Portland is regularly included on lists of the most bicycle-friendly cities in the United States (and sometimes in the world). So it’s not surprising that not only do the locals love getting around on two wheels, seeing Portland by bike is a great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide, fellow biker and all around organizer was Sam. He's the kind of person you hope leads this type of tour. He was flexible with our stops, and just an all around nice guy. The bits of history that we got at each stop added nicely to the tour. There were four of us on the tour, from the very fit to the not so fit. All of us felt comfortable with the physical requirements of the hikes and rides. The hikes were small ones--the toughest one being the incline that takes you half way up Wahkeena Falls. Even that wasn't difficult. The bike rides were broken up in between visiting six different waterfalls. There is some truly beautiful country to be seen on this tour! There are longer hikes that can be had at some of the falls, hikes that would be too long for this kind of tour. But, it left us all feeling like there was more for us to explore if we ever came back. Can't say enough positive things about this experience! It was the highlight of our quick girls' trip to Portland!

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My daughter and I spent our first morning in Portland cruising through downtown via bike. Our tour guide, Noah, tailored the information about the city around our interests (history, art, books) and did an excellent job of helping us get the "lay of the land" so we would be comfortable exploring during the remainder of our visit. He even provided a handy (and the by the end of the trip, well worn) map of the city with notes of where we had traveled and what we had expressed particular interest in exploring later.

The tour is a perfect way to start your visit to the city of Portland and it doesn't matter if you ride bikes frequently (my daughter) or haven't been on a bike in years (me). We had a wonderful time and we highly recommend this tour.

Lisa H.
Nashville, TN

Doing what: Downtown Portland Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had huge reservations about taking this tour.... it was raining at the time and we were already wet and not excited to get drenched. However, thankfully, our guide was so motivated and convincing that we actually agreed. (Wife was slightly upset at first). However, we had a great time. We went to Rogue, Rock Bottom, The Crystal Ballroom, and others. And the bike ride was actually fun!! We honestly looked at each after the tour and said that we were so glad that we did not cancel. What a great time!! Thank you.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was warm, welcoming and very enthusiastic about letting us know about all the wonderful nooks and crannies of the Portland area. There were only 2 of us on the earlier tour, and we got plenty of samples, and had a great, challenging little recreational ride. Of all the things we did/saw in Portland, this was the best thing we did. I highly recommend it to all, even as an introduction to how bike-friendly it is around the city, and learning some great routes. There are so many breweries in Portland, I would definitely consider doing this again.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was my first time ever visiting Portland and this bike tour was my lifesaver! Traveling around was so much easier because the bike tour was very comprehensive and helped me get an idea of where I was and how to get where I wanted to go as I explored the city after my tour. Our tour guide, Melanie, was very knowledgeable and was able to answer questions regarding not only the history of the town, but give tips on fave places, unique fun facts, and was attentive to the requests of our tour group. If you plan on exploring Downtown Portland for the day, I highly suggest doing the morning bike tour first, and then plan the rest of your day after getting a better idea of the city layout.

Doing what: Downtown Portland Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour. Well-worth it. Well-paced and gave a complete overview of the city. The tour guide (Sarah) was fantastic. Extremely knowledgable with an engaging personality. Whereas you might tune out other guides who drone on, you wanted to listen to what Sarah had to say. The bikes were comfortable, easy to use and changing speeds was effortless.

Doing what: Downtown Portland Bike Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great way to spend a Saturday in Portland. I'm a local Portlander and took friends on this, we had a blast. A good mix of breweries, beer tasting and downtown sightseeing. The ride was easy in a good way (no serious sweating), but we covered a lot of ground on the bikes, a really good overview on downtown Portland. And delicious beer from Bridgeport, Luck Lab and McMenamins.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This beer and bike tour was the perfect way to explore Portland. Our guide was amazing. The beer was was good. And we got to see things we would never have seen on our own, including the inside of the Crytstal Ballroom. Take this tour if you like bikes and beer. The ride was easy and fun.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

First they make you Drucken, and then your supposed to Drive the Bike back thrue the Town. :-) No the bear was Good. I heard some of the History of the Town as well, and the Guide was really nice.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Although there were some organizational issues, this turned out to be a great trip and I would recommend it to someone looking to get outside of Portland for a few hours.
There was some confusion regarding the transportation arrangements - turns out the option we booked, even though it required us to give our hotel information for pickup, didn't include a pickup. Then when we tried to arrange one, we were informed that this was outside of the pickup zone. It was 15 minutes away by bus/streetcar so I'm not sure who they're charging to pickup if they have to be that close anyway... When we got to the bicycle shop the van they needed to transport us to the Gorge was not there. We had to wait about 1/2 hour or so for the van to be returned and loaded with our bikes before our trip could even start.
That being said, the adventure itself was awesome. I'm not an avid cyclist by any stretch of the imagination (in fact I'm a downright novice) and it was a fairly easy ride - a few hilly spots but nothing unmanageable. Our tour guide, Daniel, gave us a lot of historic information on our ride out and was helpful in setting up (and even repairing) the bikes. The hikes to the waterfalls were also fairly easy and offered spectacular views. The only thing we didn't have time for (due to our late departure) was to hike to the Multnomah Falls bridge. Slightly disappointing, but it didn't ruin the trip.
To make up for the late departure, Daniel did take us to a detour on the way back into Portland, one of the McMenamin's, for a beer and some snacks, courtesy of the company. This was a nice gesture to make up for the inconvenience caused by the morning's disorganization and was something else fun/touristy to do with a definite Portland vibe.
Overall, great active day outside of the city seeing some of the beautiful Pacific Northwest. The only thing that needs improvement is the shop's organization.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message