Allegedly established by a Roman centurion named Amarantus, Amarante is situated between the steep sides of Serra do Marão and the curves of the river Tâmega, the longest tributary of the river Douro. Modern Amarante is actually rooted in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was excellent. The guide named Maria was very nice and friendly. She guided us both in English and French and spoke both languages fluently and clearly. The van was convenient. The places we visited were beautiful and interesting. We stopped for lunch at a very good restaurant with a magnificent view. Everything was beyond my expectations.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour! Our guide was friendly and accommodating, he tried to make it a very special experience. We had a really relaxing walk through the vineyards and grounds of the wine estates, definitely bring comfortable shoes! Everyone gave great information on the wine making process and we were given plenty of time to relax and enjoy the wine. Definitely do this tour!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Minho region is a must for Vinho Verde wine lovers, adventurers, and travelers who want to get off the tourist track and experience the region at a deeper level. Our guides, Pedro and Barbara, helped us to do exactly that. The first stop was a rural wine estate, beautifully restored, that has just started accepting overnight guests. Wear your walking shoes and outdoor clothing; we walked through the organic garden and the forest trail to the river with a small waterfall, then toured the winery upon return. Bring your swimsuit, as we next plunged into the beautiful pool, and lounged about with no other guests, just the four of us, surrounded by lush hillsides of forest and vineyards. After a quick shower in the spa area, we were treated to a wine tasting, artisanal snacks, and plenty of conviviality on the wooden deck, overlooking the pool and the landscape beyond. Breathtaking. Think rural Sonoma County, a few decades ago. Next, we enjoyed lunch in the riverside town of Amarante, at a truly local restaurant with fantastic fresh fish, Portuguese kale soup, tripas (stuffed tripe) and refreshing Vinho Verde Tinto, which we haven't even seen in the U.S. The final stop was Quinta Aveleda, an historic and famous winery with grounds that resemble settings in a Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale, complete with swans and peacocks. After a tour of the winery and the museum area, where a bottle of brandy from the 1700's is displayed, we were led through the grounds, so full of flowers and trees, past a beautiful old estate house, to the wine tasting area for wine and cheese. Quinta Aveleda does export to the U.S., but the first estate we visited is a small producer and does not currently export to the U.S. It was a full day, our best in Portugal, and traveling with Pedro and Barbara was just like traveling with two of your favorite friends. Pack your sense of adventure and good humor and this will be your favorite tour too.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour through the Douro Valley. Port/Wine tasting at a gorgeous winery was the highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great day out! Tour guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very nice tour. Very good guide. The lunch was not very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. It was an intimate tour with a small group of people, and it was great to only have 6 people in total. The scenery is beautiful, the port and food was fantastic, the towns they take you to, hold a lot of history and made for a memorable trip. Well recommended! Don't miss this one.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. It was an intimate tour with a small group of people, and it was great to only have 6 people in total. The scenery is beautiful, the port and food were fantastic, the towns they take you to, hold a lot of history and made for a memorable trip. Well recommended! Don't miss this one.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A lovely day in the country. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is an amazing region, the scenery, the port, the river - all wonderful. The only negative was that we had booked an english speaking tour and it was a combined English/French which was really annoying after a while having everything repeated in French, as I am sure it was for the French Canadians listening to the English explanations. Apart from this i would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Porto

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good Day Trip but would have liked less time wine tasting and more stops for photos andto admire the scenery along the way there.
The lunch provided was good and it is a beautiful region to visit.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great guides who went over and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our day trip. Venues were beautiful and the food was great.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

Jennifer G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Even in Winter this tour was amazing. There were only 6 of us and I was told the maximum is 8 people so it's a personalised tour and you don't feel like sheep. We stopped in Amarante and enjoyed some Portuguese cakes, a church and a market. We also stopped at the Nossa Senhora dos Remedios church which was beautiful, make sure you climb up or down all the steps - beautiful surrounding forest!! There were 2 wine tasting stops which were great and a very filling and delicious lunch in Paseo de Regua. We also had a couple of viewing stops to take lovely photos! Our guide was very knowledgable and so friendly!! She answered any questions we had. Overall, the tour was a fun, relaxing day trip which was extremely good value. My boyfriend and I are only 19 and 20, but the other people on the tour were in their 60s and all travellers involved (no matter what their age!) had a ball!

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Excellent Guide, beautiful scenery, and great food and wine.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

excellent day trip. Tour guide was knowledgable and trip was exactly the right length of time.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a fantastic tour thanks to our very capable driver/tour guide, Claudia. This young lady was both knowledgable and enthusiastic. She effortlessly switched between French and English to ensure all five members of the tour group had a full appreciation of the areas we visited. We stopped at a lovely village for morning tea, the wine and tapas late morning were good, the lunch delicious and the vineyard tour and the port tasting in the afternoon were great. Beautiful scenery and good company made for a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message