The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 312 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous day and would highly recommend this tour. Peter was an exceptional guide and we loved the whole experience. The lunch provided and the wineries visited were excellent.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great guide, Pedro, who was so enthusiastic and friendly. We had a group of 8, and every part of the day was fun but we also learned a lot. We visited a local winemaker where we tasted a good quality wine but also honey and almonds from the property. We also enjoyed a river cruise which gave a different perspective of the valley. Lunch was very generous with many different tastes to choose from, it included dessert, wine and coffee. We then stopped at another winery for a generous port tasting with cheese fruit and quince paste. This was an easy way to learn a lot about the Douro in one day.Pedro stands out as someone completely involved in providing a great experience

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour ... Ricardo, our guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable. Great food and wine.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Good guidance our guide Pedro was great: he knows so much about history of Portugal and Porto, culture and wine making, excelleny food and visits to the wine yards. Can really be recommended.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very responsive. Gave us real insight of Douro valley and wine making there. Recommended.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great way to explore Portugal. Our guide, Pedro was amazing! I would highly recommend this trip to everyone, it's a full day filled with great views, delicious wines and foods, relaxing boat cruise. It's a small group tour so you feel like friends when you are on the tour. Thanks Pedro, your tour was the best we have ever taken. Bom Dia!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a great little trip around the area to learn something about Port Wine which I happin to love.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alex was a great local guide-friendly and knowledgeable. Delicious lunch and port tastings, and nice cruise along the river. I highly recommend to go-the Douro Valley it's beautiful!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was definitely the highlight of my trip to Porto and great value for money. Pedro was a really informative and likeable guide. The valley was absolutely stunning and the vineyards and other places we visited wonderful. Lots of wine tasting and fun was had.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver/guide, Pedro nicknamed Peter arrived at the appointed time and a great day was under way. After a pleasant and scenic drive to the Douro Valley, we visited a small family-owned winery, or quinta, to taste their white, rose' and red still wines, as well as olive oil and honey. For those of us who did not wish to take the cruise, Pedro drove us to the new Dow visitor center at Quinta Bomfim, at my request, for a port wine tasting. After a delicious lunch, we visited another family-owned quinta to tour the facility and taste their estate bottled whites, rubies and tawny ports. A long day but well worth the time and a great value.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

loved the entire tour and the pit stops along the way. lunch was especially very good and delicious and plenty too!! driver was not punctual, but he made up with his friendliness and calm demeanor, as well as in-depth info he provided throughout the trip. My suggestion would be to perhaps lower number of people per vehicle which would make for a more comfortable and scenic ride for all passengers.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A fantastic day out. Our guide was very entertaining and informative. The trip on the river was very scenic and it was interesting to have an insight into Portuguese cuisine. Both the wine tasting and and port tasting were very good the information was well presented and succinct. Definitely to be repeated

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was great! I went with three girlfriends and we had a blast. The valley is beautiful and loved the two wineries. Learned a lot about port wine. Lunch was delicious and the boat cruise was a nice break during the day. Also our guide was very knowledgable and taught us a lot of Porto. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My family and I had a great time on this tour. Alex, our guide, was friendly and knowledgeable about the Douro region, as he grew up there. The views and terrain are truly unforgettable. We especially enjoyed visiting the two family run quintas. Had it not been for my motion sickness, I would have enjoyed the van ride that much more, as the views are amazing... I could have taken pictures all day. Did I mention the gorgeous views?

Lunch was pleasantly delicious for all, even my vegetarian parents. Plenty of food and wine.

I highly recommend adding the optional boat trip, as it gave us a chance to relax and soak it all in, and enjoy the region from a different perspective.

Thanks Alex, for a wonderful day! My girls enjoyed playing with you!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well organized ,excellent guide,good food and Douro Valley worth the trip with or without the Port Wine!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took the Douro Valley small group trip with Pedro as a guide and had a wonderful day. Everything worked out as promised. Pedro came on time to fetch me and the six other tourists from our hotels. He took good care of us through the whole day. We had a feeling that our happiness was the main thing and there was no rush atmosphere any time. He was a safe and careful driver as well. If you want to see some beautiful countryside outside the city, I would recommend this trip very warmly.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Portugal! Our guide was knowledgeable and fun, the views were out of this world, and all of the places we stopped for food and wine tasting were truly excellent. The boat ride was a lovely way to relax and take in the stunning scenery. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alex was an amazing tour guide with so much information and energy! The trip itself was more than worth the money we paid and the views were beautiful and the tastings were more than generous! I would highly recommend this to anybody.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was extremely enjoyable and excellent value for money. Our guide Joanna was fun, informative and a superb driver. Both she and the guide of the other minibus did everything they could to make our day a memorable one. Both the wine tour and the port tour were very interesting and the tastings generous. The 4 course lunch, which included unlimited wine, was the best we have ever had on such a tour. The rabelo boat ride is optional, but it makes such a lovely and relaxing break in the day, that we highly recommend it. In fact, we could not recommend this whole tour highly enough.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good guide to a stunning area.

Boat trip was a highlight and for me could have been longer. Don't miss out on this option.

Appreciated the guide Alex (?) ability to answer questions and his relaxed and confident attitude.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Must do! I booked this tour for my mother and I. We had a wonderful time. The Douro valley is gorgeous. Our tour guide Pedro was fantastic. We visted two small vineyards. We bought a bottle of rose at the first wine tasting. Only 5€! And were able to enjoy it on the river cruise. Would do it again.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour. Pedro was superb and very knowledgeable. We visited two wineries where we were treated like family. Company was also great!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour provided by Cooltour. Alex our guide was superb very knowledgeable, engaging and professional. The group was only eight in total so you were able to fully engage. It was a day of spectacular scenery, wine/port tasting, a one-hour cruise through the Douro Valley and a fantastic lunch in a tiny restaurant in Pinhao. Overall an extremely enjoyable experience and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message