• USD ($)
  • English
Porto, Portugal’s second-largest city – is rich in architecture, museums and wine. It’s a lively city built on the steep granite rising above the Rio Duoro with a UNESCO World Heritage listed old town of cobbled streets tumbling steeply down to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful time! Pedro and Jose were excellent guides and made us feel right at home. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Picked up at our hotel at 8.15 a.m - long drive to the port producing regions about 150 km away. Small tour which was ideal and gave the opportunity to talk to the guide and other passengers. We knew that this was a day's tour and from what we had read we thought we would be back in our hotel for about 7.00 p.m. however a few of us were worried that the tour was aimed to finish at about 8.30 p.m. Some of us had booked a table for earlier than this - the tour guide was very amenable and rearranged everything to fit into our timescales without missing any aspect. Superb scenery, great local coffee and cake, good local visits to wine and port producers - be prepared to drink quite a bit of port and wine. Lunch was in a local restaurant - so much food and wine we really couldn't do it justice - again ended the meal with a glass of port. Local port producers are extremely friendly - port tasting and again more food. A superb tour travelling through wonderful countryside - the guide was young, enthusiastic and provided us with good local information - he was also a very good safe and considerate driver - well worth the money.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

That was an amazing experience!
We went on a rather rainy for Portugal standards weekend, yet the weather in Douro Valley was surprisingly warmer and sunnier. José, our guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable of the Douro valley and the wine making. Another aspect we enjoyed and was not included in the description, was our tour to the traditional oil and wine family-owned museum by the producer Mr Paulo just before we enjoyed the spectacular miradouro point view. The boat trip was nicely accompanied by a treat of Porto wine offered on board and the route was simply greatly exploring the glorious landscape. The food at the restaurant was traditional and well prepared and the village had a picturesque train station worth visiting. During the actual wine tasting which took place in a 19th century manor, high quality tapas were served to perfectly match the wine. All in all, the tour was above our expectations and really worthwhile. All the people treated us like friends and we felt that hospitality was genuine and honest, mostly José who introduced us to everything the region has to offer.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful day with Juan on our day in the Douro Valley! The visits to the port production estates were amazing, and lunch was yummy and authentically Portugese! Note that the day is significantly longer than advertised (not complaining) - we were picked up at 8:15 am and dropped back off at our hotel close to 9 pm.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The meeting point was not easy to find as this was located behind what we thought to be an obvious square. Lions Square was used and as this is a local term and not on any of the maps we obtained form the tourist office. Lello's Bookshop was mentioned as a landmark but this did little to describe the beauty of what lay within the store. Unfortunately as we chose a Sunday for our tour it was closed but it looks like it came off the set of a Harry Potter film where they went to get their books. It is supposed to be rated the 3rd best book store in the world. We met with the guide who took us round Porto highlights telling us of the history and giving little snippets of information that we probably would not have got from just walking about by ourselves. The weather was not very kind but this did not dampen the enthusiasm of the guide who remained upbeat throughout, despite getting wet. We stopped for a coffee but instead of taking us to an, expensive Costa outlet took us to a local café in a shopping area where we had 3 coffees and 3 cakes for less than you could buy one coffee at Costa, great local coffee.
One to be recommended

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Me and my husband had a pleasure of taking Douro Valley small group tour. The experience was amazing. Our tour guide Pedro (Pepe Rodrigues) was very knowledgable about the vineyards and the history of Portugal. His main priorities was to drive safely around the bending roads in Douro Valley and our security. The scenery of the manor houses hidden between the orange trees,the lemon trees, and the vineyards was very romantic. I strongly recommend this tour for anyone. Thank you for this lovely experience.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A highly knowledgeable and passionate guide gave us a through introduction to the history and many fascinating sites of Porto, plus an unexpected visit to Grahams port lodge in Villa Nova de Guia. Paulo was very passionate about her city and country and this showed in the depth of knowledge of Porto. An excellent introduction to Porto, despite the rain, which we followed up with two more excellent trips to the Duoro River and Santiago de la Campostella. Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were only in Porto for 2 days and wanted to see as much of the region as possible. This was a great tour , we had plenty to drink and eat and the views were magnificent. We were supposed to do the river cruise but due to weather and risky river conditions we visited another winery which was a good substitute. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. We were only 4 people on the tour plus the guide which was a very nice size. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Замечательная экскурсия, очень заботливый гид Педро. Прекрасный маршрут и великолепно проведенный день!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Good tour

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A really good evening. We were lucky enough to have the fabulous guide, Sebastian, to ourselves and he really knew his stuff. He was very passionate about Porto and answered all our questions. The view from the monastery was incredible, worth the money alone. The restaurant was lovely - busy but with a mix a tourists and locals, typically Portuguese and the food was delicious. We had beef, 2 generous pieces each with a yummy port sauce and a traditional Portuguese almond tart for pudding - well worth the calories! The music was good also, the third singer was incredible and the guitarists were excellent. They also waited for us to have our food before the performers began their set which was a nice touch. Overall an excellent choice for our last night in a city that we fell in love with.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was excellent with the best tour guide ever, Victoria!! Although I was the only one who booked the tour on that specific date, they were too kind to not to cancel the tour,and gave me the chance to enjoy Porto! Victoria really likes her job and Porto, and you like it with her more! I'm happy to make that tour, enjoy Porto with all the historical information and + friend ship of Victoria! Really recommend the walking tour, which gives you the chance to understand more then you can do alone, and recommend ViaTour! Thank you again

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The trip was very good , the guide Pedro was excellent !!!! He made our day , in fact he made our whole holiday.There was nothing to fault as far as I am concerned , as there was PLENTY of wine and port sampling , lots of stops to take photos, lunch was a really good surprise , and the coffee and cake stops outstanding.Short boat ride a bonus,especially meeting our american friends ,the Goldsteins.Also Pedro´s driving is as safe as the hills , and we felt really relaxed all day long.Muinto obrigado Pedro and " Cooltour" for this great day.Clive (group of 4) ...and also not to forget the door to door pick up @ hotel

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I was in Porto for just 3 days and wanted to get out and see a bit more than just the city. That in mind, let me say that this was exactly what I was looking for. The beautiful Duoro Valley is in my mind an unmissable part of the experience, and I'd argue this may be the best way to see it.

On this trip, our guide made decisions such as where to eat and what wine tasting to attend based on the quality of service, product quality and authenticity, and his personal experiences at the locations. I think this is important to note so that you know you'll be getting the very best experience that your guide is able to offer, even if there are changes to the itinerary for unforeseen reasons.

Pick up was timely by our driver and guide, Nuno. During the several hour car journey, he spoke all about the history of Porto, it's architecture, famous figures in Portuguese history, different cultural influences of the area, and so much more; all the while safely navigating the winding roads.

We stopped at a cafe after an hour or so into the journey. We were informed when lunch would be (2:00-ish) so we could plan accordingly then. We were taken to several lookout points, prior to embarking on the 45 min boat tour. From there we had lunch at an authentic eatery, sampling many dishes and two table wines. Their 'Plan A' winery was unavailable on this day, so we were taken to 'Plan B' which offered us 3-4 samples of port as well as a private tour of their cellars. Afterwards, before making the trip home, we stopped at Pinhao Train Station where Nuno talked about the historic painted tiles that make this station a national heritage site.

I can't envision anyone having a negative opinion of this experience unless they didn't allow themselves to enjoy the moment. You'll be getting carted around gorgeous landscapes with the intent of learning about port wine, but really learning more about what it means to be Portuguese. Great cultural immersion. Thank you for the experience.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message