Whether it’s dipping below the ocean’s surface, riding the epic waves or exploring incredible ocean reefs, Playa del Carmen proves a wet water wonderland for travelers who love sun, sand and sea. It takes some serious skill to hang ten, but ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Oh my goodness!!!! What a fantastic day!!!!! Helois our guide was absolutely amazing - he kept us informed about all the cenotes and also laughing all day! My children and I were the only English speakers in out group but we NEVER felt ignored or that we were left out. Freddie our photographer was amazing and 100 would absolutely encourage this tour!!!! It was the highlight of our trip to Mexico!!!!!

Doing what: Xenotes Oasis Maya: Cenotes Adventure from Playa del Carmen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing trip!! The car picked us up promptly!!! The catamaran itself was beautiful and the crew was so friendly and accommodating! We had a great afternoon 2-6 and the pictures we were able to take were awesome!! We had an amazing time snorkeling - saw lots of fish, 2 sea turtles, coral reef and sting rays! The crew even caught a tuna which we all took photos of. Then we went to a natural swimming area where we were able to jump off the side of the boat and swim around. It was a trip of a lifetime and a fantastic way to celebrate my husband's birthday!!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour which can not be missed! We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Xenotes Oasis Maya: Cenotes Adventure from Playa del Carmen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great afternoon out. The caves are amazing and the trip was a great success for the family. There aren't many caves you can go into in the UK which aren't a 'no go' area! We spent about 1.5 hours swimming and walking through the caves. An fantastic experience. The food that was included later wasn't great. There was lots of it and it was warm but there wasn't a great selection.

Doing what: Río Secreto Nature Reserve from Playa del Carmen

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

it was a great trip to cozumel i had a great time thank you

Doing what: One-Way or Round-Trip Ferry between Playa del Carmen and Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip as far as it goes is one of the best that i've made till now. The boat was very nice, the crew was amazing very friendly and happy people they even managed to catch a Dorado on our way back. It was really nice trip.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The catamaran and snorkeling was amazing. We saw a couple sea turtles and our guide made sure we received a great tour of the reef. We were lucky that the weather was terrific, but also lucky that we had such great guides for our trip. We will definitely use "Fat Cat" tours next time we want to snorkel. Thanks for the great time!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a lovely outing. Alex was really nice, and very helpful--he made sure our glasses were never empty! Mack and Lisa(?) were also super nice and very accommodating. Unfortunately, the weather was not clear enough for us to actually see the sunset, but we had a wonderful time regardless. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an awesome tour! Lots of fun activities but also relaxing.

We were transported in a comfortable van to the Oasis Maya private cenotes. These cenotes are not open to the public so it was never crowded. We had about 10 in our group. There are other groups but they stagger them through the various locations so it never seems crowded or rushed.

The tour provides two towels, a mask and snorkel, and food and drink. I highly recommend you bring water shoes. Also they don't want you wearing sunscreens or insect repellant as it might damage the ecosystem. Mostly you'll be in the shade so sunscreen is not needed and I had no problem with mosquito's even though I'm usually a magnet for them. Our guide explained that they plant neem plants around the cenotes which acts as a natural insect repellant.
You'll be taken to several sites throughout the day. The roads between the sites were dirt and very bumpy. The facilities at each site were very nice with changing rooms, bathrooms, and eating areas. They were like little jungle oases. At each site you'll be given a life vest to wear.
The first site we went to we rappelled into. The rappelling was easy. You just sit in the harness and they lower you down. The next site we got to snorkel and kayak.
At the third cenote, we got to zip-line into the water. We were able to do this multiple times. At this site we had a nice lunch. Finally we went to the last cenote, where we got to zip-line again, followed by a leisurely swim down a long open cenote.
Our guide was very good and spoke perfect english and spanish. He was very informative about how the cenotes are formed. A photographer comes along to take pictures. You can buy a flash drive with the results for $79.
All in all it was a great day. It does involve activity and swimming so you have to be up for that, but it’s nothing too intense. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xenotes Oasis Maya: Cenotes Adventure from Playa del Carmen

Glynis O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

this is the second time we have used the fat cat and this wont be our last. Everyone is just great, from the owners to the lovely crew.... Sammy who keeps the glasses filled and the rest who keep the party atmosphere going... just great. Cant recommend this trip enough... I urge you to do it.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous trip. The crew were friendly, accommodating and very welcoming. The views were spectacular and the whole experience felt more like a party on board a friend's boat rather than an excursion. The selection of drinks and food provided was excellent. This was a fabulous tour and excellent value for money.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip, great atmosphere and superb views. A must do for everyone visiting the are!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great day out on the water - I would recommend!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Lunch and Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Loved it! Saw a big sea turtle and stingrays! bring anti sea sick pills!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

One of the best catamaran trips i have ever been on in the Caribbean. The crew were 1st class and were constantly supplying us with drinks and were so helpful and great fun. Snorkeling in the crystal clear sea and wearing the 'nappies' have a beer in the open water was fantastic. You have to do the trip to find out what the 'nappies' are!!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

this was one off the best experience i have ever had on holiday

Doing what: Puerto Aventuras Dolphin Encounter

ANDREW H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

What a fun and memorable trip!

Doing what: Puerto Aventuras Dolphin Encounter

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We had a fantastic time on the catamaran adventure. The crew was entertaining. We actually saw sea turtles while snorkeling. Our guide was the best ensuring everyone who snorkeled had the opportunity to see the sea turtles and the beautiful tropical fish. The “boom net” on the way back was a total blast. If you are looking for a fun filled day in the beautiful Caribbean waters, this is your tour!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I really enjoyed this tour. The crew made the afternoon enjoyable. Lunch was very good. It was a fun day.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I've been on several catamaran tours, and they are all just a little bit different. Lunch was great, and the ride was fun. The crew kept it lively. The crew almost caught a fish off of the back of the boat. We witnessed sea turtles swimming next to us and Dolphin.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We did two very unique things that I have never seen before -first was the ability to ride the net on the back of the boat - A MUST do for anyone! The second extremely fun part was being deposited in the water with our "life jacket diapers" - this is when you turn your diaper upside down and put it through your legs - you can bob around the ocean in your "diaper" while having drinks thrown to you from the boat! What a great day!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We went on the most fantastic catamaran tour from Puerto Aventuras, a marina south of Playa del Carmen. Our host was very entertaining. What was truly the best thing I have ever done on any tour, was to ride on the boom in the back of the catamaran! It was essentially a large net that we held onto while the boat was driving. It was an absolute blast.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The snorkeling was superb and we got a guided snorkel excursion where we actually saw sea turtles up close and the coral was beautiful. The final component was a nice swim off of the boat where the crew threw us beer while we bobbed around on our life preservers. It wasn’t just a typical catamaran ride but really unique. We all had a great time.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Mike A
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The best tour I have ever gone on!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

What a very pleasant day, cruising the beautiful sea, meeting fellow vacationers was fun in itself! The crew was at all times conscious of safety, and determined to show us a good time as their guests. They rescheduled our trip and gave up their scheduled holiday just to insure us better weather and more fun. They went above and beyond for us!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message