The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superb trip! If you only have time to do one trip out of Porto make this the one. There were only 6 inour mini bus and Jose the driver / guide so enthusiastic and informative. Do the optional boat trip too..you really appreciate the beautiful scenery. The long day sped by!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour through beautiful countryside. Definitely recommend the boat trip. The guide was superb - very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My friend and I did this tour together and we both absolutely loved it! Our tour guide was Pedro, he was the best tour guide we've ever had and made our day the highlight of our European holiday. Pedro was approachable, knowledgable and organised, whilst also creating a relaxed and fun environment- perfect for wine and lunch in the Douro Valley! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, it was a very special day. The lunch was particularly delicious, as was the wine and olive oils we sampled. 5 stars- absolutely fantastic!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour! Long and leisurely with just the right amount of information and lots of actual tasting! Our guide Barbara was wonderful. She knows her stuff and has lots to add in terms of Portuguese tradition. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful day out with these guys. Great food and wine and company. Highly recommended !

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was excellent. The guide named Maria was very nice and friendly. She guided us both in English and French and spoke both languages fluently and clearly. The van was convenient. The places we visited were beautiful and interesting. We stopped for lunch at a very good restaurant with a magnificent view. Everything was beyond my expectations.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Gave us a real sense of the wine-growing countryside. Good guide, varied experiences, lots and lots of good food and wine.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The highlight of out stay in Porto was this tour... You gotta do it. Our tour guide was great too!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This incredible tour far exceeded my expectations! Our tour guide was knowledgeable, personable, and never pressured us to buy anything during our stops. We learned about the culture of Portugal and the Douro Valley in a small setting which allowed us to ask questions in a more personal manner. I highly recommend the tour with the boat excursion. This was the highlight of our entire trip to Portugal. Thank you!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A wonderful day and a wonderful tour guide(Jose).Do not miss this tour; the scenery is amazing, food and wine fantastic, River cruise is relaxing, Jose is knowledgable, entertaining and has a great command of the English language.100% recommendation of the tour and of Jose. Thankyou so much for a great day. Karen and Steve,Sydney,Australia.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was definitely the highlight of my trip to Porto, not for one moment was I bored. Pedro is an amazing guide who made us all feel welcome and made sure that we were always entertained. The food was amazing, the wine was ever flowing and I even got to jump into the Duoro river. I would come back in an instant and do it all over again.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful day spent touring two small quintas with generous samples of wine, olive oil and port. Our tour guide, Ricardo, was great and clearly enjoys teaching his guests about Portuguese wine and port. This day long adventure was one of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The highlight of our Porto trip! Pedro our guide was great. Nothing was too much trouble, he was very informative and made the whole experience even better.
The swim in the river, on the optional boat tour, was perfect on a hot day, ensure to take your swimmers if you want to have a dip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The highlight of our Porto trip! Pedro our guide was great. Nothing was too much trouble, he was very informative and made the whole experience even better.
The swim in the river, on the optional boat tour, was perfect on a hot day, ensure to take your swimmers if you want to have a dip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome trip!! The Children loved the boat ride and we were served Port!! as well as Authentic Portugese Cuisine! Small group of 7 with Pedro our tour guide. We than finished the tour tasting different ports and we able to literally drink from the tap of the barrell!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message