The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 482 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

eva d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thank you Anna for making us spend such a lovely day in the Douro Valley. Not only are you a perfect driver small, winding roads your fluent English and French, as well as your knowledge and kindness makes you the perfect guide.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Samantha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it! From the second we were picked up nothing was too much trouble for Alex our guide. We had a small group, he managed the need for both french and English translation beautifully and was able to answer all of the questions from the members of the group. The two vineyards we visited were beautiful and the people who showed us round obviously had a real passion for what they do.

Oh and lunch was absolutely fab too!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Pui Hei L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As the name Porto suggests, the region is famous for its wine and fortified wine production, hence my friend and I took a day off from the city to join the Douro Valley tour. No regrets at all. The driver was very nice and helpful and our tour mates were happy. Scenery in the valley was fabulous and the lunch included was delicious.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Cheryl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Douro Valley is well worth spending the day ! Spectacular scenery , important history of port wine . Out your director was fun and well informed ,

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Pierce O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was great! The guide, Jonathan Cardoso was very nice, funny and super informative. He made some special stops for us along the way that made the trip extra enjoyable! We loved the wineries and the river trip as well! Everyone should do this, that is for an awesome time!
-pierce and kaia

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Alan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nuno was fantastic. Very patient, friendly, knowledgeable, made our trip to Douro valley very memorable.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Tsz Yan Phoebe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

You could taste lots of wine from Douro Valley in this tour You could enjoy the sightseeing in the Douro Valley. Worth to go!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Ramona D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour our guide, Pedro was so helpful and fun to be with. It was very informative the included lunch was the best we had in all the tours we've been - simple but delicious. The river cruise was also relaxing. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Sabrina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great and beautiful area!
The train ride was not so impressive, but the cruise was amazing!
The food, the crew, the landscape, everything was top!
It was very relaxing and the arrival in Porto was breath taking..

Doing what: Day Trip from Porto to Régua by Train and Return by Boat

Amanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am so glad we booked this tour for our stay in Porto. Our guide, Nuno, was THE BEST. Very friendly and very informative. We stopped at a coffee shop, 2 amazing (small and family run) wineries, a boat tour, and had a great lunch. No way you could get the personalized experience we did with the big tours.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Jamie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joana was a great guide and you can tell that she truly loves her job. She gave the tour in English and French. The tour was a beautiful drive with views of duoro valley and endless amount of vineyards. The tour involved 2 tastings as well as a boat tour and traditional Portuguese lunc.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Cesare A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the overall experience was excellent . Our Guide Pedro was perfect very knowledgeable and helpful. I would definitely recommend Pedro as a guide

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Isabelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great. Nuno was fantastic!!! We enjoyed ourselves very much.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an amazing day full of lots of information. Wine tasting and a lovely visit to a home for plenty of port. We came away full of praise for our guide Alex who was keen to share his love of the area and its history and wine. The weather on the day was grey with spots of blue sky but it didn and #39;t.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

VIKTOR F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip was amazing. Especially thanks to our guide, Jonathan. He was cheerful, witty and very involved.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

marg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour I have ever taken with Viator. Peter our tour guide was great, informative and fun. The meal which is included in the price was the best meal I had in Portugal. The two wine tastings/vineyards we visited were so interesting and really beautiful. Really felt like we were on some kind of VIP tour because of the great treatment we received every where we went that day. The cruise was beautiful. The Duro Valley is spectacular and we even had rain and it did not matter best day in Portugal do yourself a favor and don’t miss this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Philip K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely brilliant. Pedro our guide was knowledgeable and did everything possible to please. I would happily recommend this tourrrrrrrrrr to anybody.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Cool Tours are worth doing and are cost effective. Including the Lunch and cruise is worth doing up front as you will do these two anyway.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

clark.tori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely incredible landscape and Alex was a fantastic guide! So easy-going and even gave us a bonus tour of Porto on our way back when we got stuck in traffic. Couldn't recommend this enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Pamela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful tour! Pedro was our guide and he was a wealth of information about the Douro Valley, Port wines, individual wineries and Portugal. All of the stops were very interesting and the river cruise, while short at an hour, was a terrific addition. Our tour companions were from all over the world and the fact that it is such a small group makes the trip a lot more relaxing and fun. We would highly recommend this tour and tour company.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

mem630

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip was awesome and the tour guide was definitely one of the best! We experienced 2 beautiful wine tours in an area that we were grateful someone else was driving. The valley was spectacular and the wine delightful, best Port we have ever had. Highly recommend it...

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

CHONG AE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Alex tour guide was very good, very knowledgeable about the region and the wines.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Stephen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Weather indifferent and contradictory instructions about rendezvous at San Bento, one saying be there at 8.30 but 20 minutes earlier, the other 8.45. In the end the guides said 8.50. Nice train journey, ditto boat trip. Lunch not highest gastronomy but generous and filling wine poured with open hand. Five-hour lunch!

Doing what: Day Trip from Porto to Régua by Train and Return by Boat

freddie t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful trip, well planned and our tour guide Anna is very friendly. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message