The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 441 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DALE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a fantastic trip. Our guide Alex was knowledgeable and from the same area. The vineries we visited were picturesque and the one of the owners of the places gave a personal tour himself. The trip was well planned, the lunch was good and we couldn't have had a better planned trip than this one. We will definitely recommend this tour.
Dale Beaman, NY

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great day with our wonderful guide, Ana !
The douro valley is really beautiful.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

nicki.fallon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this day trip! Our guide was fantastic - friendly, outgoing, knowledgeable about history, wine, etc. Would definitely recommend this to anyone considering. As others noted, it also includes a 1-hour cruise on the Douro river which really completed the experience. Wish we could go back and do it again!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I just wanted to let you know what a great time we had on your tour yesterday. At first we were very skeptical that it would be too touristy. In fact, it was just the opposite. We really enjoyed going to the small lesser known producers rather than the big producers. The lunch and boat ride was great too.

I also want to mention that out tour guide Alex was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and communicated to us in English extremely well. We were so happy to have him as our tour guide and we will gladly recommend your tour to any of our friends or family if they come to visit.
Thank you very much, Muito Obrigado!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Suren Perera United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this trip. It was very relaxed and we had some amazing wine. Nuno was very friendly and a great guide. The Douro valley itself is absolutely amazing and the views were spectacular. The tour is fully worth the price you pay for it and the fact that it is a very small group makes it a lot more personal and easier to get along with the rest of the group. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Erica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Pedro, the guide, totally made the difference. His passion for Porto and the Douro region made the tour both fun and informative. Breathtaking views, friendly people and not to forget good wine and port tastings.
Cheers Johnny and Erica from Canada

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day trip from Porto.
Wonderful views -- great wine tasting experiences both table wine and port wine and a fantastic guide, Ana.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Jonatas Jonathan was our tourguide and he was extraordinary! Funny, informative, personable, and a very safe driver at that, especially through the steep and winding hills of the Douro Valley. He made the trip a perfect experience.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Tony F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent and the singers were very good.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

Luis F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour! The Douro Valley region is beatiful, the tour guide was excellent and the wine tasting visits were great!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Deborah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Piedro and Anna were both knowledgeable and congenial. Lunch was excellent and the short River cruise was very pleasant. The two wineries were different - one was Douro wines and the other Port wines made in the original way. Maria at St. Euphemia was priceless!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Gail R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Piedro was a fantastic tour guide. He is enthusiastic, and rightfully proud of this beautiful country. He explains everything very well, and made our rainy day very enjoyable. The first wine stop was our favourite, mostly due to the amazing views, and tasty olive oil. This tour was well worth it.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Vikram B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely loved the experience. Joanna was a wonderful guide and made it her mission to ensure that everyone on the tour had a good time. We visited small niche producers and had access to amazing wines and port and wonderful customer service. Great value for money and a wonderful day all around.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

corynix3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We took the tour with a local tour company Our guide was Barbara and she was fantastic. Very knowledgeable about the Duoro Valley region and the wine. We visited wineries where we met by a 3rd and 5th generation family member. You could tell they loved Barbara so that made us feel at home. We visited an olive oil museum which was cool to see. The ride was about an hour or so outside of Porto, the ride was very gentle and easy through the valley. Barbara took us to a local breakfast store which was really good, as well as treated us to a traditional Portuguese lunch. We will definitely be back requesting Barbara for our next adventure.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Miriam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a brilliant time on our Porto Douro Valley Tour. Our guide, Pepe made it a really unique experience for us, tailored it for our enjoyment and provided so much information and local knowledge of the region and the port making process. The food lots of it! was delicious and the scenery was very beautiful, even out of season. Best to note there is a lot of driving involved and to be prepared for that when booking this tour, but I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Leigh C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour of the Douro River Valley was great! Pedro was the best guide! It was unique and unlike any other wine tour we have been on. It was more personal. We also got to try very different wines including different ports. Highly recommend this tour of you want to see the Duomo River Valley

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Russell D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Peter was a great guide and he was so accommodating stopping to let us take pictures and the like. The tour was charming and really gave us some history lessons as well as a very complete education on Port Wines. Honestly, the wine winery was rustic and amazing, but after tasting some other Portuguese wines at restaurants in Porto, the quality of the reds just wasn't stellar. That is minor, though because it was such a once in a lifetime experience. Oh, and his olive oil is outstanding. Brought back a couple and wished we could have fit more in our luggage. Overall highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Carlos B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Rainy and cold but EXCELLENT! Great knowledgeable tour guide. Tastings were excellent. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Elizabeth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the tour! It's a bit pricey for what we got, especially tasting-wise, but we had a great time and loved Pedro, our guide. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Margaret J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was by far the best tour we signed up for in Portugal. Ricardo, our guide, was a wealth of information about the area, the wine, and general Portuguese history. Loved the tour of the valley, the river, and the 2 vineyards we visited. All of it beautiful! Plenty of time to explore and ask questions. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had a wonderful time on our tour of the Douro Valley. This is a must for anyone who has an interest in learning more about the wine, terroir, and culture of this beautiful region. Our guide, Joao, was very informative and created a lovely experience for us. A great day with a lovely group!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Jeff Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a fantastic night tour of Porto and an enjoyable and delicious dinner/Fado show. Our guide Yorick was very knowledgeable and personable. I would strongly recommend this non touristy, intimate show and evening out. Well worth the price for the quality of the meal and individual service. They will also pick you up at your house which is a real plus.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

Yordana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was the highlight of my trip to Porto - an absolutely stunning scenery and a good taste of Port wine! The tour guide, Pedro, was very helpful and made the tour very informative. I highly recommend the trip to wine-lovers and people willing to explore the area around Porto!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message