The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 240 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Joao, our tour guide, was amazing and intimately knowledgable about not only the wines produced in the Douro Valley, but also about the history and life of Portugal and it's peoples!!! He was completely accommodating and because of the service he provided we are currently planning a return trip to Porto in the warmer months and plan on using Joao once again!!!! This tour is highly recommended and you won't be disappointed! Safe travels........

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Just fantastic ! the staff is very nice and welcome. I love the fact that we were only about 8 people visiting. It's much better with a small group. The Douro valley is just amazing and I really recommend this trip !! I will definitely come back !! Thanks for everything ! Natacha

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour exceeded my expectations in every way! The views were beautiful, pictures cannot do it justice. Also, our tour guide was amazing! We were able to try homemade honey and olive oil, along with table wine at a certain estate. Then we went on a great river cruise, which provided a spectacular view of the Douro Valleys. After that, we had one of the best meals I had in my entire time in Portugal. After, there was still more! We went to port wine estate and tried every type of port, and learned so much. I've been on a few tours in Europe and I will say this is by far the best tour I have been on! Tip your tour guides because they take you to amazing places and teach you so much!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide fantastic, incredibly friendly and informative. There was plenty of wine and the views were spectacular.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Fabian V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

fabulous insight to the Port wine industry and culture. Lovely sight seeing through the valley and tips about the local areas.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was soo perfect!! Pedro was an awesome tour guide! We were the only ones on the tour so he personalized the whole tour for us. He explained so much history and the process for the olive oil with the old machines and the wine making process. Amazing views and even more amazing tour!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My tour guide was excellent. I would recommend to anyone traveling in the region.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My boyfriend and I booked this tour last minute, after reading the other great reviews - and it certainly lived up to its great reputation! We had an absolutely fantastic day. It was a full and action packed day with lots of interesting places to see, but completely stress-free. It was great to just be able to hop in the van with the other tour-goers, and be shown around a variety of places without having to worry about where to go next or finding our way on a map. The scenery was breathtaking, and we could visit lots of small, unknown places that we wouldn't have found if we had just rented a car ourselves (our original plan).
The food and port wine we tasted was delicious - so much food we couldn't move afterwards! Drinking 8 year old tawny port straight from the barrel was a real treat. We tasted wine in three different locations, and also ate olive oil, honey, and pastries from a little coffee shop as well as the extensive lunch.
The element that really made the tour fantastic was our tour guide, Pedro. He was friendly, funny, and immediately put this group of strangers at ease with stories from the history of the valley to personal anecdotes. And - it was his birthday! Not all people would relish working all day on your birthday, but he made it very fun and we toasted with port, of course. His driving was great and he even dropped us off on our street afterwards.
- one practical point: we weren't staying in a hotel, so we weren't sure where we should get picked up from. After booking the tickets, we called the office and they arranged a meeting point with us, at a hotel about 2 minutes from our apartment. Very easy! They also pre-warned us that it would be cold, so we should wrap up warm.
Don't hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Pedro, thank you for your enthusiasm and care. Pedro is unbelievable - his love and passion for Portugal is equal only to his deep knowledge of the country and its history. Great tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very good tour with guide Barbara. The Portuguese Lunch included three different local main dishes (not options, you could try all of them), besides wine and dessert. You visit two different caves and in the last one you try seven or eight different Port wines.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a beautiful tour with a very good guide and a wonderful landscape. The wine tasting was perfect.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic tour. We (3 couples) were picked up at our hotel at about 8 am and were returned to the hotel at about 6 pm, a very full day and extremely good value. We visited two wineries where we toured their operations and were treated to wonderful wine and port tastings. Lunch was provided and was also excellent. We took advantage of the offer to take the boat tour on the Douro, a very relaxing way to spend an hour or so. My advice to anyone visiting Porto - don't miss taking this tour, it was informative, enjoyable and really great value.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a fantastic day out with Ricardo and his assistant. We learnt a lot from the local wine and port producers about the history as well as the current trends of the production. The Portuguese home-cooked style lunch was superb, with very friendly service. The guides stayed very enthusiastic despite the cold and rainy weather. We all had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message