Think of Port Douglas and what do you imagine? Sand, sunshine, that tropical rainforest and a whole lot of beaches. If you’re visiting tropical north Queensland, as amazing is the rainforest is, sometimes you just can’t go past that beautiful ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip, weather not great so reef was not as colourful as can be when we were snorkelling, 3 or 4 reef sharks came in on us but were more interested in the small fish on the reef who kept jumping right out of the water trying to get away from the sharks, we were also lucking enough to see quite a few big turtles, great to see. The lunch on the boat was excellent and plentiful for all tastes followed by a tour round the reefs in a glassed bottomed boat especially for those who couldn't swim, this tour is a must do for all.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Great Barrier Reef is definitely a must see !!!!!
Beautiful trip out to the reef on a comfortable boat. Water was crystal clear with gorgeous colorful fish in the water. Had a great complimentary lunch aboard with ample time to snorkel or spend time on the beach.
Don't forget camera for fotos of the reef ...something you will never forget !
Highly recommend this tour !!!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Sheila H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Picked up at hotel, taken to Marina where we sailed out to the Lower Isles on a beautiful boat. Given all the gear for snorkelling plus lots of instruction and were accompanied out onto the reef. Saw coral, loads of fish and turtles then the highlight sharks feeding close to the beach - not when we were snorkelling thankfully! Lovely lunch on boat then sailed home in the sunshine - a perfect day.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Quicksilver is operated very well. After jumping on the catamaran, you are driving an hour and a half to the outer reef. During that time a marine biologist will give you a lesson in the animal life on the reef; if not, you can site inside near the coffee and biscuits or outside and soak up some sun. The platform on Agincourt reef easily accommodates the 100+ people on your catamaran.

The staff on at the dock, on the platform and on the boat are friendly and helpful. GET IN THE WATER IMMEDIATELY! After an hour or 2, the overabundance of suntan lotion and stirring up the waters, makes the water cloudy and reduces the visibility of the coral and fish. Rent a stingersuit (wetsuit) too- depending on the time of year you go, you can be surrounded by stingers. Don't worry about buying a rashie beforehand, the stinger suit is very affordable.
Spend the extra money on a helicopter ride too- you can do the 10 minute ride while you're there but I suggest taking the helicopter back to the mainland. There's nothing like the feeling of being swept away on a helicopter in front of everyone else--- you feel famous! LOL The pilot sweeps around several reefs and will help you spot turtles, rays, sharks, etc. Plus, it whisks you home in 35 minutes after a long day in the sun and water.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A great way to spend the day. Picked up at hotel and driven to the boat. Once on board the staff very friendly attentative and helpful. A marine biologist gave a talk on the area and the local wildlife. Safety run through was give for those snorkelling. The access to the water was fabulous for all ages and fitness levels and and the water was perfect. Take or hire a underwater camera. It is well worth it.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Well organized. NOte this departs ex Port Douglas so if you leave from Cairns you'll spend about 2-3 hours on the bus. Spend 3 hours cruising and 3 hours at the reef. Excellent service, semisubmersibles, underwater observation deck and snorkeling are all included and much fun. Options include helicopter ride, guided snorkeling, helmet diving and Scuba diving. One of the pricier tours available but worth every buck even the locals recommend this!.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Stunning day. Small numbers circa 35 max, great lunch and great service. We have done a 3 location snorkel only trip which was great, but this was a bit more all round, with a bit of beach time and chilling out! Boat is beautiful!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This particular trip was cancelled but we went on the Agincourt cruise instea: really enjoyed the snorkelling, even though it was hard work! The water was very clear and there were lots of fish to see.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

very nice tour with great experience snorkeling. However just a little remark: it is very difficult to snorkel from the beach and I prefer the trip to the pontoon as it was on the first trip.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The crew could not have been more helpful or supportive.

One concern. I had been on the same trip 20 years ago, and the coral within 30m of the platform was degraded and broken. The number of colourful fish were far less than last time and I was disappointed in what I saw. The first time I had brightly coloured fish swimming between my feet before I ventured in and it only got better.

The number of beginners was a concern. When I returned to the water I had trouble finding a space and got walloped with a spagetti support. Someone pushed passed as I was waiting for someone to move and personal space and manners seem to have declined. This may well be due to 300 passengers instead of 200. It may be a cultural thing, but not acceptable in Australia.

But I felt well looked after and save and the experience was good. The number of activities to do was good. I missed seeing the large cod fish (1 m) under the boat/platform that I saw the first time, but the environment wasjust not as good as then.
Maybe it needs to be announced where morning tea was ,,,I had no idea it was on and missed it.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Very nice and helpful crew! Went during low season and felt that it was just enough people. Couldn't imagine the crowds (up to 500) during high season. Areas roped off for snorkeling: wide enough area to explore but still felt safe with lifeguards monitoring. Optional add-on experiences, ranging from diving to a helicopter ride, are very expensive. Total time on the pontoon is just over 3 hours, so snorkeling and lunch was just fine. Lunch is alright and had more variety than expected. Underwater cameras available for rent ($25-75) if you don't have your own. Overall a very wonderful experience! Tons of fun for first-timers and more experienced alike.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The pontoon that you dock at is great. It has everything from showers, an underwater viewing room, semi-submarines, and a gift shop. The snorkeling was amazing. It was really easy to enter and exit the water. What a nice operation.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas

John B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

The sea was like a mill pond on the day of the trip so the journey out to the reef was so smooth and we didn't know we were moving. The crew were quite friendly and the food was very good with plenty for everyone. The water wasn't as clear as it could have been but it didn't spoil our snorkeling experience. A good day.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

I prefer a small number of people as the water directly around the boat was quite crowded, but if you swim to the edges of the area there were less people and more fish. A lot of bigger fish around and saw a barracuda on the semi-submersible trip. The buffet lunch is brilliant, plenty of food with a lot of variety.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message