Portland ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia River Gorge

About 16 miles east of Portland, the Columbia River Gorge stretches from Troutdale to Biggs on the Oregon side, and from Vancouver to Maryhill on the Washington side. An 80-mile canyon ranging from sea level to 4,000 feet, this National Scenic Area ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was excellent. He was very patient and accommodating. The tour of the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls was excellent! I will definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

As we had never been to Portland this tour was a must. However it would be better to do it in 2 parts. The city tour would be very helpful on arrival to give you the layout of the city. Columbia Gorge could be done on another day. Jet lag and time limitations suggested we do both together. Both are informative, not only covering places to visit but the history involved is fascinating. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and thoroughly professional. Recommended.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Hop-On-Hop Off Sightseeing Trolley was a great way to explore a city on a limited time basis. The narrators were very informative, and we learned a great deal about Portland's history. The Columbia River Tour was just amazing to experience, and our driver/tour guide Brian could not have been better--well informed in his narration and very accommodating as a picture taker! This was a great way to "do Portland" in two days.

Doing what: Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the Columbia Gorge part of the trip first, which is scenic, and we got to see four waterfalls. Our driver, Tom, was knowledgeable and interesting, as well as flexible, giving us some choices along the way about exactly where to start. Afternoon was the city, and I was impressed at how much we got to see, given we were driving around a large, busy city, with a great deal of traffic. Since we all moved along at a good pace, he was even able to throw in a couple of extras, including dropping us off at the Tram, then picking us up at the bottom to return us to our hotels. Great tour, great combo, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The experience was great. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and the selection of sights to see was chosen well. We had taken a different tour of the falls along the Columbia River gorge some years before, and that tour did not include the Bonneville Dam and associated fish hatchery (very interesting) but did include a lot of smaller waterfalls besides the two main attractions, Multnomah and Latourell Falls. Those smaller falls ended up being redundant after seeing the two biggies. This tour did not make that mistake, and it was better for it. Filling that time with the visit to the Bonneville installation was a great feature.

Doing what: Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland

Worrybob
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was just the most amazing day. The weather was perfect with a clear sky and about 17C temperature.Our Driver/Guide was so interesting all day. He didn't even seem to tire even after hours of entertaining us all. The Columbia Gorge reminded us of the Rhine in Germany. The view from the Mansion above Portland was just as the Viator picture depicts . Portland is such an interesting City. Looks like most Cities but acts totally different. A big sign in Downtown sums it up .HELP KEEP PORTLAND WEIRD. Enough said. A really interesting day.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Steve was an amazing and knowledgeable guide through the first part of the tour into the Columbia Gorge and falls, and Tom was excellent at talking us through the tour of the City. All in all a wonderful experience! I can't wait for my next tour to the Coast! Thankyou Steve and Tom. It was great!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an awesome day! Our guide, Clem took us to Columbia Gorge first (avoiding the holiday weekend traffic sure to happen had we left later in the day). We explored Portland and were treated to a few suprise stops. We learned so much, saw so much, and ENJOYED OURSELVES ALL DAY!! I will definetly use Viator again for my travel/tour needs. Thanks for the fantastic tour and great memories!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

To be perfectly honest I could have omitted the Portland city part of the tour as it's so easy to get around that city using the light rail system, assuming always, of course, that you're staying in one of the many CBD hotels. However, the waterfalls part of the tour - in the afternoon - was outstanding! More to the point, the waterfalls in full spate were wondrous to behold, and nature at its most awe-inspiring. And because our small tour group of nine was always on time the tour guide gave us an extra waterfall to enjoy, which we greatly appreciated. The Columbias Gorge AND its waterfalls should NOT BE MISSED!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

While this view featured some of the highlights of Portland, including the Chinese Garden , the Rose Garden,and Pittock mansion, that part seemed rather cursory. What really made the trip worthwhile was the Columbia Gorge area. The scenery was spectacular and our guide knew of hidden spots that many people don't so we enjoyed it even more. The waterfalls were still running and we visited several of them and had ample time to enjoy them. Our guide's knowledge of Oregon history enriched the trip and added to the enjoyment. We were a small group and that made the logistics easier. Lunch was at a restaurant in Director's Square, which we chose because it accommodated all of our dining preferences and because it was centrally located. The driver/guide was very familar with the whole area and the roads and we felt completely safe the whole time. I got so much more from this excursion than if I had rented a car and done it myself.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had an excellent time on our tour of Portland and the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls. Tom is a fantastic guide!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was well worth our time. Our tour guide went above and beyond to make sure that we saw the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and significant parts of Portland. He tailored it to the weather and the wishes of those on the tour. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My tour guide was Ralph. He was a long time resident of the city and boy did he know his stuff! We spent the first half of the tour driving around all the neighborhoods of downtown Portland. One of the stops was at the International Rose Test Garden which was beautiful. His knowledge of the City was impeccable and he answered every question I threw at him with ease. He shared insights into the City that I never would have been able to get out of the typical guidebooks. The afternoon was a drive to the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls which was stunning. We had plenty of opportunity to snap pictures at each of the waterfalls and never felt rushed. It was a full day's tour. My hotel pickup was at 9:00am and I got dropped off at 6:00pm. It was worth every penny.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My day-long trip was wonderful! My guide/driver was very knowledgeable about the history of the Columbia River, and the plants, trees and birds we saw along the way. He brought along some excellent coffee and homemade coffee cake for a mid-morning snack, and took me to a really good casual restaurant for lunch. I felt relaxed at all times--even though I'm normally a nervous passenger. It was altogether a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend this tour. I just wish I had taken along a camera. Thank you!

Doing what: Columbia Gorge Adventure from Portland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Columbia Gorge Waterfalls were spectacular and the sightseeing tour of the city was first rate. We were only in Portland for a short time so combining these two tours was certainly the best way to go for us.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message