The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 353 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, our tour guide Joanna was very knowledgeable and was very attentive to the group. The scenery was gorgeous. Only down side was insufficient breaks at overlooks to get some beautiful shots of the scenery. Port wine tasting was delicious. Would highly recommend. Great way to see the Douro valley.

Doing what: Best Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time. What friendly and knowledgeable guides! Would do it again.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My sisters and I did this tour on August 10th, 2015, and it really ended being one of the highlights of our trip to Portugal. Our tour guide, Alex, was very friendly and super funny he also speaks English perfectly. Alex was very knowledgable and passionate about the tour, having grown up in the Douro Valley himself.

You visit two vineyards and have several tastings at each location with very hefty pours, so pace yourself. Lunch was good, but the small food platter set out for us at the Port Wine vineyard tasting was really wonderful, and I actually would have preferred just that over the lunch. We also took the river cruise, which was relaxing and gives you a beautiful view of the valley.

Would definitely recommend this tour to fellow travelers, and ask for Alex!!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Alex was local and very knowledgeable and friendly. All aspects of the tour were good, and we visited smaller independent wine and port producers which gave a very personal touch. The boat trip is a worthwhile addition to see the unusual scenery close up.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour and overall experience! We were only in Porto for about 3 days, but we were happy to spend the day in the Douro Valley. Our guide was fantastic and had a great sense of humour. He was very accommodating. The two local wineries provided great tastings. It was hard to stop yourself from buying more bottles of wine or olive oil!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great tour in the Douro Valley with wine tasting and visiting local small producers. Our guide Ms Barbara Silva picked us up from the hotel and off we went. On the way she explained about the region, wine producing and took care of all of us very kindly and attentive. We had a full day of tasing not only the wine but most of all the ambiance of the Douro region. I can really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved this tour. Alex was great. The wineries Quintas he took us were fantastic and I wish I had more room on my luggage to bring more of the amazing wine we tasted. The restaurant was great and the boat cruise was the perfect way to see the Douro. Bring some sunscreen and enjoy the Douro! Thank you Alex for the wonderful time!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was an excellent day trip not only beautiful but very informative. Our guide, Jose, was upbeat and full of facts from the moment he picked us up at our hotel at 8:30am, until he dropped us off around 5:30pm. We loved sampling the olive oils, wines, and ports, and felt like our tour 4 of us and 3 others allowed us to get a feel for how things were done in that region hundreds of years ago by boutique artisans.
The car ride to/from Porto was a big concern of mine 1-1.5hrs each way but Jose helped the time pass quickly as he discussed on wine-making, Portuguese history, agriculture, climate, and many great little facts that kept everyone engaged.
I cannot recommend this tour enough for those who want a tour of the Douro valley. Thank you Jose.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thought this was an excellent day! We had the most fabulous tour guide - Nuno! He was professionally dressed engaged with us and our tour mates provided lots of great information enthusiastic about his work and his country. He made the day so enjoyable, educational and fun!. We loved the Douro Valley the boat ride and the port tastings. We also really enjoyed having lunch with what appeared to be locals or Portuguese tourists - delicious food - pork, cod, salad and drunk cake. very fun! We were so pleased! It was a day that we will always remember.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely fabulous day. We had a great guide, who spoke perfect English.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour was on a Saturday. We were excited to do this tour and we were greatly suprised! José, our tour guide, was exceptionnally friendly and informative. We would recommend this tour to our family and friends!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

wonderful group and guide José! worth-doing this trip. I would recommend it to everybody who loves nature and off course Porto-wine!
Don't doubt and reserve this trip!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip! Highly recommended!! Don't miss the boat trip...
Couldn't find any cheaper options, even once in Porto, this is pretty fair!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The beautiful tour with a perfect, nice , kind guide, Jose. He explains lots of historical story about Portugal, port wine and they are very interesting. The view was awesome. Better to take a boat trip to refresh and the view from the boat is totally different from a car. Lunch was also very good quality with nice porto table wines. Good selections of 2 places to visit for tasting wines. Wonderful day. We would like to come back Douro to stay longer next time.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was awesome! Pedro was a fantastic tour guide he was very down to earth, honest, genuine and so full of information. We soaked it all up like we soaked up the port. :D The area was gorgeous and by the end, we didn't want to leave. Thank you for the great day and for making our trip even better.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent value for money, and an extremely helpful and friendly tour guide. Big thumbs up from me!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Douro Valley is stunning and the small group tour was a great way to see it. Our guide Joanna was fantastic - such a vibrant personality and kept us all entertained with stories about the history of Porto and wine making in the valley. The lunch tasted great. Definitely a value for money day trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful day with Bruno -- The minivan was comfortable, he was fun to be with, and we saw absolutely gorgeous countryside. The port tasting was a delightful highlight of the trip, and the one-hour river cruise an added delight. Definitely recommend Cooltour Lisbon!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great tour highly recomend it. Jose our tour guide was awesome and made the tour even better.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The small group makes it more personal. Our tour guide Barbara was very knowledgeable and professional. We had a wonderful day and would recommend this tour to anyone. Nicole, Canada

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a very enjoyable experience with the tour. Our guide Johannas was fantastic. The visit to local independent wine producers in the Douro Valley Santa Euphemia was much appreciated.The lunch in the restaurant in Pinhao was really good and the cruise on the river was a nice interlude. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Porto and the Douro area.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Love this tour. Lunch was great and so were the wineries we went to. Beautiful place and love the boat tour. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was undoubtedly as fine a tour as we have ever experienced. Our tour lasted ten hours and, for the duration, Pietro demonstrated his knowledge of the region and was thoroughly entertaining. He picked us up at our hotel early in the morning, as promised, and drove us to the Douro River valley, regaling us with the history of the region and its significance in the country on our hour and a half journey. On arrival, our first stop at the D'Origem Olive Oil Museum, which was incredibly informative with regard to the historical process of olive oil production as well as the more contemporary cold press process. Then we traveled from the mountain top to the valley floor for a boat tour on the type of boat that was originally used to transport olive oil and wine from the Douro Valley to Porto. After a magnificent lunch in a local restaurant in Pinhao, we visited a small, local quinta, Casa da Quinta das Laranjeiras, for an explanation of how port is produced and aged before we experienced a tasting in the living room with the owner and producer.

What distinguished this tour for us was the personal touch. Pietro has been with the company from almost the beginning he takes his job seriously, and works diligently to ensure that the patrons have a memorable experience. During our tour, we learned that he does other tours. Given his knowledge and care, we would request him again. Don't wait. Book this tour. Request Pietro. It was magical.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day. Our guide Juan was amazing and great company. He was incredibly knowledgeable and took us to some amazing vineyards and eating places. The river trip was a lovely addition and the views of the duoro valley are stunning. We have already recommended the trip to friends! Roz and John

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message