Port Douglas: gateway to paradise. Or should that be paradises, plural. Because within ‘cooee’ of this little resort town lie some of the world’s greatest splendors: The Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree Rainforest. Day 1:  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 334 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The atmosphere was just wonderful; a beautiful evening in the rain forest! The food was exceptional, and the music and stories were an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had one of our best days on this tour. We picked up at our resort by Daniel and was entertained and enlightened all day. The Habitat Wildlife had all of the animals in a much more natural state. We were able walk among and have great photo opportunities. Daniel added a wealth of insight during our short walk in Mossman Gorge. The meal at Cape Tribulation was excellent. Large tree snakes on the river, crocs and birds that we had seen at the Habitat. He not only had his local tour information but added a working Aussie's perspective. One the the best value for the money days we spent.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We have a really great day, the small wild life sanctuary in Port Douglas was impressive, shame we couldn't see any Crocodiles close up but a great day all round.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fantastic............our tour guide (Shane) was great, provided brilliant commentary and insights to the local attractions, did above and beyond what you would normally expect of a tour guide (give Shane a pay-rise)...........Tom, Wendy and Tianna (Dianella - Western Australia).

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip, you see a lot in one day. However, you don't get to spend too much time at each place listed.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this, the animals are up close and personal.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A long day, alot of travelling but well worth it. My favourite part of the day though, was feeding the kangaroos in the Wildlife Sanctuary - it was early in the morning and they were obviously hungry and enjoyed the attention. When we went elsewhere, it was later in the day, hot and they were all asleep!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Annette Y
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We really enjoyed the Bird/wildlife sanctuary, we had the chance to get up close to the animals. Mossman gorge was interesting with the rainforest walk. We swam at Cape tribulation, the water was warm and refreshing. Overall it was interesting, but not a highlight.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the best places in Australia... Trip was very enjoyable...

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing to see the animals in the dark. Added a spook factor having to use the flashlights in the zoo.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I spent 3 days snorkeling, at 3 different locations. It was incredible. Here are my thoughts on each.

1) GREEN ISLAND: Day 1 (from Cairns)
The island was really pretty, and it was nice to relax on the beach between snorkeling. The highlight of my day was when I encountered a group of sea turtles. They were very friendly an allowed me to follow them around and touch them. Overall I found the reefs and marine life to be underwhelming at this location. The coral was not as expansive or colorful as it was at the Outer Barrier Reef.

2) OUTER GREAT BARRIER REEF: Day 2 (from Cairns)
The outer reef offers deeper water and larger coral structures. There is more marine life to explore here, as compared to Green Island.

3) OUTER GREAT BARRIER REEF: Day 3 (from Cairns)
Despite getting sea sick, this was my favorite day of snorkeling. What made the experience was the company I was with: Silver Swift. The crew was incredibly friendly, and very informative about the best spots to explore. They also took their time to brief the group with printed pictures of things that we might see underwater. The photographer told us that we might encounter a fish named Nigel, who has been seen at the same location for several years. We did in fact encounter Nigel, who was a labrador sized, purple wrasse. Nigel was trained like a dog and would allow the photographer to position him for some photos that were unclose and personal. Awesome day!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The night we went the weather was rough, people were sick everywhere. So choppy couldn't walk around. But, our group had a nice time. Nice staff and very welcoming. The sunset was beautiful.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was such a great time and the staff was so friendly.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Shane, was an absolute pleasure and a treasure trove of information about the area, Australian history and current events as well! While the trip was delayed at times by some Spanish tourists who couldn't seem to mind the clock, everything else went very smoothly. We loved the Port Douglas Habitat Conservancy/Zoo, with the ability to feed and pet kangaroos, get up-close to all sorts of birds, see cassowaries and crocs and pet a koala. Apparently that's an optional portion of the tour for some on the bus, but I would say that this is an area that more time should be given, it's just so much fun. Going on up north and seeing the ruggedness, the beauty of the forest and the coast, enjoying a wonderful lunch and soaking up culture, in addition to seeing a cassowary in the wild, made this trip a pleasure and a bargain. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who only has a short time to spend in the northern wilds of Australia!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message