The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 423 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leigh C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour of the Douro River Valley was great! Pedro was the best guide! It was unique and unlike any other wine tour we have been on. It was more personal. We also got to try very different wines including different ports. Highly recommend this tour of you want to see the Duomo River Valley

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Russell D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Peter was a great guide and he was so accommodating stopping to let us take pictures and the like. The tour was charming and really gave us some history lessons as well as a very complete education on Port Wines. Honestly, the wine winery was rustic and amazing, but after tasting some other Portuguese wines at restaurants in Porto, the quality of the reds just wasn't stellar. That is minor, though because it was such a once in a lifetime experience. Oh, and his olive oil is outstanding. Brought back a couple and wished we could have fit more in our luggage. Overall highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Carlos B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Rainy and cold but EXCELLENT! Great knowledgeable tour guide. Tastings were excellent. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Elizabeth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the tour! It's a bit pricey for what we got, especially tasting-wise, but we had a great time and loved Pedro, our guide. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Margaret J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was by far the best tour we signed up for in Portugal. Ricardo, our guide, was a wealth of information about the area, the wine, and general Portuguese history. Loved the tour of the valley, the river, and the 2 vineyards we visited. All of it beautiful! Plenty of time to explore and ask questions. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had a wonderful time on our tour of the Douro Valley. This is a must for anyone who has an interest in learning more about the wine, terroir, and culture of this beautiful region. Our guide, Joao, was very informative and created a lovely experience for us. A great day with a lovely group!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Jeff Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a fantastic night tour of Porto and an enjoyable and delicious dinner/Fado show. Our guide Yorick was very knowledgeable and personable. I would strongly recommend this non touristy, intimate show and evening out. Well worth the price for the quality of the meal and individual service. They will also pick you up at your house which is a real plus.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

Yordana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was the highlight of my trip to Porto - an absolutely stunning scenery and a good taste of Port wine! The tour guide, Pedro, was very helpful and made the tour very informative. I highly recommend the trip to wine-lovers and people willing to explore the area around Porto!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Nobuhiko O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide, Alex, was super friendly and informative. Both trips to the wineries were picturesque, educational, and accompanied by generous tastings of wine and port. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent day trip. Barbara was a great guide and would definitely recommend this trip

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Keely H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Joanne was a wonderful guide! Our group ended up just being myself and my husband and a French couple, so we got to practice our French, but she flipped between the two languages effortlessly. She took us to smaller places that felt genuine and not at all like tourist traps. Her driving skills through the misty mountains were also impressive! Again, it felt like hanging out with a local friend, which was great. The boat trip was lovely even on a gray day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day out, I took my mum as a surprise for her birthday, the tour operator and the hosts made us feel very special and my mum had an amazing day. Everyone we met was very knowledgeable about the region and the products available and they told the history in a very interesting and captivating way. I wouls do this tour again and I will recommend to others to give it a try!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Erich B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Barbara was a fantastic guide, she kept us entertained the whole trip. The lunch, wine and port tastings were excellent and a great value. Erich, Lynda and Gord from Canada.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Monice K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

On time hotel pick up and drop off. Tour guide was excellent in his knowledge of area and Port tour and a safe driver. Lunch at the restaurant was good and the river cruise scenic. I would highly recommend this tour to friends visiting the region and I did tell our hotel that if anyone asks about a Douro Valley Tour to recommend this one. Well worth the money

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Pamela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was terrific the driver so helpful and pleasant he told us so much about the area but did not lecture to us we were so pleased and happy to have been on this trip just wonderful

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Lambertus v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

That was a great trip. A wonderful programme, pleasant and interesting. Our two guides Barbara and Pedro did an excellent job. The whole group of 14 people two minivans was very satisfied with the trip.
Very good value for money.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Ruth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is an amazing excursion, a wonderful opportunity to visit small family owned vineyards, relax on the river and marvel at the beautiful scenery. Our tour guide Alex was very knowledgeable and shared his knowledge and experience of the Douro Valley with great passion. A perfect way to experience the countryside and see the villages of Porto and the Valley. if you are thinking of doing this tour you will not be disappointed and be sure to ask for Alex, he will ensure you have a fantastic day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Joydeep Das United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Deserves to be 5 tour for all the best thing! ideal tour guide in form of 'peter' who was a pleasure to tour with and the breathtaking scenery adds another to the experience. Although the boat tour can be avoided but on a nice sunny day why not! its all worth it..the lunch is really good and worth the money along with the port wine tastings. Overall good experience and strongly recommend. Cheers.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Derek E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exceeded expectations! We were treated to an extremely personal and authentic look into the history and life in the Douro valley. It was clear that our tour guide had a phenomenal understanding of the area, the best places to stop, and the history of wine and port in the Douro valley.

Tastings were done at small family operated wineries where we felt like friends/guests more then just another tourist through the area.

We visited some of the port makers in Porto on another day during trip in Portugal and the experience there just doesn't even compare. You are hurtled through the tour like cattle while the tour guide rattles off rehearsed lines from memory. We strongly recommend considering this tour instead if you are interest in the Douro valley and Port making!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Stefanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thought this was a fun, informative trip. Our guide Guliano spelling? was polite and knowledgeable about the region and about wine. He picked us up right on time from our hotel and we were on our way along with five other guests. We did tastings at two wineries, one of which specialized in port wine. We opted for the one hour river tour. The only suggestion we would have is that the caption do some narration so we had some context for the pleasant scenery. We had an authentic Portuguese lunch that was served family style with two entrees, salad, bread, wine, coffee and dessert. Our guide asked us in advance if we had any dietary restrictions/preferences so he could make any necessary arrangements with the restaurant. The food was good and the restaurant was not touristy. While it was a long day, it was broken up by various stops and we have no regrets in booking this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful time! Douro valley is beautiful. Wineries we visited were reasonable and generous with their pours. Much better overall experience than Napa Valley. Lunch was great and ample too.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Ann.mcgrath3272

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Susana kept us,the Canadians, and the Fab 4 from Britian, thoroughly entertained on our whole trip! Her quizzes, commentary and humor were spot on. Beautiful drive to and thru the Valley, stopped for fresh fruit purchases on the way and photo ops. Nice wine tours, river cruise, delish lunch and Porto house with gracious hosts, lovely appetizers, Port and Fado sung by Susana!
If you have a day take this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pedro make the day awesome. Our group was good. Lots of laughs. Is a long day but full of great sites and learning points. Thanks Pedro.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message