Porto, Portugal’s second-largest city – is rich in architecture, museums and wine. It’s a lively city built on the steep granite rising above the Rio Duoro with a UNESCO World Heritage listed old town of cobbled streets tumbling steeply down to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 296 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous tour, Santiago is a must to go and see. Only criticism I would make is not long enough in Santiago, I would have preferred just to go to Santiago and not go to Viana. Viana is lovely but does not compare to Santiago de Compostela. We were lucky enough to attend the mass and see the enormous incense swinger, incredible. If you only have one trip from Porto, go to Santiago!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent all-day tour starting with a hotel pick-up at 0800 and drop off at 1900; the drive to and from the Douro Valley taking approximately 1.5 hours each way with scheduled stop in a good local Douro café. The minibus/minivan was comfortable and our guide ensured the air conditioning met everyone's needs. José David from Cooltour Oporto, was an excellent guide and he made the tour interesting and engaging.

Terrific scenery along the route on a beautiful hot day; temperatures reaching mid 30s Celsius I'm sure but a dry heat with minimal humidity so very bearable. The boat trip was a welcome retreat from the sun and was an opportunity for a different view of the valley and the steep hillsides covered in vines and olive trees.

The Portuguese lunch - the group could not do justice to the huge amounts of fabulous hearty food. The dishes alluded to Portuguese history and included both meat and sweet dishes that beautifully incorporated local port/wine. Traditional field worker stew (everything in the pot for this), marinated pork ribs cooked so the meat was falling off the bones, stewed goat in a not too spicy sauce, salad etc. Nobody in our group had any food preferences however our guide was careful to check before and during the meal for any food preferences or allergies.

We visited D'Origem where we tasted their red wine, white wine, honey and olive oil all of which were delicious. At D'Origem we also had the opportunity of seeing an olive oil press and taken through the production process. At Quinta de Santa Eufemia we were given a very generous tasting of eight ports, including white port, and olive oil and a tour of the winery. Both businesses are family run and it was evident that those involved were enthusiastic about and proud of their products.

We would recommend the tour because the experience allows an insight into the love and hard work that is necessary to create these products, particularly with regard to the smaller and medium-sized businesses.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I was in Porto on holiday with my sister and we signed up for our first Viator tour which happened to be in Porto. We were pleasantly surprised that it was just the two of us on this walking tour with our guide Virginia. She speaks excellent English and we had wonderful conversation. We followed the tour as it is planned but had flexibility with the time spent at the various sights and were even able to stop for some coffee along the way. Virginia was perfect for this as she studied history and really knows a lot of the the little details. She also provided us with suggestions for port wine as well as a few vegetarian restaurants (as we are both vegetarians) for our stay in Porto which were quite helpful. Overall, highly recommend the walking tour. Please be aware that there are some hills (but the tour is well planned to minimize the amount of uphill climbs).

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome day. Well organised. Stunning scenery and good food. What else is there to ask for?!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic day in Douro Valley. Very skilled guides, excellent visits at the vineyards, and very nice lunch.
All my hopes for the day was fulfilled, and I will recommend it to everybody.
Thank you for a lovely day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best thing you can do to see the City. Sid our guide was full of fun and interesting facts. He was safety first and a great teacher. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and saw lots more of the city than we would have had we done a walking tour. I can't express enough how much fun this tour was.

Doing what: Porto Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, lovely guide Paula really interesting facts about Porto and the Fado restaurant was well worth the money, good food and great performances

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I think the yellow bus is the best of the 3 available because you can use all local busses as well, which was very handy, the boat cruise was really nice, so I recommend this option, much cheaper buying through Viator.

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was fantastic! It was personable (max of 8ppl) and encompassed everything we wanted to experience! First stop was to taste olive oil, wine and honey at a local producer. Then lunch at a typical restaurant followed by a stop into a small Port producer where we had a tour of the farm and making of port followed by tastings in a Portuguese house. Pedro our guide was fantastic and we had a great group of ppl. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get out of the main tourist trap and experience some traditional portugal!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

That tour was a pure pleasure. Our tour guide, Barbara, was very professional, and she defiantly is a people person. We sow so many breathtaking places, we had huge Portuguese lunch, we had a coffee in a very charming local pastry shop, and we visited two wine houses (the owners greeted us personally). We took a one-hour river cruise. I can’t believe we did that much in one day! I learned a lot about Portugal, and Portuguese people. The country is beautiful, the people are even better! If you are in Porto – don’t miss this tour!
Happy travelling :)
Alina.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Loved the narrow streets

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip

Doing what: Porto Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Although it was almost overshadowed by the rain.... this tour did not disappoint in the slightest!!
Both wineries which we visited were absolutely lovely and with unbelievably generous hosts! The lunch which was also included in the tour was amazing and the food and wine was never ending.
The guides were fantastic, knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely one of the best wine tours we've ever done! The view of all the vineyards was breathtaking (highly recommend doing the optional river cruise). Would recommend this terrific tour to any one - don't miss this gorgeous day out if you're visiting the region.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message