• USD ($)
  • English
Porto, Portugal’s second-largest city – is rich in architecture, museums and wine. It’s a lively city built on the steep granite rising above the Rio Duoro with a UNESCO World Heritage listed old town of cobbled streets tumbling steeply down to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was the highlight of our 5 weeks in Europe. Our tour leader Sid possessed an exceptional knowledge the city's history and culture, but it was his friendly and engaging manner that impressed us most. Porto is hilly, and we were concerned the tour might prove too exhausting. Not to worry. The route was cleverly planned and Sid allowed time for taking photographs and other stops along the way. If it were possible to award a tour more than five stars, this is the one.

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

this was a wonderful tour through a beautiful area. Being in a small group was intimate and fun. There are many boat/train tours, but I think this trip in the van was terrific because we were able to get off the beaten track to some lovely small wineries that were handpicked as traditional, small family enterprises.And it wasn't like being in a cattle call--very individualized attention. Eduardo, our tour guide, was lovely and caring. We are fishetarians and he asked for a special dish for us for lunch, which was very accommodating. He was very informative and we had interesting conversations about Portugal, culture and politics. This tour was the highlight of our time in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I wanted to end my visit in Portugal by fully experiencing everything that the gorgeous Douro Valley has to offer, and a small yet intimate tour seemed to be the best way. Based on rave reviews and statements from other backpackers that i met and a variety of hostel's recommendations, Cooltour seemed to be the best fit. So many highlights to speak of special touches. An intimate group of only 8 made it easy for everyone to bond and enjoy the experience together, and the fact that each person was picked up at their hotel was such a relaxing introduction and ending to a perfect day. The thing though that made this tour stand out the most, was our amazing guide Pedro. Guide doesn't even seem to be the correct word to use, since by the end it felt as though you were hanging out with a friendly local who just wanted to show you the beauty of their countryside. Not only was he knowledgeable, but he was passionate which made a world of a difference. You could tell that he loved the Douro Valley and everything that it had to offer; delicious port and wine straight from the family owned vineyards, stunning landscape, the freshest fruits, lunch at a restaurant gem, views from a boat that you only imagine seeing in postcards, priceless moments. The cherry on top though, was the fact that you felt like you were taken to special places off the beaten track. You weren't herded into massive estates with lines of tourist buses, where you are just a number. Not once did we see another tourist or were on a overly strict timeline, everything felt relaxed and allowed you to just enjoy the moment. This really was all possible because of Pedro and I'm so grateful that I was able to experience the Douro Valley with someone who truly enjoys what he does and is extremely good at it. I can honestly say this tour was beyond worth every penny and was more than i could have expected. Thanks for everything and a huge thank you to Pedro, you were delightful and made my stay in Portugal!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jose was such a wonderful host, and made sure we got to see and do everything promised and more. We had so much fabulous food that we couldn't eat the next day. Definitely don't plan to do anything that night for dinner! And the port tastings just kept on coming.
I hope his exam the next week went well, despite the long day he spent with us.
We felt as if we had a real insight into the work and lifestyle of port making in the Douro region. Thank you

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. The Douro Valley is not to be missed. Our guides were fun and well-informed. A great day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we toured the main points of town, and got a very good grasp of the city. the guide was excellent. highly recommend!

Doing what: Porto Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the guide was great; the wine tasting experience was fabulous.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a nice food tour. Very personable and friendly tour guide. At times, it felt a little unorganized but We were the only couple on the tour, so who knows if it is always like that. I would recommend this food tour to anyone going to Porto.

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great small wine boutiques, experienced guide and fantastic views.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

lovely trip and excellent guides ... highly recommended

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Always a great way to get orientated to a new city and to get a feel for the history

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

good informative tours unfortunately weather led to overcrowding on some buses where there was no cover on top everyone going downstairs and as a disabled person I was a bit conscious of my wheelchair taking up a lot of space but drivers guides etc where all very helpful including at the winetasting the only fault there was the absence of a ramp.Overall very good and would go again on future tours

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful countryside. it was a long day, but worth the time. The guides made the trip feel special. They were very friendly and talkative, but were short on some of the history of the region. One guide was very knowledgable, though, on the making of port wine which was interesting. We went to one major vintner and one minor, which was a nice contrast. A very nice lunch in Pinhao with traditional food. Many locals were there, too, so it added to the authenticity of the experience rather than being at a tourist restaurant. I was picked up at my hotel ahead of schedule, indicating they were on top of things. One negative was the driving. Very,very narrow roads in some areas, which can't be avoided, but this was the first trip for one driver which didn't lend much to my comfort level. A bit harrowing at times. But, it was a good way to see the region in a day without having to do the driving myself.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Dawn E
South Africa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This tour was not exactly as Viator describes it to be. Firstly, there was no "walking tour through the oldest quarter of Ribeira", and secondly they did not take us to Foz. We were dropped off outside the Cathedral and told to go inside and then meet the guide 15 minutes later. We were then dropped off outside the famous Bookshop and allowed free time there for a few minutes. The major part of this tour consisted of a visit to Graham's Port Lodge, where the guide once more left us to our own devices, and we were taken on a boring tour of the wine cellars by an arrogant little guy who rushed through his obviously rehearsed commentaries, and when it came to the wine tasting at the end, he disappeared, leaving us to stand around while other groups were given wine samples . This tour was a total waste of money, and not what we expected it to be.

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A wonderful day in the upper Douro Valley. Our guide was thoughtful and knowledgable. Visits to TWO Quintas, the first a small family vineyard, wonderful. Vote second, a large Quinta, great information and tastings at both stops. Lunch in Pinhao, a traditional Portugese lunch, served family style, delicious. Special stops at secret overlooks and photo ops. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message