dolphins. The lunch is nothing to write about but that is fine because the personal moments with the dolphins is worth it.

Doing what: Puerto Aventuras Dolphin Royal Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

One of the best catamaran trips i have ever been on in the Caribbean. The crew were 1st class and were constantly supplying us with drinks and were so helpful and great fun. Snorkeling in the crystal clear sea and wearing the 'nappies' have a beer in the open water was fantastic. You have to do the trip to find out what the 'nappies' are!!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

this was one off the best experience i have ever had on holiday

Doing what: Puerto Aventuras Dolphin Encounter

ANDREW H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

What a fun and memorable trip!

Doing what: Puerto Aventuras Dolphin Encounter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

It was fantastic, you should try it.

Doing what: Puerto Aventuras Dolphin Swim

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We had a fantastic time on the catamaran adventure. The crew was entertaining. We actually saw sea turtles while snorkeling. Our guide was the best ensuring everyone who snorkeled had the opportunity to see the sea turtles and the beautiful tropical fish. The “boom net” on the way back was a total blast. If you are looking for a fun filled day in the beautiful Caribbean waters, this is your tour!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message