Portland ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia River Gorge

About 16 miles east of Portland, the Columbia River Gorge stretches from Troutdale to Biggs on the Oregon side, and from Vancouver to Maryhill on the Washington side. An 80-mile canyon ranging from sea level to 4,000 feet, this National Scenic Area ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Magnificent views of the Columbia River gorge, waterfalls, Mt Hood, fruit orchards, and Timberline Lodge. Well worth the time and money. Our driver Steve did a great job with knowledgeable commentary.

Doing what: Mt Hood Day Trip from Portland to Multnomah Falls and Hood River

Tammy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We took the Columbia River Gorge and Waterfall tour back in Feburary, and it was just what we were looking for. Matt the guide, a local Portlandian, was extremely knowledgeable and fun. The luxury bus we road in was comfortable and relaxing, and it was even loaded with water and snacks. All the sights were absolutely gorgeous. The tour picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel, so we never had to worry about directions or parking! It's much more relaxing than trying to rent a car yourself!

Honestly the tour was a perfect combination of information and relaxation. Looking forward to traveling back to Portland when the coastal tours are up and running later in the year!

Doing what: Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls Tour from Portland

Leticia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour guide and fun city tour. You get to see so much and learn a lot about this great city in just one day! Colombia River Gorge views were beautiful!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

litadelahunty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is a must do, especially if you are a first time visitor to Portland! First, it's great that it includes hotel pickup and drop off. Our tour guide, Ron, was absolutely terrific. He gave us such a great overview of the city and we enjoyed his commentary on sights and attractions while he drove us around. The Lan Su Chinese Garden was beautiful and we loved the peace and calm of the place. The Pittock Mansion was also very nice and interesting. We had lunch in the Nob Hill District which we loved for its scenery and residential feel. The highlight of the tour for us was the Columbia Gorge area. The six waterfalls that we visited were breathtakingly gorgeous and spectacular. We had time for several photo opportunities, creating lovely memories for us. We highly recommend this tour, and the price is well worth it!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Kathryn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Truly an awesome waterfalls tour of the Columbia River Gorge! I was nervous about booking but am so glad I did. Our tour guide, Bryan, had a great personality! The bus was brand new and amazing. There was snacks and drinks and the tour was incredible. There was plenty of time at each waterfall. BOOK THIS TRIP!!!

Doing what: Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls Tour from Portland

Patti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour with Skyler, from the local tour operator. Picked us up at our hotel, right on time, transported us in a beautiful brand new van, through the Columbia River Gorge Falls. Skyler is an Extremely knowledgeable, magnificant scenery and beautiful falls. If your in Portland do not miss this adventure with this 1st class tour company!!

Doing what: Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls Tour from Portland

Tammy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Absolutely enjoyed the tour with our guide Matt. He is a Portland native and had a wealth of knowledge. My boyfriend and I got to enjoy all the stops without having to worry about parking or directions, which was the main reason why we decided to book a tour. I'm so glad to have booked the Columbia River Gorge Waterfall Tour, which picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel--Matt even provided water, drinks, and snacks! Definitely would recommend this tour, and I even hope to book the Oregon Coastal Tour with the same company when I visit during a warmer season.

Doing what: Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls Tour from Portland

Katelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderful tour. I highly recommend it. Without a car in Portland and not wanting to rent one, it's a very convenient way to get out of the city and see the Columbia River Gorge. The waterfalls are breathtaking, and definitely worth the trip even in the rainy winter. Brian, our guide, was very knowledgeable and easy to talk to.

Doing what: Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls Tour from Portland

Kiwi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the best time! My tour guide was so sweet, and very friendly. She picked me up at my downtown hotel, and I joined a small group of 4. The 5 of us were under 40 years old, so I thought her information about all the places we visited was very fun, and age appropriate. We visited the Columbia River waterfalls, and were driven through downtown Portland.
We were driven to the River, and got to stop at the Women's Forum, and Vista Point for some beautiful views. We went to see about 12 waterfalls since the weather was so clear. It was beautiful, and out guide knew so much history about each waterfall. It was very lengthy and informative. After the first half of the tour we made a stop for lunch at Portland's Food Stall Pod and had free time to eat. The second half of the tour was a city tour, and we were driven through Downtown Portland and got to see all the neighborhoods. Nob Hill, Brewery Blocks, Old Chinatown, Pearl District, Pioneer Place, basically every neighborhood downtown. The Chinese Gardens were closed, as well as Pittock Mansion, and the Test Rose Garden, but we still got to stop at each one anyway. These locations were closed due to renovations and the timing of the year not the tour company's fault so I thought it was nice that she drove us to those locations anyway. We got a chance to get out and walk around the Rose Gardens and Pittock mansion, so it was nice to see. She drove us to so many places and knew so much about the city.
Overall I thought it was a nice tour, I got a chance to get a glimpse of Portland, and view some beautiful scenery. I got lucky with my guide, and my group- all so nice! I would recommend this tour if you want to see Portland in a short amount of time. I planned to use the tour as an idea, and return to the places I was interested in the following day. It was very helpful. All in all, I had a great time, and made some friends along the way.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

cglidewell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour to Columbia Gorge was wonderful and tour guide outstanding! Area around Portland nit as great but still good.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A really fantastic day, so much packed in between the Colombia Gorge and the City, and our guide Ron Davies was so enthusiastic and knowledgable. Highly recommended for those visiting Portland!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Ronald L. G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Jamie was great. There were only four of us, so getting around was easy. She took us to beautiful sights along the Columbia River and then to the highlights of Portland. Her running commentary made the tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of our vacation in Portland! Our guide on the Columbia River Gorge tour was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and kept all of us engaged throughout the excursion. The sights were spectacular - I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour

Chloe J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour. Our bus driver/tour guide was very very knowledgable and friendly. We loved the columbia river gorge and visiting three waterfalls. Bus was comfortable and air conditioned.

Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really enjoyed by trip to the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and to the two vineyards we went to. We also had time to stop at an apple stand and taste different apples and cider. Brad was the tour guide and he is the nicest guy. Also very knowledgeable about the history and the area. I was the only one on the tour, so I was very happy they didn't cancel on me and gave me the whole tour just as if there was a crowd. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Wine Tour from Portland

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. I travelled to Portland on business but took a day out to see some of the city and this tour gave me all the information and sights I wanted to know. The trip was split into two halves almost, with the morning speaking in the Columbia River Gorge visiting the breaktaking waterfalls and scenic views and the afternoon visiting the city itself. Carrie our tour guide was very enthusiastic and helpful, she make the day much more enjoyable. Overall the tour captured all the highlights the city has to offer and I found myself passing on the interesting facts I learnt, to my colleagues during the week following. This tour is highly recommended and definitely worth the money. Thank you very much. Sarah from United Kingdom.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great way to see the Columbia River Gorge! Our tour guide, Daniel, was awesome. It's easy enough to drive and see the falls for yourself, but it was nice to have a guide give background information - it makes the experience that much better. One of the highlights of our trip. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Susanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to see the Columbia River Gorge. We saw all the sites without the stress of having to drive/navigate to each location. Also, we received a great overview from our tour guide along the way, including fun facts about the Portland area.

Doing what: Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend the Columbia River Gorge Tour. Beautiful scenery. Our tour guide, David, was awesome. You could tell he really liked his job - very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour

Brittney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was awesome. I would definitely recommend it! I went on it on Labor Day Weekend and there were a lot of tourists visiting the Columbia River Gorge so the bus trip was preferred because I didn't have to worry about any traffic or parking!

Doing what: Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide for the Columbia River Gorge was very well spoken and knowledgeable. He did the tour at an appropriate pace, and we learned a lot and enjoyed ourselves. That is why I'm giving the 5 stars. The hop on and hop off trolley wasn't so great because you had to ride all around the town to get to and from a destination making something like 12 stops along the way. It was easier to walk or take the city transportation to get around Portland.

Doing what: Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour

Eric B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Steve, our local guide, did an excellent job! He was informative, entertaining, and professional! I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get a good overview of Portland and the Columbia Gorge area. He was an expert at both areas having lived in the area all his life.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

mbrad80 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. The tour guide was outstanding. This is a seasonal tour that runs during the summer months and for a short period during fall weekends. If you are intererested in an excellent overall tour of the Columbia River gorge, I highly recommend this tour which is operated a local tour company in Portland.

Doing what: Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland

Wendy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was awesome. One of the highlights of my week in Portland. I arrived at the Pedal Bike Tours shop and was greeted by the friendly staff and outfitted with a bike, helmet and water bottle. They bring snacks and water refills on the tour. There was only one other person on the tour who was attending the same conference. While the tour size can vary from small to large, I was happy with the size as it was much more personal. Evan was our great tour guide. He drove us out to the Historic Columbia River Highway. We stopped at a fruit stand and picked up fresh berries. Next was the overlook and Crown Point Vista House. From here Evan unloaded the bikes, and we coasted downhill. Evan drove ahead, and we met at the next stop. I think we got back in the van once, but we biked from waterfall to waterfall with Evan meeting us at each stop. We saw Latourell Falls, Shepperds Dell, Bridal Veil Falls, Wahkeena Falls, Multnomah Falls, and Horsetail Falls. Quite a few of them had short hikes to reach the falls. Evan was knowledgeable about the history of the area, geology, plants and everything else. A walking encyclopedia. He says he doesn't look at his watch, or it stops being fun. He was very generous with his time, and we went an hour or two beyond the 5-hour tour. I recommended the tour to several other attendees who were staying on in Portland for a few days. Best day you will spend in Portland.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

At first we were going to tour Portland on our own, but after reviewing a guide book, we decided there was too much to see in the short time we had avaialable. SO the most eficient way was to book a tour. This tour was excellent and took us to the must-see places in the Columbia River Valley and the city. The guide was excellent and the places visited were fabulous. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message