The capital of the United Arab Emirates—as well as the largest and richest—manages to hold on to its cultural heritage while modernizing at a dizzying rate. Known for its beaches, excellent museums, religious structures and over-the-top opulence, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a fantastic day out with Ricardo and his assistant. We learnt a lot from the local wine and port producers about the history as well as the current trends of the production. The Portuguese home-cooked style lunch was superb, with very friendly service. The guides stayed very enthusiastic despite the cold and rainy weather. We all had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was honestly the highlight of our 10 day trip to Portugal. The tour was of a couple vineyards and each one had its own unique specialty. We poured 10 year tawny port wine out of a gigantic oak barrel to taste, it was amazing. The tour guide made you feel very comfortable and was so passionate about his job and his country. I highly recommend this tour if you are looking for something truly unique. You get to see the most amazing views of the Douro Valley and taste everything it has to offer. You wont be disappointed! This sure beats the cave tours in porto of the mass produced port wine any day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was wonderful, especially our awesome tour guide!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Pedro our guide was fantastic
The tour was well worth the price!
I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely a great tour! Highly recommended for everyone who want to gain knowledge about the Portugese culture and their vineyards. The touroperator was very enthusiastic and friendly and knew a lot about the country. Tasting port and seeing where it comes from adds an extra dimension to this fantastic tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The other reviewers are spot-on; this really is an exceptional tour. We usually prefer to travel independently, but we have taken several other excursions through Viator and this was by far the best. The company that runs this itinerary is small, and the guide (we had Pedro) took great care to plan a unique, off-the-beaten path adventure for us. We felt there was no question we could ask that he wouldn't know the answer to--from the process of making port wine to the history of the Douro region to the latest news on the local soccer team. We never felt rushed or herded from place to place, but instead had the impression that we were accompanying a local friend to the best artisanal producers of the area. I'm certain that if we had rented a car and visited the Douro on our own, we never would have found the small, family-run places that Pedro took us to. For the extra $10, the river cruise is a nice addition. Can't recommend this tour highly enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well organised tour - everything was on time and not rushed at the same time.
This is a very good opportunity to learn something about Porto and of course try it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a wonderful tour. Our guide, Pedro, was very knowledgeable and excellent at answering questions. We visited small, private vineyards and tasted fabulous olive oil and honey (along with the Port). We would highly recommend this tour, the scenery alone was well worth the price!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an absolute highlight of our trip to Portugal! My boyfriend and I had a great day, our guide was friendly and fun, and everything exceeded our expectations--the boat ride, wine tasting, delicious lunch, and the hospitality we received along every step of the journey was fabulous. Plus, it's a great bargain!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The weather wasn't perfect, it was rainy, windy day, but everything else was great. We were picked up from our hotel, our guides were energetic and entartaining and they had a lot of storries about Porto wines, Porto region and Portugal history and winemaking. The valley is beautifull, if you like nature and/or you are a wine geek then it's going to be memorable experience. It definitely worth visiting in a guided tour, great job Piedro and Barbara (sorry, I'm not sure how to spell your names)

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was absolutely breath taking and our guide Pedro was awesome. If you have the time do not miss the great tour into the Douro Valley.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very nice guide, dinner was awesome and small group are very nice to visit.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The full day Duoro Valley wine tour with cruise with Pedro Rodrigues was excellent. Apart from visiting such a beautiful part of the world, we got to taste delicious olive oil and honey, eat a yummy traditional Portuguese lunch and, of course, drank the best port ever. Not to much a cruise down the stunning Duoro river. Pedro has so much knowledge and definitely knew his stuff and was so entertaining and fun. Because of him, this day was the highlight of my stay in Porto. Thanks Pedro!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Best tour we have ever taken! Our tour operator was extremely knowledgeable and did everything to ensure we enjoyed our experience. The wineries, restaurant and river trip were well worth the trip from Porto. The smaller wineries we visited gave us the royal treatment including taking us through the process of making port.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message