The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 330 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a very enjoyable experience with the tour. Our guide Johannas was fantastic. The visit to local independent wine producers in the Douro Valley Santa Euphemia was much appreciated.The lunch in the restaurant in Pinhao was really good and the cruise on the river was a nice interlude. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Porto and the Douro area.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Love this tour. Lunch was great and so were the wineries we went to. Beautiful place and love the boat tour. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was undoubtedly as fine a tour as we have ever experienced. Our tour lasted ten hours and, for the duration, Pietro demonstrated his knowledge of the region and was thoroughly entertaining. He picked us up at our hotel early in the morning, as promised, and drove us to the Douro River valley, regaling us with the history of the region and its significance in the country on our hour and a half journey. On arrival, our first stop at the D'Origem Olive Oil Museum, which was incredibly informative with regard to the historical process of olive oil production as well as the more contemporary cold press process. Then we traveled from the mountain top to the valley floor for a boat tour on the type of boat that was originally used to transport olive oil and wine from the Douro Valley to Porto. After a magnificent lunch in a local restaurant in Pinhao, we visited a small, local quinta, Casa da Quinta das Laranjeiras, for an explanation of how port is produced and aged before we experienced a tasting in the living room with the owner and producer.

What distinguished this tour for us was the personal touch. Pietro has been with the company from almost the beginning he takes his job seriously, and works diligently to ensure that the patrons have a memorable experience. During our tour, we learned that he does other tours. Given his knowledge and care, we would request him again. Don't wait. Book this tour. Request Pietro. It was magical.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day. Our guide Juan was amazing and great company. He was incredibly knowledgeable and took us to some amazing vineyards and eating places. The river trip was a lovely addition and the views of the duoro valley are stunning. We have already recommended the trip to friends! Roz and John

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would recommend this tour to anyone staying in Porto who loves gorgeous views and wine! It started off with our wonderful guide, Jose, picking us up from our hotel. We made the journey to the Douro Valley, stopping once at a cafe for coffee and pastries. Once we got into the valley, the ride was absolutely gorgous. It is lined with vineyards with the beautiful river running in between. We went to a couple of different vineyards and got to try some delicious wine and port as well as some snacks. Lunch was delicious and the boat ride was beautiful. Jose made this tour wonderful - he is so knowledgable, interesting, and friendly. This is a must-do!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed the trip in the Douro valley ,lunch was excellent .overall a very good experience .Our guide was excellent ,could not have asked for better.Well done Barbara.great wine tasting too.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My son and I loved this tour. It was one of the highlights of our trip. The Douro Valley is simply stunning and all of the logistics went perfectly. The two wine/port makers that we visited seemed very non touristy as well as the boat ride. I want to give a special shout out to the restaurant that overly catered to my vegetation needs. They could have not have been nicer or more generous and the food was delicious and the wine plentiful. At 80 Euros, this was a bit of a splurge for us but I would do it again in a minute.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip. Alex was a great guide who was happy to explain the history of the region and his own take on growing up in the area and being Portuguese. Great views, delicious lunch, sunny boat trip and a trip to two fantastic local producers. One the best days we had while on our European trip!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Breathtaking views, a very knowledgeable tour guide and a friendly warm welcome at the wine estates and the restaurant. A perfect day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

After the 2 hour train trip to Regua, the cruise back down the Duoro was peaceful. The lunch was excellent and we enjoyed the bottle of red wine, which came with the lunch. The crew were all very friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Day Trip from Porto to Régua by Train and Return by Boat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A thoroughly excellent tour through beautiful Douro countryside. Pedro was an excellent guide, at once knowledge and friendly. In addition to the tour and river trip - optional, just take it - the tour had two parts - a visit to a working wine and olive farm and press with products on sale and a visit to a working port winery concluding with a very interesting tasting with the opportunity to buy wine and local cheese. Both wonderful and educational. Lunch was also very good and with a bit of wine flowing, a very convivial experience! Altogether thoroughly pleasurable and highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Where do I begin?! This was by far the best tour I've ever been on. Our tour guide Pedro was just amazing and went out of his way to make our small group of eight feel welcome. We visited a fifth generation olive oil producer and also enjoyed a boat cruise along the Douro River, which was so relaxing. We had lunch at a small restaurant and got to sample Portuguese dishes of fish, meat and salad, as well as dessert and coffee. In the afternoon we stopped at a family winery and tasted 10-year-old tawny straight from the barrel before enjoying afternoon tea in the family's living room. It was such a fantastic day out made all the more special by our friendly group and brilliant guide. I've been raving about this tour to all my friends. Thanks again Pedro!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was just what I wanted, and was fabulous. Joana our guide was superb. A great knowledge of the area we were in and the wine we tasted. The Douro valley and what it has to offer is so interesting, as well as a beautiful area. A must see if you are visiting Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing trip! Our guide was awesome and very informative. Douro Valley is a must see if visiting Porto. The landscape is beautiful, the local wineries were awesome, lunch was great, the boat ride was nice and relaxing. I would recommend this to anybody visiting Porto!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a fantastic day tour / river cruise in Douro Valley - small / friendly group 7 people, led by excellent tour guide Pedro.
Wonderful / chilled / friendly way to experience the countryside, with great wine and port tastings, at small family properties so much nicer than commercial set ups in town! Excellent lunch way to much food and wine to be able to finish!
Great day, and Pedro was very knowledgeable, and great fun. Do it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous day and would highly recommend this tour. Peter was an exceptional guide and we loved the whole experience. The lunch provided and the wineries visited were excellent.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great guide, Pedro, who was so enthusiastic and friendly. We had a group of 8, and every part of the day was fun but we also learned a lot. We visited a local winemaker where we tasted a good quality wine but also honey and almonds from the property. We also enjoyed a river cruise which gave a different perspective of the valley. Lunch was very generous with many different tastes to choose from, it included dessert, wine and coffee. We then stopped at another winery for a generous port tasting with cheese fruit and quince paste. This was an easy way to learn a lot about the Douro in one day.Pedro stands out as someone completely involved in providing a great experience

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour ... Ricardo, our guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable. Great food and wine.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Good guidance our guide Pedro was great: he knows so much about history of Portugal and Porto, culture and wine making, excelleny food and visits to the wine yards. Can really be recommended.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very responsive. Gave us real insight of Douro valley and wine making there. Recommended.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great way to explore Portugal. Our guide, Pedro was amazing! I would highly recommend this trip to everyone, it's a full day filled with great views, delicious wines and foods, relaxing boat cruise. It's a small group tour so you feel like friends when you are on the tour. Thanks Pedro, your tour was the best we have ever taken. Bom Dia!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a great little trip around the area to learn something about Port Wine which I happin to love.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message