• USD ($)
  • English

Port Douglas ATTRACTIONS See all

Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary

The Wildlife Habitat Sanctuary gives you the chance to see Australia’s animals up-close in their own habitats. Conservation, sustainability and education are all priorities at this very special wildlife habitat. Rainforest, wetlands, grassland ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a great tour!! Very busy day and was able to see heaps of exciting sites! Ulysses butterflies at Mossman Gorge, Cassowaries at the Wildlife Habitat AND in the wild at Daintree, and we saw several crocodiles on the river.

Daniel, or driver, was really great. Gave us wonderful information on each location, and was very nice to speak with. He made sure everyone was having a great time and was very accommodating.

Cape Tribulation Beach House, where we stopped for lunch, wasn't all that great. Food was average. Beach was gorgeous. I'd recommend you go with the fish if you're getting lunch - steak looked very plain and it wasn't a great cut of meat.

Make sure you take sunscreen, water, and insect repellant.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The sanctuary animals were very tame and did many adorable things. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The included food was great, I'd recommend the barramundi over the steak, though. You get to eat lunch just meters away from Cape Tribulation.You will feel slightly rushed, as there is a lot to see, but if you have your camera ready you will be fine.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best trip ever!!!! Daniel our tour guide was very friendly and keen to talk and get to know everyone on the tour. The day was jam-packed of fun things to do! I loved the rainforest habitat, you could get up close and personal to the animals and the staff were great! Daintree rainforest was one of the most beautiful places ive ever seen and then we had a great time chilling on the beach at cape tribulation!! After that we headed up river by boat to go crocodile spotting! So much fun! One of the best trips ive ever done!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The trip was great. Our driver / guide was informative, helpful and entertaining. We did a lot and saw a lot. Loved the Habitat and could have spent more time there.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Awesome opportunity to see loads of beautiful butterflies in a natural habitat, as well as seeing larvae and learning cool stuff. Unlimited great photos!

Doing what: Australian Butterfly Sanctuary

Sheila H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Lovely trip with an informative guide. Highlights were the Rainforest Wildlife Sanctuary, Cape Tribulation beach, the walk through the mangroves and the wild snakes and crocodiles on the river trip - all sights not seen at home! Biggest thrill was the wild cassowary in the mangroves apparently only 1500 left wild in the area and we saw one!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sarah E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

What a relaxing day out, our driver was very informative,friendly and easy to ask questions to. The wildlife sanctuary is a must see,lots of amazing birds and you can touch and feed the kangeroo"s.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Deborah D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

guide was terrific and knowledgable. lunch was tasty and served promptly. wildlife sanctuary was comprehensive and approachable. loved the cape trib walk - lovely beach. day wasn't too long and good for all ages.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Karon W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Excellent variety of experiences - especially the Rainforest Habitat

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sharon C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Had a brilliant day. Well worth doing this trip. Fed kangaroos at wildlife sanctuary, beautiful beach at the caep tribulation. Good food and saw crocodiles on the Daintree river. Rainforest walk interesting too

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Amazing trip to the rainforest and wildlife sanctuary. Tour guides were great, informative and very friendly. A walk through the rainforest and Cape Tribulation was nice and relxing, enjoyable scenes of nature. Handfeeding kangaroos and wallabies was extremely fun. The sanctuary gives the visitors a more intimate visit with wildlife.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a great tour. The rainforest habitat was a small animal park that allowed for close contact with the friendly animals there. Mossman Gorge was beautiful and will apparently not be able to be accessed for much longer, so great to see while it was still possible. Cape Tribulation and the Daintree were absolutely incredible. The visit to Cape Tribulation allowed for some nice swimming, relaxing on the beach, and a great lunch at a nice hotel. It was actually very private out there, too! The cruise down the Daintree was great, it seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere and we got to see a lot, including a very large crocodile sunning on the shores. It's a long day, be prepared for long car rides and maybe bring some snacks along, but it was comfortable and informative with a friendly driver who took care to make sure the day was great. Bring your cameras, a lot of beautiful sights!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a long day, but very enjoyable! The guide was informative and amusing. The stop for lunch was good. The wildlife sanctuary was our first stop, it was early so we had it practically to ourselves, brilliant for taking photos. Really enjoyed the cruise crocodile watching, and was fortunate to see quite a few, along with tree snakes, and various other wildlife.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a small group of 20 people on a bus. At age 65, I was the oldest on the tour, but I was comfortable with the pace and experiences we had. Most of the participants were younger than I. Our guide did a WONDERFUL job! He made us all feel comfortable, was knowledgeable, safe and had a good sense of humor. He was clear on the schedule of the day. I loved the visit to the Rainforest Sanctuary in Port Douglas, especially feeding the kangaroos. The meal at the Cape Tribulation Resort was delicious. The cruise on the Daintree River was interesting and our guide was very good. This tour was an excellent value and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The habitat wildlife sanctuary was a nice addition to this tour because seeing live animals, in between all landscape views. You go to some breath taking places. maybe some of the most beatifull places in the world, I would say. It's quite a long drive and difficult for people that quickly go car sick. Interesting comments from tour guide/driver.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message