• USD ($)
  • English

Portland ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia River Gorge

About 16 miles east of Portland, the Columbia River Gorge stretches from Troutdale to Biggs on the Oregon side, and from Vancouver to Maryhill on the Washington side. An 80-mile canyon ranging from sea level to 4,000 feet, this National Scenic Area ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Worrybob
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was just the most amazing day. The weather was perfect with a clear sky and about 17C temperature.Our Driver/Guide was so interesting all day. He didn't even seem to tire even after hours of entertaining us all. The Columbia Gorge reminded us of the Rhine in Germany. The view from the Mansion above Portland was just as the Viator picture depicts . Portland is such an interesting City. Looks like most Cities but acts totally different. A big sign in Downtown sums it up .HELP KEEP PORTLAND WEIRD. Enough said. A really interesting day.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Steve was an amazing and knowledgeable guide through the first part of the tour into the Columbia Gorge and falls, and Tom was excellent at talking us through the tour of the City. All in all a wonderful experience! I can't wait for my next tour to the Coast! Thankyou Steve and Tom. It was great!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an awesome day! Our guide, Clem took us to Columbia Gorge first (avoiding the holiday weekend traffic sure to happen had we left later in the day). We explored Portland and were treated to a few suprise stops. We learned so much, saw so much, and ENJOYED OURSELVES ALL DAY!! I will definetly use Viator again for my travel/tour needs. Thanks for the fantastic tour and great memories!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

To be perfectly honest I could have omitted the Portland city part of the tour as it's so easy to get around that city using the light rail system, assuming always, of course, that you're staying in one of the many CBD hotels. However, the waterfalls part of the tour - in the afternoon - was outstanding! More to the point, the waterfalls in full spate were wondrous to behold, and nature at its most awe-inspiring. And because our small tour group of nine was always on time the tour guide gave us an extra waterfall to enjoy, which we greatly appreciated. The Columbias Gorge AND its waterfalls should NOT BE MISSED!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

While this view featured some of the highlights of Portland, including the Chinese Garden , the Rose Garden,and Pittock mansion, that part seemed rather cursory. What really made the trip worthwhile was the Columbia Gorge area. The scenery was spectacular and our guide knew of hidden spots that many people don't so we enjoyed it even more. The waterfalls were still running and we visited several of them and had ample time to enjoy them. Our guide's knowledge of Oregon history enriched the trip and added to the enjoyment. We were a small group and that made the logistics easier. Lunch was at a restaurant in Director's Square, which we chose because it accommodated all of our dining preferences and because it was centrally located. The driver/guide was very familar with the whole area and the roads and we felt completely safe the whole time. I got so much more from this excursion than if I had rented a car and done it myself.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had an excellent time on our tour of Portland and the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls. Tom is a fantastic guide!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was well worth our time. Our tour guide went above and beyond to make sure that we saw the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and significant parts of Portland. He tailored it to the weather and the wishes of those on the tour. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My tour guide was Ralph. He was a long time resident of the city and boy did he know his stuff! We spent the first half of the tour driving around all the neighborhoods of downtown Portland. One of the stops was at the International Rose Test Garden which was beautiful. His knowledge of the City was impeccable and he answered every question I threw at him with ease. He shared insights into the City that I never would have been able to get out of the typical guidebooks. The afternoon was a drive to the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls which was stunning. We had plenty of opportunity to snap pictures at each of the waterfalls and never felt rushed. It was a full day's tour. My hotel pickup was at 9:00am and I got dropped off at 6:00pm. It was worth every penny.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My day-long trip was wonderful! My guide/driver was very knowledgeable about the history of the Columbia River, and the plants, trees and birds we saw along the way. He brought along some excellent coffee and homemade coffee cake for a mid-morning snack, and took me to a really good casual restaurant for lunch. I felt relaxed at all times--even though I'm normally a nervous passenger. It was altogether a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend this tour. I just wish I had taken along a camera. Thank you!

Doing what: Columbia Gorge Adventure from Portland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Columbia Gorge Waterfalls were spectacular and the sightseeing tour of the city was first rate. We were only in Portland for a short time so combining these two tours was certainly the best way to go for us.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The scenery was absolutely breath-taking. The Columbia Gorge Waterfalls was amazing!

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

One hidden aspect of this tour is the small size of the groups. We were part of a 6 person group. I am not sure if they are all this size, but I got the feeling that it is set up this way for many of the tours. I felt I received a great overview of Portland. I also felt that I got to see some of the important waterfalls of the Columbia Gorge. Because of the size of the group our guide, Tom, was able to adjust to our interests and the weather. It was a bit wet, but not less enjoyable.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour of Portland, Oregon. My guide was very knowledgeable and he explained a lot about Portland on the city tour morning half. We went to two mansions and the international rose test center and he explained a lot about how the town was formed and the people who contributed to Portland's development. He also gave restaurant recommendations and a good overview of the city in general. The drawback was on the city tour there were a lot of people...probably too many for the van we were driving around in. Several passengers complained about the cramped conditions (which I admit was a problem) and their inability to hear the guide when we were driving around and providing commentary. The van probably needed back speakers so the guide could be heard better. After a stop for lunch, the tour really took off and we headed toward the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls. Only about four of us were on this part of the tour, so it made it easier for the tour guide to provide his great commentary and take us to some of the best spots. The only problem was the Waterfalls were extremely crowded and one time we lost track of the guide. However, this was brief and after finding him, he took us to some areas of the Waterfalls that were fantastic to see and lightly trafficked. Overall, a great orientation tour of Portland, Oregon and the Waterfalls. I highly recommend it. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour of downtown Portland and the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls was fantastic!! Our tour guide, Gunter (sp?), was extremely knowledgeable and admitted to many little "secrets" and fun facts along the way. We would highly recommend this tour to all of our friends!! We also ended up with a really fun couple from N. Carolina as well as a couple from New Jersey that rounded out our experience.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a fun tour and our guide, Gunnar, was very knowledgeable about the city of Portland. Actually, I was the only person in the first half of the tour which took us through some of the quirky neighborhoods around Portland. We visited the Rose Garden and the Pittock Mansion which is perched on the bluffs of West Hills overlooking Portland. The weather was perfect that day and there were clear views of Mt. Hood and Mt. St. Helens. After taking a lunch break, the second half of the tour picks up a group of two as we head out towards the Columbia Gorge. We make a stop at a sturgeon fish hatchery before visiting some of the many waterfalls the Gorge has to offer including the famous Multnomah Falls. Gunnar made sure we were able to spend quality time up close to some of the larger waterfalls. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Portland.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message