Allegedly established by a Roman centurion named Amarantus, Amarante is situated between the steep sides of Serra do Marão and the curves of the river Tâmega, the longest tributary of the river Douro. Modern Amarante is actually rooted in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide, great experience at the 3 vineyards and tastings and lunch was awesome. Even got involved in a bike race.
Good Fun.
A Must if you are in Porto and not staying in the Douro Valley as part of the trip!
Thanks,
Bill

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Colette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour with Jorge even in really bad weather yesterday . We had a great time and all the stops were really informative and enjoyable .Would highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

M P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good indeed, our guide was so nice and we really enjoyed our day. The wine tastings were so interesting and lunch was amazing, far more ban we could eat. The food was traditional and delicious.
Our guide was a very good driver which was great as the road was quite twisty in some parts. We thought it was good value for money too.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Dave R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jorge was a GREAT guide and my wife and I had an excellent time. 3 different wineries and each one was a very unique experience. Really enjoyed the trip. Long day 9a-8p so be prepared. Lunch was good, but make sure you dress for the weather in both Porto and in Douro valley, which can be cooler.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Alla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the tour. Itinerary is very diverse and included: mid-size Porto producer, small vine and oil producer, and giant vine factory Porto Cruz. With just 6 people in the car, friendly tour guide/driver, and hospitable people in the valley it was a lot of fun. We did learn a lot about Porto, enjoyed beautiful scenery of the valley and hearty tasty lunch. I will recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was awesome!!! We had Jorge as our driver and tour guide. He was great and provided excellent commentary. We had a great group even a fellow Purdue alum and family that was really a pleasure to have together. All three wineries were wonderful and the lunch was perfect. This is a can't miss tour for great wine tasting.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Phoenix K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic trip with some really unforgettable views of the Douro Valley. The 3 vineyards were a perfect mix of small, medium and large producers and you will get a chance to sample more than enough wine! Jorge was a great host and took excellent care of us from start to finish. The lunch was a particularly nice part of the day in a great local restaurant. This trip is a must-do if you're in Porto!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michele H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Ida and George were wonderful guides. We were picked up at the hotel and driven to the Douro Valley, where we toured 3 port wineries, ranging from small productions, family operated, and a large commercial winery. Lunch was a traditional Portugese meal served family style and was very delicious. I highly recommend the valley your. A wonderful way to enjoy Portugal!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My fiancé and I went on this tour last week and had Aida as our guide and Jorges as our driver. Since we were booked during the slow season we had the luxury of having these 2 wonderful guides to ourselves. What could have been an awkwardly long day quickly turned into a wonderful journey with very friendly and knowledgeable guides - they answered all of our questions and had effortless entertainment and conversation throughout. We were taken up in to the mountains and to 3 different vineyards to learn about and sample the wines. In addition we had lunch at a lovely local restaurant before continuing on our journey. We booked this tour as a last minute decision, but it was definitely a wise decision. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Marcos Augusto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Top! Expectation was high, but evenso we got completelly dazed and satisfied. The guiding service was great, the visited places were great, food was wonderfull and the wines unforgetable. I'll recommend for friends and family and why not even come for a 2nd time!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Lonnie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our day with Jorge and Aida was most enjoyable!! They picked us up at hotel, and were personable and very knowledgeable in explaining the day and vineyards we were going to explore. The drive out was beautiful and we had nice stops along the way for taking pictures. The three vineyards we went to were each so different, and it gave us a unique experience at each one. The tours, tastings, and time at each vineyard was a great learning experience and the staff at each vineyard very very thorough in explaining the entire process from start to finish in making port wines. Aida and Jorge waited patiently and gave us as much time as needed while at each vineyard. We stopped at a local restaurant for coffee and snack on the way out, as well as lunch. It was fun having a typical portugese lunch at a small restaurant with locals.....and very tasty food! This tour was great - and spending the entire day with Aida and Jorge a pleasure. They make a great team for this tour, and Jorge did a fine job driving the winding roads! We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to learn about port wine production and have a relaxing day outside of Porto. A must do tour for anyone coming to this area.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

maurz13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome! had a fantastic time with the guide, driver and a fellow traveler! keep it up!!! can't wait to be back soon!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a fantastic time on this tour and would recommend it to anyone looking to do a Douro Valley wine tour. Our guide and driver were friendly, and knowledgeable, answering all of our questions. The wineries they took us to were quaint and we felt like we had a very personalized experience.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

miatahaveit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The first winery we visited was outstanding! The land that the winery was on was beyond describing. Also the wine was very good, so good we had to take a few bottles with us. We then went to a small town for lunch which was very enjoyable. Later in the afternoon we visited a larger and more commercial winery. The gardens there were very interesting.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Matthew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a great time with our tour guides Ida and George, who took us to see three different wine producers in the beautiful Douro Valley, all of different sizes and styles. Each wine tour includes a free tasting. Lunch is included in the tour and at one of the wineries you have the opportunity to taste fresh olive oil that is also made onsite. The tour includes a variety of landscapes as you see everything from Portugal's famous Highway 222 running along to the Douro River to the breathtaking view from the top of the valley, where one of the wine producers is located. The tour is in a small group which is very nice and maintains an intimate, comfortable atmosphere. Ida and George were fun, friendly, knowledgable, and answered all of our questions, giving us a nice educational experience to go with all of the port wine we tasted. All in all it was a fantastic day - if you are looking for a way to see all of the famous Douro Valley scenery and at the same time see and taste port wine from the only place in the world where it is made, this is the best way to do it and is a great addition to your trip to Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Enmanuel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Simply amazing, Aida and Jorge were phenomenal we visited 3 vineyards in total never felt rushed and enjoyed a full Duoro experience. They answered all our questions and made us feel at home. This tour is a must! Thank you both so much for a wonderful time.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really liked the small group and visits to the small vineyards. It seemed very personalized. Aida and Jorge did a great job. The lunch at a great local restaurant was excellent. This is a very good way to see the Douro Valley without renting a car and has the benefit of knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Martin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fabulous day for everyone in our group, great wine, excellent guide and well worth the cost. Learnt so much about Portuguese wine and the region, thank you Peter . The lunch was also excellent. I took my 11 year old son who was also well catered for and he had a great time too. Will definitely be back for more.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely wonderful! Especially the morning wine tasting with visit to the river-the nibbles with the tasting were delicious and I especially enjoyed seeing the vegetable gardens and the incredibly old vines. We would love to go back and spend a few days here.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Jonoln

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A thoroughly excellent tour through beautiful countryside. Pedro was an excellent guide, at once knowledge and friendly. The tour had two parts - a visit to a renovated wine farm now offering idyllic accommodation and a visit to a large commercial winery with a beautiful historic house attached. Very different but both wonderful in their own special way. Altogether thoroughly pleasurable and highly recommended!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Dace L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

vinho verde a young or green wine is second-most exclusively Portuguese wine in the world. It is fresh and crispy and perfect in summer. And green wine tour in northern Portugal vinho verde region is perfect for the summer trip. The tour was organized by Cooltour Oporto and starting from the comfortable minivan, interesting route, excellent guide Pedro and, of course, the wine itself - it was a great trip! One of our best memories from Portugal. I cant even say which one I liked better - visiting small winery Quinta das Escomoeiros very beautiful, welcoming and tasty or visiting Quinta Aveleda, an historic and famous large winery with super beautiful gardens, house and tasty wine again. We had lunch in Amarante city which is known in region for its good food. Specialty of the region is meat and the one we had for lunch was really delicious. Since we were only 3 travelers that day we in all actuality had premium class private tour the day was pure pleasure. Did I already mention it was beautiful and tasty? :

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Weatherford T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took six tours in Portugal last week. This one was the best even better than Cool Tours' Douro Valley Tour because Pedro is the best guide. He loves conversation, people, and history-- and he is a good ambassador for Portugal and the Porto area. This tour included Quinta das Escomeiras, a paradise with ancient trees, good walking trails, and rare breeds of donkey and horse. They are working on official recognition of organic horticultural practices, and the place is alive. We had good views and did not want to leave this estate, as the hospitality of Fernando was welcoming. I'm thankful we got some exercise as I didn't merely want to sit and drink-- so we explored nature. The other estate was good too, with peacocks and walking trails. The city of Amarante has good stories and the lunch meal was excellent. A Swiss-Brazilian family of high character provided good company, as did Pedro. Book this tour if you love nature, conversation, and good drinks.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Blair A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Small winery Quinta Das Escoumoeiras was excellent and the owner gave the tour and made the visit unforgetable. Off the beaten trail winery which you would never find unless you took this tour. Beautiful rural location. The guide, Peter was great and very helpful. Lunch was ok

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

rjcf France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

For this, our second tour during our visit to Porto, there were only three of us English speakers. Our guides Pietro and Alex were great fun and gave us a fantastic tour. The food and wine was great and there was plenty of it! If we go back to Porto we will definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

katherynh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an absolutely wonderful tour and definitely my best tour experience of the trip. I usually do things on my own rather than with a tour group, but this excursion was not something I could have done on my own at least without a vehicle. There were only three of us and our guide, Pedro. He let us go at our own pace and was very friendly and knowledgeable. Even if you don't like wine you would enjoy this tour as the scenery is beautiful. I had only tasted white vinho verde and have never seen anything other than white in the U.S. so I was excited to try the rose and red, which were wonderful. I brought back several bottles to the U.S. Do this tour -- you won't regret it!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message