Porto, Portugal’s second-largest city – is rich in architecture, museums and wine. It’s a lively city built on the steep granite rising above the Rio Duoro with a UNESCO World Heritage listed old town of cobbled streets tumbling steeply down to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 463 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful scenery, delicious food and wine, oranges picked right off the tree, and lots of interesting stories from our wonderful guides along the way. Definitely take the added boat tour option, and you should still have time to have a look at the train station in Pinhao we did.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Peter was a fantastic guide, with impeccable English and was very charming and knowledgable . We had a fantastic day and an appreciation for his home. Highly recommend !!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spectacular scenery and great service with a great guide and great food and wine

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Vanessa was great as the guide and showed as well as taught us to experience local food and wines

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

rjcf
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour! Our guide Barbara was fantastic and very knowledgable on all aspects of Portugal and the areas that we visited. Everything exceeded our expectations. We were 8 on the bus, 4 English speakers and 4 Brazilians who spoke Portuguese. Barbara handled the language mix very well and nobody could have felt left out.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

rjcf
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

For this, our second tour during our visit to Porto, there were only three of us English speakers. Our guides Pietro and Alex were great fun and gave us a fantastic tour. The food and wine was great and there was plenty of it! If we go back to Porto we will definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Perfect way to gather your bearings on the city of Porto. ability to try local foods and wines while also learning where everything is is the best part.

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

great tour especially if you only have a day like us in Porto!

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This bus tour was the perfect way to visit the city in two days! Here is what we did:

The first day, we took the purple bus route from Praça da Batalha which is at the top of Rua de Santa Catarina, the main shopping street to Castelo do Quejo/SEA Life Porto 22 stop. It's a great bus route: it first goes through the city and its landmarks and then along the ocean shore from which you can see boats, fisheries, Matosinhos beach, etc.. We visited Castelo do Quejo for 2 Euros and afterwards, we walked south along the seashore. We stopped at a small restaurant by the ocean. The view was amazing. Then, we caught the orange line from stop 16 Pérgula da Foz which is right before the Fort. We rode up to the Ribeira, the main tourist area. From there, we did the river cruise along the Douro River which was included in the package. You can take many photos of the bridges from the boat. We then had dinner at a restaurant at the Ribeira.

The second day, we walked down to the Calém Port Wine Cellar and visited the cellar for free it is part of the package. There, we got to taste some white and some red port! We then took the orange bus route from 23 Gaia Quay and visited the other side of the city. This part is more residential, but there are a few museums to visit along to way if you are inclined to. We took the bus all the way to Praça da Batalha stop 4, and spent the rest of the afternoon visiting shops and small restaurants.

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

Gerry
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding tour . . . Well paced and comprehensive.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend this bus and make sure you get off in the restaurants by the beach and have grilled fish you will no regret it.

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great experience!

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an absolutely wonderful tour and definitely my best tour experience of the trip. I usually do things on my own rather than with a tour group, but this excursion was not something I could have done on my own at least without a vehicle. There were only three of us and our guide, Pedro. He let us go at our own pace and was very friendly and knowledgeable. Even if you don't like wine you would enjoy this tour as the scenery is beautiful. I had only tasted white vinho verde and have never seen anything other than white in the U.S. so I was excited to try the rose and red, which were wonderful. I brought back several bottles to the U.S. Do this tour -- you won't regret it!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was excellent in regards to the wineries, the staff, and the splendour of the region. Its definitely worth the price. My only negative is the optional boat ride. It seemed like a time filler and wasn't particularly interesting.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

QUITE HARD TO FIND THE BUS STOPS AND A LINK TO DOWNLOAD THE BUS WOULD HAVE BEEN HELPFUL. GOOD VALUE AND GREAT BOAT TRIP

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant way to see the city! Angelo was a great guide and passionate about Porto. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Porto Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good tour covering the highlights of Porto.

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The combined bus,river,and wine tasting tour were good value for the price we paid. All three tours were interesting and informative.The only negative things were: on the bus tour it took 2 hrs to complete full circuit instead of the 50mins quoted also many of the jack points for the head phones to plug into were broken for the commentary we had to change seats three times before we found a pair that worked.One last think as you are on a open top bus in a busy and in places noisy city the commentary is not loud enough when on full volume.No complaints about river trip and wine tour they were very good.

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Disappointing.
Started in a café with coffee and Nata delicious! Then on to a bar for a beer and spicy pork sandwich tasty, then to a restaurant for chorizo, croque monsieur and a glass of Vinho Verde. Not very exciting. in Porto but no Port!! The tour guide was a pleasant local young man with excellent English. He answered our questions well but didn't seem to have much to say. Only 5 in the group which was good but didn't feel we got value for money given how cheap Porto is for food and drink

Doing what: Small-Group Porto Food and Wine Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Luxury coach turned to be a luxury min van .Wine tasting was only Two Wines !! Scenery was brilliant and the the guide very knowledgeable.
Moral of the story do not believe what you rend on the tour description. !

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We fell in love with Porto and its people! We had a great time and really enjoyed our trip!

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I'd definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Porto.
Our guide Yorick is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Most importantly, we got to see a completely different scene to city of Porto, a magnificent countryside scenery with all those lovely vineyards and mountains. We really enjoyed the food and the wine as well.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beide Städte sind sehenswert. Die Kathedrale von Braga ist allein wegen seiner Orgeln einen Besuch wert. Die Treppe zum Heiligtum Bom Jesus ist sehr interessant, aber es war so regnerisch und neblig, dass sie kaum zu sehen war. Schade.

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A really excellent tour. Barbara, our hostess, picked us up on time and took us out to the Douro valley. It was great to visit independent wine and port producers - their products were at least as good as the bigger brands. The countryside was fabulous - and lunch - well what a surprise. You stop in a small riverside town and go into a 'normal' restaurant. The food simply keeps coming - it was homemade and delicious.
Barbara was very easy to get along with and very informative,we couldn't have wished for a better introduction to the Douro valley.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message