Low Isles is a small coral cay off the coast of Port Douglas. Lying on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef, it’s a fabulous spot for snorkeling and diving, thronged with hard and soft corals, tropical fish, reef sharks and turtles. Cruises ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

marie-helene d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice day on a catamaran with a small group. Very nice staffs.
Snorkeling and stay on a small island, with free time. We saw turtles and nice corals.
Lunch on board before going back to Port Douglas.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Tong G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The cruise staffs were very friendly and helpful, the view is beautiful, great experience over all.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Tong G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience, cruise staffs are extremely friendly

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Lolo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour so much!! We wished we had stayed longer in Port douglas,we would have booked the full day tour as well!!the catalaran was great and the crew on board were so nice ,friendly and knowledgeable about the reef and the marine life,great atmosphere onboard,great food as well.
Top experience!!

Doing what: Afternoon Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Audrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyable day at the ref. Comfortable journey and a nice lunch. Help with snorkelling if required and variety of activities

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an excellent trip and the crew were great.

We decided to do the glass bottom boat trip first,
then return to the catarmaran for lunch before
venturing onto Low Isles in the afternoon.

Would definitely recommend hiring one of the
all-over lycra suits for 8AUS as this stopped us getting
sunburnt, and allowed us to still swim in the water around
the isle, even as we did not paticipate in the snorkelling.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Marek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing day sailing and snorkeling on this cruise. Nice sail boat with very friendly and helpfull staff. You travel with a relative small group of people and you arrive first on the reef where the snorkeling takes place. This is before the place is overwhelmed by tourist of the bigger boats and cruises. Great food for lunch and good instructions when snorkeling. Saw a lot of turtles and beautiful fish.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Sail Away staff were very helpful, organised and knowledgeable. We were provided with stinger suits as well as snorkeling equipment and the staff were very encouraging for beginners as well as informative for more experienced snorkelers. The lunch provided was excellent and the trip very sociable with such a small group.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

William O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Superb location and well organised throughout.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

MARY B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

it was great. staff are very helpful. lunch was ideal.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Andrina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

this 3 day pass is a big bang for your buck! on first day, i did the great adventure's outer great barrier reef at moore reef. the amount of marine life there is staggering. you will get to meet wally, the maori wrasse at the outer reefs. he's like a giant puppy- he likes getting petted and he follows swimmers around in the water.

on the second day, i hopped on the silverswift scuba diving boat to check out 3 different sites around flynn reef. it is a more intimate boat- unlike my cruise with great adventures' 150 passengers- this boat has no more than 85 folks. this is also the ultimate boat for divers- both certified and introductory dives are offered here. i learned how to scuba dive for the first time ever and loved every minute of it!

on the last day, i joined the oceanspirit caramaran at michaelmas cay. if you don't know how to snorkel, this is a great beginner session. your boat will stop several meters away from the cay and a boat buggy will ferry you to and from the beach. warning: this cay is inhabited by migratory birds so the first thing that greets you to the beach is the smell of bird poo.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Judith S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fabulous day - excellent facilities and wonderful lunch!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Ivor F D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

we got changed from the low isles tor the outer barrier reef trip becuase if lack of numbers to the low isles biut the change was well worth We were upgraded withoout any extra cost good weathr and a gra day

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Mouhieddin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First class all the way. The service was impeccable and the sites visited were outstanding. The skipper was very professional and friendly. Great sailing on the day of our visit to low isles. Our guide was very knowledgable and took the time lead the group to grant snorkelling sites. Overall an outstanding day

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Daphi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful tour! Everything was lovely, the weather, the onboard lunch and the staff on board! Perfect location for snorkelling too
I recommend everyone to go on this amazing tour!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Peter G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A 45 minute boat trip out to this beautiful island. Whilst the boat was full it doesn't take many to fill it up, but on arrival there were other boats moored in the same area so that part of the reef was very busy, and obviously a little murky with so many swiming in thew same area. Watch for the tides, when we arrived the tide was on the way out and by the afternoon snorkeling over the reef was a little difficult.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Pervy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Recommended activity-very relaxing and well organised

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Robin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Absolutely perfect day! I was definitely out of my comfort zone, but the folks on this tour made me feel at ease. Nice facilities on the boat and a great staff.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Sweety

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a day!!! Having been on the larger tours to the outer reefs in the past, ignore them and go on this one. Much better to be on a luxury smaller Catamaran, with an excellent skipper two great guides in and out of the water and superb lunch onboard afterwards. To see Turtles in their natural environment, a stunning coral reef, fish and blacktop reef sharks made the day one to remember for ever.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Joyce F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very pleasant day spent aboard a well appointed, beautiful boat. The glass bottomed boat tour was excellent - Troy was very knowledgeable and we say turtles and giant clams in addition to the corals. The Low Isles are just beautiful and it was a fantastic experience!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Leanna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Booked as a gift for my parents. They rated it highly, an wonderful trip!

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Jack L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Most bang for the buck! All of these tours were super and about half the price......loved them all, especially the last that included 3 separate reefs to dive/snorkel. Best deal ever!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

zorro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

These tours were just amazing. Viator picked the best tour companies in Port Douglas and Cairns. We did the Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from both Cairns and Port Douglas. We liked the trip from Port Douglas better, but both were amazing and included a great lunch.
We also did the Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas which visits the Agincourt Reef platform and includes an amazing semi-submersible submarine with spectacular views of the reef.
All three tours were great and are highly recommended

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Randi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It had all we wanted to see!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message