The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My boyfriend and I booked this tour last minute, after reading the other great reviews - and it certainly lived up to its great reputation! We had an absolutely fantastic day. It was a full and action packed day with lots of interesting places to see, but completely stress-free. It was great to just be able to hop in the van with the other tour-goers, and be shown around a variety of places without having to worry about where to go next or finding our way on a map. The scenery was breathtaking, and we could visit lots of small, unknown places that we wouldn't have found if we had just rented a car ourselves (our original plan).
The food and port wine we tasted was delicious - so much food we couldn't move afterwards! Drinking 8 year old tawny port straight from the barrel was a real treat. We tasted wine in three different locations, and also ate olive oil, honey, and pastries from a little coffee shop as well as the extensive lunch.
The element that really made the tour fantastic was our tour guide, Pedro. He was friendly, funny, and immediately put this group of strangers at ease with stories from the history of the valley to personal anecdotes. And - it was his birthday! Not all people would relish working all day on your birthday, but he made it very fun and we toasted with port, of course. His driving was great and he even dropped us off on our street afterwards.
- one practical point: we weren't staying in a hotel, so we weren't sure where we should get picked up from. After booking the tickets, we called the office and they arranged a meeting point with us, at a hotel about 2 minutes from our apartment. Very easy! They also pre-warned us that it would be cold, so we should wrap up warm.
Don't hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Pedro, thank you for your enthusiasm and care. Pedro is unbelievable - his love and passion for Portugal is equal only to his deep knowledge of the country and its history. Great tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very good tour with guide Barbara. The Portuguese Lunch included three different local main dishes (not options, you could try all of them), besides wine and dessert. You visit two different caves and in the last one you try seven or eight different Port wines.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a beautiful tour with a very good guide and a wonderful landscape. The wine tasting was perfect.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic tour. We (3 couples) were picked up at our hotel at about 8 am and were returned to the hotel at about 6 pm, a very full day and extremely good value. We visited two wineries where we toured their operations and were treated to wonderful wine and port tastings. Lunch was provided and was also excellent. We took advantage of the offer to take the boat tour on the Douro, a very relaxing way to spend an hour or so. My advice to anyone visiting Porto - don't miss taking this tour, it was informative, enjoyable and really great value.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a fantastic day out with Ricardo and his assistant. We learnt a lot from the local wine and port producers about the history as well as the current trends of the production. The Portuguese home-cooked style lunch was superb, with very friendly service. The guides stayed very enthusiastic despite the cold and rainy weather. We all had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was honestly the highlight of our 10 day trip to Portugal. The tour was of a couple vineyards and each one had its own unique specialty. We poured 10 year tawny port wine out of a gigantic oak barrel to taste, it was amazing. The tour guide made you feel very comfortable and was so passionate about his job and his country. I highly recommend this tour if you are looking for something truly unique. You get to see the most amazing views of the Douro Valley and taste everything it has to offer. You wont be disappointed! This sure beats the cave tours in porto of the mass produced port wine any day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was wonderful, especially our awesome tour guide!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Pedro our guide was fantastic
The tour was well worth the price!
I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely a great tour! Highly recommended for everyone who want to gain knowledge about the Portugese culture and their vineyards. The touroperator was very enthusiastic and friendly and knew a lot about the country. Tasting port and seeing where it comes from adds an extra dimension to this fantastic tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The other reviewers are spot-on; this really is an exceptional tour. We usually prefer to travel independently, but we have taken several other excursions through Viator and this was by far the best. The company that runs this itinerary is small, and the guide (we had Pedro) took great care to plan a unique, off-the-beaten path adventure for us. We felt there was no question we could ask that he wouldn't know the answer to--from the process of making port wine to the history of the Douro region to the latest news on the local soccer team. We never felt rushed or herded from place to place, but instead had the impression that we were accompanying a local friend to the best artisanal producers of the area. I'm certain that if we had rented a car and visited the Douro on our own, we never would have found the small, family-run places that Pedro took us to. For the extra $10, the river cruise is a nice addition. Can't recommend this tour highly enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well organised tour - everything was on time and not rushed at the same time.
This is a very good opportunity to learn something about Porto and of course try it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a wonderful tour. Our guide, Pedro, was very knowledgeable and excellent at answering questions. We visited small, private vineyards and tasted fabulous olive oil and honey (along with the Port). We would highly recommend this tour, the scenery alone was well worth the price!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message