Allegedly established by a Roman centurion named Amarantus, Amarante is situated between the steep sides of Serra do Marão and the curves of the river Tâmega, the longest tributary of the river Douro. Modern Amarante is actually rooted in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anja K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My partner and I went on this full day wine tour at the end of May and it was truly incredible. Our guide Jorge was really exceptional -- very welcoming, incredibly knowledgeable about the region, and overall easy to speak with and pose questions to. The vistas are spectacular and the three wineries are all very different and all fantastic. We ended up buying five different bottles of wine and port to take home, and the diversity between larger and smaller wine producers was really neat. After the tour, Jorge recommended a local seafood restaurant in Vila Nova de Gaia to my partner and both obsessed with food and even drove us there after we left our wine in our hotel! It's unrelated to the tour itself, but I ate the best Dorade of my life in this restaurant and you should definitely ask Jorge for the name. Overall, our guide was just excellent, the tour itself was so rich, and the journey through the Douro breathtaking. I can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

bcripps1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a trip that should not be missed. We had an excellent driver and guide, Pedro who was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We learnt so much, not just about wine and wine production, but about the whole area and it's history. The two visits were contrasting and both exceptional in their own way. The morning was spent on a small estate, around which we were taken by the enthusiastic owner. It concluded with a generous tasting of the estate's wine plus a range of other delicacies produced on the estate or in the area. The word 'awesome' comes to mind in summing up the experience. Lunch at a small family run restaurant in Amarante was very good - grilled meats accompanied by salads, rice and potatoes and washed down with a local red wine. The second visit was to a large commercial producer, a total contrast to the morning's visit but also very interesting and informative. In all, a brilliant day that provided a great experience of the Vinho Verde area.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

bcripps1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was exceptional! We chose this tour because it offered visits to three vineyards instead of two plus a boat trip, and tasting both port wines and Douro DOC wines. And we were not disappointed. The first and third visits were to small, intimate and personal Quintas where the tours were relaxed and informative and the port tastings varied and generous so it was possible to get real insight into port production. The second visit was to a small vineyard where the owner produced his own wines and olive oils. Again, the tour was relaxed and informative and led by the owner who enthusiastically provided a detailed overview of he wine and olive oil production. This visit concluded with wine and olive oil tasting on a terrace on the mountain side, overlooking the Douro Valley. An excellent, relaxed lunch in Pinhao was at a family owned restaurant where grilled pork and veal was served with salads, potatoes and rice and accompanied by local wines. All in all, an excellent day. don't miss it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Mauro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of good wine and beautiful landscapes, the guides speak very good english, highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

AM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent scenery, well informed guide, not rushed, great food and drink!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was our favorite activity of our entire vacation in Porto and Lisbon. Our tour guide, Pedro, was really great - besides being extremely personable and knowledgeable about the area and wineries, he also gave us some suggestions for restaurants in Porto that were delicious! In addition, I appreciate that he gave us time to explore on our own during some parts of the tour.

As other reviewers have stated, the first winery of this tour - Quinta das Escomoeiros - is something really special. The owner, Fernando, walked us around the property and then provided a tasting red, rose, and white vinho verde with cheese, etc. The relaxing nature of the experience made us want to stay all day, but the following lunch in Amarante and second winery tour at Quinta da Aveleda were also very enjoyable. While we can get Aveleda wine in the U.S., the winery property is beautiful, making it a great place for photos. Overall, I highly recommend this tour and the tour company, Cooltour OPorto!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Ryan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with an even greater company. We drove with Ida and another gentleman whom I forget his name. They were both great! Ida provided a ton of history about the region and was a crack up. Really great lunch was provided and the views throughout the drive through Dorough valley were incredible. Highly recommend

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. Our driver and guide, Jorge, picked us up on time from our hotel and and then three other French-speaking visitors. Jorge drove and chatted with us in English and French the whole way to Pinhão and back to Porto. He was very informative about wine and port and the history of Northern Portugal. We learned a lot!

It was a long drive there and back and I would recommend this tour for Jorge's informative comments and the three places we visited: Quinta do Tedo, Quinta do Panascal Fonseca and, D'Origem, a wonderful olive oil museum and a working family owned and operated olive oil press. Jorge also stopped on the way to Pinhão for a coffee break and brought us to an out-of-the-way place in Pinhão for a traditional lunch. A very full day in which we learned much about wine, port, olive oil and the Douro!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Peter J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The drive to the beautiful Douro valley was breath taking, but complicated by the lack of air conditioning on the bus. our hostess offered little information during the trip. Of the three wineries we visited, only the first two were note worthy for their presentations and some of their wines or olive oil. The last winery left us out in the heat for a half hour and then rushed us through their presentation so that they could get to another group. Totally unprofessional on their part. The drive home was made more pleasant as the driver figured out how the air conditioning worked! The

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

jgknittel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The Duoro Valley is absolutely beautiful and the wineries were wonderful to visit. So I'm very glad to have gotten to see them. That being said, the tour was just ok. First, this was not the small group that had been described when we signed up. A bus picked us up, not a van, and our group size was rouhgly 30. This alone would have probably been ok, but the bus trip was pretty miserable. It was completely full, the driver and tour guide didn't seem to always know where they needed to go, resulting in multiple wrong turns trying to find hotels and the wineries. Second, the AC was a problem on the larger bus, we needed to request multiple times for them to turn it on or up, and it wasn't until we were on our way home that it was actually working. Third, our tour guide never introduced herself, never gave an explanation for why the tour was different than the description, nor really talked about anything at all until we got to the wineries. It was a bit weird sitting in silence for the first 90 or so minutes while we picked up passengers and drove the Valley. We really didn't get much description or explanation of anything except the wineries either, no real talk about the scenery or countryside or anything that we were passing or doing. It seemed like this was really a mode for getting us to wineries and back more than an actual tour. I would go the Duoro Valley again in a heartbeat, but I'm not sure I would take this tour again if it was with the same tour group.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Kate E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We booked this tour after reading some of the good reviews and we booked it because we wanted a small group experience and the benefit of visiting three wineries with both port and DOC wines. However, we greatly ended up regretting this tour because nearly everything that we were told to expect from the tour, did not occur. I and #39;m not one to complain often and I continuously kept searching for the positive during this tour and hoping that something would change or go right to make it all worth it but we kept being disappointed.

To begin, we were picked up 20 minutes late and instead of a minivan with only a small group, we were picked up by a large bus that would go on to pick up a total of nearly 30 people. After many stops at different hotels we were finally on our way. I was disappointed by the large group aspect but I think I could have accepted that fact and still enjoyed my time had so many other factors not been so disappointing. We were disappointed that our and #34;tour guide and #34;, Aida, did absolutely no guiding at all. She never introduced herself, never told us the plan for the day, never explained why there were so many people, never gave us any history or information about the Douro area or the wineries we would visit. I think that was the most disappointing part of all. Instead, it felt like we were a herd of sheep being herded from one winery to the next with no personal aspect whatsoever. Additionally, the air conditioning did not work in our bus and it was extremely hot for the entire trip - to the point that some concern could be held for heat exhaustion, people with medical conditions or for some of the older people on the tour.

We were disappointed in the first winery we visited as they did not give us a guided tour as you would expect. They basically showed us their barrels and then went immediately to the tastings. I think many people felt disappointed to not get the history or education from their winery. I and #39;m not sure if this is the fault of the winery or of the tour group due to having so many people and being short on time. However, the other two wineries were quite lovely and the number of tastings we received overall was great. Lunch was also nice, the food was good but the stop was too long and with so many people needing to be fed and served at the same time, some tables ended up waiting much longer than others for food and service.

In the end, the combination of a large group when it was advertised as small, an inexperienced bus driver who stalled often and took many wrong turns, a tour guide who did no guiding whatsoever, a missed coffee break, air conditioning that did not work and a winery that seemed indifferent to our presence and rushed to move us through all resulted in a very disappointing experience that made us upset that we had paid the extra money for this experience when we could have paid less for a much more rewarding experience with another company. The company did offer an apology by email nearly 4 days after the tour, but I still think so much more could have been done to prevent this from happening in the first place: starting with open with us about the large group and still ensuring we had the best tour possible by guiding it properly. Overall, I think this company has potential to provide great tours, but based on my experience alone, I cannot recommend this tour. If you do chose to book with this company, I would recommend calling or receiving some form of confirmation as to exactly what you can expect.

At least the wine tasted good!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide, great experience at the 3 vineyards and tastings and lunch was awesome. Even got involved in a bike race.
Good Fun.
A Must if you are in Porto and not staying in the Douro Valley as part of the trip!
Thanks,
Bill

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Colette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour with Jorge even in really bad weather yesterday . We had a great time and all the stops were really informative and enjoyable .Would highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

M P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good indeed, our guide was so nice and we really enjoyed our day. The wine tastings were so interesting and lunch was amazing, far more ban we could eat. The food was traditional and delicious.
Our guide was a very good driver which was great as the road was quite twisty in some parts. We thought it was good value for money too.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Dave R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jorge was a GREAT guide and my wife and I had an excellent time. 3 different wineries and each one was a very unique experience. Really enjoyed the trip. Long day 9a-8p so be prepared. Lunch was good, but make sure you dress for the weather in both Porto and in Douro valley, which can be cooler.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Alla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the tour. Itinerary is very diverse and included: mid-size Porto producer, small vine and oil producer, and giant vine factory Porto Cruz. With just 6 people in the car, friendly tour guide/driver, and hospitable people in the valley it was a lot of fun. We did learn a lot about Porto, enjoyed beautiful scenery of the valley and hearty tasty lunch. I will recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was awesome!!! We had Jorge as our driver and tour guide. He was great and provided excellent commentary. We had a great group even a fellow Purdue alum and family that was really a pleasure to have together. All three wineries were wonderful and the lunch was perfect. This is a can't miss tour for great wine tasting.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Phoenix K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic trip with some really unforgettable views of the Douro Valley. The 3 vineyards were a perfect mix of small, medium and large producers and you will get a chance to sample more than enough wine! Jorge was a great host and took excellent care of us from start to finish. The lunch was a particularly nice part of the day in a great local restaurant. This trip is a must-do if you're in Porto!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michele H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Ida and George were wonderful guides. We were picked up at the hotel and driven to the Douro Valley, where we toured 3 port wineries, ranging from small productions, family operated, and a large commercial winery. Lunch was a traditional Portugese meal served family style and was very delicious. I highly recommend the valley your. A wonderful way to enjoy Portugal!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My fiancé and I went on this tour last week and had Aida as our guide and Jorges as our driver. Since we were booked during the slow season we had the luxury of having these 2 wonderful guides to ourselves. What could have been an awkwardly long day quickly turned into a wonderful journey with very friendly and knowledgeable guides - they answered all of our questions and had effortless entertainment and conversation throughout. We were taken up in to the mountains and to 3 different vineyards to learn about and sample the wines. In addition we had lunch at a lovely local restaurant before continuing on our journey. We booked this tour as a last minute decision, but it was definitely a wise decision. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Marcos Augusto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Top! Expectation was high, but evenso we got completelly dazed and satisfied. The guiding service was great, the visited places were great, food was wonderfull and the wines unforgetable. I'll recommend for friends and family and why not even come for a 2nd time!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Lonnie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our day with Jorge and Aida was most enjoyable!! They picked us up at hotel, and were personable and very knowledgeable in explaining the day and vineyards we were going to explore. The drive out was beautiful and we had nice stops along the way for taking pictures. The three vineyards we went to were each so different, and it gave us a unique experience at each one. The tours, tastings, and time at each vineyard was a great learning experience and the staff at each vineyard very very thorough in explaining the entire process from start to finish in making port wines. Aida and Jorge waited patiently and gave us as much time as needed while at each vineyard. We stopped at a local restaurant for coffee and snack on the way out, as well as lunch. It was fun having a typical portugese lunch at a small restaurant with locals.....and very tasty food! This tour was great - and spending the entire day with Aida and Jorge a pleasure. They make a great team for this tour, and Jorge did a fine job driving the winding roads! We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to learn about port wine production and have a relaxing day outside of Porto. A must do tour for anyone coming to this area.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

maurz13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome! had a fantastic time with the guide, driver and a fellow traveler! keep it up!!! can't wait to be back soon!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a fantastic time on this tour and would recommend it to anyone looking to do a Douro Valley wine tour. Our guide and driver were friendly, and knowledgeable, answering all of our questions. The wineries they took us to were quaint and we felt like we had a very personalized experience.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message