• USD ($)
  • English
The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The highlight of our Porto trip! Pedro our guide was great. Nothing was too much trouble, he was very informative and made the whole experience even better.
The swim in the river, on the optional boat tour, was perfect on a hot day, ensure to take your swimmers if you want to have a dip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The highlight of our Porto trip! Pedro our guide was great. Nothing was too much trouble, he was very informative and made the whole experience even better.
The swim in the river, on the optional boat tour, was perfect on a hot day, ensure to take your swimmers if you want to have a dip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome trip!! The Children loved the boat ride and we were served Port!! as well as Authentic Portugese Cuisine! Small group of 7 with Pedro our tour guide. We than finished the tour tasting different ports and we able to literally drink from the tap of the barrell!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Joao brought a child seat for my 3 year old. Now talk about service. 1st sight of the night was the view of the sunset over Porto, breath taking view. Than off for dinner with traditional Fado Performance. Food and drinks were authentic!

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really good tour, it takes you to smaller less tourist filled places. Take the boat trip with it, there are some great views.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great small wine boutiques, experienced guide and fantastic views.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. The Douro Valley is not to be missed. Our guides were fun and well-informed. A great day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

lovely trip and excellent guides ... highly recommended

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the guide was great; the wine tasting experience was fabulous.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jose was such a wonderful host, and made sure we got to see and do everything promised and more. We had so much fabulous food that we couldn't eat the next day. Definitely don't plan to do anything that night for dinner! And the port tastings just kept on coming.
I hope his exam the next week went well, despite the long day he spent with us.
We felt as if we had a real insight into the work and lifestyle of port making in the Douro region. Thank you

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

this was a wonderful tour through a beautiful area. Being in a small group was intimate and fun. There are many boat/train tours, but I think this trip in the van was terrific because we were able to get off the beaten track to some lovely small wineries that were handpicked as traditional, small family enterprises.And it wasn't like being in a cattle call--very individualized attention. Eduardo, our tour guide, was lovely and caring. We are fishetarians and he asked for a special dish for us for lunch, which was very accommodating. He was very informative and we had interesting conversations about Portugal, culture and politics. This tour was the highlight of our time in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I wanted to end my visit in Portugal by fully experiencing everything that the gorgeous Douro Valley has to offer, and a small yet intimate tour seemed to be the best way. Based on rave reviews and statements from other backpackers that i met and a variety of hostel's recommendations, Cooltour seemed to be the best fit. So many highlights to speak of special touches. An intimate group of only 8 made it easy for everyone to bond and enjoy the experience together, and the fact that each person was picked up at their hotel was such a relaxing introduction and ending to a perfect day. The thing though that made this tour stand out the most, was our amazing guide Pedro. Guide doesn't even seem to be the correct word to use, since by the end it felt as though you were hanging out with a friendly local who just wanted to show you the beauty of their countryside. Not only was he knowledgeable, but he was passionate which made a world of a difference. You could tell that he loved the Douro Valley and everything that it had to offer; delicious port and wine straight from the family owned vineyards, stunning landscape, the freshest fruits, lunch at a restaurant gem, views from a boat that you only imagine seeing in postcards, priceless moments. The cherry on top though, was the fact that you felt like you were taken to special places off the beaten track. You weren't herded into massive estates with lines of tourist buses, where you are just a number. Not once did we see another tourist or were on a overly strict timeline, everything felt relaxed and allowed you to just enjoy the moment. This really was all possible because of Pedro and I'm so grateful that I was able to experience the Douro Valley with someone who truly enjoys what he does and is extremely good at it. I can honestly say this tour was beyond worth every penny and was more than i could have expected. Thanks for everything and a huge thank you to Pedro, you were delightful and made my stay in Portugal!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Incredible tour guide and an unforgettable experience! A wonderful evening!

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an incredible daytrip through the Douro Valley. I wish I could rate it higher. I am so glad my wife and I booked this trip as a part of our honeymoon.

Our guide was Nuno, who picked us up from our hotel in the morning. He drove the group (8 people total) to the Douro Valley, giving informational tidbits and telling stories all along the way. We made a few stops, none of them at all touristy. For example, our first stop was at a family-run vineyard where a father and his two young sons showed us the area where they make olive oil and wine before serving us samples of their two incredibly delicious products.

For anyone who books this tour, I highly recommend the optional river cruise. You will definitely regret it if you miss out on the opportunity to ride in a ribeira along the Douro River to catch the breathtaking beauty of the Douro Valley.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant. The best tour of our trip using Viator. Do not miss it!!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message