• USD ($)
  • English
Many of Europe’s great cities have an "old quarter," the original part of town from which centuries of cosmopolitan evolution spread outward. In Porto, the old town is known as The Ribeira, as it looks out onto the River Douro. In days ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we toured the main points of town, and got a very good grasp of the city. the guide was excellent. highly recommend!

Doing what: Porto Bike Tour

Dawn E
South Africa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This tour was not exactly as Viator describes it to be. Firstly, there was no "walking tour through the oldest quarter of Ribeira", and secondly they did not take us to Foz. We were dropped off outside the Cathedral and told to go inside and then meet the guide 15 minutes later. We were then dropped off outside the famous Bookshop and allowed free time there for a few minutes. The major part of this tour consisted of a visit to Graham's Port Lodge, where the guide once more left us to our own devices, and we were taken on a boring tour of the wine cellars by an arrogant little guy who rushed through his obviously rehearsed commentaries, and when it came to the wine tasting at the end, he disappeared, leaving us to stand around while other groups were given wine samples . This tour was a total waste of money, and not what we expected it to be.

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Incredible tour guide and an unforgettable experience! A wonderful evening!

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good fun.

Doing what: Porto Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour through the Douro Valley. Port/Wine tasting at a gorgeous winery was the highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Only 4 of us on this tour and our guide was great. Highly recommended and the final stop at Graham's Port Lodge crowned it off superbly.

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Pick-up at hotel Arrived 1 hour late - did not have a guide - just a driver who rushed us to get to the restaurant
there was no night tour at all
Very expensive for what was provided as we could have gone to a Fado restaurant in a taxi for much less money

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We recently did this tour in March 2014. We were picked up promptly at our hotel by our wonderful guide Claudia from Living Tours in Porto. It was raining, but she still made out tour fantastic. We started off in the government square with the city hall, then off to the Sao Bento train station to see all the beautiful azulejos. Then, we visited the cathedral with great views of the city from the top. Finally, we made our way to Vila Nova de Gaia, across the river, to visit the Graham's cellars. This was the best part of the tour in my opinion. We had a guided tour and learned about port wine, and then off to their beautiful tasting room to try 3 different kinds of ports. Their tasting room is gorgeous with views of the Douro river and Porto. Awesome tour! We flew into Porto at 9 am, out tour was at 2 pm, and by the end of our first day we were already acquainted with the city. We topped off our night with an amazing dinner at the Encondidinho restuarant and it was the perfect first day in Porto! Thank you Claudia for your time and attention! Loved it!

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great day out! Tour guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A highly knowledgeable and passionate guide gave us a through introduction to the history and many fascinating sites of Porto, plus an unexpected visit to Grahams port lodge in Villa Nova de Guia. Paulo was very passionate about her city and country and this showed in the depth of knowledge of Porto. An excellent introduction to Porto, despite the rain, which we followed up with two more excellent trips to the Duoro River and Santiago de la Campostella. Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A really good evening. We were lucky enough to have the fabulous guide, Sebastian, to ourselves and he really knew his stuff. He was very passionate about Porto and answered all our questions. The view from the monastery was incredible, worth the money alone. The restaurant was lovely - busy but with a mix a tourists and locals, typically Portuguese and the food was delicious. We had beef, 2 generous pieces each with a yummy port sauce and a traditional Portuguese almond tart for pudding - well worth the calories! The music was good also, the third singer was incredible and the guitarists were excellent. They also waited for us to have our food before the performers began their set which was a nice touch. Overall an excellent choice for our last night in a city that we fell in love with.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a FABULOUS and fun tour. Virginia was our guide, she took about 15 minutes to get us comfortable with the segway and how to use it. We spent three hours touring Porto, she showed us all the highlights and was very knowledgeable. I regret that I didn't take my camera. I was worried that I wouldn't be able to take pictures and navigate the segway, but the segways are easy to use. If you go on this tour I would highly recommend bringing a camera.

We saw much more on the segway tour than we would have been able to see walking and it gave us a great opportunity to decide what we wanted to go back to and do again. The Railway station is a must see it is part of this tour.

Doing what: Porto Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very nice tour. Very good guide. The lunch was not very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Interesting tour of Porto. The visit to the winery was particularly good.

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message