Port Douglas ATTRACTIONS See all

Daintree Rainforest

Gorges, tumbling rivers, pristine rainforest, and rugged mountains – the Daintree Rainforest is a pristine environment with a World Heritage listing. Stretching from the Lower Daintree south of the Daintree River, north to Cape Tribulation and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brandon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great way to see the animals and scenery of the Daintree. The wildlife sanctuary was a highlight, would have loved to spend a bit more time here. The crocodile cruise was excellent, guide was very informative and we were able to see 3 crocodiles. The scenic parts of the tour were brief but provided enough time to get a sense of the area. I appreciated how we were one of the few groups in the areas at the time, it never felt too crowded. Our driver / guide Russell was excellent, he had a good sense of humour while also keeping the group well on schedule. Make sure you eat breakfast before the tour, it is awhile until the lunch break.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I thought this tour was fantastic. Our guide was an aboriginal woman who was very open when answering questions. First we went out into the water with our spears and one of our group speared a crab - into the bucket it went. We didn't see other crabs but we moved on to various other mussels and clams in the mangroves. We had quite a bucket of food when we headed back. This was cooked and we ate it as a sort of morning tea. I am not big on shellfish and everything was delicious. In addition to what we had caught, he cooked up a fish soup and some fried fish, some bread and some muffins. It was all great. From there we went to the Daintree for a quick lunch - we were running late - and then our guided walk. I was concerned about this because the tour description made a big deal that you needed to be in good shape. That was only partly true. You do need to be steady on your feet and able to walk up and down rock steps but the walk is somewhat leisurely so walking more slowly than others was not an issue. We were shown lots of interesting plants. Back at the visitor center there was an enormous spider but they said it was not poisonous. I highly recommend this tour! It was very informative and well-done.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

JB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful day......Daintree rainforest was amazing, great lunch at Cape Tribulation, trip on the Daintree River where we saw some crocodiles.
Our guide Daniel made the day absolutely fantastic for us all...a great big thank you Daniel.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An excellent taster experience of Daintree and the cape! Magical places and a great, knowledgeable driver and tour guide in Daniel. Would definitely recommend to all wanting to explore the area - and then head back to Cape Tribluation to spend the whole day on that beautiful beach.

Doing what: Daintree and Cape Tribulation Tour from Cairns

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Daniel was lovely. Picked us up from our Port Douglas hotel and drove us to the animal sanctuary. A nice touch when he gave us all a pack of biscuits to enjoy as we visited the sanctuary.
Mossman Gorge its beautiful and many of the tourist were swimming in the Gorge. Daniel gave us a guided tour of the area. He was very knowledgeable.
We then travelled to Cape Tribulation beach. The roads on this section of the journey are very uneven. Take travel sickness medication!
Cape Tribulation was a beautiful clean beach and the hotel where we had dinner was very casual. We both opted for the steak option and were very glad. It was delicious. All of the other food also looked lovely.
We then travelled to the Daintree River where we boarded a crocodile spotting boat,after getting some sweets from Daniel. Again the tour guide on this boat the driver was very knowledgeable and took us to see baby crocodiles and a very large male crocodile. We also saw many other creatures including beautiful blue Kingfisher birds and crabs.
Daniel and the bus were waiting for us at the other side of the river and we then travelled back to Port Douglas. He was also taking groups back to Cairns.
I would recommend taking this tour from Port Douglas if you are staying there as it is quite a long journey from Cairns.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Kent C H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous! Spending the day learning so much about the Daintree Rainforest and the Aboriginal Indigenous People with wonderful teachers and guides in a small group. A must trip for anyone interested in Aboriginal culture!

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

Phyllis H K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Definitely 5 stars! Our guides were knowledgable and friendly. Our small group made the day easy and the two halves--Cooya Beach and the Daintree Rainforest were a superb combination. The lunch was exquisite and the final stop at Jambah Gallery was the perfect ending to a memorable day.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent sequence of events in the Daintree. The wildlife park was perfect- great interaction with kangaroos and wallabies. Zip line was excellent- good safety techniques, incredible fun and great views from one platform. Wish it was longer! Crocodile boat tour was a nice ride but only saw one 1-year old crocodile so disappointing, but not controllable. Our driver was awesome- informative and funny!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Roy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip! Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide for the day, which made it more interesting and personal. Daintree and Mossman Gorge were very interesting and easily accessible. Great meal at Cape Tribulation which is beautiful. Trip suitable for all ages. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved it and especially the Wildlife Sanctuary. The river cruise was a bit of a disappointment as we only saw one very small crocodile. But the ride up and through Daintree was spectacular and the beach at Cape Tribulation was lovely- enjoyed the stroll along the sea. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was such a good time, I felt safe with all the instructors. I wish it was longer, even those there is six platforms I enjoyed each and every minute of this excursion. I also enjoyed the Wildlife Habitat I was able to hold a Koala and have my picture taken it definitely checked off from my bucket list! The Daintree was a great experience even our tour guide was the epitome of Australia, loved each and every minute of it, I def. recommend anyone who comes to Cairns to do this!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The whole family had a great day, From the moment we got picked up and went to the wildlife habitat the crew were fantastic, the Zip lining was a rush even the wife that is scared of heights but by the end she was having a ball. The Daintree cruise finished the day off well.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The driver/guide was very friendly and attentive, also gave out commentary during the drive about the different areas which was interesting. The Wildlife Sanctuary was okay and probably would appeal more to overseas visitors not familiar with our wildlife, still worth a visit though.
The trip to Mossman Gorge, Daintree Rainforest, and Cape tribulation was spectacular. The drive to Cape a Tribulation was a long one but worth it. The lunch at Cape Tribulation was very nice, I had the fish and it was good, the steak looked good as well.
The boat ride on the Daintree river was a highlight for me, we were able to find and get close to many crocodiles of different sizes sunning themselves on the river banks.
Overall I enjoyed this tour and had a great day and would recommend it to anyone visiting thus area.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed this tour! There are 4 Ziplines included in this tour in which although they are not long in length, it is very exiting to zipline from one platform to the other. I'm alittle afraid of heights; however, I personally enjoyed this experience. The ziplines are located in the Rainforest which are beautiful to see! Small groups of 8 which allow you personal time with the instructors. You are "tied off" with 3 lanyards during the entire adventure so safety in this package is well practiced! Our group included ages from 10 (kids) to 60 (mature adults) average. We all had a great time and laughed alot and this package is for ALL AGES! Also - Great views of the ocean front on the drive from the city to the Daintree location!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Gabriela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a great tour!! Very busy day and was able to see heaps of exciting sites! Ulysses butterflies at Mossman Gorge, Cassowaries at the Wildlife Habitat AND in the wild at Daintree, and we saw several crocodiles on the river.

Daniel, or driver, was really great. Gave us wonderful information on each location, and was very nice to speak with. He made sure everyone was having a great time and was very accommodating.

Cape Tribulation Beach House, where we stopped for lunch, wasn't all that great. Food was average. Beach was gorgeous. I'd recommend you go with the fish if you're getting lunch - steak looked very plain and it wasn't a great cut of meat.

Make sure you take sunscreen, water, and insect repellant.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

laurshannon Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were very impressed with the Daintree tour and would do it again in a heartbeat. Our guide Shane was incredible. We loved every part of it and felt we really got our money's worth!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Zoe K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best trip ever!!!! Daniel our tour guide was very friendly and keen to talk and get to know everyone on the tour. The day was jam-packed of fun things to do! I loved the rainforest habitat, you could get up close and personal to the animals and the staff were great! Daintree rainforest was one of the most beautiful places ive ever seen and then we had a great time chilling on the beach at cape tribulation!! After that we headed up river by boat to go crocodile spotting! So much fun! One of the best trips ive ever done!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Alan Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a must do when in Cairns !! Our tour leader, Shane, was pleasant, knowledgeable and engaging - a really nice guy. The scenery is spectacular and beautiful (especially Mossman Gorge). The drive through the rainforest with the canopy overhead and along the Capt. Cook highway is breathtaking. We enjoyed seeing cassowaries close up and looking for crocodiles on Daintree river. Lunch was a steak, chips, salad and fruit at Cape Trib. Beach House - much more than I expected ! This is truly a great day out and not to be missed !!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Una M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A great day. Sean, our driver guide was very good. Good lunch. Saw crocs on the Daintree River.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We had an amazing day! The tour guide was very informative and "eagle eye" Dan on the Daintree River Cruise was a master at spotting Australian wildlife.

Doing what: Daintree and Cape Tribulation Tour from Cairns

Sharon C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Had a brilliant day. Well worth doing this trip. Fed kangaroos at wildlife sanctuary, beautiful beach at the caep tribulation. Good food and saw crocodiles on the Daintree river. Rainforest walk interesting too

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Barry B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We are so pleased to have at last seen the Daintree. There's no way we could have done this trip under our own steam! Our driver and guide was very friendly, very personable and so full of information to keep us focused all the way there and back. Morning tea, I was pleased to see, wasn't served in a sterile glass & chrome monstrosity. I'm not sure how old the building was, but I thought it had seen a good few years and looked comfortably settled into it's surroundings. That was a tick from me. A welcome surprise for us ladies was the Captain of our Daintree River boat cruise. No fair dink-um Aussie could have done the job better than this tanned Italian hunk with the so cute accent, and we were supposed to be concentrating on crocodiles! I didn't get his name. Also our guide who took us on the canopy walk, crammed as much information as he could into the short time we spent with him. We left knowing he had so much more to tell. The BBQ lunch in the bush setting was delicious, vegetarians catered for. Another tick. We got safely back to our hotel despite a tree nearly falling on our moving bus! Just that last bit of excitement to add to a great day.

Doing what: Daintree and Cape Tribulation Tour from Cairns

Stephanie J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a great tour. The rainforest habitat was a small animal park that allowed for close contact with the friendly animals there. Mossman Gorge was beautiful and will apparently not be able to be accessed for much longer, so great to see while it was still possible. Cape Tribulation and the Daintree were absolutely incredible. The visit to Cape Tribulation allowed for some nice swimming, relaxing on the beach, and a great lunch at a nice hotel. It was actually very private out there, too! The cruise down the Daintree was great, it seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere and we got to see a lot, including a very large crocodile sunning on the shores. It's a long day, be prepared for long car rides and maybe bring some snacks along, but it was comfortable and informative with a friendly driver who took care to make sure the day was great. Bring your cameras, a lot of beautiful sights!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a small group of 20 people on a bus. At age 65, I was the oldest on the tour, but I was comfortable with the pace and experiences we had. Most of the participants were younger than I. Our guide did a WONDERFUL job! He made us all feel comfortable, was knowledgeable, safe and had a good sense of humor. He was clear on the schedule of the day. I loved the visit to the Rainforest Sanctuary in Port Douglas, especially feeding the kangaroos. The meal at the Cape Tribulation Resort was delicious. The cruise on the Daintree River was interesting and our guide was very good. This tour was an excellent value and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This is a great tour. Our tour guide was very informative and funny. Daintree rain forest is an amazing place.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message