• USD ($)
  • English

Portland ATTRACTIONS See all

International Rose Test Garden

The most popular landscape in Washington Park, the International Rose Test Garden was originally conceived as a means of capitalizing on Portland's nickname: "The City of Roses." This moniker was coined during the 1905 Lewis & Clark ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent way to familiarize yourself with the City. Great information from the guide.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

Garrick P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We did this tour on Sunday morning of the 29th December and I can highly recommend it to anyone visiting Portland. The tour was very comprehensive and the guide was extremely knowledgeable on everything to do with his home town, both geographical and historical wise and he was very friendly and accommodating on stopping as requested for photograph opportunities etc. My wife left a bag in the vehicle after the tour and without any follow up the guide tracked us down again in the CBD area to return it to her, very good service !! If it is a comprehensive tour you are after, do this one. The scones and coffee provided were also great.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was great! The guide was very friendly, articulate and gave a truly personal description of the city. It was not at all a rehearsed and scripted as I've experienced in the past.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were very satisfied with our tour of Portland. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly, well spoken and went out of his way to make everyone comfortable. He seemed equally knowledgeable about roses and the neighborhood known as little Mississippi. I would highly recommend the tour even if you think you have seen Portland before. The tour took us to all parts of the city and included but went well beyond the standard tourist points. The van was comfortable, we were picked up at our hotel at the stated time. Our guide even called to confirm where and when he would pick us up. The locations picked were varied and resulted in us going back to some neighborhoods we never would have found and doing some exploring on our own. The tea and cookies was a nice touch. We found the half day tour just right. Properly priced and very professional. Well done. We were two couples around 70 years old. The small group concept added greatly to the enjoyment of the tour. Could not have been better. So glad we took the tour.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide Dylan knew the city inside and out and made sure that we saw everything. Dylan was very friendly , informative , and a lot of fun. This was an excellent way to get introduced to Portland on all levels, Cultural, Historical, and even Scientific (Dylan was knowledgeable about the local wildlife, and geological characteristics of the area) . I would recommend this tour, especially as a first thing to do when arriving in the area as it would give a great introduction of the city.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We weren't able to utilize the hop-on/off portion too much, but the gorge tour was well worth the price! Our guide was a lot of fun!

Doing what: Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great introduction to the city and its different neighborhoods (districts). Our guide was very informative. Because there were only 3 of us, it was easy to converse and ask questions. It was also nice to be picked up at our hotel.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Boring. Driver didn't know that much about "insider Portland" or even about Portland.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

No-one shoud visit Portland for the first time without taking this tour. Jeff presents the city in a way that my wife and I have never experienced when taking similar type tours in other cities. He does not just drive around town pointing out sights and landmarks. He goes much further by explaining the history and psyche of the people. He also explains how the City's past and contemplated urban planning policies impact the day to day lives of its residents. This tour provides full value and is most enjoyable and informative.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Informative guide, comfortable transportation. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

If you want to get the most out of your trip to Portland, you really need a tour of the city. This is something you can't do on your own, even with a car and a guidebook. Our guide, Kelsey, drove us around and provided us with information on each part of the city. As a native Portlandian with inside knowledge on the various neighbourhoods and history of the city, she gave an excellent tour and provided us with a first class look and, ultimately, great appreciation of the city and its people.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

My Best of Portland tour was a success. Best of all, my guide, Pete, tailored the tour to suit what I wanted to see the most,the roses! I was the only person on the tour and sat in front of the HUGE Mercedes 12 passenger van. Pete was a native of Portland and showed me the "neighborhoods" of the city,the views, and the International Test Garden. I was able to spend almost a hour at the rose garden, and he kindly let me wander on my own. Pick up was prompt and the snack was good too...a local Portland soft drink and muffin. My only thought is that getting in and out of the van was a huge step....I am short, and pretty agile for my age but a "running board, step, or handhold would have been easier. I will use Viator for my trips in the future.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very knowledgable tour guide and comfortable Mercedes van, There was an appropriate amount of time outside the van and the guide offered drinks and snacks. The small group of 3 parties (7 people total) made it very easy to interact. I was traveling alone so i appreciate this aspect of the tour.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

First part was good, would have liked to see the Japanese Gardens and gone into the Pittock Mansion as well. The second part of the tour was boring and could have been eliminated. Could have been done in two hours at half the price.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message