Porto, Portugal’s second-largest city – is rich in architecture, museums and wine. It’s a lively city built on the steep granite rising above the Rio Duoro with a UNESCO World Heritage listed old town of cobbled streets tumbling steeply down to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 408 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Joana was wonderful! It was an interesting day, beautiful sights. The meal was great. The only thing I would change is more free time in Guimaraes.

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was a small group of 6 and the trip was quite smooth. Barbara, the guide, is friendly and knowledgeable. There was only two tastings for the day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. It seems a bit weak to call this a wine tasting trip. But the lunch was very authentic and excellent.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Elsa is a very enthusiastic and friendly guide. The trip has included quite a lot but we were unlucky with the weather on that day. The lunch was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Do not use from cruise port! No bus turned up in over an hour. 3 red hoho and 2 blue hoho whilst waiting at bus stop.

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a beautiful tour with a very good guide and a wonderful landscape. The wine tasting was perfect.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was wonderful. Sofia is a delightful guide - knowledgable, enthusiastic, and entertaining. We saw so much and learned a lot. The itinerary was wonderful. Thanks!

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wow! Everything was nice - Pascal was great, the itinerary - wonderful. Great tour.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Pedro, thank you for your enthusiasm and care. Pedro is unbelievable - his love and passion for Portugal is equal only to his deep knowledge of the country and its history. Great tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My boyfriend and I booked this tour last minute, after reading the other great reviews - and it certainly lived up to its great reputation! We had an absolutely fantastic day. It was a full and action packed day with lots of interesting places to see, but completely stress-free. It was great to just be able to hop in the van with the other tour-goers, and be shown around a variety of places without having to worry about where to go next or finding our way on a map. The scenery was breathtaking, and we could visit lots of small, unknown places that we wouldn't have found if we had just rented a car ourselves (our original plan).
The food and port wine we tasted was delicious - so much food we couldn't move afterwards! Drinking 8 year old tawny port straight from the barrel was a real treat. We tasted wine in three different locations, and also ate olive oil, honey, and pastries from a little coffee shop as well as the extensive lunch.
The element that really made the tour fantastic was our tour guide, Pedro. He was friendly, funny, and immediately put this group of strangers at ease with stories from the history of the valley to personal anecdotes. And - it was his birthday! Not all people would relish working all day on your birthday, but he made it very fun and we toasted with port, of course. His driving was great and he even dropped us off on our street afterwards.
- one practical point: we weren't staying in a hotel, so we weren't sure where we should get picked up from. After booking the tickets, we called the office and they arranged a meeting point with us, at a hotel about 2 minutes from our apartment. Very easy! They also pre-warned us that it would be cold, so we should wrap up warm.
Don't hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A nice tour! Sid was very informative and attentive. Thanks.

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very good tour with guide Barbara. The Portuguese Lunch included three different local main dishes (not options, you could try all of them), besides wine and dessert. You visit two different caves and in the last one you try seven or eight different Port wines.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was outstanding (even in the rain)! Santiago de Compestela is beyond words and we had the best guide ever - Pasquale!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This is a very good tour if you like to visit churches, you will see a lot of them! However, the medieval castle in Guimarães can only be seen outside, you can not enter it. Besides, the lunch included in the tour my family and I had does not represent the Portuguese cuisine. Our options of main dish were: salmon and potatoes or beef and chips!

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Porto in itself is a fabulous city but I think next time I will get around myself using the subway. The company we used had a very rude man.I was lost to get to the destination. Hotel and he never helped me.his statement was "that's not my problem"I didn't pay 193.00 for that kind of reaponse.!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Porto Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well organised tour - everything was on time and not rushed at the same time.
This is a very good opportunity to learn something about Porto and of course try it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message