• USD ($)
  • English
The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the guide was great; the wine tasting experience was fabulous.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jose was such a wonderful host, and made sure we got to see and do everything promised and more. We had so much fabulous food that we couldn't eat the next day. Definitely don't plan to do anything that night for dinner! And the port tastings just kept on coming.
I hope his exam the next week went well, despite the long day he spent with us.
We felt as if we had a real insight into the work and lifestyle of port making in the Douro region. Thank you

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

this was a wonderful tour through a beautiful area. Being in a small group was intimate and fun. There are many boat/train tours, but I think this trip in the van was terrific because we were able to get off the beaten track to some lovely small wineries that were handpicked as traditional, small family enterprises.And it wasn't like being in a cattle call--very individualized attention. Eduardo, our tour guide, was lovely and caring. We are fishetarians and he asked for a special dish for us for lunch, which was very accommodating. He was very informative and we had interesting conversations about Portugal, culture and politics. This tour was the highlight of our time in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I wanted to end my visit in Portugal by fully experiencing everything that the gorgeous Douro Valley has to offer, and a small yet intimate tour seemed to be the best way. Based on rave reviews and statements from other backpackers that i met and a variety of hostel's recommendations, Cooltour seemed to be the best fit. So many highlights to speak of special touches. An intimate group of only 8 made it easy for everyone to bond and enjoy the experience together, and the fact that each person was picked up at their hotel was such a relaxing introduction and ending to a perfect day. The thing though that made this tour stand out the most, was our amazing guide Pedro. Guide doesn't even seem to be the correct word to use, since by the end it felt as though you were hanging out with a friendly local who just wanted to show you the beauty of their countryside. Not only was he knowledgeable, but he was passionate which made a world of a difference. You could tell that he loved the Douro Valley and everything that it had to offer; delicious port and wine straight from the family owned vineyards, stunning landscape, the freshest fruits, lunch at a restaurant gem, views from a boat that you only imagine seeing in postcards, priceless moments. The cherry on top though, was the fact that you felt like you were taken to special places off the beaten track. You weren't herded into massive estates with lines of tourist buses, where you are just a number. Not once did we see another tourist or were on a overly strict timeline, everything felt relaxed and allowed you to just enjoy the moment. This really was all possible because of Pedro and I'm so grateful that I was able to experience the Douro Valley with someone who truly enjoys what he does and is extremely good at it. I can honestly say this tour was beyond worth every penny and was more than i could have expected. Thanks for everything and a huge thank you to Pedro, you were delightful and made my stay in Portugal!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Incredible tour guide and an unforgettable experience! A wonderful evening!

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an incredible daytrip through the Douro Valley. I wish I could rate it higher. I am so glad my wife and I booked this trip as a part of our honeymoon.

Our guide was Nuno, who picked us up from our hotel in the morning. He drove the group (8 people total) to the Douro Valley, giving informational tidbits and telling stories all along the way. We made a few stops, none of them at all touristy. For example, our first stop was at a family-run vineyard where a father and his two young sons showed us the area where they make olive oil and wine before serving us samples of their two incredibly delicious products.

For anyone who books this tour, I highly recommend the optional river cruise. You will definitely regret it if you miss out on the opportunity to ride in a ribeira along the Douro River to catch the breathtaking beauty of the Douro Valley.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant. The best tour of our trip using Viator. Do not miss it!!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour guide with in depth local knowledge. Really enjoyed getting away from the big winery's and going to small family owned winery's.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Ricardo was an excellent tour guide. The whole trip was incredible.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Ze was a great guide. So knowledgeable and full of fun facts.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would highly recommend the tour, the pick-up was on time, the schedule wash't to strict so that we could pass longer time at some places if necessary. Our guide Ricardo spoke perfectly in french. He told us many information about Portugal and nice anecdotes too. The lunch was different versus watch we've seen elsewhere in Portugal restaurants. We tasted around 15 difference kinds of wines. And the information given could help us to find the taste although we aren't specialists. And for your information, pictures can't reflect how nice is the Douro area!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was absolutely amazing. Hotel pickup was provided, the food and wines/portos were amazing. We learned a lot of new things about wineries, porto wine, etc. The people from the wineries were great, and our guide (Nouno) was super! I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I had an amazing time on this tour! The scenery is magnificent, our guides were charming and informative, the Quintas had delicious wines, and the boat tour and lunch were excellent. The most special part, however, was visiting Quinta das Lamelas and the private tasting there. A magical day!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very very friendly tour guides, excellent route. I would highly recommend anyone who would like to learn more about port wine to join this tour. It is definitely worth going.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was the best day trip I've ever taken anywhere. My husband, friends and I were totally delighted with the whole day. Our guide, Pedro, was charming and knowledgeable and his priority was making our day perfect. The mini-van was very comfortable. We visited a beautiful scenic overlook, stopped at a very nice little bakery, and visited a quinta where the family presses olives into oil for the neighborhood. After a cruise on the Douro, we had a fabulous traditional Portuguese lunch with wine. After lunch we visited a quinta that produces port wine, and enjoyed a tour and then a tasting in the owner's home. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message