The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great overall experience. It really was all I could have hoped for. We visited two wineries, both with excellent wine that you wouldn't necessarily find in Porto. The lunch really opened our eyes to some delish Portugese dishes. My wife and I had a great time talking to the guide and other couples!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Although it was almost overshadowed by the rain.... this tour did not disappoint in the slightest!!
Both wineries which we visited were absolutely lovely and with unbelievably generous hosts! The lunch which was also included in the tour was amazing and the food and wine was never ending.
The guides were fantastic, knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely one of the best wine tours we've ever done! The view of all the vineyards was breathtaking (highly recommend doing the optional river cruise). Would recommend this terrific tour to any one - don't miss this gorgeous day out if you're visiting the region.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Loved the narrow streets

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

That tour was a pure pleasure. Our tour guide, Barbara, was very professional, and she defiantly is a people person. We sow so many breathtaking places, we had huge Portuguese lunch, we had a coffee in a very charming local pastry shop, and we visited two wine houses (the owners greeted us personally). We took a one-hour river cruise. I can’t believe we did that much in one day! I learned a lot about Portugal, and Portuguese people. The country is beautiful, the people are even better! If you are in Porto – don’t miss this tour!
Happy travelling :)
Alina.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was fantastic! It was personable (max of 8ppl) and encompassed everything we wanted to experience! First stop was to taste olive oil, wine and honey at a local producer. Then lunch at a typical restaurant followed by a stop into a small Port producer where we had a tour of the farm and making of port followed by tastings in a Portuguese house. Pedro our guide was fantastic and we had a great group of ppl. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get out of the main tourist trap and experience some traditional portugal!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic day in Douro Valley. Very skilled guides, excellent visits at the vineyards, and very nice lunch.
All my hopes for the day was fulfilled, and I will recommend it to everybody.
Thank you for a lovely day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome day. Well organised. Stunning scenery and good food. What else is there to ask for?!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent all-day tour starting with a hotel pick-up at 0800 and drop off at 1900; the drive to and from the Douro Valley taking approximately 1.5 hours each way with scheduled stop in a good local Douro café. The minibus/minivan was comfortable and our guide ensured the air conditioning met everyone's needs. José David from Cooltour Oporto, was an excellent guide and he made the tour interesting and engaging.

Terrific scenery along the route on a beautiful hot day; temperatures reaching mid 30s Celsius I'm sure but a dry heat with minimal humidity so very bearable. The boat trip was a welcome retreat from the sun and was an opportunity for a different view of the valley and the steep hillsides covered in vines and olive trees.

The Portuguese lunch - the group could not do justice to the huge amounts of fabulous hearty food. The dishes alluded to Portuguese history and included both meat and sweet dishes that beautifully incorporated local port/wine. Traditional field worker stew (everything in the pot for this), marinated pork ribs cooked so the meat was falling off the bones, stewed goat in a not too spicy sauce, salad etc. Nobody in our group had any food preferences however our guide was careful to check before and during the meal for any food preferences or allergies.

We visited D'Origem where we tasted their red wine, white wine, honey and olive oil all of which were delicious. At D'Origem we also had the opportunity of seeing an olive oil press and taken through the production process. At Quinta de Santa Eufemia we were given a very generous tasting of eight ports, including white port, and olive oil and a tour of the winery. Both businesses are family run and it was evident that those involved were enthusiastic about and proud of their products.

We would recommend the tour because the experience allows an insight into the love and hard work that is necessary to create these products, particularly with regard to the smaller and medium-sized businesses.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, lovely guide Paula really interesting facts about Porto and the Fado restaurant was well worth the money, good food and great performances

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Pietro our guide from CoolTours was great.They picked up from our hotel and there were two other couples Pietro gave us a good overview of our drive. The views were fantastic. We also had a chance to swim in the Douro River. The Portuguese lunch was great as we tried many dishes we did not see on a typical restaurant menu. The Port tasting at Qunita Santa Eufemia was fantastic. One of the owners gave us the tour. She was very knowledgeable and her English was very good. The tasting was great as she not only told us about each wine but also explained the differences. The Port was good and very reasonably priced. We also stopped and had a chance to do olive oil tasting and wine tastng at a small place called origen. Great tour and well worth the money.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was wonderful, Piedro (the guide) was very knowledgeable about the area and history, enthusiastic and helpful. The trip is really a must when you find yourself in Porto region.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an amazing time! Our tour guide Piedro was enthusiastic and knew so much about the area. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pedro our driver was very knowledgeable and spoke wonderful english.
The Douro was absolutely beautiful. Lunch was amazing and the tours were great.
Best Port wine we have had. Make sure to bring some extra cash to purchase Port, Honey and Oil.
Excellent trip!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, small group and intimate. Our guide Nuno was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great day. Our guide was fantastic, he knew a lot of things. The food and the wine was really good. It's a must and you can't go Porto and not enjoy a nice day in the Douro Valley. The view are stunning. It is really great to be in such small group. I highly recommended this tour. One of the best day off our trip to Portugal.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message