From 1909 to 1919, this 22-room French Renaissance-style estate was the home of Portland's original power couple, Henry and Georgiana Pittock; Henry's business empire included The Oregonian newspaper, and Georgiana championed women's rights and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I was promptly picked up at my hotel at the designated time. The guides were friendly, knowledgeable and safe drivers. All in all a wonderful experience. I would use this tour company's services again.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the Columbia Gorge part of the trip first, which is scenic, and we got to see four waterfalls. Our driver, Tom, was knowledgeable and interesting, as well as flexible, giving us some choices along the way about exactly where to start. Afternoon was the city, and I was impressed at how much we got to see, given we were driving around a large, busy city, with a great deal of traffic. Since we all moved along at a good pace, he was even able to throw in a couple of extras, including dropping us off at the Tram, then picking us up at the bottom to return us to our hotels. Great tour, great combo, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The history presented on this tour was the highlight for me along with the waterfalls.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed the tour very much. There was enough time to walk up closer to the falls. The tour guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

As we had never been to Portland this tour was a must. However it would be better to do it in 2 parts. The city tour would be very helpful on arrival to give you the layout of the city. Columbia Gorge could be done on another day. Jet lag and time limitations suggested we do both together. Both are informative, not only covering places to visit but the history involved is fascinating. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and thoroughly professional. Recommended.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was excellent. He was very patient and accommodating. The tour of the Columbia Gorge Waterfalls was excellent! I will definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A little disappointed overall by this tour....
Every time my husband and I visit a new place, we try to find a guided tour as it's a fun way to learn about the city and great to pick the brains of the guide for information. I booked this tour a couple of days before our trip - my first time using Viator - and the instructions said to contact the tour company to confirm the hotel for pick-up. I duly telephoned the morning prior to the trip and left a voicemail, asking that I receive a call back to confirm everything was okay, but heard nothing. I then called again from the airport, only to discover that the company had closed for the long weekend! I emailed Viator regarding this, and never received a response. The guide did telephone me from the lobby of our hotel to say he was waiting, so we left our breakfast and joined him. The vehicle was a little shaky and we both commented on the driver being rather heavy-footed on the gas and brakes.
We picked up another 4 passengers and were on our way. The driver/guide was fairly knowledgeable but, possibly, hard of hearing, which made it difficult to have questions answered whilst we were moving. It started to rain heavily (despite forecasts to the contrary) and being asked to get on and off the vehicle to look at several waterfalls became an annoyance. It would have been nice to have some kagoules/plastic macs/umbrellas available on the vehicle for passengers. I ended up cold and wet and when I asked to stay on the bus, was offered the use of the driver's personal (and broken) umbrella.
We were dropped at the food carts for lunch and then collected again for the afternoon part of the tour, with new co-passengers.
Our driver showed us round the various areas of the city, including the chinese gardens, Pittock Mansion (busy, and we were rushed through), and the rose garden which seemed a little pointless as the majority of the blooms were spent.
Not the best tour, and certainly plenty of room for improvement.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour surpassed our expectations. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, professional, courteous, patient with our questions and enthusiastic about sharing his love of the city. We felt like we were well taken care of throughout the entire tour. We highly recommend this tour of Portland.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour surpassed our expectations. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, professional, courteous, patient with our questions and enthusiastic about sharing his love of the city. We felt like we were well taken care of throughout the entire tour. We highly recommend this tour of Portland.

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very nice; leaders were helpful and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great tour. Our guide was excellent and I learned alot about Portland.

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great scenery professional guide well worth it

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great scenery professional guide well worth it

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip and tour guide. Very informative and relaxed

Doing what: Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

While I have been to Portland many times and thought I knew a lot about it, I went on this tour with a visitor who had never been there before. Well, I learned SO MANY very interesting things from our wonderful tour guide, Kieran Wiedner. We went to the usual places (Rose Garden, Pittock Mansion), but we also toured the five sections of the city and took a look at it from several perspectives (e.g., Mount Tabor ParkI had a wonderful time, and the three and a half hours went by all too quickly. But, I am now very comfortable and familiar with all of Portland's neighborhoods and I look forward to capitalizing on this new knowledge during future visits. I would highly recommend this tour, and see if you can get Kieran!!

Doing what: Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message