In Roman times, Aveiro was known as Aviarium, which in Latin means “gathering of birds” due to the large number of birds inhabiting the city’s lagoon area. Today, Aveiro is known for being one of the largest metropolitan areas in Portugal (when ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great complement to the other tours we took from Porto it helped us get a broader view of the diversity of northern Portugal.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice to be able to see the city from another point of view.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour, there were just the 2 of us and our guide, Sophia, who was great fun and very informative. A lovely trip outside of Porto.

Doing what: Aveiro Half-Day Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very pleased with this tour. Tour guide knew his material, answered all our questions, and made the trip stress free. We learned about the foods, the people, and the spirit of Lisbon Yes, and the places we went to see. The difference is in such a short period he brought his city to life and gave us the best of it. Have traveled a great deal would recommend this guide doing this tour.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

it was relaxing and informative, We saw a lot with the stress of waking up at six or sept oclock,

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really thought this would give us a different view of Portugal and it certainly did. we had been on a river cruise on the Douro plus visiting historic sites like Obidos, Sintra and Guimares but we had no visual of the coastal living that existed. We had not been to the Algarve. Our host/driver Joao Brandao was great. He had to alternate between Spanish, French and English for the 4 couples and it was a wonder he did it so well. We enjoyed Aveiro and stopping at the beach in Costa Nova and having a café and nata on the promenade along the inlet. Highly recommend - and ask for Joao!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Loved the fisherman's village, now a vacation destination

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved this tour! This beautiful and charming place is just about an hour from Porto! You'll start the day at Costa Nova with charming houses that are painted with colorful stripes like candy canes. You'll have about half an hour to explore and then head off to Aveiro. It's so pretty! The ride on the canal on the moliceiro is awesome! Plus, there's lots to do here in this little town. The only suggestion I have is that this should be a full day tour because there's too much to do in Aveiro for just 2 hours. Next time I visit this town, I'll go on my own on the train to have more free time. But, for a first time experience, I loved the tour. Our guide was very nice and dropped us off on the other side of the river, in Gaia, overlooking the river. We spent the rest of the day exploring the neighborhhod. I was hesitant to try this tour because it had no reviews. I went for it and loved it! If the tour company is reading this review, please think about making the tour a little longer..More time in Aveiro would have made this tour perfect!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

One of my favourite tours in Porto! Aveiro is such a cute town. We did a short walk with the guide, had free time and then got on a Moliceiro boat for a short cruise, which was very enjoyable. On the way to Aveiro we visited other small village which was very colourful and very different to any other towns we had visited. The tour guide was excellent; she was fun and very knowledgeable; we learn so much about Portugal! It was one of the highlights of our trip, and I recommend spending an extra half day in Porto to visit Aveiro.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip, nice tour guides! wonderful city!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour allowed us to see a bit more of Portugal in addition to Porto. The guide was friendly and knowledgable and the small towns interesting. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Portugal was very interesting, full of beauty and history. I would definitely recommend this tour. I was very disappointed with our guide, and that we had two people that spoke Spanish and two that spoke Portuguese. It was very annoying to have to listen in three languages on an English speaking tour. It made it very difficult to comprehend what she was telling us, as her English was difficult. She did not introduce us or suggest seat rotating.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good for a bit of a look around and nice tour guide but Aveiro and the little mini cruise got a bit sedate and boring for me and this was only the half day tour.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It was a nice tour for the price. They even give you complimentary salt at the end.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Would have been better if the tour had been all in one language, but we had participants from multiple countries, so the guide had to accomodate everyone. Great town but the overall drive was a bit long. We stopped at a beach first, but outside of tourist season it was a little bit boring as a lot of the surrounding businesses were closed. Also, the tour description stated we would explore Aveiro on a walking tour which never happened. The guide said we ran out of time, but it wasn't clear why that would have been the case.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was a lovely excusion. We stopped at beach Nuevo first, then on to Aveiro. It was a stormy day, do we didn't see much. The "gondola" was very crowed. Our you guide was very charming, but didn't have an inclement weather plan. The museum we were to see was closed, so we just walked around. I think it would have been nicer to replace the museum with a nice restaurant. This should be a rainy day option. But, the trip overall was a success.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The tour guide Joana was perfect. But the Moliceiro Cruise I did not see anything worthwhile . What I like was the houses painted in stripes but we where there 15 minutes.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We would have rated this higher except for the phone call we received the day ahead of the agreed-upon time, i.e. the afternoon tour, that the tour company could only do the morning tour. We were not able to do the morning tour and expressed our frustration to the caller. We finally got a call to tell us that they would do the afternoon tour. Aside from this frustration, the tour was very good and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was interesting and the tour guide friendly and informative. We would liked to have spent more time walking through the town, the Moliceiro Cruise and the canals was overrated. But an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

A nice place to visit, could have done with more time to look around were marched around in half hour we were back at hotel after only 3 hours

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message