With eco-tourism fast becoming de-rigueur and Britain set to experience an uncharacteristically rain-free summer, now is the time to dig out your cycling shorts and pedal your way around the sights. Despite the traffic, London is a surprisingly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 391 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well organised tour - everything was on time and not rushed at the same time.
This is a very good opportunity to learn something about Porto and of course try it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was wonderful, especially our awesome tour guide!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was honestly the highlight of our 10 day trip to Portugal. The tour was of a couple vineyards and each one had its own unique specialty. We poured 10 year tawny port wine out of a gigantic oak barrel to taste, it was amazing. The tour guide made you feel very comfortable and was so passionate about his job and his country. I highly recommend this tour if you are looking for something truly unique. You get to see the most amazing views of the Douro Valley and taste everything it has to offer. You wont be disappointed! This sure beats the cave tours in porto of the mass produced port wine any day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a fantastic day out with Ricardo and his assistant. We learnt a lot from the local wine and port producers about the history as well as the current trends of the production. The Portuguese home-cooked style lunch was superb, with very friendly service. The guides stayed very enthusiastic despite the cold and rainy weather. We all had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Panoramic Porto Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The other reviewers are spot-on; this really is an exceptional tour. We usually prefer to travel independently, but we have taken several other excursions through Viator and this was by far the best. The company that runs this itinerary is small, and the guide (we had Pedro) took great care to plan a unique, off-the-beaten path adventure for us. We felt there was no question we could ask that he wouldn't know the answer to--from the process of making port wine to the history of the Douro region to the latest news on the local soccer team. We never felt rushed or herded from place to place, but instead had the impression that we were accompanying a local friend to the best artisanal producers of the area. I'm certain that if we had rented a car and visited the Douro on our own, we never would have found the small, family-run places that Pedro took us to. For the extra $10, the river cruise is a nice addition. Can't recommend this tour highly enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Pedro our guide was fantastic
The tour was well worth the price!
I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely a great tour! Highly recommended for everyone who want to gain knowledge about the Portugese culture and their vineyards. The touroperator was very enthusiastic and friendly and knew a lot about the country. Tasting port and seeing where it comes from adds an extra dimension to this fantastic tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

First off, Virginia was our guide and she was very informative and just adorable! She really loves Porto and is enthusiastic. The places we went to were fun and the food was very good and the port and local drinks were excellent as well. We were in a small group and were together for 4 plus hours. Virginia knew the area from a historical sense as well as telling us personal stories and connecting them to the tour. We did do a lot of walking, so be prepared. I would highly recommend this tour early in your stay here, it will give you a good idea of what to do and not to do in the following days.

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip was well paced. The tasting and lunch was excellent and our guide Ricardo was informed and entertaining,

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really appreciated the tour in the Douro Valley. Our guide was very nice and interesting, he knew alot not only on wine production but also on Portugual history, politics, etc. We tasted 9 different types of Port wine at a winery, and also had wine and olive oil tasting at another one. The views of the Douro Valley were magnificient, and the guide stopped at a couple of places for us to take pictures.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Virginia, our guide, gets 10 stars! Friendly, forthcoming, interested in us and our experiences, just delightful. My only criticism of the tour is that the description specifies exact locations and we did not visit all of those. Instead we had some substitutions, which were very good with the exception of the Francesinha experience at the end. Luckily my husband and I had found the Regaleira the day before, so we knew this was "the place" for this Porto specialty. The last stop of the evening in Nova de Gaia resulted in a microwaved substitute that was not worth the effort or time. Otherwise we highly recommend the tour, especially to do it as early in your visit as possible because you see so much of the city via the walking tour!

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

First of all, a lot of food! I liked it! Nice tour with born and raised person in Porto. I didn't feel like a tour, more going out with somebody you know already a very long time.

Doing what: Small-Group Porto Food and Wine Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message