• USD ($)
  • English
Porto, Portugal’s second-largest city – is rich in architecture, museums and wine. It’s a lively city built on the steep granite rising above the Rio Duoro with a UNESCO World Heritage listed old town of cobbled streets tumbling steeply down to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was the highlight of our 5 weeks in Europe. Our tour leader Sid possessed an exceptional knowledge the city's history and culture, but it was his friendly and engaging manner that impressed us most. Porto is hilly, and we were concerned the tour might prove too exhausting. Not to worry. The route was cleverly planned and Sid allowed time for taking photographs and other stops along the way. If it were possible to award a tour more than five stars, this is the one.

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

this was a wonderful tour through a beautiful area. Being in a small group was intimate and fun. There are many boat/train tours, but I think this trip in the van was terrific because we were able to get off the beaten track to some lovely small wineries that were handpicked as traditional, small family enterprises.And it wasn't like being in a cattle call--very individualized attention. Eduardo, our tour guide, was lovely and caring. We are fishetarians and he asked for a special dish for us for lunch, which was very accommodating. He was very informative and we had interesting conversations about Portugal, culture and politics. This tour was the highlight of our time in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I wanted to end my visit in Portugal by fully experiencing everything that the gorgeous Douro Valley has to offer, and a small yet intimate tour seemed to be the best way. Based on rave reviews and statements from other backpackers that i met and a variety of hostel's recommendations, Cooltour seemed to be the best fit. So many highlights to speak of special touches. An intimate group of only 8 made it easy for everyone to bond and enjoy the experience together, and the fact that each person was picked up at their hotel was such a relaxing introduction and ending to a perfect day. The thing though that made this tour stand out the most, was our amazing guide Pedro. Guide doesn't even seem to be the correct word to use, since by the end it felt as though you were hanging out with a friendly local who just wanted to show you the beauty of their countryside. Not only was he knowledgeable, but he was passionate which made a world of a difference. You could tell that he loved the Douro Valley and everything that it had to offer; delicious port and wine straight from the family owned vineyards, stunning landscape, the freshest fruits, lunch at a restaurant gem, views from a boat that you only imagine seeing in postcards, priceless moments. The cherry on top though, was the fact that you felt like you were taken to special places off the beaten track. You weren't herded into massive estates with lines of tourist buses, where you are just a number. Not once did we see another tourist or were on a overly strict timeline, everything felt relaxed and allowed you to just enjoy the moment. This really was all possible because of Pedro and I'm so grateful that I was able to experience the Douro Valley with someone who truly enjoys what he does and is extremely good at it. I can honestly say this tour was beyond worth every penny and was more than i could have expected. Thanks for everything and a huge thank you to Pedro, you were delightful and made my stay in Portugal!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jose was such a wonderful host, and made sure we got to see and do everything promised and more. We had so much fabulous food that we couldn't eat the next day. Definitely don't plan to do anything that night for dinner! And the port tastings just kept on coming.
I hope his exam the next week went well, despite the long day he spent with us.
We felt as if we had a real insight into the work and lifestyle of port making in the Douro region. Thank you

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. The Douro Valley is not to be missed. Our guides were fun and well-informed. A great day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we toured the main points of town, and got a very good grasp of the city. the guide was excellent. highly recommend!

Doing what: Porto Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the guide was great; the wine tasting experience was fabulous.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a nice food tour. Very personable and friendly tour guide. At times, it felt a little unorganized but We were the only couple on the tour, so who knows if it is always like that. I would recommend this food tour to anyone going to Porto.

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great small wine boutiques, experienced guide and fantastic views.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

lovely trip and excellent guides ... highly recommended

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome trip!! The Children loved the boat ride and we were served Port!! as well as Authentic Portugese Cuisine! Small group of 7 with Pedro our tour guide. We than finished the tour tasting different ports and we able to literally drink from the tap of the barrell!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My family and I (2 children) were able to have our own private tour of Porto with our guide Joao. They even brought a child seat for my 3 year old. Now talk about service. They picked us up directly at the hotel and even had a reminder for us at the front desk!! Impressed!! Because it was just us for 4 he even drove up to see the beach and area of Matosinhos....nothing but restaurants that serve fresh grilled seafood!!! Finished the day at Grahams Port Factory for Port tasting!!

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Joao brought a child seat for my 3 year old. Now talk about service. 1st sight of the night was the view of the sunset over Porto, breath taking view. Than off for dinner with traditional Fado Performance. Food and drinks were authentic!

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Used the bus to get to Matosinhos Beach where the food was amazing!! Only problem was the Optional River Cruise was hard to find, but well worth the ride!!

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was great. She knew a lot of the history and was able to answer all of puir questions. I would do this trip again.

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message