Low Isles is a small coral cay off the coast of Port Douglas. Lying on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef, it’s a fabulous spot for snorkeling and diving, thronged with hard and soft corals, tropical fish, reef sharks and turtles. Cruises ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent - Viator was not! We arrived just prior to the scheduled time but our names was not on the list. There was no evidence of our booking which had been pre-paid. The cruise company were fantastic. They got us on the sail the next night and gave us additional complimentary drinks. 5 stars.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Was really well planned. Great safety chat and instructions prior to sailing and snorkelling. Was a great experience to get so close to the wildlife at the island. The lunch provided was even better than expected and really topped off a great day

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect for the beginner snorkellers. The only thing is that it takes 2hrs there and back. It certainly wasn't a rough ride as we went to the inner side of the Great Barrier Reef. The people running the tour were excellent, the food was lovely and we're glad we chose this option.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour. We loved every minute of it. The crew were very friendly and experienced. Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both myself and partner enjoyed the cruise and recommend it to everybody. Thankyou

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guided snorkelling off the Low Isles was great as was the guided walk of the island, glass bottom boat tour and snorkelling off the back of the boat. A great lunch was provided and the staff were helpful and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very professional staff. Lucky to have very low numbers. Great day out. Food good. Boat new and modern, good marine biology talk

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent trip to inner isles. Saw turtles and swam with black tipped sharks which was interesting!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Staff was not as interactive and informative as we would have hoped. However the boat was comfortable and the snorkeling was exactly what we were hoping for. The crew seemed to cut the after lunch snorkeling session short and to spend that extra time driving the scenic route back to port. We would rather have snorkeled longer. The island tour was a waste of time.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was fantastic and Alex and Tammy were great. Very knowledgeable and made the day easy, fun and relaxing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Both Syd Tammy did a great job! Loved the snorkelling at Low Isles the trip there back was fun, despite the somewhat rough weather.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the best purchase of our trip. We did all three tours leaving from Cairns. Each day was different, going to different parts of the reef. I loved the Silver Swift as we were able to do the most snorkeling there. Green Island was nice and we saw several sea turtles there. But snorkeling was not the best. The pontoon was a longer boat ride away that what I like. However I felt the snorkeling there was the best. The coral and fish were so close and so many different kinds.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great trip. Accessing the reef from the beach is a great idea, especially for those that are not that confident in the water.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Port Douglas a place I could live fantastic catamaran the food was delicious and plentiful the crew were very professional, really interesting tour of the low isles by the marine biologist a whole day and worth every penny.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

If you book threw book me com au page you can find many discounted deals, it will come out cheaper then this.
i didnt save any money on this package

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great and very knowledgeable staff; friendly and helpful. The glass bottom viewing boat was rather disappointing because we were expecting it ot be thw one, or similar, as shown in the advert photos and was the reason we selected this specific tour. Dispite that, it was a nice day!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Service was amazing, great value.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fab day and well organised! Picked up from hotel which was good as we were outside if Port Douglas just ring them to ask for pick up should do it! Megan, Greg and Steve on board were great and very knowledgable. Snorkelling was great with chance to do more after lunch!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I spent 3 days snorkeling, at 3 different locations. It was incredible. Here are my thoughts on each.

1) GREEN ISLAND: Day 1 (from Cairns)
The island was really pretty, and it was nice to relax on the beach between snorkeling. The highlight of my day was when I encountered a group of sea turtles. They were very friendly an allowed me to follow them around and touch them. Overall I found the reefs and marine life to be underwhelming at this location. The coral was not as expansive or colorful as it was at the Outer Barrier Reef.

2) OUTER GREAT BARRIER REEF: Day 2 (from Cairns)
The outer reef offers deeper water and larger coral structures. There is more marine life to explore here, as compared to Green Island.

3) OUTER GREAT BARRIER REEF: Day 3 (from Cairns)
Despite getting sea sick, this was my favorite day of snorkeling. What made the experience was the company I was with: Silver Swift. The crew was incredibly friendly, and very informative about the best spots to explore. They also took their time to brief the group with printed pictures of things that we might see underwater. The photographer told us that we might encounter a fish named Nigel, who has been seen at the same location for several years. We did in fact encounter Nigel, who was a labrador sized, purple wrasse. Nigel was trained like a dog and would allow the photographer to position him for some photos that were unclose and personal. Awesome day!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The night we went the weather was rough, people were sick everywhere. So choppy couldn't walk around. But, our group had a nice time. Nice staff and very welcoming. The sunset was beautiful.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message