In Roman times, Aveiro was known as Aviarium, which in Latin means “gathering of birds” due to the large number of birds inhabiting the city’s lagoon area. Today, Aveiro is known for being one of the largest metropolitan areas in Portugal (when ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really thought this would give us a different view of Portugal and it certainly did. we had been on a river cruise on the Douro plus visiting historic sites like Obidos, Sintra and Guimares but we had no visual of the coastal living that existed. We had not been to the Algarve. Our host/driver Joao Brandao was great. He had to alternate between Spanish, French and English for the 4 couples and it was a wonder he did it so well. We enjoyed Aveiro and stopping at the beach in Costa Nova and having a café and nata on the promenade along the inlet. Highly recommend - and ask for Joao!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Loved the fisherman's village, now a vacation destination

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved this tour! This beautiful and charming place is just about an hour from Porto! You'll start the day at Costa Nova with charming houses that are painted with colorful stripes like candy canes. You'll have about half an hour to explore and then head off to Aveiro. It's so pretty! The ride on the canal on the moliceiro is awesome! Plus, there's lots to do here in this little town. The only suggestion I have is that this should be a full day tour because there's too much to do in Aveiro for just 2 hours. Next time I visit this town, I'll go on my own on the train to have more free time. But, for a first time experience, I loved the tour. Our guide was very nice and dropped us off on the other side of the river, in Gaia, overlooking the river. We spent the rest of the day exploring the neighborhhod. I was hesitant to try this tour because it had no reviews. I went for it and loved it! If the tour company is reading this review, please think about making the tour a little longer..More time in Aveiro would have made this tour perfect!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

One of my favourite tours in Porto! Aveiro is such a cute town. We did a short walk with the guide, had free time and then got on a Moliceiro boat for a short cruise, which was very enjoyable. On the way to Aveiro we visited other small village which was very colourful and very different to any other towns we had visited. The tour guide was excellent; she was fun and very knowledgeable; we learn so much about Portugal! It was one of the highlights of our trip, and I recommend spending an extra half day in Porto to visit Aveiro.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Portugal was very interesting, full of beauty and history. I would definitely recommend this tour. I was very disappointed with our guide, and that we had two people that spoke Spanish and two that spoke Portuguese. It was very annoying to have to listen in three languages on an English speaking tour. It made it very difficult to comprehend what she was telling us, as her English was difficult. She did not introduce us or suggest seat rotating.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Would have been better if the tour had been all in one language, but we had participants from multiple countries, so the guide had to accomodate everyone. Great town but the overall drive was a bit long. We stopped at a beach first, but outside of tourist season it was a little bit boring as a lot of the surrounding businesses were closed. Also, the tour description stated we would explore Aveiro on a walking tour which never happened. The guide said we ran out of time, but it wasn't clear why that would have been the case.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was a lovely excusion. We stopped at beach Nuevo first, then on to Aveiro. It was a stormy day, do we didn't see much. The "gondola" was very crowed. Our you guide was very charming, but didn't have an inclement weather plan. The museum we were to see was closed, so we just walked around. I think it would have been nicer to replace the museum with a nice restaurant. This should be a rainy day option. But, the trip overall was a success.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The tour guide Joana was perfect. But the Moliceiro Cruise I did not see anything worthwhile . What I like was the houses painted in stripes but we where there 15 minutes.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We would have rated this higher except for the phone call we received the day ahead of the agreed-upon time, i.e. the afternoon tour, that the tour company could only do the morning tour. We were not able to do the morning tour and expressed our frustration to the caller. We finally got a call to tell us that they would do the afternoon tour. Aside from this frustration, the tour was very good and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was interesting and the tour guide friendly and informative. We would liked to have spent more time walking through the town, the Moliceiro Cruise and the canals was overrated. But an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

A nice place to visit, could have done with more time to look around were marched around in half hour we were back at hotel after only 3 hours

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

This was our third Viator trip in Portugal. While our host Susanna was lovely and very informative. The trip felt very rushed. It is a 45 minute trek out to Aveiro and 45 minute back which takes up 1.5 hours of the 4 hour excursion. The boat ride on the canal was lovely-(which took another 45 minutes) but I expected to hear a bit more about the town, plus the boat is motored along which was NOT quite the same as rowing along the canals -which I had expected. It was a gorgeous sunny day in Aveiro but we had a few minutes to explore which really wasn't enough time. If the trip was 5 hours then it would be worth the money. Not our favorite trip for sure.

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Dawn E
South Africa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour was a total washout ! Arrived in Aveiro and it began raining. We sat on the Moliceiro boat holding umbrellas, and were then afterwards herded into a crowded pastry shop and told to wait there for 20 minutes while the guide searched for a parking spot. Total waste of money !

Doing what: Aveiro Tour from Porto Including Moliceiro Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message