• USD ($)
  • English

Portland ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia River Gorge

About 16 miles east of Portland, the Columbia River Gorge stretches from Troutdale to Biggs on the Oregon side, and from Vancouver to Maryhill on the Washington side. An 80-mile canyon ranging from sea level to 4,000 feet, this National Scenic Area ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was well worth our time. Our tour guide went above and beyond to make sure that we saw the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and significant parts of Portland. He tailored it to the weather and the wishes of those on the tour. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My tour guide was Ralph. He was a long time resident of the city and boy did he know his stuff! We spent the first half of the tour driving around all the neighborhoods of downtown Portland. One of the stops was at the International Rose Test Garden which was beautiful. His knowledge of the City was impeccable and he answered every question I threw at him with ease. He shared insights into the City that I never would have been able to get out of the typical guidebooks. The afternoon was a drive to the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls which was stunning. We had plenty of opportunity to snap pictures at each of the waterfalls and never felt rushed. It was a full day's tour. My hotel pickup was at 9:00am and I got dropped off at 6:00pm. It was worth every penny.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My day-long trip was wonderful! My guide/driver was very knowledgeable about the history of the Columbia River, and the plants, trees and birds we saw along the way. He brought along some excellent coffee and homemade coffee cake for a mid-morning snack, and took me to a really good casual restaurant for lunch. I felt relaxed at all times--even though I'm normally a nervous passenger. It was altogether a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend this tour. I just wish I had taken along a camera. Thank you!

Doing what: Columbia Gorge Adventure from Portland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Columbia Gorge Waterfalls were spectacular and the sightseeing tour of the city was first rate. We were only in Portland for a short time so combining these two tours was certainly the best way to go for us.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The scenery was absolutely breath-taking. The Columbia Gorge Waterfalls was amazing!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

One hidden aspect of this tour is the small size of the groups. We were part of a 6 person group. I am not sure if they are all this size, but I got the feeling that it is set up this way for many of the tours. I felt I received a great overview of Portland. I also felt that I got to see some of the important waterfalls of the Columbia Gorge. Because of the size of the group our guide, Tom, was able to adjust to our interests and the weather. It was a bit wet, but not less enjoyable.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour of Portland, Oregon. My guide was very knowledgeable and he explained a lot about Portland on the city tour morning half. We went to two mansions and the international rose test center and he explained a lot about how the town was formed and the people who contributed to Portland's development. He also gave restaurant recommendations and a good overview of the city in general. The drawback was on the city tour there were a lot of people...probably too many for the van we were driving around in. Several passengers complained about the cramped conditions (which I admit was a problem) and their inability to hear the guide when we were driving around and providing commentary. The van probably needed back speakers so the guide could be heard better. After a stop for lunch, the tour really took off and we headed toward the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls. Only about four of us were on this part of the tour, so it made it easier for the tour guide to provide his great commentary and take us to some of the best spots. The only problem was the Waterfalls were extremely crowded and one time we lost track of the guide. However, this was brief and after finding him, he took us to some areas of the Waterfalls that were fantastic to see and lightly trafficked. Overall, a great orientation tour of Portland, Oregon and the Waterfalls. I highly recommend it. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour of downtown Portland and the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls was fantastic!! Our tour guide, Gunter (sp?), was extremely knowledgeable and admitted to many little "secrets" and fun facts along the way. We would highly recommend this tour to all of our friends!! We also ended up with a really fun couple from N. Carolina as well as a couple from New Jersey that rounded out our experience.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a fun tour and our guide, Gunnar, was very knowledgeable about the city of Portland. Actually, I was the only person in the first half of the tour which took us through some of the quirky neighborhoods around Portland. We visited the Rose Garden and the Pittock Mansion which is perched on the bluffs of West Hills overlooking Portland. The weather was perfect that day and there were clear views of Mt. Hood and Mt. St. Helens. After taking a lunch break, the second half of the tour picks up a group of two as we head out towards the Columbia Gorge. We make a stop at a sturgeon fish hatchery before visiting some of the many waterfalls the Gorge has to offer including the famous Multnomah Falls. Gunnar made sure we were able to spend quality time up close to some of the larger waterfalls. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Portland.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Over the years my family and I have taken many guided tours of American cities. Often we use the Grayline company. I was very apprehensive about selecting another company but my concerns were unfounded. Our tour of Portland and the Columbia Gorge was outstanding! With no doubt our tour guide was the best we have ever experienced. She was helpful, courteous and extremely knowledgeable. She also had a passion for history which I really appreciated.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Excellent summary for a one day discovery of Portland and the wonderful Columbia River Gorge.
You don't have to be specially fit to enjoy the experience, nevertheless, You have many stops to take pictures and are not in car during hours. We have seen many and comptly different MUST in Portland.
Good experience even during a wet day.
Perfect introduce also for a longer stay , Our driver gave us many different advises about places to visit quietly (Excellent library, Chinese and Japanese gardens, excellent restaurant, bakery..) and so much more.
Perhaps one day, we vill have the opportunity to come back, this time a bit longer.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The morning city tour felt a bit disorganised compared to other city tours we have taken in other cities. As this is two tours in one, make sure you know what you want to do during the break waiting for the second tour (Columbia Gorge Waterfalls) to start.

The second tour to Columbia Gorge Waterfalls was great. Our driver/guide Kelsey was a very nice person who provided interesting information.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message