In Roman times, Aveiro was known as Aviarium, which in Latin means “gathering of birds” due to the large number of birds inhabiting the city’s lagoon area. Today, Aveiro is known for being one of the largest metropolitan areas in Portugal (when ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a lovely trip. Pedro was so knowledgable and interesting, and went out of his way to make the day a great experience for all of us. It was lovely to see a truly different area.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

sharon United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Aveiro is a very pretty town and we were blessed with sunny weather which I think is essential to a visit to Aveiro. The boat trip was fun and it was interesting to see the striped cottages on the Coasta Nova.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Dennis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time. The guides were helpful and full of information on the region. Went beyond expectations to make the tour an enjoyable experience. Would do it again.

Doing what: Aveiro and Coimbra Day Trip From Porto

Tony F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

miatahaveit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The town of Aveiro was like taking a step back in time. It was very relaxing as we walked through the town. We also saw men fishing near the shore. This trip also included a cruise through the many canals.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

estrelac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The best way to visit a city. It was a wonderful trip!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Aveiro Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great complement to the other tours we took from Porto it helped us get a broader view of the diversity of northern Portugal.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

keysermintens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice to be able to see the city from another point of view.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Mrs P A T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour, there were just the 2 of us and our guide, Sophia, who was great fun and very informative. A lovely trip outside of Porto.

Doing what: Aveiro Half-Day Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro River Cruise

thomas h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very pleased with this tour. Tour guide knew his material, answered all our questions, and made the trip stress free. We learned about the foods, the people, and the spirit of Lisbon Yes, and the places we went to see. The difference is in such a short period he brought his city to life and gave us the best of it. Have traveled a great deal would recommend this guide doing this tour.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

hanna s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

it was relaxing and informative, We saw a lot with the stress of waking up at six or sept oclock,

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really thought this would give us a different view of Portugal and it certainly did. we had been on a river cruise on the Douro plus visiting historic sites like Obidos, Sintra and Guimares but we had no visual of the coastal living that existed. We had not been to the Algarve. Our host/driver Joao Brandao was great. He had to alternate between Spanish, French and English for the 4 couples and it was a wonder he did it so well. We enjoyed Aveiro and stopping at the beach in Costa Nova and having a café and nata on the promenade along the inlet. Highly recommend - and ask for Joao!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Loved the fisherman's village, now a vacation destination

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Claudia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved this tour! This beautiful and charming place is just about an hour from Porto! You'll start the day at Costa Nova with charming houses that are painted with colorful stripes like candy canes. You'll have about half an hour to explore and then head off to Aveiro. It's so pretty! The ride on the canal on the moliceiro is awesome! Plus, there's lots to do here in this little town. The only suggestion I have is that this should be a full day tour because there's too much to do in Aveiro for just 2 hours. Next time I visit this town, I'll go on my own on the train to have more free time. But, for a first time experience, I loved the tour. Our guide was very nice and dropped us off on the other side of the river, in Gaia, overlooking the river. We spent the rest of the day exploring the neighborhhod. I was hesitant to try this tour because it had no reviews. I went for it and loved it! If the tour company is reading this review, please think about making the tour a little longer..More time in Aveiro would have made this tour perfect!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

SCV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

One of my favourite tours in Porto! Aveiro is such a cute town. We did a short walk with the guide, had free time and then got on a Moliceiro boat for a short cruise, which was very enjoyable. On the way to Aveiro we visited other small village which was very colourful and very different to any other towns we had visited. The tour guide was excellent; she was fun and very knowledgeable; we learn so much about Portugal! It was one of the highlights of our trip, and I recommend spending an extra half day in Porto to visit Aveiro.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

margalita

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We quite enjoyed our tour with our guide Miguel. He was nice polite and informative. the only thing that we would have liked to be a bit different is more opportunity to get out of the car at some occasions. Overall it's a recommended and enjoyable trip

Doing what: Aveiro Half-Day Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro River Cruise

Ian M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great trip, excellent guide. Despite the inclement weather we enjoyed visiting this lovely town

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

J A B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Well organised, pleasant staff Pascal the tour guide and the staff on the boat trip in Aveiro. Pascal created a good atmosphere.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Jan M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a very enjoyable day despite the rainy weather. Glad we went there and saw it. Pleasant little town.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Carmen Patricia O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip, nice tour guides! wonderful city!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Greta A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour allowed us to see a bit more of Portugal in addition to Porto. The guide was friendly and knowledgable and the small towns interesting. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message